March 29, 2024, 08:02:12 AM

Author Topic: Racism Thread  (Read 31088 times)

Define bizarre to me? Because Hinduism pre dates Christianity and the foundation of Hindu thought was a continuation of the first migration out of Africa and hence, African practices.

There isn't much too read into it. The rituals are very different and devotees  pray to graven images of deities, a practice which operates counter to two basic Judeo-Christian statutes. That's all I'm referring to. The chronological order of the advent of either faith isn't relevant when the substantive issue is doctrinal divergence.

Any level of suspicion between the two races can be attributed to politics, dirty politics. The freethinkers understand the game that is being played and how to get around it.

You are taking responsibility away from individuals. Politicians use ethnic mobilization to win elections or in the case of the UNC et al to hold a pre-budget rally to help stave off widespread public criticism. The suspicions that people habour are the result of lessons learnt and less taught from first and second hand experience. Prejudice can develop without the influence of national politics and has it's genesis in some of factors I mentioned.

For you there isn't much to read into because you never read into it to begin with. Which makes you sound fairly ignorant on the subject of religion and especially Hinduism. Its easy for people with limited education on certain topics to wave a partisan flag as a show of condemnation but it takes a highly intellectual individual to understand religious thought and where its origins lie. You condemn Hindu religious thought that is so closely aligned to your ancient African roots. Which makes you no different than the other bigots that are present in the UNC and PNM, who disguise their words to cover up what they really feel. Most Hindus are also blind to these facts and this also makes the problem of racism even worse.

The images you speak of can also be found in the Catholic church, which was the foundation of Christian thought as we know it. Which was the religion your forefathers converted to from their tribal religions. Or in some cases, Islam which they were converted to by force before being enslaved. Keep in mind I am a Christian believer. I noticed you just skipped over the actual history of the religion and pagan practices that have been amalgamated into Christian practices over the centuries. Condemning Hindus and their religion is further deepening the problem, you need to spend some time reading and educating yourself about the History of Christianity before you speak of Judeo Christian practices which are far removed from the practices than many Christians follow in modern times.

The question you need to be asked is how do you feel about Chinese Trinis, Middle Eastern Trinis and European/English Trinis? Do you also have or hold animosity towards them as well? Or is your main gripe with indo-trinidadians and the UNC?

The people who often speak about Christianity know little about Christian history itself. Let me correct you on a few things, Judeo Christian practices are not to be mixed up with Catholicism and it's practices.

So where did your prejudice develop if not from political propaganda? Was it from your upbringing or was it because of experiences with other TT citizens who were ignorant and uneducated that swayed you to think that you are any different or better than a Hindu Trinidadian, or a Chinese or European, or Middle eastern Trinidadian?
« Last Edit: April 07, 2013, 10:26:42 PM by Controversial »

You're obviously very attached to this issue. So attached  that you labelled my observation which was actually critical of both faiths, as a condemnation of one. I won't write an epilouge to prove that I'm not a racist or a bigot as you say. You asked for clarification about the 'bizarre' comment and I answered. Never did I think it have would caused such indignation.

There is no need to correct me on Judeo-Christianity either . You seem to be the one who is conflating ideas in that regard , in fact I never even mentioned Catholicism. 

As I read your post more I'm disappointed with myself that I'm actually responding. I don't know where you get the impression that I condemning people of Indian descent.

Your last paragraph is a mishmash of presumption and miscalculation. It can't be that you resort to these tactics when you disagree with someone. You are so hell bent on being defensive that you didn't realize that there wasn't even a threat.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2013, 05:52:07 AM by Jah Gol »

You're obviously very attached to this issue. So attached  that you labelled my observation which was actually critical of both faiths, as a condemnation of one. I won't write an epilouge to prove that I'm not a racist or a bigot as you say. You asked for clarification about the 'bizarre' comment and I answered. Never did I think it have would caused such indignation.

There is no need to correct me on Judeo-Christianity either . You seem to be the one who is conflating ideas in that regard , in fact I never even mentioned Catholicism. 

As I read your post more I'm disappointed with myself that I'm actually responding. I don't know where you get the impression that I condemning people of Indian descent.

Your last paragraph is a mishmash of presumption and miscalculation. It can't be that you resort to these tactics when you disagree with someone. You are so hell bent on being defensive that you didn't realize that there wasn't even a threat.

You would not believe, but I read his response this morning some time after 1 am and actually started to respond, not really on your behalf, but to point out the flaws in his understanding.  Then I ketch mihself mid-reply and say it will only engender more empty talk.

One of the very few times I will say that I misread your statement, I apologize for the accusations as they were unwarranted. Re-reading your statement I actually agree with many of the points stated. One thing that you are right of is I am passionate about this topic because it is important to the progress of our nation.

The part where we differ in opinion is that I do place blame on the media and external forces for dividing the races even further, as a means to manipulate and control the population. The generation of our grandparents had a certain level of civility and respect that is not present in this generation. The gap is widening year by year and the rift deepens with ethnocentrism on both sides.

Prejudice can develop with partisan political propaganda, that is of course my opinion and what I believe from my analysis. Almost to the point of indoctrination, where you forget the platform itself and focus on race of the group or individuals.

ROME – It was hailed as a giant step forward for racial integration in a country that has long been ill at ease with its growing immigrant classes. But Cecile Kyenge’s appointment as Italy’s first black Cabinet minister has instead exposed the nation’s ugly racism problem, a blight that flares regularly on the soccer pitch with racist taunts and in the diatribes of xenophobic politicians — but has now raised its head at the centre of political life.

more ...

Some of the most blatant manifestations of racism occur in the realm of Italy’s favorite sport, soccer – which for Italians and others has shown itself to be a perfect venue for displays of pent-up emotions. In the case of a handful of Italian teams, soccer is a way for right-wing fan clubs to vent.

Mario Balotelli, the AC Milan striker born in Palermo to Ghanaian immigrants and raised by an Italian adoptive family, knows all about it. Perhaps Italy’s best player today, he has long been the subject of racist taunts on and off the field: Rival fans once hung a banner during a match saying “Black Italians don’t exist” while the vice-president of his own club once called him the household’s “little black boy.”

Balotelli called Kyenge’s nomination “another great step forward for an Italian society that is more civil, responsible and understanding of the need for better, definitive integration.”

Maximum respect to that lady oui......fightin one hellava  uphill battle just showin up for work in a country where racism and misogyny is par for the..coursera

And ingrained. Hmm. Hope she keeps at it.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Racism Experiment- Brown eye and Blue eyes (Children's session)
« Reply #97 on: July 01, 2013, 12:37:39 AM »
Interesting clip this! 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VeK759FF84s

A class divided  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bf0zfMl5KSA   
At the workplace
« Last Edit: July 01, 2013, 01:35:52 AM by rotatopoti3 »

Race and politics in T&T, Guyana
« Reply #98 on: August 04, 2013, 10:15:51 AM »

Race and politics in T&T, Guyana
Published:
Sunday, August 4, 2013
Vishnu Bisram

In this academic masterpiece, the authors carefully probe the processes by which social and ethnic problems (competition between Indians and Africans) impact on politics in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana, two multi-ethnic societies. Profs Ann Marie Bissessar (Behavioural Sciences) and John Gaffar La Guerre (emeritus, UWI) display their scholarly expertise and skill in examining the mechanics of political power—how the “mechanism of ethnicity” determines “critical outcomes” in the two pluralist societies.

They discuss similarities and differences between the two societies. The book is thoughtfully written and makes several insightful and salient points on ethnicity. It amply discusses and illustrates some of the problems of governance in multi-ethnic states although it is short on solutions. As the authors stated, the study has as its principal objective an examination of the morphology of the race factor in relation to political alignments and realignments in the two plural societies.

The authors demonstrate a profound knowledge and understanding of ethnic concepts and they utilise extensive and copious documentary notes to supplement their analysis. The book is a welcoming addition to the academic literature on endemic political problems associated with ethnic conflict between Indians and Africans in both societies.

Re: Race and politics in T&T, Guyana
« Reply #99 on: August 08, 2013, 06:38:35 PM »
There is no need for any big study and behavioural patterns in the way people vote in Guyana and TT.Indians have been the target of derision in both countries since independence and even before.The British government spread the stories of hate against the Indos of Guyana and almost unlawfully put Jagan out of power giving the Afro Burnham power,the Indians had years of suffering with his rule,he,Burnham turned out to be worse than Jagan.In TT Williams came into power using race and Indians like in Guyana suffered under the PNM rule for 50 years.The boot is now on the other foot and Indians have caught up with the Afros and also passed them in many fields,they are less targets for derision now than they were back in time.Why all the fuss now about voting patterns,it is simple,Indians vote for the Indian Party and Afros vote for the Afro Party,there is a slight difference,more Indians vote for the Afro party than Afros vote for the Indian party,that is the pattern,sad but true.I hope that the whole of TT will one day be all Dougla.

Re: Race and politics in T&T, Guyana
« Reply #100 on: August 09, 2013, 09:43:34 PM »
There is no need for any big study and behavioural patterns in the way people vote in Guyana and TT.Indians have been the target of derision in both countries since independence and even before.The British government spread the stories of hate against the Indos of Guyana and almost unlawfully put Jagan out of power giving the Afro Burnham power,the Indians had years of suffering with his rule,he,Burnham turned out to be worse than Jagan.In TT Williams came into power using race and Indians like in Guyana suffered under the PNM rule for 50 years.The boot is now on the other foot and Indians have caught up with the Afros and also passed them in many fields,they are less targets for derision now than they were back in time.Why all the fuss now about voting patterns,it is simple,Indians vote for the Indian Party and Afros vote for the Afro Party,there is a slight difference,more Indians vote for the Afro party than Afros vote for the Indian party,that is the pattern,sad but true.I hope that the whole of TT will one day be all Dougla.

You have got to be a compounded jackass to think much less write such drivel

History of Modern Racism
« Reply #101 on: October 06, 2013, 10:25:52 AM »
Racism: A History [2007] - 1/3
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/efI6T8lovqY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/efI6T8lovqY</a>

Racism: A History [2007] - 2/3
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/IdBDRbjx9jo" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/IdBDRbjx9jo</a>

Racism: A History [2007] - 3/3
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/oCJHJWaNL-g" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/oCJHJWaNL-g</a>

Re: History of Modern Racism
« Reply #102 on: October 14, 2013, 12:08:01 AM »
Thanks for posting this    :beermug:

Trinidad and Tobago Race Debate
« Reply #103 on: February 06, 2014, 10:30:44 PM »
After looking at this debate I think I now understand and respect Sat a little more than I previously did.

Trinidad and Tobago Race Debate - Pt. 1
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/jYJIYjtCF8s" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/jYJIYjtCF8s</a>

Trinidad and Tobago Race Debate - Pt. 2
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/SJdtfMWO7VE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/SJdtfMWO7VE</a>

Trinidad and Tobago Race Debate - Pt. 3
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/TpA2ytcGoRw" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/TpA2ytcGoRw</a>

Trinidad and Tobago Race Debate - Pt. 4
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/ZoFfvoD89NE" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/ZoFfvoD89NE</a>

Trinidad and Tobago Race Debate - Pt. 5
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/oF-sTi33s8I" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/oF-sTi33s8I</a>

Trinidad and Tobago Race Debate - Pt. 6
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/iZPQP4gG2CM" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/iZPQP4gG2CM</a>

Trinidad and Tobago Race Debate - Pt. 7
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/FWYa1WfQG5c" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/FWYa1WfQG5c</a>

Trinidad and Tobago Race Debate - Pt. 8
<a href="http://www.youtube.com/v/D4x8EgOMnRs" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">http://www.youtube.com/v/D4x8EgOMnRs</a>
« Last Edit: February 06, 2014, 10:53:36 PM by Socapro »

Racism in T&T - The Thread.
« Reply #104 on: October 23, 2014, 01:59:30 AM »
Kambon: There’s racism against Africans in T&T.
By Richard Lord (Guardian).

Chairman of the Emancipation Support Committee Khafra Kambon says racism is still being practised against African people in T&T. Kambon was speaking  on Tuesday at a panel discussion on the topic, T&T’s International Obligations regarding Race Relations, Gun Violence and Human Rights—Assessing the Trayvon Martin Case, at the Noor Hassanali Auditorium, St Augustine Campus, University of the West Indies.

Other panellists were Jasmine Rand, attorney for the family of Trayvon Martin, and dean of the Faculty of Law Prof Rose-Marie Belle Antoine. Martin was a 17-year-old African American of Miami Gardens, Florida, who was fatally shot by George Zimmerman, a neighborhood watch volunteer, in Sanford, Florida, in 2012.

Dealing with the ban on citizens from some countries with Ebola cases, Kambon said that move was “irrational, hysterical and there is no scientific justification for that action.” He said people with Ebola were more likely to enter T&T by sea than by air and banning citizens from entering the country would not protect the country from Ebola.  “It is rational behaviour based on science that is going to protect you,” he  pointed out.

He criticised the Government for imposing a travel ban on Nigeria even after the WHO had said it was free of the virus. Kambon said: “Nigerians have been virtually banned from this country for a long time.” He was made aware of this ban last year after COPA Airlines said every time it brought Nigerians to T&T, they were being turned back and said he had to do a lot to get approval for some Nigerians to enter T&T.

There were only about 1,000 Nigerians in the country of an estimated 100,000 undocumented visitors, he said.  “When it comes to Africans from the continent, they are the most abused immigrants,” he added. Kambon said 80 per cent of the immigrants at the detention centre were from Africa and spoke of acts of brutality against people being held there, including one who was brutally beaten on May 21 and might have suffered permanent damage. He said the man was released under former National Security Minister Jack Warner but re-arrested under the current minister, Gary Griffith.

Kambon also said citizens should be very concerned about the level of police killings in the country for the year to date, as it was “absolutely unacceptable, no matter what fears we have about crime.”

If it were anyone else being killed other than young African males from particular communities, public reaction would have been different, he argued. He said in many instances “there has been no justification for the execution of young African males in this society.” National Security Minister Gary Griffith said previously the move to deal with illegal immigrants was not a witch-hunt but intended to ensure the matter was properly addressed and the Government would seek to regularise the status of illegal immigrants where possible.

Re: Racism in T&T - The Thread.
« Reply #105 on: October 23, 2014, 09:42:11 AM »
Kambon, I share the feeling towards the treatment of immigrants from Nigeria. But the part about Black men being killed is a bit hypocritical. Your buddy, the Dagger-in-the back sitting in parliament doing nothing. Why he doh use his influence to alleviate the problems on the hill. He has been wanting to be in power for donkey years. He is a member of the PP. Where is his voice. When the gangsters killing old women and 17 year old boys or just attacking residents in EDR, I doh hear you criticize them

« Reply #106 on: October 23, 2014, 09:47:29 AM »
Kambon, I share the feeling towards the treatment of immigrants from Nigeria. But the part about Black men being killed is a bit hypocritical. Your buddy, the Dagger-in-the back sitting in parliament doing nothing. Why he doh use his influence to alleviate the problems on the hill. He has been wanting to be in power for donkey years. He is a member of the PP. Where is his voice. When the gangsters killing old women and 17 year old boys or just attacking residents in EDR, I doh hear you criticize them

which is the majority of the killing in the edr, he talking nonsense, my uncles were among the first behind the bridge to support njac... and most of the killings were black on black crime... not police killings bc of race

« Reply #107 on: November 13, 2014, 08:21:06 AM »
Let us not pretend and be blind to what is happening

Kambon also said African illegal immigrants were being detained for extremely long periods. “By United Nations standards, three months of indefinite detention is considered torture. By UN standards, three months is considered too long. What happens is people, and especially immigrants from Africa, are detained for far longer periods. Some of them are detained for more than two years,” he said.
Kambon said the situation sowed frustration and even suicide among African people. “You are faced with a situation where there is a high level of frustration. The tendency is to detain Caricom nationals. Last year, I believe a Guyanese woman committed suicide. And we have had attempted suicide in the women’s prison. A man from Mali, Africa, attempted suicide but due to a lot of efforts, he is out.”
Kambon said while the incarcerated people were guilty of immigration violations, they were not guilty of criminal acts.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Kambon-claims-discrimination-violence-against-illegal-Africans-282504961.html

Kambon: Horrors for migrants from Africa
« Reply #108 on: November 13, 2014, 02:20:42 PM »
Kambon: Horrors for migrants from Africa
Published: Thursday, November 13, 2014
Renuka Singh (T&T Guardian)

Chairman of the Emancipation Support Committee Khafra Kambon

Attorney Farid Scoon, who represents several African nationals detained at the National Detention Centre, Arima, claimed yesterday Guyanese and Syrian mirgrants were being given preferential treatment by the immigration authorities. To support his view, he produced a 2004 internal circular, issued by the Chief Immigration Officer, which, he said, ordered that the cases of African nationals seeking extensions to stay in the country have to be escalated to Immigration senior officers.

Scoon said the processes for other nationalities were different. "Before an immigration officer can grant an extension, even if you have a work permit, he has to go to the assistant chief," Scoon said.
That circular used to included migrants from the Middle East and Far East but in recent times the convention between Trinidad and India has changed, he said, and he did not know why there was that disparity in treatment between the races. "I cannot say but there is a discriminatory policy enshrined in the immigration policy where they treat African nationals differently from how they treat other nationals," he said. He also said he had evidence of the disparity in treatment of African migrants as opposed to Syrian migrants.

Scoon confirmed that according to local laws, once someone is married to a T&T national, they automatically qualify for naturalisation. He said he was aware of cases where conglomerates in Trinidad hired consultants to source and retain Guyanese workers to work in restaurants. "On the one hand you are saying undocumented immigrants are taking away from our jobs, and on the other hand you are allowing certain persons in the society to bring in migrants by the hundreds to have jobs in T&T," he added. He said they receive work permits because of the influence of restaurant owners. Scoon also raised questions on whether there was a pact between the Syrian community and the government to allow nationals into the country because of the crisis in Syria. “Why is not the same courtesy being extended to Africans?" Scoon asked. The T&T Guardian tried to contact Griffith but was unsuccessful.

Kambon: Smear campaign against Africans
Emancipation Committee chairman Khafra Kambon is accusing Minister of National Security, Gary Griffith, of using "smear campaigns" to discredit the horrors endured by the African men held at the National Detention Centre. "We are seeing two trends in the conversation coming, especially from the Minister of National Security, who keeps linking undocumented migrants with crime and fake marriages. “We think we can discuss a major issue of concern without smears against persons who are victims," Kambon said yesterday.

He was speaking at a media conference at the committee's office, Bergerac Road, Maraval. He said the treatment meted out to the detainees who entered the country illegally was a violation of human rights. "Human rights conventions actually recommend that not be treated as a criminal act, even though it is against the law of the country," he said. There was a sentiment the Emancipation Committee was recommending that all African detainees should be released, but that was not so, he said, and there had been correspondence between the committee and the Ministry of National Security in which it recommended sending migrants back home rather than keeping them locked up indefinitely. "We feel there should be equality of treatment for everyone. We can say,  without any fear of contradiction, because the evidence is there and we dare anyone to say otherwise. “The reality is that there is particular discrimination in the treatment of the migrants that come here from the continent," he said.

Kambon countered Griffith's statement that migrants cases would be studied to regularise their individual cases, saying there were 23 African detainees at the centre but that had since increased to 27 and he had evidence that the State was planning to send them back to Africa. "The State is seeking to charter a plane to take these migrants home. It is discriminatory to have an open door to other people, where they can come in and have their cases heard, and at the same time shut the door on those who  are already in detention," he added.

Griffith dismisses allegations
National Security Minister Gary Griffith yesterday dismissed all allegations made by Emancipation Committee chairman Khafra Kambon and lawyer Farid Scoon. In a telephone interview yesterday, Griffith said Kambon and Scoon were misleading the public as he had the statistics to show that of the 640 people repatriated “a handful” were Africans. “The majority is from the region,” he said.
He said the two men also were misleading the public by saying African men were being profiled or treated worse among the detainees.

Griffith did admit that there had been allegations of mistreatment at the centre and said both his junior Security Minister Embau Moheni and the Chief Immigration Officer were investigating and compiling a report for him. “We will put things in place to ensure there is no recurrence of that but again, this is not treatment specific to the African detainees. These were reports across the board,” he said.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2015, 06:27:38 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #109 on: November 22, 2014, 09:17:34 PM »

TV6 News

"The inclement weather didn't prevent protesters in Diego Martin from angrily lashing out over the shooting of 19 year-old Ray Phillips from Rich Plain. He was allegedly ambushed and killed by police. The protesters are viewing the killing as a direct attack against the Islamic community."

http://www.tv6tnt.com/sevenpm-news/--Diego-Martin-Protest-283607301.html

« Reply #110 on: November 29, 2014, 05:51:12 PM »

TV6 News

"The inclement weather didn't prevent protesters in Diego Martin from angrily lashing out over the shooting of 19 year-old Ray Phillips from Rich Plain. He was allegedly ambushed and killed by police. The protesters are viewing the killing as a direct attack against the Islamic community."

http://www.tv6tnt.com/sevenpm-news/--Diego-Martin-Protest-283607301.html

Alleyne interviewed one of the members of the community who witnessed the event and got a detailed account of the killing. The man told Alleyne that Phillips worked as a painter with a contractor and was returning home from a job when he met armed police in the “track” he was using to go home. The man said the police shot an unarmed Phillips several times then, as he lay on the ground, turned him over and allegedly began taunting him.

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2014-11-29/police-killing-angers-community

« Reply #111 on: November 29, 2014, 06:49:00 PM »
In this latter in incident, assuming the veracity of the facts alleged, where's the racism? Seems like content driven to the Ian Alleyne thread rather than this one.

« Reply #112 on: February 20, 2015, 11:45:04 PM »
Bas: Making a mountain out of a molehill

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Bas-Making-a-mountain-out-of-a-molehill-293092521.html

Panday said the matter was being made “a mountain out of a molehill” to create a political issue and use race as a factor.

“They are making a big ‘hoo-ha’ out of it because it is elections. And I noticed that they are

introducing a lot of racism into the matter. As I predicted, this election is going to evoke a racial clash which we have not seen since 1962,” said the former prime minister.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2015, 11:47:10 PM by Sando prince »

« Reply #113 on: February 20, 2015, 11:46:29 PM »

Jack: Uproar over Ravina being Indian
By Anna Ramdass

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Jack-Uproar-over-Ravina--being-Indian-293092911.html

The furore over Opposition Leader Dr Keith Rowley’s wine with Ravina Rampersad was fuelled because Ramper­sad is East Indian, says Chaguanas West MP Jack Warner.

Warner, the MP for Chaguanas West, was responding to questions from the media on the issue, following the adjournment of Parliament yesterday.

“Sat Maharaj grie­vance is and he has said so: it’s an East Indian girl, and I say listen to me, thank God, because what the girl realise is that we live in a plural soci­ety and that dance, that wine, demonstrated that,” said Warner.

He said the wine was a non-issue. “That for me is ma­king a mountain out of

a molehill, the PP (People’s Partnership) is des­perate for something

against Dr Rowley and the PNM (People’s National Movement) but they haven’t succeeded.

“The fact is this girl, like anybody else sees a ce­le­brity and she wants to wine on a celebrity, she does that. Dr Rowley’s hands are open and exposed, in addition to, nobody knows she is 17 years old; why doesn’t she walk with her birth certificate on her back, and even then, if she’s 17, where is her guardi­an?

“Her guardian is do­ing a lousy job but, most importantly, that is something for Mrs Row­ley to talk to Dr Rowley about, not me, not the public and, therefore, for me, that is a wine of distraction and I will not subscribe to it,” said Warner.

Warner agreed wom­en do also come up and wine on him and “even at my age, I wine back”.

The controversial wine also came up du­ring the Parliament sitting as St Joseph MP Terrence Deyalsingh was speaking on the Trade Marks Bill 2014.

Deyalsingh was ur­ging the House to “grab the opportunity” to send the bill to a Joint Select Committee of the Parliament when a Government member quipped “Like Rowley”.

“What does that have to do with the debate?” asked Deyalsingh as he requested from Vice-Speaker Nela Khan for 30 seconds to address the issue.

“Has anyone paused to consider the effect of this controversy on an innocent woman who went out to play mas? You

all are destroying a person. Leave that alone, that is somebody’s daugh­ter,” said Deyal­singh

« Reply #114 on: February 21, 2015, 12:14:29 AM »
“Has anyone paused to consider the effect of this controversy on an innocent woman who went out to play mas? You all are destroying a person. Leave that alone, that is somebody’s daugh­ter,” said Deyal­singh

Bravo to Terrance Deyalsingh  :applause:

« Reply #115 on: February 21, 2015, 08:30:10 PM »
Some people cant help it. As I posted in another thread...similar sentiments get voiced at the girl who was in Olatunji's video....just because she was of one ethnic background different from him. A set of non issues and to and fro accusations.
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Claims of racial prejudice: parents protest outside school
« Reply #116 on: March 12, 2015, 07:12:16 AM »
Now look at what is happening at an African majority school in San Fernando where I grew up.
This is so sad the things that are going on in T&T under this PP government especially in the area of education! :'(

Claims of racial prejudice: parents protest outside school
By Sue-Ann Wayow sue-ann.wayow@trinidadexpress.com
Story Created: Mar 11, 2015 at 11:32 PM ECT

Making their voices heard: Parents display placards outside San Fernando Girls’ Government Primary School at Rushworth Street during a protest yesterday which was triggered by alleged race discrimination and other issues. —Photo: INNIS FRANCIS

San Fernando

Alleged race discrimination was one of the issues that triggered a protest outside the San Fernando Girls’ Government Primary School yesterday morning, with parents demanding a meeting with school officials.

The parents marched with pla­cards outside the school at Rushworth Street, San Fernando, while classes were in session.

Natalie James claimed she overhead a school official telling another person: “This is a Government school that has one race and I’m here to equal the race.”

The comment was allegedly made last month when the school was registering new pupils for the new school term in September, said James.

The Express was also told of the plaques on the walls of pupils who had done well.

Parents said the plaques with children of African descent were removed first and when questions were raised, all photos were removed.
Parents also objected to not being allowed on the school’s compound.

James told the media: “You can’t go in school and sit down and talk to your child. This is new thing for most of the infant children. You come with your parents, your parents wait for you on mor­nings to get you settled in. Now you are not allowed to go into the gate. That is not nice. My child is going here three years now. I am accustomed walking in school with her till her teacher comes.”

She added: “Sometimes it has children in the other classes with problems, they have somebody to talk to on mornings. Who are they going to talk to? Teachers are not in their class until half eight when the bell is called. It has nobody on mornings for them to talk to when they come to school.”

The school official was not willing to speak with parents, reporter­s were told.

Some of the problems included “unprofessional communication, medical conditions not being addressed, no financial report given after Christmas Frolic was held, parents’ vehicles being wrecked outside the school, lack of supervision in classrooms before 8.30 a.m. or on lunchtime, children are not allowed to eat, play, run outside of classroom”.

The parents also complained that they were “not allowed to speak to or correct any child that they see doing something wrong or harmful to themselves or schoolmates”.

They asked: “How are parents to build a relationship with teachers if they only meet with them once a term or only when there is a problem of money is needed?”

Education Ministry responds

An official with the Ministry of Education said a meeting was held with the school’s administration, school supervisors and parents yesterday.

The official said there was no evidence to substantiate claims of racial discrimination. The school official denied making such statements and explained that all the photos were removed to facilitate repairs.

The official said the parents decided to be a part of a more orga­nised Parent-Teacher Association (PTA) not related to the National PTA.

“With reference to dealing with issues in the school, the stakehol­ders have decided that there is going to be greater consultation. The school-based management model will be strengthened. The model is the inclusion of all the stakeholders with reference to issues of this nature,” the official said.

And the official added that the Ministry of Education had a training programme for newly appointed school officials.
« Last Edit: March 12, 2015, 07:17:16 AM by Socapro »

« Reply #117 on: March 15, 2015, 01:00:19 PM »
Understanding the roots of racism in politics in T&T.

For those who want to understand the roots of most of our problems we are now seeing you need to read the book by Tony Martin called "General History of the Caribbean" especially focusing on Volume V, Chapter 6 entitled "AFRICAN AND INDIAN CONSCIOUSNESS".

Here is a link to a file in pdf format: http://www.unesco.org/culture/caribbean/pdf/ghc_onlinechapter_vol5_chap6_en.pdf
« Last Edit: March 15, 2015, 01:09:43 PM by Socapro »

« Reply #118 on: March 17, 2015, 01:44:27 PM »

« Reply #119 on: March 17, 2015, 01:47:22 PM »

ILP comments on racist comments by Leladharsingh

The Independent Liberal Party (ILP) notes with alarm and outrage contents of a Facebook conversation being circulated on social media in which former Chaguaramas Development Authority (CDA) board member Jaishima Leladharsingh appears to be making racial slurs and using obscene language.

The ILP Says such behaviour is unacceptable, especially in a diverse society such as ours and is unbecoming of a holder of public office.
“To our knowledge, Leladharsingh is also a senior manager at the Agricultural Development Bank (ADB) which is under the portfolio of Minister of Food Production Devant Maharaj of Maha Sabha fame. Leladharsingh should be removed immediately from the CDA board and from his post at the ADB.” the political party added.

It has since been reported that Leladharsingh has in fact tendered his resignation to the CDA.
The ILP further noted that Leladharsingh’s post has been in circulation on the internet since April 2014 and even prompted former Prime Minster and former United National Congress (UNC) leader Basdeo Panday to appeal for Leladharsingh to desist from propagating racial division.

“For the People’s Partnership Government (PPG) to keep Mr Leladharsingh in both these positions indicates that the PPG condones and accepts racist and obscene behaviour by its appointees to public offices and is prepared to unashamedly engage in the politics of racial division regardless of the damaging consequences to our society,” ILP added.