March 29, 2024, 08:34:58 AM

Author Topic: Edwards gamble pays off big-style  (Read 1471 times)

Edwards gamble pays off big-style
« on: April 15, 2007, 07:08:41 AM »
Edwards gamble pays off big-style
Sunderland Echo

SUNDERLAND took a gamble on Carlos Edwards' natural fitness last week.

And it paid off with the Trinidad and Tobago international playing starring roles in the Easter victories over Wolverhampton Wanderers and Southampton, and, today, QPR.
Now the 28-year-old winger is regarded as fully match fit once more and ready to be involved in every one of Sunderland's remaining four games.
That will be a major boost to Sunderland's promotion hopes, for the speedy wide-man has been a key player for the club since arriving in a £1.5million deal from Luton Town.
Roy Keane admitted that putting the player into both games within days of him recovering from a shoulder injury was not the ideal situation for the player or for the club.
But it proved to be a gamble worth taking because it helped Sunderland take six points out of six, and the belief that Edwards could handle it proved to be well-founded.
The Sunderland manager told the Football Echo: "Carlos is fine and there's been no reaction which is great.
"In an ideal world, we wouldn't have asked him to play both games, but, when you are pushing for promotion, I think you have to take the odd risk here and there.
"Having said that, though, it was a calculated risk.
"He's a fit lad and the injury he had enabled him to carry on a lot of leg work and keep his heart-rate and his fitness up.
"We speak to the medics regularly and the medical staff here deserve credit for the way they've looked after him.
"He's been to Leicester a few times for different opinions and different treatments, so the background information we were receiving was that he might come back sooner than we hoped.
"And, when you're a fit lad like Carlos, it helps you.
"Now he's back and he's flying and hopefully he'll stay fit for the rest of the season."

Re: Edwards gamble pays off big-style
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2007, 09:25:47 AM »
""He's been to Leicester a few times for different opinions and different treatments, so the background information we were receiving was that he might come back sooner than we hoped.'"

So whey "Dog" really living ? or Carlos jus givin  dat to hold!   :D

« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2007, 08:05:26 PM »
Dog still ent understand that is God who give them surgeons the skill to operate.  This is 2007 and God expect us to use the brains he give us.  Well, I guess that is over  now.  Ah hope in his old age he could still walk on them knees

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2007, 08:25:50 PM »
great promotion sure :D
football in meh veins football in meh blood

Offline CK1

• Man of Faith and Integrity
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2007, 12:36:13 PM »
Dog still ent understand that is God who give them surgeons the skill to operate.  This is 2007 and God expect us to use the brains he give us.  Well, I guess that is over  now.  Ah hope in his old age he could still walk on them knees

I hope that you are not doubting GOD'S ability to heal Dog or anyone else. Although HE has given the surgeons the skill to operate...HE is the MASTER SURGEON and HE does not need any skills to perform HIS healing miracles.
HE is the same GOD in 2007 as HE was in the beginning and will be in the end.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2007, 01:14:39 PM by Tallman »
Jesus Christ...King of Kings and Lord of Lords!