April 18, 2024, 04:50:21 PM

Author Topic: Neil Berment directs S. Carolina youth clinic  (Read 9809 times)

Neil Berment directs S. Carolina youth clinic
« on: April 06, 2007, 10:21:48 AM »
Students school in soccer
By JOSH VOORHEES (Aiken Standard)

Fri, Apr 6, 2007

Coach Neil Berment takes an active role in technique drills during the camp.

Even though area schools are out on spring break, it has not stopped a group of students from continuing to focus on their fundamentals. The only difference this week is that as opposed to concentrating on reading, writing and arithmetic in the classroom, the group is focused on the finer points of dribbling, passing and shooting on the soccer field.

About 30 youth soccer players are spending their vacation attending a soccer clinic at Citizens Park that focuses on the development of the basic skills at the core of the game.

"We focus on the repetition of technique," said Neil Berment, director of the clinic. "It puts the kids at an advantage when they return to play with their school teams."

Berment knows plenty about the fundamentals that he teaches. Born in Trinidad and Tobago, he was a member of his country's national soccer program as a teen and a standout defender heavily recruited by American colleges. Despite a serious leg injury his senior year of high school that left his playing career in jeopardy, Brement went on to suit up for the USC Aiken Pacers and later for a semi-professional team in Canada.

Currently, he is an assistant at USCA, the head coach of the South Aiken High School girls' soccer team and a coach with a variety of area youth teams.

The technique clinics are held four times a year — two in the summer, one in the winter and one in the spring — and include a coaching staff that is both nationally certified and internationally experienced.

Joining Berment at the spring clinic are Patrick Kabuye of Uganda, Cleophat Ernst of Haiti and current USCA Pacer Simone GoPaul of Jamaica.

The international flavor of the coaching staff provides a different perspective on the game than youths might otherwise get from an American sporting culure where a multitude of sports battle for the attention of a rising athlete.

"We are surrounded by soccer in our countries; it is being played all the time," Brement said. "But these kids only get to practice two or three times a week."

While the clinic wraps up at week's end, Berment says he has no plans to stop passing on his love of the game to Aiken's future soccer stars anytime soon.

"It's just too much of a joy to work with these kids and to give back to the community," he said.

Contact Josh Voorhees at jvoorhees@aikenstandard.com.

Re: Neil Berment directs S. Carolina youth clinic
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2007, 10:31:27 AM »

Berment knows plenty about the fundamentals that he teaches. Born in Trinidad and Tobago, he was a member of his country's national soccer program as a teen and a standout defender heavily recruited by American colleges. Despite a serious leg injury his senior year of high school that left his playing career in jeopardy, Brement went on to suit up for the USC Aiken Pacers and later for a semi-professional team in Canada.

Berment was a keeper for QRC who turned a striker when he couldn't get a sweat (Kevin Leacock was playing in front of him).  When Berment turned defender?

Glad to see he doing well.

« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2007, 01:32:29 PM »
but a a, that is the same neil i lime with last year here in south cack, i didnt know the man was doing all that good stuff.  big up neil, keep doing it big.

« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2007, 07:54:03 AM »

Berment was a keeper for QRC who turned a striker when he couldn't get a sweat (Kevin Leacock was playing in front of him).  When Berment turned defender?

Glad to see he doing well.

He was a goalkeeper yea,turn defender and did a decent job on a good QRC team.Not only was Kevin Leacock in front of him as a keeper but also Tristan Charles and Mario John.That gives you an idea on QRC's keeping department in those days.

Offline soccer_development

« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2007, 01:58:08 AM »
E-man and Jahyouth....first of all.....big respect to all and thanks for the links.........I never played striker for QRC....yes this is Neil Berment...anyway thanks for the big ups --just trying to be able to share the knowledge. But I am loving it.  By the way,.......while at QRC, Leacock was one of the best Goalies in the country at the time...and rightfully said, it was tough for me to replace him. However, I played out on the field all the time for many different club teams...so playing out for QRC just helped. So in short, I did not turn a striker nor defender....I could ball either way yuh take it. But back then, it had rel ballers playing for the royalians......and when I played out, I started!! I was the stopper in front Marlon Springer

Secondly, Tristen Charles???Who is that ?? He was not on the team nor there the years I played. Mario John was the Goalie who replaced both Leacock and I. I broke my leg in 92 but went to Gustine to do A-levels......Mario John saved after me. There was another goalie....Romel Roberts but he transfered to CIC.....

Other than that...that's how the story goes. Hope this helps. When ever anyone of you in SC, link me.......

Fari....bless up......and nuff respect

« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2007, 03:18:55 AM »
Well now that we have dat right.

Congrates and keep it up SD

« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2007, 06:11:46 AM »
but a a, that is the same neil i lime with last year here in south cack, i didnt know the man was doing all that good stuff.  big up neil, keep doing it big.

Ah hope he lending ah hand to our trini youths,with all that valuable knowledge he has,it would be ashame if it only benefits young kids in U.S.,but then again I've seen this all my life,folks plying there trade in the U.S.,with maybe a total disregard for what goes on in the rest of the world,still big up berment and all the best in his endeavours...........   

« Reply #7 on: April 19, 2007, 10:40:47 AM »

Ah hope he lending ah hand to our trini youths,with all that valuable knowledge he has,it would be ashame if it only benefits young kids in U.S.,but then again I've seen this all my life,folks plying there trade in the U.S.,with maybe a total disregard for what goes on in the rest of the world,still big up berment and all the best in his endeavours...........   

ah eh want to start nothin eh, but exactly how is he expected to lend ah hand to the trini youths? yuh mean those living in he general area? or youths back home? ah kinda see yuh point but unless he is ah 'professional' coach wid deep, deep pockets (to go back home every so often and coach nah), de man just doing he thing in he lil corner ah de world

« Reply #8 on: April 19, 2007, 11:36:19 AM »

I'm a Coach out here myself and i would like to do and does do what ever i can for Trini Players/Coaches but in America you don't do anything for nothing like home,American people pay their money and these are the people we Coach,being patriotic can't pay the bills.
         From my experience it's very rear to find a group of Trini youths the you can put together and form a team out here,the kind of money it cost to play Football the average T&T family not paying that(home or abroad),have anyone ever check the cost to go to a Camp at home or attend a Coaching school,only certain kids can go and the money is TT$.
         Coaches are needed out here,there is always a shortage,the game has grown and is everywhere,once you can demonstrate some skills for the kids it's good enough in some cases because it's better than none,when kids want to play you don't want to turn them away.It's good to see what this guy is doing,people appreciate what ever you do,they just want their kids to kick a ball have fun,not to be Pele'.

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2007, 09:28:57 PM »

I'd like to say that Neil and many other Trini coaches in the US would love to have the opportunity to share some of their time and expertise with the youth in T&T, but it's not as easy for some of them to do. In addition, there seems to be a lack of respect for US football by many of the locals. With all the experiences we are getting out here sometimes it seems like what we may have to offer is not appreciated. Neil is doing a fantastic job and is one of the up and coming coaches in South Carolina. Coaches here are willing to give back if the opportunities are available, but Coops is also right...men are also making a living here.
Anyone know abouth the coaches who just did a program for Central Football Academy at Presentation College in Chaguanas?
Check out -: (www.schoolsoccernet.com )

Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!

« Reply #10 on: April 21, 2007, 01:39:16 AM »
I will try to take a stab at all the questions, comments and answer some of the concerns....... As far as for my clinics and coaching club and high school teams...it did not come easy....

First came the college ball, then the certifications, the hardwork and nitty gritty stuff of doing private sessions and being asst. coaches, then everything else fell into place.... There are numerous Trini Coaches out here applying this humble trade... the fun part is....we all love it. If anyone had told me that when I left QRC I would be a Coach, I would say they were lying......but guess what??? I'm Coaching now.

The difference maker here is simple----Trinis living abroad all have two things in common when it comes to teaching this game to American players....... 1) We were all surrounded by the game growing up...whether it be kicking a bottle in primary school or juggling a piece of foil or going to Aranguez savannah, Eddie Hart, Queen's Park Savannah, Arima Velodrome and the likes to watch games......and listen to the elders commentate or go to secondary school to see rel ballers, or watch Serie A on tv or English FA right after the Indian Movie with Kancha and Babla dat had rel karate in it............ and 2) we have a love and a passion for the game (whether we played or not) that not many Americans can see unless they cut us open with a knife....... When we teach what we know, we also teach how we know.......the Trini way!! (In many cases).

The good things is this, I am not the only one, Coach that is, to say the least doing good things in the US. The Academy held in Chaguanas a few weeks ago brought a few Trini Coaches back home to help share the knowledge. One of them, Kendall Reyes, the Head Women's Coach for a popular College in SC has just been named Director of Coaching Education for SC......And when he speaks about coming home to give back, you should see the joy on his face.....but coming home is not as easy as it looks........

Coach Reyes, along with other "Black" coaches have been very influential in my learning process....its like each one...teaches one......So Trinis doing well. We will all like to come back home but just like how the elders try to teach us, as we get older, we want to teach the younger players the truth about the game...... Fortunately, the Soca Warriors did well for all Trini Coaches because now it brings a bit more recognition to the country and it gives us a bit more substance as Coaches.......

Why I say "Black" coaches is because....many of the Coaches I have met that have had an impact on my career thus far are not just from Trini...but other countries outside the US (other parts of the Caribbean and Africa). There are also a few from the US as well. The point is this......we..Trini Coaches and the like....take out knowledge from playing, the commentaries from the elders, the ole talk from partners, the heckling from men on de block, and de bad tackles (from Nille Lusu from CIC who broke my leg in 1992) and applied it to the trade to help teach players the truth about the game.

Not sure if any of you know but there is an organization that is geared to educating Coaches of Colour ...started by our very own...Lincoln Phillips.....yes...Trinidad and Tobago's Technical Director.

It is called the "Black Soccer Coaches Association of America (BSCAA) which by the way have many Trini Coaches as members. For those interested....you can find more information under this website www.nscaa.com ... just look for the the BSCC or BSCAA link.

Now with all that being said, Trini Coaches or other Coaches of colour do not have it easy.......we have to be subjected to ridiculous emails from parents, racialism at times, castigation, etc to do what we love....it is no different from Eto'o being ridiculed or Henry being spit on but we continue for the love......of Football.......we do not give it....it it the Trini blood....

Here are some of the Trini Coaches that were at the National Soccer Coaches Association of America in Indiana in January.... Including Kendal Reyes, Franz Jones, Kendall Walks, Anthony James, Cecil Hinds, Craig Demin, Garth Pollanais, Lincoln Phillips, Travis Sobers, Darryl Marcelle, Leon Brown, Andre Fortune...............and others that I know that are coaching.....Jeremy Shortt, Andy Salandy, Andre Waddle, Noel Hazzard, Noel Husbands, Collin Phillip, Jason Duncan, Jason Birchwood, Aldwin McGill and many, many, many, many, many, many, many more.........

By the way....for the ones who read the article... what were the colours I had on? Trini to the Bone.....Red, White and Black.....

Blessings to all and to all the Trinis out there support each other's progress much respect and blessings to you.......feel free to link me any time..... soccer_development@yahoo.com

I may be going home (God's willing) in July or December and I will like to host a Clinic...any Ideas on location???

« Reply #11 on: April 21, 2007, 08:20:32 AM »
I will try to take a stab at all the questions, comments and answer some of the concerns....... As far as for my clinics and coaching club and high school teams...it did not come easy....

First came the college ball, then the certifications, the hardwork and nitty gritty stuff of doing private sessions and being asst. coaches, then everything else fell into place.... There are numerous Trini Coaches out here applying this humble trade... the fun part is....we all love it. If anyone had told me that when I left QRC I would be a Coach, I would say they were lying......but guess what??? I'm Coaching now.

The difference maker here is simple----Trinis living abroad all have two things in common when it comes to teaching this game to American players....... 1) We were all surrounded by the game growing up...whether it be kicking a bottle in primary school or juggling a piece of foil or going to Aranguez savannah, Eddie Hart, Queen's Park Savannah, Arima Velodrome and the likes to watch games......and listen to the elders commentate or go to secondary school to see rel ballers, or watch Serie A on tv or English FA right after the Indian Movie with Kancha and Babla dat had rel karate in it............ and 2) we have a love and a passion for the game (whether we played or not) that not many Americans can see unless they cut us open with a knife....... When we teach what we know, we also teach how we know.......the Trini way!! (In many cases).

The good things is this, I am not the only one, Coach that is, to say the least doing good things in the US. The Academy held in Chaguanas a few weeks ago brought a few Trini Coaches back home to help share the knowledge. One of them, Kendall Reyes, the Head Women's Coach for a popular College in SC has just been named Director of Coaching Education for SC......And when he speaks about coming home to give back, you should see the joy on his face.....but coming home is not as easy as it looks........

Coach Reyes, along with other "Black" coaches have been very influential in my learning process....its like each one...teaches one......So Trinis doing well. We will all like to come back home but just like how the elders try to teach us, as we get older, we want to teach the younger players the truth about the game...... Fortunately, the Soca Warriors did well for all Trini Coaches because now it brings a bit more recognition to the country and it gives us a bit more substance as Coaches.......

Why I say "Black" coaches is because....many of the Coaches I have met that have had an impact on my career thus far are not just from Trini...but other countries outside the US (other parts of the Caribbean and Africa). There are also a few from the US as well. The point is this......we..Trini Coaches and the like....take out knowledge from playing, the commentaries from the elders, the ole talk from partners, the heckling from men on de block, and de bad tackles (from Nille Lusu from CIC who broke my leg in 1992) and applied it to the trade to help teach players the truth about the game.

Not sure if any of you know but there is an organization that is geared to educating Coaches of Colour ...started by our very own...Lincoln Phillips.....yes...Trinidad and Tobago's Technical Director.

It is called the "Black Soccer Coaches Association of America (BSCAA) which by the way have many Trini Coaches as members. For those interested....you can find more information under this website www.nscaa.com ... just look for the the BSCC or BSCAA link.

Now with all that being said, Trini Coaches or other Coaches of colour do not have it easy.......we have to be subjected to ridiculous emails from parents, racialism at times, castigation, etc to do what we love....it is no different from Eto'o being ridiculed or Henry being spit on but we continue for the love......of Football.......we do not give it....it it the Trini blood....

Here are some of the Trini Coaches that were at the National Soccer Coaches Association of America in Indiana in January.... Including Kendal Reyes, Franz Jones, Kendall Walks, Anthony James, Cecil Hinds, Craig Demin, Garth Pollanais, Lincoln Phillips, Travis Sobers, Darryl Marcelle, Leon Brown, Andre Fortune...............and others that I know that are coaching.....Jeremy Shortt, Andy Salandy, Andre Waddle, Noel Hazzard, Noel Husbands, Collin Phillip, Jason Duncan, Jason Birchwood, Aldwin McGill and many, many, many, many, many, many, many more.........

By the way....for the ones who read the article... what were the colours I had on? Trini to the Bone.....Red, White and Black.....

Blessings to all and to all the Trinis out there support each other's progress much respect and blessings to you.......feel free to link me any time..... soccer_development@yahoo.com

I may be going home (God's willing) in July or December and I will like to host a Clinic...any Ideas on location???

I was speaking to my brother and he says two locations that will work for a clinic are trincity and as far west as goodwood park glenco area..........

« Reply #12 on: April 21, 2007, 08:58:18 AM »
Jason Duncan what school did he go to? is he from deigo martin river etstae???

« Reply #13 on: April 21, 2007, 09:53:11 AM »
Jason Duncan what school did he go to? is he from deigo martin river etstae???

Jason Duncan a signal hill alumn
Berment keep on doing your thing boss,

« Reply #14 on: April 21, 2007, 02:15:49 PM »
Saga Pinto look where you want to send the man,those areas always have access to all the big Clinics it have in the country,why you all don't recommend San Juan,Mayaro,Toco,Sande Grande etc etc 

Offline jaffa

« Reply #15 on: April 21, 2007, 10:51:30 PM »
Jason Duncan played at the College of Charleston.  Many T&T players have played here:
Alvin Thomas
Dennis Puckerin
Lennox Charles
Colin Osbourne
Kestor Lendor
Zane O'brien
Duncan
Colin Phillips
Michael Maurice
Alen Grenidge
Darren Toby
Sean Beateau
Kareem Yearwood
Keion Yearwood
And may more played for Coach Ralph LUndy at Erskine College (before he got to CofC):
Brian Haynes
Garth Pollonais
Anton Corneal
Graham & Christian Rodriguez
Crispin St. Lewis
Veron Skinner

I am sure I have missed a few - and sorry to those - but there are plenty of trini's w/ a SC connection - many w/ thanks to Coach Lundy.

Offline jaffa

« Reply #16 on: April 21, 2007, 10:53:53 PM »
I left out Vladimir Suite.

« Reply #17 on: April 22, 2007, 09:19:05 AM »
Forum,

Don't forget either...many T&T Coaches plying their trade in the US are collegiate grads and are employed elsewhere....making coming back home twice as difficult. But I am trying my best to do so and I will keep intouch with the room for all possible locations.....

« Reply #18 on: April 22, 2007, 09:21:05 AM »
for the Clinic, that is......

Offline Small Change

« Reply #19 on: April 22, 2007, 10:48:37 AM »
Many people are labeling themselves are being coaches on this forum, but are they basically "amateur" teachers of the game. Many guys who played in the NCAA system, are calling themselves coaches now. They are mis-using the word. Playing at that NCAA college level is really no level of soccer. First of all, it's an amateur league. Second of all the level is not high. Anyone basically could enter that NCAA soccer program, graduate, and the coach a bunch of kids and label themselves as a COACH. So it means, anybody could be a coach of soccer. Those guys are merely children mentors who basically show kids the basics of the game of soccer. Anyone who loves kids could do that. It's not rocket science. Anyone could just show a kid how to pass, control and head a soccer ball. Anyone could easily go and do them soccer licenses and call themselves coaches. It's a mis-used word and often abused.

But a real coach could only be a player who played at the highest level of the game and brings that "professional experience" Playing in that NCAA soccer crap, it not of any kind of level. It's actually a poor level. Of all those players mentioned earlier, how many played at a high level? Don't mention NCAA Division 1, because it/s till an amateur league. Yes in once sense they are coaching kids in the US, whether making a living from it, or using it as a second income. But in another sense, they are not REAL coaches. I am not knocking the guys who love to coaches these kids, actually jokey kids with no natural talent, but don't get carried away with saying that you guys are real coaches of the game. Of those guy mentioned, not one them played the game at a professional level. Maybe one or 2 of them played in the US A league or some of them were former National Youth players back in Trinidad, which does not count.

Don't mis-use the word COACH

Offline CK1

« Reply #20 on: April 22, 2007, 09:48:29 PM »
Many people are labeling themselves are being coaches on this forum, but are they basically "amateur" teachers of the game. Many guys who played in the NCAA system, are calling themselves coaches now. They are mis-using the word. Playing at that NCAA college level is really no level of soccer. First of all, it's an amateur league. Second of all the level is not high. Anyone basically could enter that NCAA soccer program, graduate, and the coach a bunch of kids and label themselves as a COACH. So it means, anybody could be a coach of soccer. Those guys are merely children mentors who basically show kids the basics of the game of soccer. Anyone who loves kids could do that. It's not rocket science. Anyone could just show a kid how to pass, control and head a soccer ball. Anyone could easily go and do them soccer licenses and call themselves coaches. It's a mis-used word and often abused.

But a real coach could only be a player who played at the highest level of the game and brings that "professional experience" Playing in that NCAA soccer crap, it not of any kind of level. It's actually a poor level. Of all those players mentioned earlier, how many played at a high level? Don't mention NCAA Division 1, because it/s till an amateur league. Yes in once sense they are coaching kids in the US, whether making a living from it, or using it as a second income. But in another sense, they are not REAL coaches. I am not knocking the guys who love to coaches these kids, actually jokey kids with no natural talent, but don't get carried away with saying that you guys are real coaches of the game. Of those guy mentioned, not one them played the game at a professional level. Maybe one or 2 of them played in the US A league or some of them were former National Youth players back in Trinidad, which does not count.

I'm not sure if this rambling deserves a response, but maybe you could answer a few things. When was the last time we beat the US College developed national team? many of these players learned to play the game for the influnce of some of those same Trini coaches mentioned. Many of the US women's players have been developed by Trini coaches as well. What makes you think that only players with professional playing experience can become true coaches?...If so, why is John Barnes not a coach? What is Jose Marino's professional playing background? Does a doctor become a doctor after he has performed multiple operations? Are any of the following coaches in Trini eligible to be called COACH; Anton Corneal; Jammaal Shabazz; Marlon Charles; Michael Maurice; Hudson Charles; Clayton Morris; Stewart Charles; ...etc. tell us about their high level professional playing careers, because are all very capable coaches. Leo Beenie and company don't know any more about coaching than these coaches mentiones...they just have been fortunate to be in an environment that allowed them the opportunities to develop their coaching skills and expertise.

« Reply #21 on: April 23, 2007, 08:15:46 AM »

This is the most crap i've read in a long time,nothing here makes sense and yes you are knocking our guys.

Offline nnyman18

« Reply #22 on: April 23, 2007, 05:09:33 PM »
The brother last response was spot on when he mentioned that the statement was the most crap he has heard. There are many Trinidadian coaches that Neil mentioned who had played collegiate soccer and have since developed themselves into some very good coaches here in the US. I know of one of them who has been coaching here for the past 17 years and have played a small part in the development of some of best female players here in the US. The brother would not like me to blow his horn so I won't call his name. Neil did mention his name on the list though. Quite a few of the players he has worked with in the past can be presently seen on the US youth and full national teams. Just last summer he was invited to work with one of the US youth national teams. Some of you all will get a chance to see some of his work when he brings his college team to Trini next year. Anyway to the brother from SC who has been getting stuff done VIBES IT UP AND KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.
I LOVE THIS GAME BETTER THAN I LOVE THIS GAME

Offline CK1

« Reply #23 on: April 23, 2007, 10:04:12 PM »
The brother last response was spot on when he mentioned that the statement was the most crap he has heard. There are many Trinidadian coaches that Neil mentioned who had played collegiate soccer and have since developed themselves into some very good coaches here in the US. I know of one of them who has been coaching here for the past 17 years and have played a small part in the development of some of best female players here in the US. The brother would not like me to blow his horn so I won't call his name. Neil did mention his name on the list though. Quite a few of the players he has worked with in the past can be presently seen on the US youth and full national teams. Just last summer he was invited to work with one of the US youth national teams. Some of you all will get a chance to see some of his work when he brings his college team to Trini next year. Anyway to the brother from SC who has been getting stuff done VIBES IT UP AND KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.

This brother you vibesing up is definitely a very well respected coach and so are many of the others mentioned in the earlier post. The mass migration of many these brothers occured at a time when their presense in the college system allowed many of them to have a strong influence on the US game ...first as players and now as coaches. Many of them are very humble people and are getting things done even in coaching education as well.

« Reply #24 on: April 24, 2007, 08:11:42 AM »
Small Change,

What is the proper technique for striking the ball? What is the proper technique for receiving a pass? What is the first principle and second principles of defense?

What is your highest level of Coaching Education, if any ? What is your highest level of Education (Foreign or Local)

Whether it be Coaching Kids or pros, all Coaches must start somewhere. Do you know that there is a demand for foreign Coaches in the US? Do you know why? Do you Coach?

Which Coach has started as a professional? We are all Ameteurs.....at some point in time. Were you a senior before you were a freshman?

Now Small Change....take no offense.....especially if you could not cut it in the collegiate game but think of it this way....for the guys who have made it...they had an opportunity to go to a collegiate program not just because of football......if you do your research, you would see that many of these men an women are all professionals in what they do.....Do you know that before you are a collegiate coach, one of the requirements is that you have a Master's Degree in some field? Not in Coaching.....but in some field.....Accounting, Management, Communication, Early Childhood Education, etc...... but I understand if you don't understand. 

Do you know that before you gain specific licenses as a Coach, you must first be evaluated? By American Coaches? most of the time? 

Playing at the collegiate level- I am happy you identified that College ball is amaeteur....and you are right. It just gives young men an opportunity to harness their talent, improve on their game and come back home and represent their country: Brian Haynes, Stern John, Mickey Trotman(God bless is Soul), Maurice Alibey, Garth Pollinais, Avery John, Cecil Hinds.....just to name a few......of the hundreds....  98% of the US National team all played at College.....

and at a same time....helping them get a quality education, or is that ameteur as well...???????

Best of luck in your endeavour Small Change............

« Reply #25 on: April 24, 2007, 12:04:51 PM »

Yes my friend, your comments definitely reflect the scent of where you are from "Betham Highway"....

Nuff said!!!!

« Reply #26 on: April 24, 2007, 02:01:37 PM »
To be a coach you need not be a top or even professional player.
Jose mourino for example was never a professional player.

There are many different levels of Coaching.

just because you coach kids means you is not a coach.

To be a good coach you just need to know about the game and most importantly be able to communicate to the players.

It does not matter if it is little league or Champions league you need to have the same skills in terms of coaching.

The only difference is the level of seriousness and the level of professionalism required.

Offline Augi

« Reply #27 on: April 24, 2007, 03:15:54 PM »
and bad tackles (from Nille Lusu from CIC who broke my leg in 1992) and applied it to the trade to help teach players the truth about the game.

Hey Berment, I know where this man Nille is now! Use to run small sweat with him at school in Maryland.He still  trying to break man foot. Yuh wha ride for him?? The talk was he broke a man foot in SSFL, but I didn't know it was you. I remember u when u were running ball at QRC, I was in 1st-2nd form then.

Offline Small Change

« Reply #28 on: April 24, 2007, 07:01:37 PM »
KND2 you said that a good coach has to have good knowledge of the game. How does one gain the most knowledge of the game? Is by playing it & the higher the level you play, the more experience you would have.
Having a Master Degree has nothing to do with coaching. It's a requirement that they introduced for an elimination process. I Cafu retires now and wants to live in the US and want to coach DUke or UCLA or whatever college,
I bet all of you guys, that the Master Requirement would not be an issue. You cannot beat experience in the game at the highest level possible. Who is going to evaluate Cafu? Eh soccer_development? Which American coach is going to evaluate him or a player like him! Of course they must evalaute these amatuers in the US.

College "soccer", as what Americans call the game of FOOTBALL, is not of a high level at all. Yes, most of the US national team members passed thru the college system, and that is just how the system in the US. Players go through high school then college. But that does not mean the college game is high. It's actual a very poor league and has gotten worse. In the 80's the league was ok. But in the late 90's the level of college NCAA soccer has dropped badly. Anybody could play in that league now. Men, who only played "small goal" football back in the islands getting scholarships in the US. A lot of horrible players getting scholarships or have gotten scholarships and therefore the level dipped badly. And some of these horrible players pass through the college thing, get their degrees, get their good education, and begin to coach and call themselves "coaches" Oh please!
How is it, the 100's of foreign players (some very good) don't step to next level after college? It's a league of a very poor standard. How could much knowledge could one gain
from playing college "soccer"? He would gain as much knowledge as the standard of the league. Despite whatever you guys say about my post, you cannot beat experience. It's the greatest teacher, in any sport. The higher the level that someone plays the game,
the more knowledge of the game he would have of it. Yes, communication is a key as well, as one has to be able to transfer that knowledge. So it's combination of many factors, but the key factor is playing.

Now the best player may not be able to be a good coach. It might be a communication factor, but a good player, esp one who plays at the highest
level would always have a greater knowledge of the game as compared to another person who played at a lower level.
Yes, there are levels of coaching, professional and amatuer.

Most, almost of these guys are coaching on an amatuer level, still learning. Most of these guys never played professional ball. Most of them
played amatuer. Anton Coneal and Garth Polli are decent coaches with a lot of coaching experience. I believe Anton has many liscense, both in the US
and outside, within FIFA & I am sure he learned ALOT from Leo Benhacker; a high profile coach with PROFESSIONAL experience...............

« Reply #29 on: April 25, 2007, 10:05:19 AM »
KND2, I agree with you on some things.  i.e. the reference to Cafu etc.  I am a firm believer that you cannot play and coach at the same time.  Doc Rivers the coach of the Celtics said that. 

Be careful what you say though about college soccer.  I am not sure where you are, whether or not you are in the US but the fact is college soccer in the US is still a stong league for that age group.  Fact is just like college basketball, the best players either don't go to college anymore or they leave early.  Hence the reason why the foreign player influence is now more important than ever.

Be careful what you say about the players themselves also.  I know some guys personally, that had professional contracts on the table and chose to go to work b/c of the financial implications.  Keep this in mind Avery John made $36K  and Scott Sealy made $31,500 last year.  The average college grad can make more than that.  Remember not all players want to be professional athletes.  Therefore, be careful with your blanket statements.