April 28, 2024, 04:04:00 PM

Author Topic: Radio host in race controversy  (Read 16724 times)

Radio host in race controversy
« on: April 09, 2007, 11:47:55 AM »
Imus on race controversy: ‘I’m a good person’
Radio host to appear on Sharpton’s show after racially charged comments

NEW YORK - After being criticized for his racially charged comments about the Rutgers University women’s basketball team, radio host Don Imus said Monday that he’s a good person who said a bad thing and will check his acid tongue.

“Here’s what I’ve learned: that you can’t make fun of everybody, because some people don’t deserve it,” he said on his nationally syndicated radio show. “Because the climate on this program has been what it’s been for 30 years doesn’t mean it’s going to be what it’s been for the next five years or whatever because that has to change, and I understand that.”

Imus said he was “embarrassed” by the remarks, in which he referred to the mostly black team as “nappy-headed hos.” He said he had made the comments in the course of “trying to be funny,” but he was not trying to excuse them.

“I’m not a bad person. I’m a good person, but I said a bad thing. But these young women deserve to know it was not said with malice,” he said.

He pointed to his involvement with the Imus Ranch, a cattle farm for children with cancer and blood disorders in Ribera, N.M. Ten percent of the children who come to the ranch are black, he added.

“I’m not a white man who doesn’t know any African-Americans,” he said.

Imus said he hoped to meet the Rutgers players and their parents and coaches, and he said he was grateful that he was scheduled to appear later Monday on a radio show hosted by the Rev. Al Sharpton, who has called for Imus to be fired over the remarks.

“It’s not going to be easy, but I’m not looking for it to be easy,” Imus said.

Calling for Imus' ouster
Sharpton has said he wants Imus fired and that he intends to complain to the Federal Communications Commission about the matter.

“Somewhere we must draw the line in what is tolerable in mainstream media,” Sharpton said Sunday. “We cannot keep going through offending us and then apologizing and then acting like it never happened. Somewhere we’ve got to stop this.”

Meanwhile, the Rev. Jesse Jackson planned a protest in Chicago, and an NAACP official called for the broadcaster’s resignation or firing.

Imus made the now infamous remark during his show Wednesday.

The Rutgers team, which includes eight black women, had lost the day before in the NCAA women’s championship game. Imus was speaking with producer Bernard McGuirk about the game when the exchange began on “Imus in the Morning,” which is broadcast to millions of people on more than 70 stations and MSNBC TV (MSNBC.com is a joint venture between NBC-Universal and Microsoft; MSNBC TV is wholly owned by NBC-Universal).

“That’s some rough girls from Rutgers,” Imus said. “Man, they got tattoos...”

“Some hardcore hos,” McGuirk said.

“That’s some nappy-headed hos there, I’m going to tell you that,” Imus said.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2007, 06:49:24 PM by Tallman »

Offline johnny_ringo

Re: Radio host in race controversy
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2007, 12:13:14 PM »
this really not that surprising...i mean if allyuh listen to fellas like Rush, O'Riley & Imus it real easy to see they racists. Their views on alot of things are very anti-black or anti-immigrant.

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2007, 01:01:15 PM »
EVERY WHITE MAN'S EXCUSE

“I’m not a bad person. I’m a good person, but I said a bad thing. But these young women deserve to know it was not said with malice,” he said.

He pointed to his involvement with the Imus Ranch, a cattle farm for children with cancer and blood disorders in Ribera, N.M. Ten percent of the children who come to the ranch are black, he added.

“I’m not a white man who doesn’t know any African-Americans,” he said.

See how quick they show their involvement in something black, like it's a way to cover your ass. I am always wary when I read these cases, because one aspect is the fact that this IMUS RANCH is a non-profit charity which means tax right offs for those who have large salaries.
JUST MY SUSPICIONS

« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2007, 01:19:04 PM »
the classic argument of "i can't be racist i know/have a black friend"
i does jus hadda laugh when that is their defence yes. Damn racist oui

« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2007, 02:33:14 PM »
I'm not that much of a Sharpton fan, but he is right on the money with this one... fire his ass!
I like how he spotted the trend... talk some racial shit, then go on TV with a sympathetic talk show host, apologize and then pretend that nothing ever happened (which means resume your carreer as usual). F8ck that... if I did that shit at work, I would be FIRED. Punto Final! Hit them where it hurts; in their wallet.

« Reply #5 on: April 09, 2007, 02:48:58 PM »
the only time i ever heard of imus was when howard stern was still on terrestrial and he would refer to him now and again.

cantona, you're right - like he ratings need a bump.

« Reply #6 on: April 09, 2007, 05:22:22 PM »
Two weeks...I have to laugh

-- NBC is suspending its broadcast of the syndicated 'Imus in the Morning' radio program for two weeks starting Monday April 16 after host Don Imus made comments criticized as racist.

Watch the latest video now on CNN.com. Access at http://CNN.com. CNN - The most trusted name in news.

« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2007, 06:16:18 PM »
" ““That’s some rough girls from Rutgers,” Imus said. “Man, they got tattoos...”
That’s some nappy-headed hos there, I’m going to tell you that,” Imus said.
"

plain and simple, this is what BOTH should be FIRED for.
There is NO RESPECT for ANYONE in that statement.
it is Sexist, Rude  and not knowing the impact of their statement proves their ignorance.
GOOD BYE BYE South Side of a couple Jackasses.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2007, 06:19:05 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2007, 06:45:51 PM »
It seems az doh dem radio host going berzerk, first it was the black dj the woman wah she name , remember she say tousant is ah coconut and immigrant something , ah know alyuh go remember that , now thiz klan man,  ah mean all ah dem iz racist remarks iz it becaz he is white an speaking about black african american that they are making such ah big thing about it .anybody know what happen wid the black woman dj who made the racial coments also.ah hope the same way they asking for the klan man to be fired they fired the black woman also.

« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2007, 06:55:06 PM »
Zulu, check the thread here
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=10168.msg91001#msg91001
I feel that it is an in grown thing in America to ATTACK people who they feel are different without the regard to common sense and decorum. It is a culture thing, because in this instance it is Black on Black.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2007, 06:57:08 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2007, 07:11:41 PM »
yes that iz it, wah become ah she ? becauz she no different from he and he doh like she neither and she doh like she becauz she black .

« Reply #11 on: April 09, 2007, 07:41:02 PM »
yes that iz it, wah become ah she ? becauz she no different from he and he doh like she neither and she doh like she becauz she black .
iz de Culture Zulu, de culture.

is Like Pecong in TnT.
I sure many outsiders would not like what we say in TnT.
in fact it is even very tiring for some locals, as some people go to far, and then they say is ONLY Pecong.
« Last Edit: April 09, 2007, 07:47:04 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #12 on: April 10, 2007, 06:32:47 PM »
Staples a sponsor for talk show host Imus pull out today, also he waz suspended for two weeks, buh the protest gos on  sharpton organization an also jesse jackson colation say that they would protest any station where he imus work, he must be fired.buh wat about them rapperz who call them women hos and bitches?

« Reply #13 on: April 10, 2007, 07:06:03 PM »
Zulu, you bring up a very good point there and I wonder if this will give people the required ammunition that will needed to start a debate about that very fact. Something has to be done as some music has some very disturbing lyrics.
lets hope that this phase of Rap music will fade quickly and the lyrics will not contain references of violence, name calling and such.
On CNN earlier they showed many other personalities who have made similar comments and questioned why they too were not also dealt with in the same way.
Maybe as someone pointed out, is that this fellas has been a bully for many years and people are just fed up with him.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2007, 07:14:18 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #14 on: April 10, 2007, 07:23:37 PM »
Zulu and WC maybe this could answer your answer ....
my thing is, those rappers or the young generation of rappers coming up. what gang they came from, how much education do they have ?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pCLVs2FuPCA

go to 7 minutes 15 seconds....listen to his words.
actually you could listen to the whole thing, it was entertaining.

« Reply #15 on: April 10, 2007, 07:46:45 PM »
my thing is, those rappers or the young generation of rappers coming up. what gang they came from, how much education do they have ?

Miss Cana, nice find. great speech. :applause: :applause: :applause:

« Reply #16 on: April 10, 2007, 07:58:20 PM »
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?vv
 any body know wah happen to diss cross iz she still on the radio ?

« Reply #17 on: April 10, 2007, 08:14:08 PM »
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_q8LxO4wnCQ&mode=related&search=

http://www.youtube.com/watch?search=&mode=related&v=0QFq9pg97i0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5MEwruLzgdU&mode=related&search=

Listen to the Kramer's video, listen to the man who was responding to him....

WARNING
(those who get offended quickly - i won't recommend the video)

now you tell me, what is wrong with this videos ?

listen to all the laughter and the applause... count how many times the N word was used.
and we clap and laugh right ?

hope i' can find one with a 'white' comedian

don' blame the white man for racism....blame ???
we are our worst enemies
« Last Edit: April 10, 2007, 08:32:52 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #18 on: April 11, 2007, 12:59:55 AM »
 I doh no why alyuh suprise, this is the same culture that legalize slavery for 400 yrs and implimented jim crow for another 100yrs. and they still not satisfied, they want to do more damage . maybe f##k up ting is in their genes.         I just cool.

« Reply #19 on: April 11, 2007, 01:18:05 AM »
Cana, thanks for this
everybodies Rosa resolution - Correct what we see
and the bit at the start about James Crowe jr Esq is an eye opener.

« Reply #20 on: April 11, 2007, 07:17:33 AM »
Cana, thanks for this
everybodies Rosa resolution - Correct what we see
and the bit at the start about James Crowe jr Esq is an eye opener.

i'm so sorry i didn't tape that funeral eh...
but i did get Coretta Scott own....and the civil rights leaderships were more vocal...but what happen next ?

WC all those speeches that took place in both funerals...i'm sure if you asked 10 persons who attended one or even both, what did they learn from that experience. What would be there respond.

James Crowe Sr have Jr to continue his 'legacy'
Who do the black civil rights leaders have ?
50 cent, JayZ, Diddy? Actually they old, maybe Lil Romeo or Bow Wow.

Again I say...we are our own enemies.

Kramer and Imus are just those 'nice people' who had a tongue slip....lets forgive and forget, give them 2 weeks off at Betty Ford and a slap on the wrist for saying something so bad right ?
But as the saying goes, "a drunk man tells no tale"

« Reply #21 on: April 11, 2007, 07:20:57 AM »
" ““That’s some rough girls from Rutgers,” Imus said. “Man, they got tattoos...”
"
it is Sexist, Rude  and not knowing the impact of their statement proves their ignorance.
Cana, as I said BOTH of dem fellas should lorse day jobs
lets start to put an end to this

« Reply #22 on: April 11, 2007, 07:29:09 AM »
"

loose dey job ?
okay - ya fired...

let's face reality here, as soon as he walk out NBC doors
CBS, ABC, Food Network even Disney Channel waiting with the biggest cheque in hand.
Have a press conference, DEFENDING him, "because he made a mistake, and America is the home of the free and freedom of speech is so over rated. We are human beings and we make mistakes. Mr Umus is an excellent radio host and we know he'll be an asset to our company. We welcome him with open arms."
His first day at his new job, every American tune in to hear (ratings go up) some jus to listen to see if he will fu*k up again, some jus to hear what his first call in session will be.  Okay so nothing really important happened the first day. Second day everybody tune in again (more profit for the company). This is how it goes.

Flashback of Howard Stern comes to mind.

« Reply #23 on: April 11, 2007, 07:36:43 AM »
Let me ask something..to be lil controversial.
i know imus is a biggot..and in de context he use it it was derogatory
but what is some of the players  ARE NAPPY HEADED WHORES.
i know many nappy headed black women. and i know plenty blakc women who are whorse...if u went university...u go tell me better ent.....so....um. was it dat it shouldnt have been sai don radio if is true??
or is nappy head ah no no like nigger
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #24 on: April 11, 2007, 07:57:52 AM »
i know many nappy headed black women. and i know plenty blakc women who are whorse...if u went university...u go tell me better ent.....so....um. was it dat it shouldnt have been sai don radio if is true??

since you trying to be "lil controversial" ah go make this short
good you know many nappy headed 'whores'...ah hadda think personally, because you have to know that for a fact, they are whores right ? anyway

does he ?
And what gives him the right to just single out a group of women, who not standing on the street corner waiting for the next ride and degrade their name on a national boardcasting network. What, these women don't have children, husbands ?
« Last Edit: April 11, 2007, 09:31:10 AM by TriniCana »

« Reply #25 on: April 11, 2007, 08:04:00 AM »

good you know may nappy headed 'whores'...ah hadda think personally, because you have to know that for a fact, they are whores right ? anyway

does he ?
And what gives him the right to just single out a group of women, who not standing on the street corner waiting for the next ride and degrade their name on a national boardcasting network. What, these women don't have children, husbands ?

true u right. was jus asking.
but it had me thinking. not int his case obviously caus elike u sai dhe doesnt know for a fact either which way.. but
it if u call things as they are now a days it eh right either.
i mean jus using somehting that u said to clarify.. if someone is a whore regadless they ahve husband and children we not supose to call dem dat. and jus cause i eh wanna seem like a picking on women...if a  man is a um...dirty old man or  apimp or um...george bush...we not suppose to call it that way as not to offend.. albeit true??
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #26 on: April 11, 2007, 08:53:01 AM »

good you know may nappy headed 'whores'...ah hadda think personally, because you have to know that for a fact, they are whores right ? anyway

does he ?

true u right. was jus asking.
but it had me thinking. not int his case obviously caus elike u sai dhe doesnt know for a fact either which way.. but
it if u call things as they are now a days it eh right either.
i mean jus using somehting that u said to clarify.. if someone is a whore regadless they ahve husband and children we not supose to call dem dat. and jus cause i eh wanna seem like a picking on women...if a  man is a um...dirty old man or  apimp or um...george bush...we not suppose to call it that way as not to offend.. albeit true??

<stares> so what side of de bed you get up on dis morning ???

by his actions I will call him a dirty old man (if you need an example let me know)
by his actions I will call him a pimp
by his intelligence/ignorance/actions I'll call him George Bush

By their actions I will call them female basketball players ???
ah really confused what you trying to say...

Look at Kramer's video again. We all got pissing mad because we heard ONE racist blowout
But actually there were 2. Seems no one heard the man in the crowd throwing out his racial replies.

« Reply #27 on: April 11, 2007, 09:05:18 AM »
"

loose dey job ?
okay - ya fired...

let's face reality here, as soon as he walk out NBC doors
CBS, ABC, Food Network even Disney Channel waiting with the biggest cheque in hand.
Have a press conference, DEFENDING him, "because he made a mistake, and America is the home of the free and freedom of speech is so over rated. We are human beings and we make mistakes. Mr Umus is an excellent radio host and we know he'll be an asset to our company. We welcome him with open arms."
His first day at his new job, every American tune in to hear (ratings go up) some jus to listen to see if he will fu*k up again, some jus to hear what his first call in session will be.  Okay so nothing really important happened the first day. Second day everybody tune in again (more profit for the company). This is how it goes.

Flashback of Howard Stern comes to mind.

Right you are. Another example is Bill Maher (who btw was just kissing up to Imus on his show which is STILL ON THE AIR until Monday) who was fired from ABC about saying something disparaging about US troops correction: was for saying 9/11 terrorists weren't cowards, ""We have been the cowards lobbing, cruise missiles from 2,000 miles away. That's cowardly. Staying in the airplane when it hits the building, say what you want about it, it's not cowardly." , but I don't think it happened until after advertisers started pulling out. But now he is right back on HBO instead.

Some ads are getting pulled from Imus now too: staples, proctor&gamble and a few others. Apparently the networks are all about money rather than principle  ::) - he'll be let go when enough ads pull out.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2007, 09:13:15 AM by E-man »

« Reply #28 on: April 11, 2007, 09:35:19 AM »
Ladies and gentlemen, I would like to take a moment to touch on this issue, if I can put my humle little spin on a very touchy subject here in America:      
 I used to listen to Imus for years and in my heart of hearts, I really do not think the man is a racist.  He, like most so many of us do, sees humour (sometimes dark) in all kinds of stereotypes across cultural, political and socioeconomic lines, makes jokes about them and from a very, very, very long time ago, he learned how to make a living off of making these jokes on radio and television, most times, by "pushing the envelope" as they like to say in the art and entertainment industry.

I honestly wasn't surprised by his "comments" but not because I think he is racist, but I have listened to him insult just about every culture, race and social group over the years and at some point I think that, given his choice of broadcast, he is bound to offend somebody to a point of controversey of this magnitude.  As far as the whole climate of racism and the injustices of American hypocrisy is concerned, Imus is certainly not the problem.  Far from it.  His type of broadcast is meant to caricaturize everybody and everything (including himself, his past drug and alcohol problems and his "lovely little wife," as he has referred to her and if he's still married to her).  Very few people have been off limits and one can only take him but so seriously.  I would like to repeat myself:    As far as the whole climate of racism and the injustices of American hypocrisy is concerned, Imus is certainly not the problem.  Far from it.

Racism and its effects on black people has "evolved," if you will, from the days of slavery, to the hipocrisy of modern day society, which, in america, includes the self loathing that has "successfully" permeated Black culture.  To me, Imus is harmless, compared to rush limbaugh, bob grant, bill o'reilly, george bush and a lot of those politicians that are based in Washington DC, BET, MTV and VH1 and all of their gangsta rap videos, gangsta rap on the radio, drugs and the people who perpetuate them, and the american gun industry and the people who perpetuate that.  

I wouldn't even put Imus in the same category as kramer and his insignificant drunken tirade.  the difference to me, being that Imus is spewing his humor across the airwaves for money and ratings while "kramer" caught a moment where he was expressing what was hidden in his heart......if it was ever hidden at all.  Not that I can even pretend to know Imus personally so I am not even trying to be a spoksperson for him, but, for all the years that I used to listen to his show, I really never felt that racism is his makeup.  If i'm wrong, I'm wrong.   

Sorry, I was just writing away my thoughts and feelings.  I hope this is a little easier on the eyes.
« Last Edit: April 11, 2007, 09:54:21 AM by Mango Chow! »

« Reply #29 on: April 11, 2007, 09:38:43 AM »
Ladies and gentlemen, I would like to take a moment to touch on this issue, if I can put my humle little spin on a very touchy subject here in America:      
 I used to listen to Imus for years and in my heart of hearts, I really do not think the man is a racist.  He, like most so many of us do, sees humour (sometimes dark) in all kinds of stereotypes across cultural, political and socioeconomic lines, makes jokes about them and from a very, very, very long time ago, he learned how to make a living off of making these jokes on radio and television, most times, by "pushing the envelope" as they like to say in the art and entertainment industry.  I honestly wasn't surprised by his "comments" but not because I think he is racist, but I have listened to him insult just about every culture, race and social group over the years and at some point I think that, given his choice of broadcast, he is bound to offend somebody to a point of controversey of this magnitude.  As far as the whole climate of racism and the injustices of American hypocrisy is concerned, Imus is certainly not the problem.  Far from it.  His type of broadcast is meant to caricaturize everybody and everything (including himself, his past drug and alcohol problems and his "lovely little wife," as he has referred to her and if he's still married to her).  Very few people have been off limits and one can only take him but so seriously.  I would like to repeat myself:    As far as the whole climate of racism and the injustices of American hypocrisy is concerned, Imus is certainly not the problem.  Far from it.       Racism and its effects on black people has "evolved," if you will, from the days of slavery, to the hipocricy of modern day society, which, in america, includes the self loathing that has "successfully" permeated Black culture.  To me, Imus is harmless, compared to rush limbaugh, bob grant, bill o'reilly, george bush and a lot of those politicians that are based in Washington DC, BET, MTV and VH1 and all of their gangsta rap videos, gangsta rap on the radio, drugs and the people who perpetuate them, and the american gun industry and the people who perpetuate that.   I wouldn't even put Imus in the same category as kramer and his insignificant drunken tirade.  the difference to me, being that Imus is spewing his humor across the airwaves for money and ratings while "kramer" caught a moment where he was expressing what was hidden in his heart......if it was ever hidden at all.  Not that I can even pretend to know Imus personally so I am not even trying to be a spoksperson for him, but, for all the years that I used to listen to his show, I really never felt that racism is his makeup.  If i'm wrong, I'm wrong.

oh gorm Mango....
ah want to read this bad
but cut it in ah paragrah or 4 for meh nah...
ah waiting

please :(