April 29, 2024, 08:43:36 AM

Author Topic: Porterfield in cancer setback  (Read 7778 times)

Porterfield in cancer setback
« on: March 06, 2007, 07:05:28 AM »
The Scotsman

FORMER Aberdeen and Chelsea manager Ian Porterfield has been forced to take time out as head coach of Armenia after being diagnosed with cancer. The 61-year-old Scot moved to Armenia last year, after a stint with South Korean club Busan I'Park. Since leaving the UK in 1993, he has also managed the national teams of Zambia, Saudi Arabia and Zimbabwe.

"I've not felt well for several weeks, and went to one of the local hospitals for a check-up," revealed Porterfield. "After carrying out a load of tests, they discovered that I've got cancer of the colon."

Re: Porterfield in cancer setback
« Reply #1 on: March 06, 2007, 07:11:43 AM »
Sorry to hear.

Get well soon coach.

« Reply #2 on: March 06, 2007, 07:27:20 AM »
dais meh boy yuh know....come on porters....all the best.....

« Reply #3 on: March 06, 2007, 07:28:12 AM »
Get well soon Mr. P.

« Reply #4 on: March 06, 2007, 07:36:34 AM »
All the best...change your diet... eat more raw vegetables
« Last Edit: March 06, 2007, 10:44:23 AM by Pointman »

« Reply #5 on: March 06, 2007, 07:48:55 AM »
Oh no...Get better soon Porters  :beermug:

Offline Makm

« Reply #6 on: March 06, 2007, 07:53:44 AM »
Get well soon from all Soca Warriors and Mackems.

« Reply #7 on: March 06, 2007, 07:56:26 AM »
Sad news indeed  :(

Get well soon coach.

« Reply #8 on: March 06, 2007, 09:14:16 AM »
fight it papa.
All the Best

« Reply #9 on: March 06, 2007, 09:22:31 AM »
God bless.... :beermug:

Offline Johpants

« Reply #10 on: March 06, 2007, 09:39:22 AM »
I hope they have caught it early enough. We are sending you all the positivity so that you could vibes it up against this!

God bless.

« Reply #11 on: March 06, 2007, 09:59:02 AM »
porters is mi boy to .  I praying for de man. Everything go be good trus mi..
war..

« Reply #12 on: March 06, 2007, 11:04:05 AM »
Wishing you a speedy recvovery....

Offline lp

« Reply #13 on: March 06, 2007, 11:13:14 AM »
I pray that the healing power of almighty Jehovah will touch and heal him and through this he can come to know God and receive his salvation.

« Reply #14 on: March 06, 2007, 07:33:12 PM »
I met Porters once and he was a real nice gentleman.

I wish him the best with his health.

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #15 on: March 06, 2007, 09:44:23 PM »

All the best...change your diet... eat more raw vegetables

it is a good ting pointman got his doctor rate in cancer

get well soon  ;)
football in meh veins football in meh blood

Offline buzzcock

« Reply #16 on: March 07, 2007, 05:14:21 AM »

« Reply #17 on: March 07, 2007, 12:32:38 PM »
Get well soon Porters.

For anyone interested "HMS 90" has had amazing results for Cancer.

Check out Dr. Rozerforte, who is based in Sangre Grande, and also has an office in Chaguanas.

Offline SAFCjl

« Reply #18 on: March 07, 2007, 12:39:05 PM »
The Scotsman

FORMER Aberdeen and Chelsea manager Ian Porterfield has been forced to take time out as head coach of Armenia after being diagnosed with cancer. The 61-year-old Scot moved to Armenia last year, after a stint with South Korean club Busan I'Park. Since leaving the UK in 1993, he has also managed the national teams of Zambia, Saudi Arabia and Zimbabwe.

"I've not felt well for several weeks, and went to one of the local hospitals for a check-up," revealed Porterfield. "After carrying out a load of tests, they discovered that I've got cancer of the colon."

Very sad to hear that.

Get well soon Ian.

Offline Trini_fan

« Reply #19 on: March 07, 2007, 01:40:55 PM »
Hope he gets well soon.

Ian Porterfield very ill
« Reply #20 on: April 24, 2007, 11:43:00 AM »
Ian porterfield is an alumni of the Black Cats and is now battling cancer read on;

http://www.safc.com/news/?page_id=12260

Re: Ian Porterfield very ill
« Reply #21 on: April 24, 2007, 11:53:33 AM »
best wishes to porters.

Offline JW

• Mackem Abroad
  • Eat My Goal
    • Black Cats of North America
« Reply #22 on: April 24, 2007, 12:27:07 PM »
Ian porterfield is an alumni of the Black Cats and is now battling cancer read on

To be fair, he's a bit more than an "alumni"... he scored the winning goal in our 1973 FA Cup Final victory over dirty Leeds, and is such is nearly as much of a Sunderland legend as Bob Stokoe, the manager.
Hey, careful, man, there's a beverage here!

« Reply #23 on: April 24, 2007, 02:41:47 PM »
GET WELL SOON

Offline black chinee

« Reply #24 on: April 24, 2007, 03:55:51 PM »
He was a very cool man.... thought he did alot for us in trini football also...... Our Prayers be with him

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #25 on: April 24, 2007, 08:15:49 PM »
Ian porterfield is an alumni of the Black Cats and is now battling cancer read on

To be fair, he's a bit more than an "alumni"... he scored the winning goal in our 1973 FA Cup Final victory over dirty Leeds, and is such is nearly as much of a Sunderland legend as Bob Stokoe, the manager.

Interesting.

Get well soon Mr. Porterfield.

« Reply #26 on: April 25, 2007, 07:04:49 AM »
Ian Porterfield was an excellent coach, he had his problem like everyone else, but I believe he did great with us...

Get well soon coach.

Offline JayTheWrecker

« Reply #27 on: April 25, 2007, 12:03:38 PM »
i would never wish ill on anyone, and certainly not something like cancer of the colon, and i genuinely hope that Porterfield makes a full recovery. But when i first heard about it i couldn't help thinking that a little karma might have come his way. Yes he did great with us as a coach, but away from football the man was a drunk and some of us still remember the incident on Uriah Butler in which he killed a child. He was never brought to account for that because the whole thing was shamefully swept under the carpet. Like i said, i don't wish the man ill, i hope he recovers and everything, but the fact remains that somewhere in Trinidad there is a family who is still having to live with the consequences of Porterfield's actions on that fateful day...
Son, there's only two things that matter in this life. Family and Football. Everything else is bullshit

« Reply #28 on: April 25, 2007, 12:15:39 PM »
, but away from football the man was a drunk and some of us still remember the incident on Uriah Butler in which he killed a child.

:o
I must be miss dat one completely.......dat happen jus before he leave or wha?

« Reply #29 on: April 25, 2007, 12:17:18 PM »
i would never wish ill on anyone, and certainly not something like cancer of the colon, and i genuinely hope that Porterfield makes a full recovery. But when i first heard about it i couldn't help thinking that a little karma might have come his way. Yes he did great with us as a coach, but away from football the man was a drunk and some of us still remember the incident on Uriah Butler in which he killed a child. He was never brought to account for that because the whole thing was shamefully swept under the carpet. Like i said, i don't wish the man ill, i hope he recovers and everything, but the fact remains that somewhere in Trinidad there is a family who is still having to live with the consequences of Porterfield's actions on that fateful day...

Yuh wrong to even say this. Everyone pay for their deeds, but doh throw this back in de man face. He needs de support and understanding. Porterfield alone was not involved in that incident, what about Jack Warner and them who pay off de people. Or when Yorke hit 2 girls with his car in Tobago 2 years back and pay them off too. A lot of people does take a drink and drive and makes mistakes, so doh go there, it could happen to you and I am sure you would have wanted help too. Porterfield in a critical state no need to remind anyone how bad or what mistakes de man did... by you saying this you just as bad and could pay as well for your mouth. De people who cover up Porterfield incident just as guilty. What about de people who got paid off, them eh ever say nothing, just take de money and gone, I eh saying he should be forgiven, but I cannot wish for a man to pay back in such state...

I pray for his recovery.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2007, 12:21:04 PM by Flex »