March 28, 2024, 05:06:01 AM

Author Topic: Virginia Here I Come  (Read 6304 times)

Virginia Here I Come
« on: May 02, 2007, 05:11:39 AM »
   Waiting to hear the word if they accepted me. I did an interview for a management level Federal job located in Alexandria, VA. They let me know that they want me just have to get the Human Resource PPL to verify my credentials and officially notify me. Wage starts at $80,000.00/yr.

I my be there intime for the Gold Cup. Any WN members in Virginia? Don't know to much about the US since I only lived there 3yrs befor joining the Army then moving to Europe.

I am so excited acquiring this job goes against all odds. I retired as an SGT/E5 without any degree. most PPL in that situation only make it so far eg..
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/General_Schedule
Federal system levels

GS 01- 07  Entry level (this is normally how far SGT reach)
GS 08-09  Starting senior level (lucky if you get there I am a GS 09)
GS 10-12 Mid Level (to move from 10 to 11 must spend one year in the lower grade)
GS 13-15 Top Level (same one year in lower grade rule applies the job I may get is a 13)

As you may see on the link I could have jumped from a GS09 to an 11 position but not a 4 grade jump. (Thank GOD he did it for me)

So you see why I am sooooo excited

As you can see I am making a very big jump. Almost unheard of in the civilian sector. My wife and I are looking to buy a house in Virginia in the Winchester area.

To be continued
« Last Edit: May 02, 2007, 05:17:45 AM by Themanfriday »

Re: Virginia Here I Come
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2007, 06:05:08 AM »
Good luck Friday.

Truetrini is in Virginia and DC/Baltimore is not too far away and they have plenty trinbago people there. At least yuh could get some roti when yuh ready.

I thought yuh was settled in Deutchland, yuh don't get tired of moving?

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2007, 06:46:27 AM »
I am very tired of moving. This is a permanent job so I am buying a house and settle down in it. All the Military is leaving Germany fast and so are the civilian jobs. Mine is Gone 31 July this year. I would have been unemployed ;D

« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2007, 07:09:33 AM »
Good luck with the move and congrats.  I can't speak for the man..BUT..TT is good people and will do just about anything for his friends. I'm sure if you contact him as JDB mentioned, he'll help you out where he can.

word of warning...dem yanks like dey gun eh.

« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2007, 07:17:14 AM »
friday,

hope u get through. i spent a good 6 months working in the no. va/dc area. it real cool. i even consider moving there when i decide to leave miami but settle in atlanta b/c it doh get as cold in the winter.

only dread thing is that property prices up there real high. if you live a lil further out from dc, you could get a place for less.

« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2007, 07:17:28 AM »
friday if yuh want i could help yuh invest that 80 k.lol.

« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2007, 10:11:20 AM »
friday if yuh want i could help yuh invest that 80 k.lol.

Yeah? How yuh could do dat?

If yuh plan good then I might add in meh army retirement check.. Dat add up to hmmmm nice living eh ;D

friday,

hope u get through. i spent a good 6 months working in the no. va/dc area. it real cool. i even consider moving there when i decide to leave miami but settle in atlanta b/c it doh get as cold in the winter.

only dread thing is that property prices up there real high. if you live a lil further out from dc, you could get a place for less.

I know so I plan to commute about an hr to work. I am looking at the Winchester area. 
« Last Edit: May 03, 2007, 12:20:26 PM by Themanfriday »

« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2007, 11:09:28 AM »
a 1 hr commute is good for any major US city. i had a corporate apt. in herndon and used to work in reston. the ride was about 20 minutes.

u know the VA Tech shooter from that area. if real diverse. plenty, plenty indian, pakistani, and chinee...and all ah dem seem to have personalize number plate with something like raj or satish on it. u go see.

« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2007, 12:21:18 PM »
When u say commute u mean drive or commuter rail?

Transport in that area is pretty good for commuter rail....I guess u might be used to that from Germany.
Downtown DC have those traffic cameras where they mail the ticket to you  >:( .... that along with traffic and parking and I would take the train any day....park at the commuter rail and just sleep or read to and from work.

Check this housing map.

Congrats on the move...I think most trinis and west indians like the area.

« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2007, 12:27:56 PM »
I am very tired of moving. This is a permanent job so I am buying a house and settle down in it. All the Military is leaving Germany fast and so are the civilian jobs. Mine is Gone 31 July this year. I would have been unemployed ;D

Great news, and even better salary. I worked Alexandria 3 yrs and it has changed dramatically, very busy streets and diverse economic spread, but you should enjoy it, yuh just have to cross the 14th st bridge and yuh in DC. I have a few clients in ALEXANDIRA so if yuh get lost or something hail we out

« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2007, 12:47:37 PM »

Transport in that area is pretty good for commuter rail....I guess u might be used to that from Germany.
Downtown DC have those traffic cameras where they mail the ticket to you  >:( .... that along with traffic and parking and I would take the train any day....park at the commuter rail and just sleep or read to and from work.

Check this housing map.

i hate dem f**king camera. they have them at the toll booths too. if u eh pay, a bell is ring and they is snap yuh ass.

train good for heading into the city to go see DC United or the Wizards. is one connection from the commuter rail to RFK stadium or the MCI center (which right by their lil china town BTW).

right up the road in silver springs, MD have nuff trini. also student round howard u. supposedly it have a roti shop on the road where howard is. i went looking for it once. me eh find it but i see a dead man in a pool of blood who just get shoot. all this is within walking distance of the white house.

« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2007, 02:10:32 PM »
the roti shop is at the Howard U Georgia Av subway stop....and there is a nex one further up on georgia...bout a 5 mins bus from howard...daz de only two i kno

« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2007, 03:09:30 PM »
congrats on the job. i thought you were in the military?

i moving to VA too, but i going to be in Charlottesville, about 2 hours from DC. ah feel ah will have to make the DC run on the regular to check the roti shops out there.

« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2007, 03:31:18 PM »
NOVA isn't Virginia, that is where all them northern liberals does go to mess up the state.

Now Richmond!
That is good solid red-state country!

::)

« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2007, 04:42:55 PM »
Ritas and Teddys.

Teddys is the one up Georgia by Silver Spring.

Rita's supposedly by the Bank of America....bout 5 blocks up from HU....and a few blocks before Georgia Ave/Petworth Metro.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2007, 04:45:18 PM by dcs »

« Reply #15 on: May 02, 2007, 09:48:24 PM »

Check this housing map.

Thanks, I plan to use the train. I asked the Realitor for places with good Train acess. 1 hr by Train is good I think.

i moving to VA too, but i going to be in Charlottesville, about 2 hours from DC. ah feel ah will have to make the DC run on the regular to check the roti shops out there.

Well mayube we can meet up and have a lime ;D

Great news, and even better salary. I worked Alexandria 3 yrs and it has changed dramatically, very busy streets and diverse economic spread, but you should enjoy it, yuh just have to cross the 14th st bridge and yuh in DC. I have a few clients in ALEXANDIRA so if yuh get lost or something hail we out

Believe you me I don't know much about the US and it's ways. I lived in Europe longer than I lived in the USA. So may need all the help I can get.

the roti shop is at the Howard U Georgia Av subway stop....and there is a nex one further up on georgia...bout a 5 mins bus from howard...daz de only two i kno
Ritas and Teddys.

Teddys is the one up Georgia by Silver Spring.

Rita's supposedly by the Bank of America....bout 5 blocks up from HU....and a few blocks before Georgia Ave/Petworth Metro.

That alone is worth leaving Germany for.

I was in the Military. I retired out early. Now I work for the Federal Gov't as a civilian employee.

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #16 on: May 03, 2007, 07:15:15 AM »
Yeah, and I making $85,000 working for the federal government too. ::)
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #17 on: May 03, 2007, 11:00:41 AM »
???

« Reply #18 on: May 03, 2007, 11:06:59 AM »

doh h8te.

congratulate.

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #19 on: May 03, 2007, 11:10:12 AM »

doh h8te.

congratulate.

I doh have to hate padna, trust me.  I hate when people talk bout how much $$ they make, or in this case, going to make.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #20 on: May 03, 2007, 11:47:05 AM »
I am sorry if what I say offends you I was just happy about what may transpire and wanted to share it with my SW family.  ;D ;D

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #21 on: May 03, 2007, 12:00:12 PM »
I am sorry if what I say offends you I was just happy about what may transpire and wanted to share it with my SW family. ;D ;D

Never share too much personal information.

Congrats!
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #22 on: May 03, 2007, 12:03:19 PM »
I right round de corner in MD

« Reply #23 on: May 03, 2007, 12:23:19 PM »
Cool I will holla. I think If it all passes with the SWarriors I may want to go to one of de games

« Reply #24 on: May 03, 2007, 04:34:38 PM »
I am sorry if what I say offends you I was just happy about what may transpire and wanted to share it with my SW family. ;D ;D

Never share too much personal information.

Congrats!

buh Rat when yuh need ah loan yuh know where tuh go right friday  ;D

« Reply #25 on: May 07, 2007, 10:56:41 AM »
It's Official I am moving to Virginia.

Looking to arrive right after Memorial Day.

« Reply #26 on: May 07, 2007, 11:28:16 AM »

I know this real bold faced eh but yuh say we is famileee   ;D

Winchester looking real far from Alexandria to me.....and my experience driving out that them parts West is that it country...wham to Fairfax.  You sure your kids want to go from Frankfurt city life to Winchester barn yard life?  lol
I cud be wrong eh but that map showing it as 1hour 40 mins drive and not much around and it have farms out west....with hay and cows.  lol

i had to say it as bold face as it sound I just want to make sure u doh get any surprises...my conscience clear now   :angel:

« Reply #27 on: May 07, 2007, 11:57:44 AM »
Winchester, VA eh no easy hop nah!.....and dem trains doh reach out dey.....is eedah car or carpool. When is time tuh lime is ah hotel or motel fuh de night oui! and btw besides the roti shop, it have ah Trini bakery where yuh getting yuh butter bread, biscuit cake, currents roll and drops etc.....and serious lime. Yuh go be in time for DC Carnival 07 edition. :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #28 on: May 07, 2007, 01:12:18 PM »

I know this real bold faced eh but yuh say we is famileee   ;D

Winchester looking real far from Alexandria to me.....and my experience driving out that them parts West is that it country...wham to Fairfax.  You sure your kids want to go from Frankfurt city life to Winchester barn yard life?  lol
I cud be wrong eh but that map showing it as 1hour 40 mins drive and not much around and it have farms out west....with hay and cows.  lol

i had to say it as bold face as it sound I just want to make sure u doh get any surprises...my conscience clear now   :angel:

I don't want the city life for my girls. They are 6 & 5 so the more hard belt I could put in de Arse while de young de go be ready when is time tuh go to de city  ;D Plus I heard that Whinchester is de suburbs so I go be okay. Stay ah lil bit away from de crime seen. Now all I have tuh do is buy ah gun fuh de child molesters >:( meh wife already have a list ah all ah dem living in winchester. Shhh is we secret if dey start disappearing :devil:

Winchester, VA eh no easy hop nah!.....and dem trains doh reach out dey.....is eedah car or carpool. When is time tuh lime is ah hotel or motel fuh de night oui! and btw besides the roti shop, it have ah Trini bakery where yuh getting yuh butter bread, biscuit cake, currents roll and drops etc.....and serious lime. Yuh go be in time for DC Carnival 07 edition. :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug: :beermug:

Well dat sound like a plan..
« Last Edit: May 07, 2007, 10:58:18 PM by Themanfriday »

« Reply #29 on: May 07, 2007, 07:09:41 PM »
Yuh get de wukk... :applause:  :beermug:

good for you breds,,congrats.....yuh family go run in to lil culture shock an ting, but ah sure yuh go settle nice

ah now readin dat dem fellahs say yuh movin  waaaay out to de boonies of virginia
Out dey yuh need ah banjo, ah chainsaw, ah swiper and ah walther PPK, buy dem before yuh leave.