March 28, 2024, 03:28:47 AM

Author Topic: Machel brings Lara to tears  (Read 2349 times)

Offline Pro-Jayz

• Is ah long time since ah went Gulf City!
Machel brings Lara to tears
« on: May 01, 2007, 07:27:59 AM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161139385

WARM WELCOME: Retired West Indies star batsman Brian Lara, right, acknowledges the warm reception he received after he was invited on stage by soca star Machel Montano HD for a special tribute during the Plymouth Jazz Festival in Tobago on Sunday night.

Machel brings Lara to tears

Plymouth Jazz Festival finale
by Michael Mondezie mmondezie@trinidadexpress.com

Tuesday, May 1st 2007

Soca star Machel Montano recovered from a nightmare week and found his Carnival form to close the Plymouth Jazz Festival in emphatic fashion on Sunday night at Plymouth, Tobago.

The Siparia-born star dedicated his performance to recently retired West Indies cricket captain Brian Lara and seemed as surprised as everyone when the world double record holder decided to join him on stage.

"Keep going, keep moving, don't you ever stop. The road is long and rocky but I know you're gonna' make it," he began, singing the lyrics to his 2005 Carnival hit "We Not Giving Up", bringing tears to the eyes of the batting star. Montano embraced the emotional Lara and sang a new song he had written especially for "the world's greatest".

"Anything they can do, you can do it better because you are the greatest,"

Montano sang to the former skipper who was at this time drying his eyes with his hands.

Lara took the microphone from Montano and turned to the packed Plymouth recreation park to offer his gratitude.

"Thank you so much for the love and support. The difference between me and Machel is every time he comes out here he scores a century. He doesn't know about failure," Lara joked.

It was a storybook finish to the biggest music festival to be hosted in Tobago.

Even the sceptics couldn't deny the perfection and timing of Lara's impromptu appearance.

Montano capitalised on Lara's appearance and romped home with a slew of his soca hits, even dropping a verse from his school boy hit "Too Young to Soca" during an impressive hour-long set.

He told journalists minutes before his performance that the events of the last week made it "difficult to focus" on preparing a set for the show.

Montano and his entourage were accused of being involved in a fracas outside Club Zen in Port of Spain last week.

One patron was seriously injured.

The Signal Hill Choir joined him on stage to create a colourful opening of his Carnival hit "Higher Than High" before Zan, Montano's "hype man" for the night, rushed out on stage to provide ad libs and background vocals.

« Last Edit: May 02, 2007, 06:17:07 AM by palos »
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

Offline Pro-Jayz

Re: Machel brings Lara to tears
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2007, 07:30:02 AM »
Surprising Lara joined Machel on stage......and dat song "keep going...keep moving....never give up"..was the definitley the right song to tribute Lara on stage..................Wish I was there to see this

Guys I did not had anytime to post the picture of Lara and Machel on stage printed by the Express but its worth seeing..
« Last Edit: May 01, 2007, 07:32:57 AM by problemjay »
only born in Santa Cruz BUT RAISED IN SAN FERNANDO..so dont get tied up!...I FROM SOUTH!

« Reply #2 on: May 01, 2007, 08:24:53 AM »
like dai she new thign rbinign tears to peopel eyes. he eh care hwo he do it ..licks or music. pic yuh poison..lol
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #3 on: May 01, 2007, 08:30:34 AM »
Surprising Lara joined Machel on stage......and dat song "keep going...keep moving....never give up"..was the definitley the right song to tribute Lara on stage..................Wish I was there to see this
Guys I did not had anytime to post the picture of Lara and Machel on stage printed by the Express but its worth seeing..

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_news?id=161139385

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news%20Front%20page.html
Thanks Brian.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2007, 08:43:11 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Augi

« Reply #4 on: May 01, 2007, 09:18:15 AM »
game recognize game...

Offline Pro-Jayz

« Reply #5 on: May 01, 2007, 09:57:54 AM »
game recognize game...

Could not have said it better  :beermug:...
« Last Edit: May 01, 2007, 10:00:34 AM by problemjay »

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #6 on: May 01, 2007, 10:35:47 AM »
ok ppl...ok...lewwe llow him yea, he is forgiven fuh de beatin if he really done it...we cyah bring down ah man like dis...wam wah de f$%k, llow him ah say
all dat is necessary is necessary

Offline Pro-Jayz

« Reply #7 on: May 01, 2007, 11:09:05 AM »
ok ppl...ok...lewwe llow him yea, he is forgiven fuh de beatin if he really done it...we cyah bring down ah man like dis...wam wah de f$%k, llow him ah say

That's the question (if he really done it?) that everyone is so sensitive about...

« Reply #8 on: May 01, 2007, 11:27:30 AM »
it was a nice gesture
but we all know is PR..Lara mustbe was in high spirits so he mustbe ent recognize he getting used

« Reply #9 on: May 01, 2007, 11:48:56 PM »
all this talk about machel...he innocent till proven guilty...all dat talk about video and no one can see it (there is no such thing as a secret in Trinidad)..so it boils down to eye witnesses account (including the video if it exists) but until then de man innocent.

« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2007, 02:21:28 AM »
I personnally duh tink machel could fight ;D

« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2007, 07:11:20 AM »
I personnally duh tink machel could fight ;D
friday yuh eh have to be no fighter to hit ah man ah slap.lol.HIT AND RUN.hahaha.

« Reply #12 on: May 04, 2007, 03:52:18 AM »
ah Batman special          PAW BAP  den RUN forest run