April 24, 2024, 12:21:35 AM

Author Topic: West Indies Squad Announced...  (Read 5775 times)

West Indies Squad Announced...
« on: May 02, 2007, 01:16:23 PM »
No specialist spinner (mohammed) and no ryan hinds, i find smith and morton could be dropped for hinds and mohammed... Sarwan and the selectors start with their shit... >:(

WI team to England: Samuels axed, Rampaul returnsWed, May 2, '07

Middle order batsman Marlon Samuels has been axed from the 15-man West Indies squad picked for the upcoming Test series against England.

The squad, which is largely predictable, marks the return of Ravi Rampaul and a belated pick for all-rounder Darren Sammy. The selectors did not pick a specialist spinner or a back-up wicket-keeper.

FULL SQUAD (for Test series only):

Ramnaresh Sarwan (captain)
Daren Ganga
Devon Smith
Chris Gayle
Shiv Chanderpaul
Runako Morton
Sylvester Joseph
Dwayne Bravo
Denesh Ramdin
Darren Sammy
Corey Collymore
Jerome Taylor
Daren Powell
Fidel Edwards
Ravi Rampaul
« Last Edit: May 02, 2007, 05:15:46 PM by TrinInfinite »

Re: West Indies Squad Announced...
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2007, 01:20:31 PM »
No specialist spinner (mohammed) and no ryan hinds, i find smith and morton could be dropped for hinds and mohammed... Sarwan and the selectors start with their shit... >:(

WI team to England: Samuels axed, Rampaul returnsWed, May 2, '07

Middle order batsman Marlon Samuels has been axed from the 15-man West Indies squad picked for the upcoming Test series against England.

The squad, which is largely predictable, marks the return of Ravi Rampaul and a belated pick for all-rounder Darren Sammy. The selectors did not pick a specialist spinner or a back-up wicket-keeper.

FULL SQUAD (for Test series only):

Ramnaresh Sarwan (captain)
Daren Ganga
Devon Smith
Chris Gayle
Shiv Chanderpaul
Runako Morton
Sylvester Joseph
Dwayne Bravo
Denesh Ramdin
Darren Sammy
Corey Collymore
Jerome Taylor
Daren Powell
Fidel Edwards

liek mohamed sleep wiht somebody wife. why not even one spinner...steups
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline willi

« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2007, 01:40:39 PM »
Wha happen to Lawson?? He injured or what?

Is a Guyanese Nat team or what? To many 1-dayers picked.

I would have carried a spinner too and Hinds for sure should be there. Sammy dropped due to disruption and maybe payback. LoL

If Ganga get picked, why is he not captain?? Bad situation going fwd as Sarwan will likely resent him and cause him to get the occasional drop to prove that the Board made the "right" decision.

« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2007, 01:45:03 PM »
whaty morton doing dey??/please soemoen tell meh...i eh care what anyone say i woulda quicker carry smaules than morton he doesnt even fild good.steups
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #4 on: May 02, 2007, 01:56:09 PM »
whaty morton doing dey??/please soemoen tell meh...i eh care what anyone say i woulda quicker carry smaules than morton he doesnt even fild good.steups

morton is a good slip catcher, dats about it and devon smith shouldnt be there, 3 opening batsmen were selected when gayle and ganga average juss below greenidge and haynes... why de hell you select a 3rd opener when you know this stat? ???

Whappen  to lawson in truth? ??? schupsssss

God is de BOSS...

« Reply #5 on: May 02, 2007, 02:02:16 PM »

morton is a good slip catcher, dats about it and devon smith shouldnt be there, 3 opening batsmen were selected when gayle and ganga average juss below greenidge and haynes... why de hell you select a 3rd opener when you know this stat? ???

God is de BOSS...
he still ahvign issues wiht hsi action on the international scene.  so i eh know beyond that. on regional level i do even hear about him

Offline sinned

« Reply #6 on: May 02, 2007, 03:11:56 PM »
rampaul name missing from the bottom of the list TI. fix that

Offline sweetiepaper

« Reply #7 on: May 02, 2007, 03:18:03 PM »
No spinner and six kinda fast, well five if you count Sammy.  ???
The shit continues new scapegoat in Sarwan now
"Sweetiepaper does be all over de place"

Offline Remie

« Reply #8 on: May 02, 2007, 03:34:01 PM »
This treatment of Mohammed is ridiculous.

For the World Cup squad the selectors were sort of sticking with the successful ODI side from the two previous Champions Trophy relative successes so i could sort of understand their thinking. Obviously with hindsight Mohammed should have been in the World Cup squad.

But for the selectors to leave him out of our test squad altogether is nonsensical.

Offline willi

« Reply #9 on: May 02, 2007, 04:32:51 PM »
The squad is unbalanced.

« Reply #10 on: May 02, 2007, 05:15:26 PM »
rampaul name missing from the bottom of the list TI. fix that

breds, dats how they had it on caribbean cricket boss, i juss cut and paste it...

but ill edit it breddah :beermug:

« Reply #11 on: May 02, 2007, 05:16:35 PM »

God is de BOSS...
he still ahvign issues wiht hsi action on the international scene. so i eh know beyond that. on regional level i do even hear about him

actually breds, after this regional his action is not under question and he had a 7 wicket haul in one match and was bowling very well...

« Reply #12 on: May 02, 2007, 06:02:12 PM »
4 Trinis on the squad. I good dey 3 most likely go play. As long as dem jokers from the 80's pickin squad no spinner eh seein the light of day especuially if we continue to churn dem out.

Dey fraid lawson start to pelt again. The boy pelting since he in school and no body eh call him. So the fact that he eh get call for pelting eh mean he eh pelting.

Roberts get he wish Joseph get pick.

Offline Patterson

« Reply #13 on: May 02, 2007, 07:08:13 PM »
who is de vice captain?

« Reply #14 on: May 02, 2007, 08:17:13 PM »
They fraid to name one. It is the norm to name a VC for overseas tours. It look like when Sarwan off th ethe field they go draw lots.

« Reply #15 on: May 02, 2007, 08:50:44 PM »

sounds like some pressure for ganga

« Reply #16 on: May 02, 2007, 08:57:54 PM »
I just hope trinidad come to there senses and go it alone in International cricket.............

« Reply #17 on: May 02, 2007, 09:18:27 PM »

you mean pressure for gayle, ganga was the leading test batsman for 2006...

God is de BOSS...

Offline sinned

« Reply #18 on: May 02, 2007, 09:40:03 PM »

you mean pressure for gayle, ganga was the leading test batsman for 2006...

God is de BOSS...
yuh talking real sense dey :beermug: mean hadda stop assuming gayle is a walk-on on this team - not with this kinda bat-when-i-want-to attitude

« Reply #19 on: May 02, 2007, 10:07:14 PM »
Good for Rampaul.

Morton, Joseph and Sammy.  Steups. 

Mohammed might make as many runs as those 3. 

Ah guess is ah youth movement dey promise.  Drop Simmonds and bring in Joseph.   >:(

Gayle hanging by a thread.

It was either Rampaul or Lawson.  Apart from a decisive game, Lawson was the better bowler during the Domestic.  He does not have any probs.  The only delivery he is noted for stoning is he bouncers.

So dis team supposed to represent the new way forward?   :rotfl:

Ent dey say no business as usual and dis is what dey pick?

Capo post your line for dem boys to see nah.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2007, 10:49:24 PM by Savannah boy »

« Reply #20 on: May 03, 2007, 06:20:47 AM »
so any one hear the interview that Saraman give on TV last night?
The man say now that Lara gone, the younger players have a chance to showcase their talent.
 >:(  how the hell Lara was stopping them from doing that?

Offline RRamdin

« Reply #21 on: May 03, 2007, 08:45:28 AM »
Do people not realise here that an opening batsman doesnt necessarily have to open the batting? He can bat 3,4, anywhere in the order. I believe picking Smith is a good move, he has the talent to play at the highest level but the west indies selectors have played him around a bit like everyone else.

Morton's pick is a joke; he cannot bat, pure and simple although I respect his strength of character and commitment he showed when he was in the team. Samuels has again been treated harshly I feel. The man has not been given an extended run in the test team and I believe he should have been given that. Joseph is a bit of a random pick but there maybe more to his and Mortons pick. Both seem quite professional and committed characters so maybe along with ganga and shiv they have brought them in to bring a bit of a cricketing ethic to the team.

Ryan Hinds, maybe should be given another chance-again he seems to have a good temperament. And ask for no spinner in the squad, pure rubbish. But maybe we should be thankful that Mohammed has not been called up for Kevin Pietersen and co. would have probably blazed him into retirement.

« Reply #22 on: May 03, 2007, 09:47:31 AM »
But maybe we should be thankful that Mohammed has not been called up for Kevin Pietersen and co. would have probably blazed him into retirement.

ouch. well, kp on his game is frightening for any bowler.

Offline Remie

« Reply #23 on: May 03, 2007, 10:01:37 AM »
But maybe we should be thankful that Mohammed has not been called up for Kevin Pietersen and co. would have probably blazed him into retirement.

Flintoff, Collingwood, Strauss, etc will be laughing. All they have to face is straight pace bowling and a bit of part time slow bowling. No mystery spin is perfect for England which makes it all the more ridiculous Mohammed is not in the squad.

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
« Reply #24 on: May 03, 2007, 10:47:11 AM »
Same shit, different day.
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #25 on: May 03, 2007, 01:59:43 PM »
Good for Rampaul.

Morton, Joseph and Sammy. Steups.

Mohammed might make as many runs as those 3.

Ah guess is ah youth movement dey promise. Drop Simmonds and bring in Joseph. >:(

Gayle hanging by a thread.

It was either Rampaul or Lawson. Apart from a decisive game, Lawson was the better bowler during the Domestic. He does not have any probs. The only delivery he is noted for stoning is he bouncers.

So dis team supposed to represent the new way forward? :rotfl:

Ent dey say no business as usual and dis is what dey pick?

Capo post your line for dem boys to see nah.

BOSS comments breddah, like usual :beermug: i dont know who de selectors trying to fool ??? ::) ::)

Offline RRamdin

« Reply #26 on: May 03, 2007, 06:22:59 PM »
I wouldnt call mohammed a mystery spin bowler. Plus I thought Collingwood is a pretty good player of spin, it is against extreme pace bowling where he is undone. I am pretty sure the england batsman would bully mohammed out of the side within 2 test matches...as with all the other bowlers for that matter. Having said this, it is ignorant if not stupidity on the part of the selectors to not select a specialist spin bowler for this series if only to play as a squad player.

Flintoff, Collingwood, Strauss, etc will be laughing. All they have to face is straight pace bowling and a bit of part time slow bowling. No mystery spin is perfect for England which makes it all the more ridiculous Mohammed is not in the squad.

« Reply #27 on: May 03, 2007, 06:42:45 PM »
Samuels has again been treated harshly I feel.

Where de media does get dem thing from boy?  Doh listen to dotish sports writers.  Samuels has not been on the radar to play Test Cricket for some time.  He has a bum knee dat does not lend itself to any serious career in the longer forms of the game.  He didn't get drop.  He cyah hold up and play too much 4-5 day cricket.  De Windies doh pick him for no Tour.  Dey usually send for him after the Test Match and dem done finish to play in one dayers.

But maybe we should be thankful that Mohammed has not been called up for Kevin Pietersen and co. would have probably blazed him into retirement.  He deserved a chance to find out, no?

He is a mystery spinner.  He reportedly had more than ten deliveries in his arsenal when he was at de old Academy.  Jes arks de gyul he wax.
« Last Edit: May 03, 2007, 06:48:48 PM by Savannah boy »

« Reply #28 on: May 03, 2007, 06:50:31 PM »
I say WICB have to be the best. Everybody from St. Thomas to TNT her bout gun pullin on man in club in Grenada. Who say how much Larry Achong when they were given instructions to increase run rate. The same cussbud allegedly fight with we Trini oy and we Trini captin get involve.

However, no reports of indiscipline was received but we too heard the stories.

« Reply #29 on: May 04, 2007, 12:54:47 AM »
I wouldnt call mohammed a mystery spin bowler. Plus I thought Collingwood is a pretty good player of spin, it is against extreme pace bowling where he is undone. I am pretty sure the england batsman would bully mohammed out of the side within 2 test matches...as with all the other bowlers for that matter. Having said this, it is ignorant if not stupidity on the part of the selectors to not select a specialist spin bowler for this series if only to play as a squad player.

your analysis is a mystery to me, juss like our national coach omar khan is a mystery 2 u... :devil:

God is de BOSS..