April 19, 2024, 09:44:16 PM

Author Topic: Old Wives Tales and Commess  (Read 2936 times)

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Old Wives Tales and Commess
« on: April 06, 2007, 08:52:50 AM »
I was just thinking about all the stuff Ma used to tell me as a child.

She said if I went into the sea today, Good Friday, I'd turn into a fish. I recall I was in Manzanilla, waves looking good, sun up and hot and people telling me don't go in the water. *steupse*

Or another one. If you go into the water too soon after eating you will drown.

Re: Old Wives Tales and Commess
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2007, 09:30:33 AM »
what I was told is that you will get a stitch in ya belly if you go in the water too soon after eating

if you had your eyes crossed and a fly pass infront ya face your eyes would stop so

if ya swallowed a seed of any type it would grow in ya belly

and sumting bout going blind and hair on de palm of ya hands
« Last Edit: April 06, 2007, 09:37:02 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2007, 07:32:54 AM »
well some old men told me breast milk is good to thoroughly clean your eyes...sounds just like another excuse to see titties .. ;D
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2007, 10:05:59 AM »
what I was told is that you will get a stitch in ya belly if you go in the water too soon after eating

if you had your eyes crossed and a fly pass infront ya face your eyes would stop so

and sumting bout going blind and hair on de palm of ya hands
ah think this actually have something to do with stomach cramps

« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2007, 01:57:06 PM »
if yuh makin ah monkey face and ah cock crow yuh face will stay so. :P

Offline johnny_ringo

« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2007, 01:39:52 PM »
Ah had a real bush pardna an he was full of these kinda things-

Put dog yampy in yuh eye and look through ah key hole yuh go see the spirits in yuh house

If somebody sweep yuh foot yuh aint go get married

« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2007, 05:26:14 PM »
Ah had a real bush pardna an he was full of these kinda things-

Put dog yampy in yuh eye and look through ah key hole yuh go see the spirits in yuh house

If somebody sweep yuh foot yuh aint go get married

nah man
 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline doh_stick

« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2007, 01:07:08 AM »
if someone sep over yuh (if you siting on floor) dey must step back as iz bad luck

« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2007, 03:05:52 AM »

WC you is borse ah like how yuh hide dat dey is ah good ting I eh blind ;D

« Last Edit: April 13, 2007, 05:19:16 AM by Themanfriday »

« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2007, 03:59:32 AM »
 :o  Man, you ent easy to buss meh files, dat was between those of us who know
:whistling:
« Last Edit: April 13, 2007, 04:01:08 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: April 13, 2007, 05:20:32 AM »
 ;D SORRY ;D

« Reply #11 on: April 13, 2007, 05:44:11 AM »
 :rotfl: :rotfl: you didnt have to change nuttin eh ;D ;D
« Last Edit: April 14, 2007, 01:00:46 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #12 on: April 22, 2007, 11:57:28 PM »
don't whistle at night because you'll call jumbie.   ;D

Who know i see soucoyant twice in my life.  No lie!!

« Reply #13 on: April 23, 2007, 04:21:49 PM »
Preacher wey de pics of de soucouyant?

« Reply #14 on: April 23, 2007, 04:30:11 PM »
when you come home late at night...walk in backwards to prevent jumbie from following you in de house  ;D

« Reply #15 on: April 23, 2007, 04:32:23 PM »
dont cross knives and forks

dont open ah umbrella in de house ;D

ah know bout the dog yampee ting...daiz good talk ;D

doh cut babies hair before they turn five years old.

sleep with your pajamas inside out to ward off evil spirits

« Reply #16 on: April 23, 2007, 05:28:27 PM »
Preacher wey de pics of de soucouyant?

Peong I ent have no pic boy.  Long time wasn't like now.  Now man get on wassey on gyul in fete and it on internet.  ;D

when you come home late at night...walk in backwards to prevent jumbie from following you in de house  ;D

I used to do that yes...Big man 18 turning around to come inside. steups.

Children that ent get christen does turn Dwen.

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
« Reply #17 on: April 23, 2007, 09:52:08 PM »

Dat is one ah could never believe!!....Some of these sayings is nothing more than fairytales to me yes
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!