April 29, 2024, 07:26:40 PM

Author Topic: Another TNT legend passes on...  (Read 2185 times)

Another TNT legend passes on...
« on: April 22, 2007, 09:59:08 AM »
Boscoe Holder dies
Sunday, April 22 2007

click on pic to zoom inBoscoe Holder...Well-known artist, Boscoe Holder, is dead. He died yesterday afternoon at his home in Newton with his wife Sheila and two nurses at his bedside. Holder had been ailing for over a year, according to family friend Mark Pereira, owner of 101 Art Gallery.

“He was in his mid 80’s, his body was just tired,” Pereira said.

Holder led a celebrated artistic life as a painter, dancer, costume designer, choreographer, dance instructor at the University of the West Indies, leader of an international dance group for nearly 20 years, orchestra leader and pianist.

He began painting, self-taught, at the age of five and by his seventh birthday he was already playing the piano.

Enamoured by this country’s culture, he researched and learned the local dances and songs of Trinidad and by the late 1930s he had formed a group of dancers and was producing shows depicting the music, songs and dances of Trinidad.

In 1948, Holder married Sheila Clarke and the couple had a son, Christian, the following year. In 1950 they travelled to London which became their home for the next 20 years.

He formed his group, Boscoe Holder and his Caribbean Dancers and introduced the first steel drums to England on his own television show in 1950, Bal Creole.

In the late 1960’s he returned to the country of his birth, where he quickly re-established himself as a painter, not only in Trinidad but also throughout the Caribbean. Since then he has exhibited in most of the Caribbean islands.

Re: Another TNT legend passes on...
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2007, 10:40:42 AM »
Rest in Peace Mr Holder
http://www.bestoftrinidad.com/profiles/boscoeholder.html
that family has produced some heros

Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2007, 03:41:39 PM »
he was de guy in annie right.

« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2007, 04:52:28 PM »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2007, 09:20:08 PM »
westcoast yuh hav it down pack boy , ah know ah could alwayz depend on yuh for the we history , ah have to give  that to yer. :applause: :applause:

« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2007, 10:31:43 PM »
gawd this news hurt meh heart.

his art exhibitions, his voice and such a gentle giant.

RIP sar

« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2007, 08:09:03 AM »
RIP sar
is not Geoffrey eh
is he older brudda Boscoe

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #7 on: April 23, 2007, 09:28:38 AM »
May he rest in peace.
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2007, 09:36:48 AM »
RIP sar
is not Geoffrey eh

<stares real deep>
you think ah doh know who he is ?
steups

« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2007, 11:00:57 AM »
RIP sar
is not Geoffrey eh
<stares real deep>
steups
cool, I did not know about him as much as Geoffrey, so Sorry
eh eh I was wrong for de fuss time den :angel:
« Last Edit: April 23, 2007, 11:05:49 AM by WestCoast »

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #10 on: April 23, 2007, 11:16:36 AM »
RIP sar
is not Geoffrey eh
<stares real deep>
steups

Frame dat and put it by yuh computer so yuh doh fuhget.  ;D
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #11 on: April 23, 2007, 11:37:30 AM »
RIP sar
is not Geoffrey eh
<stares real deep>
steups
Frame dat and put it by yuh computer so yuh doh fuhget.  ;D
what you mean  :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #12 on: April 23, 2007, 04:41:20 PM »
wow, so sad to hear dis...I was very fortunate to meet him I was in form 1 or 2..he visited my school I was very honoured to have him do a live portrait of me, probably took him 5 mins. May he RIP :(