April 24, 2024, 05:27:59 AM

Author Topic: The new permutation  (Read 1555 times)

Offline Remie

The new permutation
« on: April 10, 2007, 04:16:27 PM »
If South Africa lose to both England and New Zealand, regardless of any other results West Indies will need to do roughly this to qualify-

1) Roughly bowl out or restrict Bangladesh for 200 and chase it in 20 overs

2) Roughly bowl out or restrict England for 220 and chase it in 30 overs

West Indies, England/Bangladesh and South Africa would all end up on 6 points so it would come down to net run rate and if WI complete the above 2 scenarios WI would be likely go through.

I know its a long shot but while we are still mathematically in the World Cup it dont make sense to f**k about in those games. They might as well play to go through. Play 4 specialist bowlers to bowl the sides out and play 7 batsman who you feel can score at those rates.

We need to bowl 2nd in both games to have any chance of doing this. It is likely that Bangladesh will want to bat 1st anyway. Im not sure what England would do if it came down to scenario 2 on the last day so it might be down to the toss of a coin.

Allyuh doh tink i is a mad man, i know is a long shot but WI might as well fire it.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2007, 04:21:43 PM by Remie »

Re: The new permutation
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2007, 04:36:14 PM »
If South Africa lose to both England and New Zealand, regardless of any other results West Indies will need to do roughly this to qualify-

1) Roughly bowl out or restrict Bangladesh for 200 and chase it in 20 overs

2) Roughly bowl out or restrict England for 220 and chase it in 30 overs

West Indies, England/Bangladesh and South Africa would all end up on 6 points so it would come down to net run rate and if WI complete the above 2 scenarios WI would be likely go through.

I know its a long shot but while we are still mathematically in the World Cup it dont make sense to f**k about in those games. They might as well play to go through. Play 4 specialist bowlers to bowl the sides out and play 7 batsman who you feel can score at those rates.

We need to bowl 2nd in both games to have any chance of doing this. It is likely that Bangladesh will want to bat 1st anyway. Im not sure what England would do if it came down to scenario 2 on the last day so it might be down to the toss of a coin.

Allyuh doh tink i is a mad man, i know is a long shot but WI might as well fire it.
remie ah liek u fella u die hard.
btu yuh real cultuching at straws..
and they eh deserve no kiss meh ass semis
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline RRamdin

« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2007, 04:39:14 PM »
If West Indies get through, it will be because of an act of God...a miracle perhaps on the scale of turning water into wine or raising somebody from the dead. If they do get through they will win the world cup, because at the moment only a miracle can save dem now. There cricket in this tournament; fielding, bowling and batting have all reached new lows, from the heights they achieved against India and in the Champions Trophy.

« Reply #3 on: April 10, 2007, 05:11:39 PM »

If god was merciful he wudn't let WI get into the semis.

Too much of an embarrassment to go through after what has gone on.  It would make a mockery of the tournament.

WI Cricket WC  RIP

« Reply #4 on: April 10, 2007, 08:41:02 PM »
Dcs

There is a differnce between Faith and Foolish brudder is now foolishness u talkin. Let Lara play he 2 last 1 days and retire and give we 2 more yrs in test cricket to bat some distance between he and Pointing and Tendukar. We eh go be winning any test matches either with leadfoot as the opener. He needs to be replaced by Devon Smith. He and ganga should open. We need complete deliverance from them yardies.

« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2007, 09:40:39 PM »
Permutation after we lose to Bangladesh:

Ok, now if we score 600 runs against England and bowl them out for 25...

Then if South Africa lose to New Zealand and England and then get disqualified for match-fixing, and then the whole Sri Lankan team fall ill..

Then... Maybe then.... We'll get to the semis.

O gosh come on nuh fellahs lewwe give up de ghost nuh, dey doh deserve nothing with de pack ah ass dey playing

« Reply #6 on: April 10, 2007, 10:00:32 PM »
Dcs

There is a differnce between Faith and Foolish brudder is now foolishness u talkin. Let Lara play he 2 last 1 days and retire and give we 2 more yrs in test cricket to bat some distance between he and Pointing and Tendukar. We eh go be winning any test matches either with leadfoot as the opener. He needs to be replaced by Devon Smith. He and ganga should open. We need complete deliverance from them yardies.
dais ah rela good call weary. i liked hwo smith played with confidence and poise today. he never looked ot get booged down and all his shots were genuine cricketting shots. no voop or hoike.
as with gayle i also argree if dat fella eh leat to move hsi front foot his cricketign days are numbered. as yuh get older and yuh eye sighting going hand eye coordination does start to mean little.
he need to start using his feet to compenstae.
steups
ganga and devon smith look like de best bet in tests
as for one day i eh care what no body say we lackign good bowlers. de poor batting aside the bowlers lack experince and um   class...... alld e top class teams we play beat we all over imagnine 198 in de last 20 overs i swear i was watching a fete match in de tennis court.
steups
lord ambi and walsh allyuh come back nah plaseeeeeee :'( :'(
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2007, 01:55:13 AM »
Remie, I like your attitude and optimism and you are right there is a dim dim hope.
But bro time to move and think of the future as you have done in another post.

Doh let nobody take away your optimism.  :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2007, 08:40:37 AM »
Remie u real die hard..but dem fellahs eh deserve no semis..

« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2007, 01:02:51 PM »
It have hope...but i cyar afford dem souring me again. It hurts...and they really and truly doh deserve no semis.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.