April 29, 2024, 05:13:02 AM

Author Topic: Carlos Edwards v Jermaine Pennant?  (Read 3781 times)

Carlos Edwards v Jermaine Pennant?
« on: April 07, 2007, 10:54:16 AM »
As I continue to watch Liverpool's games, Jermaine  Pennant's poweress up the wings and his moves with th ball reminds me of Carlos Edwards. The players, are similar in stature and seems to have  similar styles. What is the concensus out there in regards to the comparison of these two players?

Anyone think that it would not be long before we see Edwards in the EPL aganist Pennant?
« Last Edit: April 07, 2007, 11:14:32 AM by AlbertaTrini »

Re: Carlos Edwards v Jermaine Pennant?
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2007, 11:01:29 AM »
using my expertise am guaranteeing he would be there next season . ;)

« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2007, 11:09:25 AM »
Edwards will destroy Pennant (though he is one of my fav players).

Edwards is ah Trini and a former Army man, nuff said!  ;D

Offline lp

« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2007, 11:12:24 AM »
I'm not a betting man, but,

NEXT SEASON

« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2007, 12:20:06 PM »
one glaring difference is that Pennant is a drunk driving thug.....

« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2007, 12:57:24 PM »
Personal fralities aside, are there merits to a comparison in terms of skills and abilities?

« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2007, 12:58:21 PM »
The real question is: Who have the tighter 'fro?

« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2007, 02:30:10 PM »
The real question is: Who have the tighter 'fro?

Pennant on both questions.

« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2007, 02:56:11 PM »
when pennant first come to liverpool i always use to think dize carlos  :D

but....pennant cyah beat so sweet like carlos

« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2007, 02:57:58 PM »
From what I have seen....the two clearest differences are 1) Carlos is probably a bit more versatile. He looks equally comfortable at right back, or right midfield. Pennant seems more like a pure winger. 2) Pennant is a better crosser of the ball, even though Carlos' crossing has improved quite a bit.

I would guess that Carlos is a better goalscorer, given his 9 league goals at Championship level vs. Pennant's 1 at Premiership level. Carlos seems to chip in with a few goals each season but he also gets more opportunities to play than Pennant...and of course, Carlos is scoring in the Championship not the EPL. Also, at 28, I think Carlos is closer to his peak than the 24 year old Pennant. In the end, Carlos is yet to prove himself at Premiership level, while Pennant has shown he can play with the big boys week in week out. But noone who has watched Carlos this season and at the WC last year can doubt he has the ability to make an impact at the highest club level..but talk is cheap...he still has to do it. Hopefully next season.

Offline Trinitim

« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2007, 03:37:37 PM »

Filho you have to be a prophet you take the words right out of my mouth, I agree with absolutely everything you said. Yes God willing Carlos will get his chance in EPL and he will shine because he has a HUNGER for the game and he is a focused man, he is confident in his ability, he is not a slacker, he works hard, Roy said Carlos was itching to get back on the pitch, he has the right attitude of a Professional. He represents T&T WELL!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #11 on: April 07, 2007, 04:40:37 PM »
This was already a topic about a year ago.

I think that they are very similar players but pennant has the edge due to his superior crossing ability.

I think he had the most crosses into the box last season while at brimingham city

Carlos has the ability to get past defenders but at the higer level (EPL), he will have to realise that defenders will be better and his crossing will play a bigger role.

« Reply #12 on: April 07, 2007, 05:54:42 PM »
From what I have seen....the two clearest differences are 1) Carlos is probably a bit more versatile. He looks equally comfortable at right back, or right midfield. Pennant seems more like a pure winger. 2) Pennant is a better crosser of the ball, even though Carlos' crossing has improved quite a bit.

I would guess that Carlos is a better goalscorer, given his 9 league goals at Championship level vs. Pennant's 1 at Premiership level. Carlos seems to chip in with a few goals each season but he also gets more opportunities to play than Pennant...and of course, Carlos is scoring in the Championship not the EPL. Also, at 28, I think Carlos is closer to his peak than the 24 year old Pennant. In the end, Carlos is yet to prove himself at Premiership level, while Pennant has shown he can play with the big boys week in week out. But noone who has watched Carlos this season and at the WC last year can doubt he has the ability to make an impact at the highest club level..but talk is cheap...he still has to do it. Hopefully next season.
Filho you really believe so ,is he really that good?.

« Reply #13 on: April 07, 2007, 06:32:47 PM »

Filho you really believe so ,is he really that good?.

Compre I believe so...judging by his World Cup performance. Carlos hold his own against regular EPL players in the Sweden and England games...look how he make Ljungberg look like an amateur - and he wasn't even playing his regular position.

yes talk cheap but I truly believe Edwards is a premiership player playin in de Championship. 

« Reply #14 on: April 07, 2007, 06:53:12 PM »
I have confidence that Carlos will prove himself and have a positive impact on his own career in the coming seasons whether Sunderland get promoted or not.  There are a number of players in Carlos' position that are in the EPL that don't match up to him.

« Reply #15 on: April 09, 2007, 12:37:32 PM »
'excellent Edwards' versus  Jermaine...ummm

Waiting to see the showdown in the EPL..

« Reply #16 on: April 09, 2007, 12:52:56 PM »
Alberta...it's one thing to compare Edwards to Pennant. But wouldn't the battles you look forward to be Edwards vs Ashley Cole, or Edwards vs Gabriel Heinze or some left sided player? Anyhow...let's not count our chickens before they hatch  ;)

« Reply #17 on: April 10, 2007, 12:30:45 PM »
This was already a topic about a year ago.

I think that they are very similar players but pennant has the edge due to his superior crossing ability.

I think he had the most crosses into the box last season while at brimingham city

Carlos has the ability to get past defenders but at the higer level (EPL), he will have to realise that defenders will be better and his crossing will play a bigger role.

Very good point Andre, if you listen to players who have made the transition from Championship to Prem, they will say you have less time on the ball and smaller spaces to operate within. A good chunk of Carlos' trickery may not work in the Prem and his crossing would have to improve even under more pressure and better defending. Having said, he has all the attributes to further improve and do well in the EPL. His goal scoring ratio for a winger is rather good, he shooting from long distance has really come on.

« Reply #18 on: November 14, 2010, 08:41:28 AM »
Jermaine Pennant really impress vs Liverpool yesterday, he and Jones was combining very good and Fuller is a decent player to but dont tell them stinking Jamaicans that. But Jones present on the field does open up plays for other attackers, in other words, Fuller and greddy man Walters get more room. Talking about Walters, he had two men on him and Jones was free TWICE and he refuse to pass the ball to Jones.

And why anytime a player score for Jones team he drops in midfield and play deep ??

Anyhow, Jermaine Pennant should be on the current England team.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2010, 08:44:25 AM by Sam »

« Reply #19 on: November 14, 2010, 10:09:07 AM »
one glaring difference is that Pennant is a drunk driving thug.....
Quite a large number of British professional footballers are thugs of some type...J.Barton springs to mind.

« Reply #20 on: November 14, 2010, 10:19:29 AM »
Jermaine Pennant really impress vs Liverpool yesterday, he and Jones was combining very good and Fuller is a decent player to but dont tell them stinking Jamaicans that. But Jones present on the field does open up plays for other attackers, in other words, Fuller and greddy man Walters get more room. Talking about Walters, he had two men on him and Jones was free TWICE and he refuse to pass the ball to Jones.

And why anytime a player score for Jones team he drops in midfield and play deep ??

Anyhow, Jermaine Pennant should be on the current England team.
pennat is under the reggae boyz radar