April 28, 2024, 02:52:35 PM

Author Topic: Milan vs Bayern, PSV vs Liverpool  (Read 5343 times)

Milan vs Bayern, PSV vs Liverpool
« on: April 11, 2007, 10:06:45 AM »
Champions League preview: AC Milan vs Bayern Munich
worldsoccer.com

Bayern Munich coach Ottmar Hitzfeld believes home advantage will enable his side to improve “by ten to 20 per cent” when they face Milan in the second leg of their Champions League quarter-final tie.

"We go up a gear when we're at home," said Hitzfeld. "We are capable of pushing up our performance by ten to 20 per cent."

Bayern have never lost a Champions League game by more than a goal at home - though Hitzfeld is having to cope with a number of injuries. Willy Sagnol (knee) and Martín Demichelis (muscle strain) are ruled out, while Lucio and Owen Hargreaves are expected to play after coming through an training session on Tuesday.

Bastian Schweinsteiger, however, is a major doubt with a knee complaint, and Hitzfeld is grateful for the return from suspension of Oliver Kahn and Mark van Bommel.

"Van Bommel will add more presence in midfield but it won't be about individuals - the better team will win," he said.

Meanwhile, Milan coach Carlo Ancelotti, concurred with his German counteroart.

"What matters is how the teams perform," stated Ancelotti. "Bayern will look to control the game so, for us, the recipe for success is to play good football and perform. We need to have faith in our quality and remain upbeat about our chances."

Milan are without the suspended Alberto Gilardino, though in Filippo Inzaghi, Ancelotti can call upon a man who has scored more UEFA club competition goals than all but Gerd Muller, Raul González, Andriy Shevchenko and Eusebio.

"He is not yet 100 per cent fit but I'm confident he will play," added Ancelotti. "The goals he has scored in the Champions League speak volumes and he has scored against Bayern in the past."

Probable teams:
Bayern:
Oliver Kahn; Hasan Salihamidzic, Lucio, Daniel Van Buyten, Philipp Lahm; Owen Hargreaves, Mark van Bommel, Andreas Ottl, Bastian Schweinsteiger; Roy Makaay, Lukas Podolski.

Milan:
Dida; Massimo Oddo, Paolo Maldini, Alessandro Nesta, Marek Jankulovski; Gennaro Gattuso, Andrea Pirlo, Massimo Ambrosini, Clarence Seedorf; Kaká; Filippo Inzaghi

Preview: Liverpool vs PSV
Quarter-final second leg (First leg: 3-0)

Liverpool manager Rafael Benitez insists he is taking nothing for granted, despite his side's 3-0 advantage secured in their quarter-final first leg tie against PSV Eindhoven a week ago.

Benitez was eager to point out that Liverpool themselves overhauled a three-goal deficit, against Milan in their memorable 2005 Champions League final triumph, so he has been warning his players against the dangers of complacency for the the visit to Anfield of PSV.

"Three goals is a big difference but in Istanbul we were three goals down. We must be focused because PSV have quality and they will try from the beginning," said Benitez.

The Liverpool coach says his team will adopt a high-tempo approach, adding: "They are ready. If we score the first goal it will be easier but we know from experience, you always have to keep going until the end. Of course I prefer to be in this situation, but it's strange because we must talk about 'no complacency' and being careful of things like this when we are playing the second leg."

Liverpool have Mohamed Sissoko available after a one-match ban, although the form of Javier Mascherano may keep the Mali midfielder on the bench. Dutch international Dirk Kuyt is absent through suspension and Craig Bellamy is expected to take his place up front. Left-sided attacking full-back Fabio Aurelio, meanwhile, is out for the rest of the reason after rupturing his achilles tendon in Eindhoven and Benítez says resting other players could be an option.

PSV, by contrast are struggling for form, having failed to win in their last six matches. Moreover, the Dutch champions and league leaders will be without several key players at Anfield as Alex, Ibrahim Afellay, Edison Mendez, Jan Kromkamp and Michael Reiziger are all injured. Coach Ronald Koeman has added youth team defenders Rens van Eijden and Olivier ter Horst to his squad, though they are unlikely to play.

Koeman, however, is sanguine about his team's prospects of staying in the competition.

"It's not impossible, but let's be realistic about it,” he said. “Being 3-0 behind against a team like Liverpool means pegging back three goals and it is going to be quite difficult. We are in the quarter-finals of the Champions League and that's something that we have to be pretty proud of."

Probable teams:
Liverpool:
Pepe Reina; Steve Finnan, Jamie Carragher, Daniel Agger, John Arne Riise; Steven Gerrard, Xabi Alonso, Javier Mascherano, Mark Gonzalez; Craig Bellamy, Peter Crouch.

PSV:
Heurelho Gomes; Csaba Feher, Manuel Da Costa, Dirk Marcellis, Carlos Salcido; Mika Vayrynen, Timmy Simons, Phillip Cocu, Jason Culina; Arouna Kone, Jefferson Farfan.

Re: Milan vs Bayern, PSV vs Liverpool
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2007, 10:13:03 AM »
Ahh Van Bommel and Robo-Kahn are back.
AC have all the experience.
In the off-season AC need to do something in the striker department.
They could get Kenwyne Jones for cheap.
I wish I could see this game.

« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2007, 10:23:47 AM »
D Bayern game lookin like it would be a good one

« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2007, 10:34:28 AM »
ac-bym is definitely the game of the day.

liverpool could field a B side and still get through.

« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2007, 12:03:08 PM »
yuh know a man talking shit when he quantifying how much he going to improve over the 1st leg....

worldsoccer.com

Bayern Munich coach Ottmar Hitzfeld believes home advantage will enable his side to improve “by ten to 20 per cent” when they face Milan in the second leg of their Champions League quarter-final tie.

that being said, Milan will have it rough today...lacking strikers killing us..Ronaldo cup-tied, and Gilardinho suspended....and goals is what we need since we have to win in regulation time, since we behind 2 away goals.....

I have a feeling dey might push Kaka up, since Inzagi is de only prominent striker (and oliveira is a purge) 

« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2007, 12:05:43 PM »
yuh know a man talking shit when he quantifying how much he going to improve over the 1st leg....

worldsoccer.com

that being said, Milan will have it rough today...lacking strikers killing us..Ronaldo cup-tied, and Gilardinho suspended....and goals is what we need since we have to win in regulation time, since we behind 2 away goals.....

I have a feeling dey might push Kaka up, since Inzagi is de only prominent striker (and oliveira is a purge) 
bye bye ac till next yr  :violin: :violin:
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #6 on: April 11, 2007, 12:37:08 PM »

worldsoccer.com

Yeah I feel they will push Kaka up behind one striker (either Pippo or Oliveira), and Seedorf behind him

but licks is Dida I most anxious about...you eh see how he poops down himself last game in Milan...lawd

« Reply #7 on: April 11, 2007, 12:45:29 PM »
Game Start for Bayer, come on bayer, kick some italian ass!

« Reply #8 on: April 11, 2007, 12:47:01 PM »

worldsoccer.com

Yeah I feel they will push Kaka up behind one striker (either Pippo or Oliveira), and Seedorf behind him

but licks is Dida I most anxious about...you eh see how he poops down himself last game in Milan...lawd

boy I'll be honest,....I's be scared any time Dida is play....de man is de most inconsistent keeper....the only thing that I happy about is that nesta finally back and he have a couple of games under his belt, so hopefully that will take some preshah off dida......dida actually had a decent game this weekend against empoli, so hopefully that will bring up his confidence...

« Reply #9 on: April 11, 2007, 12:50:46 PM »
COMMON BAYERN!

« Reply #10 on: April 11, 2007, 12:51:00 PM »
Liverpool lookin to lose, they restin players.
This is the CL, yuh cah do those tings.
Ah want PSV to make Liverpool panic.

« Reply #11 on: April 11, 2007, 12:53:43 PM »
um dida have worms????
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #12 on: April 11, 2007, 12:57:02 PM »
Hoe what is your predictions sir?

« Reply #13 on: April 11, 2007, 12:59:19 PM »
2-1 bayern
haha wait..like u looking to play proline on meh head dey..lol

« Reply #14 on: April 11, 2007, 01:12:37 PM »
dais one...

« Reply #15 on: April 11, 2007, 01:16:41 PM »
look bacanal.lol :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #16 on: April 11, 2007, 01:18:27 PM »
Two sweet goals.

« Reply #17 on: April 11, 2007, 01:19:40 PM »
Two sweet goals.
one sweet goal and ahoffside goal..but oh well.. rela bacanal..anyone know or care..wah is de score in anfiled

« Reply #18 on: April 11, 2007, 01:22:32 PM »
I rather Man.u play Milan in the semis Bayern is a tough team against Man.u

« Reply #19 on: April 11, 2007, 01:22:57 PM »
Two sweet goals.
one sweet goal and ahoffside goal..but oh well.. rela bacanal..anyone know or care..wah is de score in anfiled

Yo, de ref eh call off-side so is two sweet goals.

« Reply #20 on: April 11, 2007, 01:24:31 PM »
Two sweet goals.

u go tell me better when that happen t o ah team yuh like..lol

« Reply #21 on: April 11, 2007, 01:25:23 PM »
They need to call off this Liverpool/PSV game a waste of time

« Reply #22 on: April 11, 2007, 01:35:26 PM »
Two sweet goals.

Seedorf score the 1st one and gave the assist for the 2nd (nice backheel)....big player right there

« Reply #23 on: April 11, 2007, 01:41:50 PM »
we need one more to lock dis up.....

« Reply #24 on: April 11, 2007, 01:46:33 PM »
Two sweet goals.

Seedorf score the 1st one and gave the assist for the 2nd (nice backheel)....big player right there

.....How could anybody not like Clarence Seedorf, boy?  somebody You Tube some ah de WICKED goals dat man done score in he career and link up de forum wid it nuh.

« Reply #25 on: April 11, 2007, 02:37:42 PM »
got to love football neevr know what going to happen.
well lemme see AC only have this to play for so manu work cut out for them
i think rafa have a nice tactic agaisnt chelsea but chelsea owe dem ah cut ass asfter that 4 dey ghet int hey pwefin..
jump high jumo low semis going to be nicee   :D

« Reply #26 on: April 11, 2007, 02:41:11 PM »
Two sweet goals.

.....How could anybody not like Clarence Seedorf, boy?  somebody You Tube some ah de WICKED goals dat man done score in he career and link up de forum wid it nuh.

Yea Chow I go look around for them. He large.  :beermug:

FT 2-0 to Milan

The lead was never really certain but Milan handle their stories well in the face of Bayern pressure, and Dida redeem himself. Kahn stop Milan from extending the lead but he couldn't do anything about dem two goals.

« Reply #27 on: April 11, 2007, 03:22:26 PM »
I praying for a Liverpool v Milan rematch in the final. Allyuh know that would be real drama...dat would be the ultimate battle as Milan would be still feeling that loss from 2 years ago. of course the ManU and Chelsea fans have other ideas ;)

« Reply #28 on: April 11, 2007, 03:37:32 PM »
I take off from work early to see dat 2nd half....what a waste of time....Milan seemed content to hold onto the 2 goal lead and voom kick de ball outta de back, and bayern look like they didn't want to score.......

if Milan play that shiite next round they go colleck licks from Man U....

props to Dida for a good game though  :beermug:

« Reply #29 on: April 11, 2007, 03:39:50 PM »

worldsoccer.com

bye bye ac till next yr  :violin: :violin:

what's dat  ;D

wouldn't it be funny if Milan wins it all and they have 3 EPL teams in the final four  :rotfl: