April 27, 2024, 07:03:00 PM

Author Topic: Kelly -ann wins heat  (Read 3472 times)

Kelly -ann wins heat
« on: April 27, 2007, 09:04:13 PM »
http://www.flashresults.com/2007_Meets/outdoor/penn/The_Penn_Relays.htm

Place Bib Number Name Affiliation Time
1 1 Kelly Ann Baptiste LSU 11.55
2 11 Barbara Pierre St Augs 11.68
3 17 Elizabeth Adeoti Texas A&M 11.74
4 10 Nyoka Cole UTech/Jam 11.82
5 25 Brittany Blaylock TCU 12.10
6 24 Ashley Dukes Miami Fla 12.25
7 30 Sherrine Sheppherd Pine Bluff 12.86

1 2 Kerron Stewart Auburn 11.22
2 7 Sherry Fletcher LSU 11.27
3 20 Gloria Asumnu Tulane 11.40
4 15 Lynne Layne Tennessee 11.40
5 26 Shaquela Williams Auburn 12.18
6 29 Lauren Deas Cabrini 12.29

1 6 Murielle Ahoure George Mason 11.46
2 5 Tracy Anne Rowe Auburn 11.50
3 16 Jessica Young Richmond 11.72
4 18 Jessi Foreman UConn 11.96
5 28 Maneka Maxwell Florida Intl 11.96
6 27 Kandis Bell

Re: Kelly -ann wins heat
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2007, 09:04:35 PM »
so ato  kelly ann run easy in that heat 
« Last Edit: April 27, 2007, 09:23:20 PM by DWarriorMan »

« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2007, 09:28:36 PM »

« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2007, 11:56:05 PM »
Ok I have to express my disappointment at Kelly Ann getting run down at Penn in the 4x200 by Shalonda Solomon of USC.  Now Solomon is the ncaa outdoor champ but that should NEVER happen, no way, not from that far back.

No words.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2007, 02:50:50 PM by atoboldon »

« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2007, 03:02:28 PM »
Place ID Athlete School/Affiliation Mark
1 01 Kerron Stewart Auburn 11.15
2 04 Sherry Fletcher Louisiana State 11.43
3 07 Gloria Asumnu Tulane 11.47
4 05 Tracy Anne Rowe Auburn 11.54
5 02 Murielle Ahoure George Mason 11.55
6 03 Kelly Ann Baptiste Louisiana State 11.62
7 06 Barbara Pierre St. Augustine's 11.71
8 09 Jessica Young Richmond 11.76
DNS 08 Lynne Layne Tennessee 

she has to be burn out or maybe ill  now something is wrong with kelly ann 11.62 ???? she openend the season with 11.22 nope sumthing wrong

« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2007, 03:24:38 PM »
She must be hurt. If not then the LSU burn out has started and I will be the first to say time to get out she has offers from her native Tobago to go pro and they will support her $ wise if need be for everything.  No way to explain this performance this time of year.

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
« Reply #6 on: April 28, 2007, 10:33:07 PM »
Place ID Athlete School/Affiliation Mark
1 01 Kerron Stewart Auburn 11.15
2 04 Sherry Fletcher Louisiana State 11.43
3 07 Gloria Asumnu Tulane 11.47
4 05 Tracy Anne Rowe Auburn 11.54
5 02 Murielle Ahoure George Mason 11.55
6 03 Kelly Ann Baptiste Louisiana State 11.62
7 06 Barbara Pierre St. Augustine's 11.71
8 09 Jessica Young Richmond 11.76
DNS 08 Lynne Layne Tennessee 

she has to be burn out or maybe ill  now something is wrong with kelly ann 11.62 ???? she openend the season with 11.22 nope sumthing wrong

I'm waiting to hear her response to this performance
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

« Reply #7 on: April 29, 2007, 07:47:49 AM »
Thompson pockets Penn bronze
...visa and injury problems keep T&T out

Kwame Laurence klaurence@trinidadexpress.com

LSU QUARTET: Louisiana State's Kelly Ann Baptiste, Samantha Henry, Sherry Fletcher and Brooklyn Morris pose for photographers after winning the 4x100 metres at the Penn Relays, in Philadelphia, on Friday.

Trinidad and Tobago sprinter Richard Thompson bagged bronze in the college men's championship 100 metres dash, at the Penn Relays in Pennsylvania, USA, yesterday.

The Louisiana State University (LSU) student clocked 10.49 seconds.

Another T&T/LSU sprinter, Kelly-Ann Baptiste, copped sixth spot in the college women's 100m in 11.62, seven-hundredths of a second slower than her preliminary round run.

T&T track stars Marc Burns and Darrel Brown teamed up with Jamaicans Mario Forsythe and Nesta Carter to compete in the USA vs The World men's 4x100m relay. The "All Star" team finished sixth in 40.08 seconds. The USA Red team of Tyson Gay, Wallace Spearmon, Darvis Patton and Shawn Crawford clocked 38.35 for a comfortable victory. Jamaica (38.89) and USA Blue (38.97) finished second and third, respectively.

A T&T quartet was expected to do battle in the race. However, visa and injury problems reportedly kept T&T out, forcing Burns and Brown to team up with Forsythe and Carter.

El Dorado Secondary Comprehensive copped fifth spot in the high school boys' Championship of America 4x400m event in three minutes, 17.02 seconds. In the preliminaries, El Do were fifth fastest in 3:16.47.

El Do clocked 42.56 seconds to finish sixth in the high school boys' small schools 4x100m final. In the qualifying round, on Friday, the El Do combination of Denzil Delpesche, Akini Thomas, Maurice De Leon and Kervin Morgan topped heat 13 in 42.68 seconds to emerge as the seventh fastest of the 240 small schools on show.

The Queen's Royal College quartet of Christian Benjamin, Shermund Allsop, Rory John and Zwede Hewitt clocked 43.61 to finish second in heat 24 and 22nd overall among the small schools.

In the Olympic Development men's 110m hurdles, T&T's Karriem Pierre was ninth in 14.56 seconds.

On Friday, Mikel Thomas finished 12th overall in the college men's 400m hurdles. The University of Kentucky athlete got home in 53.46 seconds. Fatima College student Gavyn Nero returned a time of four minutes, 28.44 seconds to cop 17th spot in the high school boys' mile.

In Thursday's college women's 400m hurdles, Delaware State University athlete Cuquie Melville (1:01.71), Bowie State University's Ricci Alleyne (1:04.41) and St Augustine's College student Aisha George (1:04.63) were 21st, 46th and 48th, respectively.

And on Tuesday and Wednesday, Coppin State University athlete Natoya Baird accumulated 4,814 points to finish fifth in the women's heptathlon.

« Reply #8 on: April 29, 2007, 07:49:24 AM »
We should try to get more team to the penns at least the top 4 teams in the 4*4 4*1  and 4*8

« Reply #9 on: April 29, 2007, 08:33:33 AM »
look kelly ann run in the 4*200 Ah so vex . think she did not know she was ketching up ato

http://www.flocasts.com/flotrack/coverage.php?c=34&id=2369

but ato kelly ann ran alot of race
the 4*1 the 4*2 the 100  the heats  and the finals thats alot of races i also think she ran the 4*4 heats. she was over worked . champion only ran the 4*2 and 4* 1 and i think kerron ran the 100 and 4*100
« Last Edit: April 29, 2007, 08:43:22 AM by DWarriorMan »

« Reply #10 on: April 29, 2007, 09:13:09 AM »
this ent a too much races today issue it might be a too many races since I arrived in Baton Rouge issue.

Kelly Ann's form fell apart on that 200m and I saw it and was concerned, and right around then was when Solomon blew by.

I need to hear something from her. I dunno why Kwame has zero quotes from her.

« Reply #11 on: April 29, 2007, 10:46:55 AM »
All our records fall  brown record fall at the carifta soon his world junior record and world youth record   .. now eldo record at the penn fall. How fast can blake go ?? everytime is some push and push he need

Blake blazes away
published: Sunday | April 29, 2007

PHILADELPHIA:

ST. JAGO'S 17-year-old sprinter Yohan Blake continues to prove that he is a class act.

On yesterday's final day of the 113th Penn Relays at the Franklin Field stadium, in front of 46,363 supporters, Blake received the baton in second place but showed class and speed to destroy his rivals in taking his team to victory.

However, yesterday was more special for Blake as most track and field observers believe he would not beat Class Two athlete Ramone McKenzie if he received the baton behind him in the 4x100m, but he proved them wrong.

Despite collecting the baton about two metres behind McKenzie, Blake, within a few strides, was away and in front and, in the end, won by about three metres for which the team collected the Fast Finish of the Day prize.

Blake was excited.

"I saw Ramone in front of me and I saidto myself, I have to get past him fast and that is what I did," Blake said.

The World Junior bronze medallist, who ran 10.11 to win at the CARIFTA Games, said the team could have run faster.

More push

"If we had gotten more push, we could have gone faster, but we did not get it, so we had to work with what we got," he said.

« Last Edit: April 29, 2007, 01:22:42 PM by DWarriorMan »

Offline willi

« Reply #12 on: April 29, 2007, 01:32:59 PM »
All our records fall  brown record fall at the carifta soon his world junior record and world youth record   .. now eldo record at the penn fall. How fast can blake go ?? everytime is some push and push he need

Blake blazes away
published: Sunday | April 29, 2007

PHILADELPHIA:

ST. JAGO'S 17-year-old sprinter Yohan Blake continues to prove that he is a class act.

On yesterday's final day of the 113th Penn Relays at the Franklin Field stadium, in front of 46,363 supporters, Blake received the baton in second place but showed class and speed to destroy his rivals in taking his team to victory.

However, yesterday was more special for Blake as most track and field observers believe he would not beat Class Two athlete Ramone McKenzie if he received the baton behind him in the 4x100m, but he proved them wrong.

Despite collecting the baton about two metres behind McKenzie, Blake, within a few strides, was away and in front and, in the end, won by about three metres for which the team collected the Fast Finish of the Day prize.

Blake was excited.

"I saw Ramone in front of me and I saidto myself, I have to get past him fast and that is what I did," Blake said.

The World Junior bronze medallist, who ran 10.11 to win at the CARIFTA Games, said the team could have run faster.

More push

"If we had gotten more push, we could have gone faster, but we did not get it, so we had to work with what we got," he said.

Eldo's Penn record fell last year. Camperdown, with Rose ran 40.13s last year, beating Eldo's record time.

What TNT needs to do is as Ato said...learn to crawl before walking. Sure TnT has produced elite athletes, but the Programme is not very advanced.

Before thinking of sending more schools to possibly make a poor show of it at Penn, you guys should be talking advantage of Gibson relays for example. The level of competition is almost as ferocious, the climate is more familiar, expenses are far less and it could be a valuable learning experience. This would be a great stepping stone for Carifta and later Penn relays. Penn is what is is BBECUSE of the Jakan high schoolers, so why not go straight to the source!!! I fail to see why this obvious step has never been taken. Mind boggling.

« Reply #13 on: April 29, 2007, 02:12:31 PM »
Why listen to me? There are tons of people from tnt who had 10 year pro careers right? What do I know.  As usual, I have to go elsewhere and show results before someone says - do it for your home....mind boggling indeed.

Offline willi

« Reply #14 on: April 29, 2007, 02:30:10 PM »
Why listen to me? There are tons of people from tnt who had 10 year pro careers right? What do I know.  As usual, I have to go elsewhere and show results before someone says - do it for your home....mind boggling indeed.

If they wont listen, they will have to suffer the consequences.

Our people need to start using their brains!!!

« Reply #15 on: April 29, 2007, 07:50:07 PM »
The problem is the consequences aren't felt by them but by our poor athletes

Offline willi

« Reply #16 on: April 30, 2007, 02:59:22 AM »
Ato or anyone else...

Why dont Trini schools get themselves invited to Gibson relays? I am sure they would be accomodated. What is the big deal? It can only help.

My God man.

« Reply #17 on: April 30, 2007, 09:50:03 AM »
When is the Gibson relays ? that is in February  ent  i am sure school in Trinidad doh even have a track team by then ... plus the athletes recovering from carnival or getting ready to jump up

« Reply #18 on: April 30, 2007, 10:04:11 AM »
Well as long as there is a good reason  >:(

Offline willi

« Reply #19 on: April 30, 2007, 12:55:52 PM »
Well as long as there is a good reason  >:(

Hahahahaahahahahahah.

Good one.

People cant lament if they dont want to make the necessary preps and sacrifce.

Unno dont hear what the man ATO seh??? He had to forego doubles and pellau and dem good things for years during the track seaso, eating stuff like bland white fish and approved high nutritive foodstuff. He then did workouts designed to push him to the limts and cause him to vomit up the meals half the time. Unno think this road is easy???

You want to compare yourself to the likes of St. Jago, KC, Calabar, Vere, Holmwood, Camperdown, etc? Do you understand the investment in these programs, the dedicated training, the sacrifices. If they slip, they know that there are 10 other runners at least waiting to "eat their dinners". These kids competitive spirits aree forged in the blast furnace of devt. meets, regional champs, Gibson and Champs...even before they see Carifta or Penn!!! Gibson is in Feb. close to Carnival...the weekend of the 25th this year.

For fans here to lamant about losing to these kids is the heights of naivete or plain arrogance!!! ElDo of a few years back was just plain statistical luck. It will happen by chance once in a while, but if you want consistent output, you haffi put in place a SYSTEM.

You hear me preaching all the time that you haffi crawl before walking. Gibson is a good start, but dont think yoiu wont be blown away even there! KC ran 3:09.22s there and that is STILL the fastest HS time of the year and would have won at Penn by over 5m!!! The other teams are lucky that KC suffered key injuries! Now I aint stupid, so why am I giving up "trade secrets"?  Simple, I think the greater competition will make Jam. even better, even if we lose some dominance. We all can recall the excitement of the ElDo team of a few years back and how they brought the fire! Plus, I am confident that we can hold our own in any situation.