April 19, 2024, 10:14:41 PM

Author Topic: Something tells me Gayle could be made West Indies captain  (Read 2376 times)

Offline RRamdin

Something tells me Gayle could be made West Indies captain
« on: April 26, 2007, 06:03:18 AM »
It wouldn't be totally out of the blue in the array of randomness that is West Indies cricket, that they appoint Chris Gayle as captain. From what I've read on this site, and on others relating to cricket, the WICB don't seem to be totally sure about Sarwan at the moment. He will probably become captain in the end, but I feel Gayle has a bigger chance than most of us realise. Ask for Ganga I see him as the captain in waiting. I want him for the next 2 years to cement his place in the team properly, then he will be ready to take on the mantle of captaincy; also taking on the captaincy now maybe bad for him with the state we are in. 2 years from now, even 3 when Ganga is 30-the ideal age of a test captain in my opinion he will be better equipped too be a successful captain.

Re: Something tells me Gayle could be made West Indies captain
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2007, 06:18:12 AM »
How is 30 the ideal age to be captain?

Graeme Smith took the captaincy at 22 and Vaughan was also a young captain and both did very well. Reason being that they were not established players that were then burdened with the added responsibility of captain. They were brought in with captaincy being their main role and everything else after hence relieving the pressure associated.

Read Angus Fraser's article. Lara has been pretty much the only captain to keep up his performance level and not suffer as a result of the added pressure. I say go with Ganga and save our batsmen.

« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2007, 06:47:59 AM »
Ah telling allyuh that since last week........gayle go be captain or vice captain.

As for ganga.....he better of not captaining and mixing with those fellas on the current team....cause they go push him out of the team ...esp if he make captain before them.

Anyhow I hear a talk last night about an incident that happen in WI camp before the last couple of game. I eh know if i should repeat it cause I cant really verify itnor did I ask if i could repeat it. If is true, then all Trinis in for a HARD time in the WI squad. So no way i want Ganga to take licks from them fellas.

« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2007, 07:09:48 AM »
Well pm we they story nah ,how u go leave wondering so .

« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2007, 10:06:52 AM »
Ah telling allyuh that since last week........gayle go be captain or vice captain.

As for ganga.....he better of not captaining and mixing with those fellas on the current team....cause they go push him out of the team ...esp if he make captain before them.

Anyhow I hear a talk last night about an incident that happen in WI camp before the last couple of game. I eh know if i should repeat it cause I cant really verify itnor did I ask if i could repeat it. If is true, then all Trinis in for a HARD time in the WI squad. So no way i want Ganga to take licks from them fellas.

pm me the story also and ill se whether it is true from a good source...

« Reply #5 on: April 26, 2007, 11:43:48 AM »
Forget PM post it man wuh yuh fraid?

« Reply #6 on: April 26, 2007, 12:21:06 PM »
check allyuh pm.

I does try not to publically spread hear say  news nah....next thing it eh turn out to be true.

Offline sinned

« Reply #7 on: April 26, 2007, 01:30:17 PM »
well if is pm we getting the story by then pm meh nah

Offline Remie

« Reply #8 on: April 26, 2007, 01:35:24 PM »
well if is pm we getting the story by then pm meh nah

if you not charging then can you pm me as well please   ;D :beermug:

Offline willi

« Reply #9 on: April 26, 2007, 02:11:32 PM »
Why would Gayle be captain?

I dont see that one at all. Sarwan should be the front runner and Ganga did a good job with TnT, so he is a factor as well.

The good of Windies cricket should be the sole criterion.

If you PMing all, count me in too.

« Reply #10 on: April 26, 2007, 02:56:18 PM »
Not even the WICB so dotish.

« Reply #11 on: April 26, 2007, 04:32:22 PM »
if ganga or sarwan aint captian...then dais de end ah WICB. gayle cyah control or motivate he self hwo eh doing that to a team..

yuh could keep yuh pm bro sammy. who ever yuh hear dat from ah hope dey worng....
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline RRamdin

« Reply #12 on: April 28, 2007, 11:17:10 AM »
Hold on, Vaughan was an established member of the test and odi sides when took over the captaincy's. He was odi captain before he was made test captain. Graeme Smith has sinced proved he is not a specialist captain whereas vaughan has become one. q

« Reply #13 on: April 28, 2007, 01:15:39 PM »

Could you pm the story to me please.

« Reply #14 on: April 28, 2007, 03:39:36 PM »
look a man buss the story in another thread only he forget about the bottle and weed

I hear that a incident happen between our boy Pollard and Marlon samuels I actually here they had a lil fracas and apparantely Lara step in and somebody get slap I don't know who but that is the word I get from Trinidad.