April 19, 2024, 05:21:12 PM

Author Topic: U-15 Men's Football Team Thread  (Read 97058 times)

Re: U-15 Men's Football Team Thread
« Reply #270 on: August 11, 2017, 08:36:49 AM »
I guess this is Naps 1st eleven and not their A Colts team.

Do you view it as a useful activity? Identify any issues?

« Reply #271 on: August 11, 2017, 04:12:23 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/s7sRB_76veY" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/s7sRB_76veY</a>

« Reply #272 on: August 11, 2017, 04:12:55 PM »
<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/oTXUTiNzJhg" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/oTXUTiNzJhg</a>

« Reply #273 on: August 13, 2017, 05:52:45 AM »
U-15s face Costa Rica in Concacaf opener.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 15 Boys Team will begin their campaign at the CONCACAF Under 15 Championship against Costa Rica at 11am on Sunday at the IMG Academy in Florida.

T&T will begin their assault on Group B in the 39-nation development tournament with United States and Canada lined up as their other group phase opponents next week.

The team has been at IMG for a one-week training camp prior to their opening fixture and have played one game so far, managing a 1-1 draw with Tampa Bay United’s under 17 team last week.

This is the team’s first official tournament since coming together under head coach Russell Latapy in February. Their only previous overseas assignment was at the Cayman Airways International tournament in May which was won by Cuba.

Latapy expects the Costa Ricans to be handful but is not writing off a positive start from his young troops.

“We know it’s going to be three tough matches starting with the first one against Costa Rica. We are looking forward to the tournament. It is a learning process and we are really looking forward to this entire experience,” Latapy told TTFA Media.

“I am extremely happy for these matches because the faster these players can gain invaluable experience at  this level, it will be better for them in the long run and better for Trinidad and Tobago football on a whole. It’s a difficult group but in saying that,  what we can do is try to play the way we want to play which is with the football and work as hard as we can.

“As long as we play to our standard then I would be happy. It is a process. The players are starting to understand how we move the ball about, how we move the opponents about, the type of organisation we need in and out of possession and in dead ball situations. We are getting to a good point at this time,” Latapy added.

Left winger Jaiye Sheppard from Roxborough, said he was upbeat ahead of the tournament and not overawed by the  opposition.

“We have prepared well and we will be aiming to show this by playing a good game of football and putting out our best effort on the day for our country. It’s all about representing the red. white and black,” Sheppard said while tapping the left side of his chest.

“Coach Latapy has worked with us for months now and everyone understands their role and functions. It is a big opportunity for us and I’d like to thank everyone for the support so far. We will take the game on its own and try to play to the plan and hopefully we can do well and come away with a positive performance and result,” Sheppard added.

« Reply #274 on: August 13, 2017, 10:54:27 AM »
Glad to see some diversity on de team.

« Reply #275 on: August 13, 2017, 02:38:56 PM »
Under 15s fall 4-0 to Costa Rica.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 15 Boys team went under 4-0 to Costa Rica in their opening Group B encounter at the CONCACAF Under 15 Championship played at IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida on Sunday morning.

T&T conceded goals in the 14th  from Manfred Ugalde, 40th, captain Jose Tello with a powerful shot from a corner which gave goalkeeper Jaheim Wickham no chance,  Giancarlo Castro in the 44th  and Dereck Valentine in the 59th of 70-minute match.

The United States defeated Canada 1-0 in the other Group B encounter played on the day.

T&T had the first real chance of the game but Jean-Heim Mc Fee failed to make good of his opportunity in the opening minute of the game. The game was played in sweltering conditions and there was hydration breaks during both halves.

T&T are one of the eight seeded teams in Division One which comprises of  Groups A and B along with Mexico, Jamaica, Honduras, Panama, United States, Costa Rica and Canada.

The other 41 teams make up Division 2. The other 41 teams make up Divisions two and three. Only the top two teams from Group A and B are eligible to go through to the championship semi-finals and final with the other group winners and runners up competing for the remaining finishing spots.

Trinidad and Tobago (starting team): 1.Jahiem Wickham (GK); 2.Randy Antoine, 5.Cephas St Rose, 16.Marc Wharfe, 3.Darian Bradshaw; 13.Zachary Welch, 9.Ezekiel Kesar (captain); 7.Jean-Heim Mc Fee, 10.Josiah Edwards, 11.Jaiye Sheppard; 17.Justin Araujo-Wilson.

Substitutes: 18.Kernel La Fon (GK), 4.Antonio Chee Ting, 12.Rhowen Stewart-Williams, 6.Jabari Lee, 15.Adriel George, 8.Josiah Allen, 14.Aamal Julien.

Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
Costa Rica  1  1  0  0  4  0  3
United States  1  1  0  0  1  0  3
Canada  1  0  0  1  0  1  0
Trinidad & Tobago  1  0  0  1  0  4  0

Costa Rica vs Trinidad & Tobago Highlights.

RELATED NEWS

T&T lose 4-0 against Costa Rica in opening CONCACAF U15 Championship clash.
ttproleague.com.

Trinidad and Tobago got off to a miserable start at the 2017 CONCACAF Under-15 Championship at IMG’s Bradenton campus in Florida, losing 4-0 in their Group B opener against Costa Rica on Sunday morning.

Manfred Ugalde (14th minute), captain Jose Tello (40 minute), Giancarlo Castro (44th minute) and Dereck Valentin (59th minute penalty) left Trinidad and Tobago without shade under sweltering conditions in the 70-minute encounter which kicked off at 9am and had hydration breaks during both halves.

Hosts United States defeated Canada 1-0 in the other Group B match played on the day.

T&T will face Canada 9am Monday (14 August) before closing group play against the United States on Wednesday (16 August).

“Now we need to win the two games to get through to the knockout stages, but we are going to go for it,” T&T U15 head coach Russell Latapy told the TTFA media. “I was fairly happy with some of the things I saw. We are a much better team than we were earlier in the year but we still need the experience of playing international games [and the CONCACAF U15 Championship] is part of the process.”

Latapy conceded that the better team won on Sunday, saying, “I thought the better team eventually won the game. We had a couple opportunities especially one in the first minute which we should have probably scored and the game would have been a different one if we were playing from the front.”

Latapy’s reference was on a missed chance by Jean-Heim Mc Fee.

“The difference in the both teams wasn’t quality but instead tactical awareness. You can tell the Costa Rican players were playing at a high level and they were able to manage the game better at different stages. We are a team that is getting to that point which is where matches like these will serve us well going forward.

“In terms of technical ability, we were right there on par. If you looked at the game, you wouldn’t think it was a 4-0 score line. But a lack of playing at that level affected us. When were down 2-0 we were then made to chase the game and were making changes. That is where you really saw the difference. They were able to make the pitch a bit bigger and give us the run around.

“Most importantly for the players is that it’s a great experience and a fantastic learning curve. I am hoping that our players can see the difference between the two teams is that they (Costa Rica) were a bit better tactically and playing their positions better whereby we were still getting into a bit more individual play and holding the ball in the wrong positions.”

« Last Edit: August 14, 2017, 05:03:30 AM by Flex »

« Reply #276 on: August 13, 2017, 06:31:12 PM »
Lineups please

« Reply #277 on: August 13, 2017, 07:50:02 PM »
WATCH: Highlights of Trinidad and Tobago U-15's 4-0 loss to Costa Rica

<a href="https://www.youtube.com/v/qZ2tTzKkh5c" target="_blank" rel="noopener noreferrer" class="bbc_link bbc_flash_disabled new_win">https://www.youtube.com/v/qZ2tTzKkh5c</a>

« Reply #278 on: August 14, 2017, 01:13:29 PM »
USA 6 vs TT 0

« Reply #279 on: August 14, 2017, 03:26:15 PM »
10 goals in we ass and we eh score one, Latas go be on de senior team coaching staff soon.

DJW real good we.

Pick more Connection players, pick more.

« Reply #280 on: August 14, 2017, 03:32:57 PM »
USA virtually hits junior Soca Warriors out of CONCACAF U15 Championship for six.
ttproleague.com.

Trinidad and Tobago are virtually out of the CONCACAF 2017 Under-15 Championship in Florida, USA after losing 4-0 to Costa Rica and 6-0 against the United States on Sunday and Monday respectively.

The junior Soca Warriors, bottom of Group B without a point, face Canada (3 points) on Wednesday in their final Group B game at IMG’s campus in Bradenton, Florida.

A Chavez and Gianluca Busio each scored twice for the United States for the comfortable 6-0 win to put the hosts in command of the group with maximum 6 points.

G Reyna opened the scoring from the penalty spot before assisting in a quick double from A Chavez—all within the first eight minutes—for a 3-0 American lead at the break.

Busio, who scored on either side of the break on Sunday for a 2-0 USA win over Canada, arrived off the bench in the second half to score twice, separated by a C Garica goal, against Trinidad and Tobago.

The United States will complete group play against Costa Rica (3 points) on Wednesday.

Results

USA 6 (G Reyna 2’ pen., A Chavez 4’, 8’, C Garcia 79’, Gianluca Busio 49’, 80’) vs Trinidad and Tobago 0, at IMG Beranton Campus in Florida.

Costa Rica 0 vs Canada 3, at IMG Beranton Campus in Florida.

Teams

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Jahiem Wickham (GK), 16.Marc Wharfe, 8.Josiah Allen (5.Cephas St. Rose 46th minute), 3.Darian Bradshaw, 4.Antonio Chee Ting, 11.Jaiye Sheppard, 10.Josiah Edwards (7.Jean-Heim Mc Fee 12th minute), 6.Jabari Lee (2.Randy Antoine 62nd minute), 13.Zachary Welch, 9.Ezekiel Kesar (15.Adriel George 52nd minute), 17.Justin Arauj0-Wilson

Unused substitute: 18.Kernel La Fon (GK).

Coach: Russell Latapy

USA: 1.Damien Las (GK), 5.Mason Judge (4.Axel Alejandre 46th minute), 13.Kenny Nielsen, 3.George Bello (18.Joseph Scally 52nd minute), 14.Sebastien Anderson, 17.Gilbert Fuentes (16.Julian Gaines 46th minute), 6.Adam Espaza Saldana (10.Joshua Atencio 70th minute), 15.Cesar Garcia, 9.Alfonso Ocampo-Chavez, 7.Daniel Mangarov (2.Peter Stroud 65th minute), 8.Gio Reyna (11.Gianluca Busio 46th minute).

Unused substitute: 12.John Harms.

Coach: Dave van den Bergh

Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
United States  2  2  0  0  7  0  6
Canada  2  1  0  1  3  1  3
Costa Rica  2  1  0  1  4  3  3
Trinidad & Tobago  2  0  0  2  0  10  0

« Last Edit: August 14, 2017, 03:38:28 PM by Flex »

« Reply #281 on: August 14, 2017, 03:59:47 PM »

Trinidad and Tobago: 1.Jahiem Wickham (GK), 16.Marc Wharfe, 8.Josiah Allen (5.Cephas St. Rose 46th minute), 3.Darian Bradshaw, 4.Antonio Chee Ting, 11.Jaiye Sheppard, 10.Josiah Edwards (7.Jean-Heim Mc Fee 12th minute), 6.Jabari Lee (2.Randy Antoine 62nd minute), 13.Zachary Welch, 9.Ezekiel Kesar (15.Adriel George 52nd minute), 17.Justin Arauj0-Wilson

Unused substitute: 18.Kernel La Fon (GK).

Coach: Russell Latapy

The media could have a field day with dah one

« Reply #282 on: August 14, 2017, 07:50:44 PM »
I hope people are not shocked .. remember earlier in the year our under 15 team could to beat dc united and Huston dynamo under 15 ... so this USA result is expected

« Reply #283 on: August 16, 2017, 06:35:55 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago 0-3 Canada

« Reply #284 on: August 17, 2017, 01:47:57 AM »
U-15s close off with 3-0 defeat to Canada.
TTFA Media.

Trinidad and Tobago’s Under 15 Boys Team completed their Concacaf U-15 championship campaign with a 3-0 loss to Canada at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida today.

The result follows 4-0 and 6-0 defeats to Costa Rica and United States respectively.

Canada took a 1-0 lead in the 15th minute through Jérémie Omega Nkoy, an advantange they took to the half time interval. Nikon would add a second item after the break with Cameron De Silva adding another goal.

T&T head coach Russell Latapy added,  “It was a good experience for the players over the three matches. Definitely a learning experience and for the players who were able to see and experience a lot of different aspects of the game at the international level. Unfortunately at home we are not playing at a high enough level for these players to be really exposed to international football. The boys are seeing the importance of a lot of different aspects in terms of tactical awareness and the right mentality, the winning mentality.. a professional mentality.

“This trip was good for us especially staying here at the IMG Academy where these boys can see the way the professional athletes live and behave. I think in terms of potential and talent we are not far off from some of these other teams. But again it is imperative we get into the right habits and this tournament was really important for that,” Latapy added.

“Things are going to take time to come through but we will continue to persevere with what we are trying to achieve,” the former Porto man said.

Teams

T&T - 18 Kernel La Fon; 2 Randy Antoine (Yellow) (4 Antonio Chee Ting 63rd), 3 Darian Bradshaw (capt), 5 Cephas St.Rose, 6 Jabari Lee (13 Zachary Welch 54th), 7 Jean-Heim Mc Fee, 10 Josiah Edwards (9 Ezekiel Kesar), 11 Jaiye Sheppard, 15 Adriel George (8 Josiah Allen), 16 Marc Wharfe, 17 Justin Araujo-Wilson.

Coach - Russell Latapy.

Canada - 2 Brandon Phelps; 4 Maxime Bourgeois, 5 Nathan Demian (capt), 6 Matthew Radivojsa ( 3 Deandre Kerr), 8 Ralph Priso-Mbongue (Yellow 31), 9 Rafael Pinzon, 11 Jayden Nelson (7 Jeremie Omeonga Nkoy), 13 Malik Henry (10 Sean Rea), 15 Cameron Da Silva, 17 Tomas Ribeiro (12 Trivine Esprit), 18 Marc Kouadio.

Coach - Paul Stalteri.

Standings

P  W  D  L  F  A  Pts
United States  3  3  0  0  11  1  9
Canada  3  2  0  1  6  1  6
Costa Rica  3  1  0  2  5  7  3
Trinidad & Tobago  3  0  0  3  0  13  0

« Last Edit: August 17, 2017, 05:23:41 AM by Flex »

« Reply #285 on: August 17, 2017, 07:08:39 AM »
team eliminated early in tournament so Latas could have given everyone a chance to sweat and get experience. 

« Reply #286 on: August 18, 2017, 04:59:58 AM »
They collect 8-1 from Jamaica in the 7th/8th playoff.  :cursing:

Allyuh feel is joke.

Another humiliation! T&T U-15s routed 8-1 by Jamaica to finish last in CONCACAF division.
Wired868.

The good news is that Trinidad and Tobago finally got on the score sheet in the fourth and final outing of their CONCACAF Under-15 Championship adventure today. The bad news is coach Russell Latapy’s team conceded their highest tally for the competition, losing to Jamaica by a humiliating 8-1 margin in the seventh/eighth place play-off at the IMG Academy in Bradenton, Florida.

Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago finished the group phase of the competition with three successive defeats in which neither Caribbean nation managed a single goal. But the young “Reggae Boyz” broke their duck in spectacular fashion against their southern rivals.

After failing to score in 210 minutes of play against Mexico, Honduras and Panama, Jamaica scored eight times against the young Soca Warriors in their 70-minute contest.

Being spanked by Central and North American opposition was bad enough but a mauling by a Caribbean rival is another thing altogether.

Captain Dwayne Atkinson and Kellijah Morgan both notched first-half doubles for the Boyz while Kenroy Campbell also got on the scorecard as Jamaica led 5-1 at the interval. St Ann’s Rangers winger and St James Secondary schoolboy Jean-Heim Mc Fee scored the lone item for the Warriors.

And Jamaica substitute Rajay Wright rubbed their rivals’ noses in it with a second-half hattrick to cap off the drubbing.

Latapy had changed goalkeepers for the match as Matura Secondary schoolboy and North East Stars player Kernel La Fon got his chance ahead of St Anthony’s College and Trendsetter Hawks custodian Jahiem Wickham. But the coach reinserted Wickham for the second half.

Undeterred, Jamaica scored their final three goals against Trinidad and Tobago’s first-choice goalie.

The harrowing result comes just 24 hours after Latapy, one of Trinidad and Tobago’s most celebrated players, said his Under-15 troops were “not far off” the likes of Costa Rica and the United States “in terms of potential and talent.”

Latapy, a former Trinidad and Tobago National Senior Team head coach, returned to a coaching role for the Trinidad and Tobago Football Association (TTFA) last August, just weeks before the National Under-17 Team participated in a Caribbean tournament on home soil.

The young Warriors failed to even get out of their group.

If time was against Latapy in 2016, he had roughly six months and a warm-up tournament in the Cayman Islands to prepare his players for the CONCACAF Under-15 Championship, which included 40 teams from the Confederation.

Trinidad and Tobago were seeded in division one among the region’s top eight football nations.

In the end, the young Warriors ended as comfortably the worst team of the lot, with one goal scored and 21 conceded in just 280 minutes of football.

Results

Jamaica 8 (Kellijah Morgan 20, 44, Dwayne Atkinson 24, 27, Kenroy Campbell 42, Rajay Wright 44, 64, 68) v T&T 1 (Jean-Heim Mc Fee 37)

Teams

Jamaica -  13 Shamar Haffenden (1 Hasani Barnes 35th); 2 Khalifah Richards, 3 Kristopher Mcdonald, 4 Kaeleb Rainford, 6 Kellijah Morgan (14 Rajay Wright 58th), 7 Dwayne Atkinson (capt) (10 Christopher Pearson), 8 Ethen Horrobin (18 Isaac Scott), 11 Nickhari Campbell, 12 Dwayne Allen, 15 Omar Reid, 17 Kenroy Campbell.

Coach - Peter Reid.

Trinidad & Tobago - 18 Kernel La Fon (1 Jahiem Wickham 56th); 3 Darian Bradshaw (capt) (Yellow 46), 5 Cephas St.Rose (Yellow 11) (15 Adriel George 50th), 6 Jabari Lee (10 Josiah Edwards 35th), 7 Jean-Heim Mc Fee, 8 Josiah Allen (4 Antonio Chee Ting 49th), 9 Ezekiel Kesar, 11 Jaiye Sheppard, 13 Zachary Welch, 16 Marc Wharfe.

Coach - Russell Latapy.

« Last Edit: August 21, 2017, 03:57:18 AM by Flex »

« Reply #287 on: August 18, 2017, 08:54:32 AM »
So we team collect 21 goals and score one.

And Latas still here.

But, Hart really get a raw deal.

I cant remember a Caribbean team beating us by such a big number at any level.

« Reply #288 on: August 18, 2017, 08:57:25 AM »
He has this team training training months upon months  for this ??? Ok maybe latapy eh select the best players

« Reply #289 on: August 18, 2017, 09:21:01 AM »
He has this team training training months upon months  for this ??? Ok maybe latapy eh select the best players

Maybe de TTFA eh select de best coach.

Latapy dont have de vocals to be a good coach, he dont motivate players enough and he dont believe in friendlies and he willing to wok for small money, so we get what we pay for.

No excuse for collecting 8 from Jamaica, and Latas go say we was out already, but Jamaica out too.

« Reply #290 on: August 18, 2017, 10:00:04 AM »
Maybe Latas is a fitting scapegoat, but there is a SERIOUS misreading of the state of competency of players in this age group relative to their peers (and in the age group below that).

Focus on the scoreline is a smokescreen and should not be the benchmark for determining what is wrong.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2017, 10:01:53 AM by asylumseeker »

« Reply #291 on: August 20, 2017, 05:54:51 PM »
Dear Editor: Modern football isn’t just about talent but coaching; the TTFA’s youth policy problem
Wired868.com

The current TTFA administration and technical staff seem not to understand. Their dependence on a cadre of volunteers who come at a dime a dozen shows flagrant disregard for an effective pathway to success.”

The following Letter to the Editor on Trinidad and Tobago’s struggles in youth football—and, in particular, at the recent CONCACAF Under-15 Championship—was submitted to Wired868 by a United States-based coach, who shared on condition of anonymity:

What you’re about to read is a compilation of physical involvement and observations of Trinidad and Tobago football trends spanning 40 years. One can pick any decade from the 1960s to the present; and if one were to close one’s eyes and reflect, you will hear the echoes of the 60s reverberating in 2017.

With every failed youth international outing—including the moderate success of the Alvin Corneal-led 1974 squad—the most common utterances from each technical staff was this: “It was a good learning experience for our boys/girls,” “We need to adopt the professional habits exhibited by our counterparts” and “Our preparation was inadequate but we were just as talented as any other participant…”

And the latest, before Jamaica drubbed us 8-1, “We’re not far off…”

https://wired868.com/2017/08/20/dear-editor-modern-football-isnt-just-about-talent-but-coaching-the-ttfas-youth-policy-problem/

“The boys were not mentally prepared!”; football insider opens up
« Reply #292 on: August 24, 2017, 06:20:19 AM »
“The boys were not mentally prepared!”; football insider opens up on miserable T&T U-15 showing
By Lasana Liburd (Wired868).

Trinidad and Tobago National Under-15 Team head coach Russell Latapy has not addressed the public since his team returned last week from a shambolic showing at the CONCACAF Under-15 Championship in Florida.

The young Soca Warriors scored once and conceded 21 goals in four matches, their results including a 8-1 hammering from a Jamaica team that had failed to score in their three previous outings.

Latapy, according to the TTFA Media, has not scheduled a media conference for the foreseeable future either. However, Wired868 spoke to a football insider who was close enough to the action to offer some insights.

Wired868: First off, were there any issues or problems for the team on tour? Did coaches receive their stipends from the TTFA and so on?

Football insider (FI): There were no issues. For the most part, the TTFA has been very accommodating. [TTFA general secretary Justin] Latapy-George [who is also the younger brother of the head coach] has been instrumental in ensuring that we got the things we needed… We even went up [to Florida] earlier than the other teams to acclimatise. There were only two or three others [from the 39 competing nations] there. We requested that and it cost the TTFA money but they made that happen. [The technical staff was paid all stipends owed] before the tour.

Wired868: Were there disciplinary issues? I understand there was an altercation between Under-15 attacker Tyrese Pierre and assistant coach Duane Richardson during the pre-tournament tour in the Cayman Islands? And an issue with defender Cephas St Rose during the loss to Jamaica?

FI: There was an issue during the warm-up before the second match in the Cayman Islands. But to my mind it was a miscommunication between the assistant coach and the player. [Contrary to rumours], he didn’t choke the player…

We were preparing for the match and the player had a bib resting on his head. The coach tried to take it off and it might have yanked his head and the player felt the coach had done it roughly. This escalated. It was minutes away from the start of the match but, after the match, it was dealt with. The player was of the impression that the assistant coach was always picking on him but [the technical staff] had no evidence or prior reports of that.

As it turned out, the player’s mother was there in the Cayman Islands and [Latapy and the team manager] had a meeting with her, which was recorded with her consent. Duane apologised and everyone got the impression that she accepted the apology and we could move on. However, when the team returned to Trinidad, we were told that the parent had filed a report to the TTFA.

(Pierre was not selected on the National Under-15 squad for the CONCACAF competition).

Cephas was arguing with teammates on the field but I can’t say there was anything more than that. It was a stressful situation for the boys but he had generally been a player who we looked at as a leader. It was a hard tour and a wake-up call to everyone—staff included—in terms of what we need to do to succeed at that level. I think the players were frustrated too because sometimes they felt that more was demanded of them than they can do. I don’t know about any more issues other than that.

Wired868: So there were no further disciplinary issues?

FI: In the Cayman Islands, there were some disciplinary matters but it was mostly a matter of players being late for meals or some wanting to do their own thing like go to shop and eat as they liked and so on. Remember they were all representing their country for the first time and they were unaccustomed to the rules. So we would tell them what to avoid eating and then hear that players went ahead and did their thing.

But that was it really and we ironed most of those issues out there and they were not repeated in Florida.

Wired868: So what led to the bad results in Florida?

FI: I am not a coach and I will try to stay away from discussing that aspect of things. But in my humble opinion, we need to play against better opposition. We went to the Cayman Islands [for an invitational tournament against top academy teams] but that is not enough and you see that USA went to Europe and played against European Under-15 teams…

We also need to widen our pool of players and find a way to get potential players from USA, Canada and Europe into the mix. And that is a management thing…

The reality is these boys are accustomed to playing in Trinidad and being the best in Trinidad but then you go away and realise you are up against it. How do you deal with it mentally and emotionally? The boys were not mentally prepared for it and I think we need to look into bringing a psychologist on board.

Other teams had nutritionists and psychologists and all of that and they were better prepared for competition than we were.

Wired868: Granted Trinidad and Tobago’s preparation did not match the USA’s but how do you explain our result against Jamaica, who do not have superior resources to us?

FI: One of things that Haiti and Jamaica have over us is that desire to succeed. I don’t know if our boys have that ability to dig deep. We need psychological help. These boys are the best in the country but we are not mentally ready. I would say they were not mentally and emotionally ready to play in front of screaming fans and media. (The largest crowd on any given day was about 500 spectators when they faced the USA).

I don’t want to blame the boys. They performed to the best of their ability and the coach did the best he could do. In their minds, they are getting better in increments but it is only when they see the competition [that they realise how far short they were]. I saw Mexico play and their Under-15 Team [which was the eventual CONCACAF champion] might give some of our senior Pro League teams problems. They had great discipline, structure and tactical awareness. It showed me we have a lot to do to put things in place. The TTFA has been supportive but now we need to widen the player pool and get a psychologist involved.

Wired868: Is it true that the technical staff went out on the night before the Jamaica match and returned in the wee hours of the morning?

FI: That is not true at all. The staff did go out to Applebees with [former national player] Ricky Aleong but that was literally three minutes away from our quarters. And the players and staff had different accommodation too. The staff was back by 11pm. But you know how Trinis love to find negative things to talk about…

Wired868: We just lost 8-1 to Jamaica. Does the National Under-15 staff not feel that the public has a right to be upset by those results?

FI: I know Trinidad and Tobago fans are upset because we now have a history of bad performances but these things don’t happen overnight. This is a wake-up call to recognise how far off we are. There was some networking between the Caribbean nations there and we all saw how we struggled. Now, we want to organise friendly matches and tours amongst ourselves in the Caribbean so we can help each other out…

Jamaican athletes have more of a killer instinct than ours do and we probably need to do more in terms of that. People should realise that, at senior level, some of the advantages balance themselves off because we have players outside who are benefiting from playing at a high level. At youth stage, our players are competing with boys who are at proper academies like Saprissa and MLS Academies and we lack that. You can’t compare Jabloteh or W Connection to those academies which train right through the year. The Pro League and SSFL are not developmental leagues; they are competitions.

Wired868: Was there a bright spot in terms of our performances in Florida?

FI: I would say Jaiye Sheppard was a notch above the rest. (Sheppard is a 15-year-old Scarborough Secondary left-winger who already plays adult football with Phoenix FC).

[Fatima College midfielder] Zachary Welch and [QRC defender] Darian Bradshaw held their own too and gave it their all. But Sheppard stood out. He is mature and business-like and technically strong. He looks like he grew up playing against older players and he fights to the end and doesn’t give up.
I think he is one for the future.

(Trinidad and Tobago National Under-15 Team)

Goalkeepers: 1.Jahiem Wickham (St Anthony’s College/Trendsetter Hawks), 18.Kernel La Fon (Matura Secondary/North East Stars);

Defenders: 4.Antonio Chee Ting (Trinity College East/San Juan Jabloteh), 3.Darian Bradshaw (Queen’s Royal College/St Ann’s Rangers), 12.Rhowen Stewart-Williams (St Benedict’s College/Club Sando), 2.Randy Antoine (Arima North Secondary/San Juan Jabloteh), 5.Cephas St Rose (Independiente Sabaneta FC—Colombia), 16.Marc Wharfe (Maple Leaf International School/Skhy FC);

Midfielders: 9.Ezekiel Kesar (Naparima College/Point Fortin Civic), 13.Zachary Welch (Fatima College), 6.Jabari Lee (Pleasantville East/W Connection), 15.Adriel George (Bishops High School Tobago/St Clair Coaching School);

Attacking midfielders: 11.Jaiye Sheppard (Scarborough Secondary/Phoenix FC), 10.Josiah Edwards (Brazil Secondary/San Juan Jabloteh), 7.Jean-Heim Mc Fee (St James Secondary/St Ann’s Rangers), 8.Josiah Allen (Shiva Boys Hindu College);

Forwards: 17.Justin Araujo-Wilson (Fatima College/Skhy FC), 14.Aamal Julien (Point Fortin East Secondary/Point Fortin Civic).

Technical staff: Russell Latapy (Head Coach), Aaron Pollard (Manager), Duane Richardson (Assistant Coach), Otis Hislop (Physiotherapist), Rawle Webster (Trainer), Devin Elcock (Equipment Manager), Kevin Graham (Goalkeeper Coach).

« Last Edit: August 25, 2017, 12:42:37 AM by Flex »

Re: “The boys were not mentally prepared!”; football insider opens up
« Reply #293 on: August 24, 2017, 10:39:45 AM »
 :o

« Reply #294 on: August 24, 2017, 11:18:07 AM »
 :o

« Reply #295 on: August 24, 2017, 12:50:42 PM »
Lack of mental preparation cannot be the only reason.

« Reply #296 on: August 24, 2017, 05:49:03 PM »
A player told me that after the first few goals went in the players dropped their heads and the game plan went out the window. This sudgests lack of mental preparations.

« Reply #297 on: August 24, 2017, 06:02:38 PM »
A player told me that after the first few goals went in the players dropped their heads and the game plan went out the window. This sudgests lack of mental preparations.
this is the first game that I am talking about..... they never recovered.

« Reply #298 on: August 24, 2017, 09:49:47 PM »
if a first few goals going in, ..it suggest lack of proper preparation on all levels. This a'int  tennis. The magician, might be trained to coach adults(and still it may not mean one is capabale), but I have to question his ability to coach developing young boys in/for the future. Or do we give a second chance, and if so, if we only lose 6 : 3...do we say, "well, the coach has us improving".. Sorry Latas, you already had chances. You still a legend in my book. Don't give the youths now a different legendary perspective, of being a known losing coach.  :'(

« Reply #299 on: August 27, 2017, 05:34:12 PM »
Who say bring back Sean Cooper  ;D