April 24, 2024, 09:39:27 PM

Author Topic: Dem fellas saying "Pan in a minor"  (Read 2925 times)

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
Dem fellas saying "Pan in a minor"
« on: April 24, 2007, 09:59:06 PM »
Dem fellas saying "Pan in a minor" was de best pan tune ever made...wha bout "Woman on de base"..?...Allyuh think is one of them two or another one?
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

Re: Dem fellas saying "Pan in a minor"
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2007, 12:18:37 PM »
who is dem fellahs?

I think pan in A minor make for pan

« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2007, 01:03:27 PM »
Bees Harmony by Kitch

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2007, 02:03:09 PM »
Yuh cah call pan chunes and not call Kitch eh? Man was a sweet music maker for pan boy..

I learn to play a little pan in Toronto and of all the calypsoes I learned, I think "Pan In A Minor" stands head and shoulders above the rest. Followed closely by "Guitar Pan". Even watching the panists play those two tunes reveals a little something extra. I heard Renegades do "Pan In A Minor" on a recording I have here, live in Woodford Square...and papayo....pan jumbie take meh.

There is one other piece that I find really lends itself and that is Baron's "Tell Me Why". That chord progression he put in there still gives me goose pimples today.

Shadow's "Woman On De Bass" is sweet, no question but I think it was more of a social statement rather than a 'chune for pan'.

There are a lot of tunes you can re-invent and arrange into some nice pan tunes but Kitch's tune could stand all alone. You can even leave it as is, not touch a chord and still wake up de pan jumbie.
« Last Edit: April 25, 2007, 02:09:12 PM by Queen Macoomeh »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2007, 02:07:23 PM »
Bees Harmony by Kitch

"Bees Melody"...nice one

and den he had "Mystery Pan"...

« Reply #5 on: April 25, 2007, 02:12:00 PM »
Queen... Scrunter sing Woman on de bass and Shadow sing Bassman  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #6 on: April 25, 2007, 02:23:28 PM »
Queen... Scrunter sing Woman on de bass and Shadow sing Bassman  :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

lol..and yuh knwo I now now tell somebody ah not ole and din go to school wid Moses and look what I do...LOL

tanks doh. Like meh geritol doh help wid meh memory. ;D

« Reply #7 on: April 25, 2007, 02:43:36 PM »
this tune for me was a real good pan tune . real unhearlded but tis really nice

ramajay by Gb. its a very sweet enegetic pan tune.. does get yuh ina  mood
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #8 on: April 25, 2007, 05:18:20 PM »
AH hear so much sweet tunes that ah countfuze alah dem sound sweet, the best fuh me iz sweet pan

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
« Reply #9 on: April 25, 2007, 10:23:13 PM »
who is dem fellahs?

I think pan in A minor make for pan

Just some random fellas who think dem always right and claim dey know almost everything bout pan
« Last Edit: April 25, 2007, 11:43:18 PM by problemjaydeess »
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2007, 01:49:32 PM »
Personally I think 'Duss in yuh face' is THE tune dat designed for pan

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #11 on: April 26, 2007, 02:58:11 PM »
Mighty Trini "RAIN" Played by Pandemonium, arranged by Bradley 1988. Not a pan tune, but Bradley did something real special with it. Still trying to find ah recording of it.
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #12 on: April 27, 2007, 07:46:30 AM »
Mighty Trini "RAIN" Played by Pandemonium, arranged by Bradley 1988. Not a pan tune, but Bradley did something real special with it. Still trying to find ah recording of it.

"RAIN"?  ???

No wonder yuh cyah find it because de name a de tune you lookin for is "SAILIN" padnah.

As fuh bess pan chune.....I eh know how peeps could leff out classics like

Pan Talent - Terror
Pan in Harmony - Kitchener
The Road - Kitchener
Pan on the Move - Ray Holman
I Music - Boogsie Sharpe
Pan Night & Day - Kitch
Rainorama - Kitch
Jane - Sparrow

« Last Edit: April 27, 2007, 07:56:39 AM by palos »

« Reply #13 on: April 27, 2007, 09:26:51 AM »
Consider these...Pan Woman, Sailing, Curry Tabanca, My Band, Gold, High Mas, Raising Dus, Spree Simon, Music In We Blood, Fire Down Below, Holdon to yuh man.....also some of the most memorable chunes played on pan werent necessarily written for pan eh!.....Sailing, Curry Tabanca, Gold, High Mas, Party, Ben Lion, Soucouyant, Me Eh Fighting
« Last Edit: April 27, 2007, 09:32:28 AM by Ent! »

« Reply #14 on: April 27, 2007, 10:05:08 AM »
Consider these...Pan Woman, Sailing, Curry Tabanca, My Band, Gold, High Mas, Raising Dus, Spree Simon, Music In We Blood, Fire Down Below, Holdon to yuh man.....also some of the most memorable chunes played on pan werent necessarily written for pan eh!.....Sailing, Curry Tabanca, Gold, High Mas, Party, Ben Lion, Soucouyant, Me Eh Fighting

If yuh callin tunes dat wasn't written fuh pan, how yuh go leff out Rebecca?  :shameonyou: :shameonyou:
« Last Edit: April 27, 2007, 05:14:14 PM by palos »