June 16, 2024, 05:05:53 PM

Author Topic: Verizon Drops Akon Following Simulated Rape  (Read 7931 times)

Offline Patterson

Verizon Drops Akon Following Simulated Rape
« on: May 04, 2007, 05:15:14 PM »
http://www.wnd.com/news/article.asp?ARTICLE_ID=55552

Amid growing outrage, Verizon Wireless has cut off its support of hip-hop superstar Akon, who is under investigation for a simulated rape of a 14-year-old preacher's daughter caught on video last month at a concert in Trinidad.

Spokesman Jim Gerace admitted the corporation made a "mistake" partnering with Akon, according to columnist and blogger Michelle Malkin.
"Verizon decided this week to end its support and sponsorship of Akon," said Gerace, vice president of corporate communications.

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,270130,00.html
 Verizon has ended its partnership with hip-hop star Akon after he simulated the rape of a 15-year-old girl on stage at a show in Trinidad, FOX News has confirmed.

The girl thought she had won a dance contest, but instead got a simulated rape, which was caught on video.

"This week the partnership ended," Verizon said in a statement sent to FOX News. "We have music services on our cellphone service and we were promoting him as one of the artists. The other part of the sponsorship was the Gwen Stefani tour, of which he was an opening act. We are no longer sponsoring the tour."

Machel Montano and Bmobile next??.....stay tuned ;D
« Last Edit: May 04, 2007, 05:20:13 PM by Patterson »

Re: Verizon Drops Akon Following Simulated Rape
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2007, 06:37:27 PM »
look at that nah...

hit dem where it hurts the most...dey pocket

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2007, 06:48:54 PM »
look at that nah...

is in de middle of my pockets does hurt de most. :P

« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2007, 08:19:46 PM »
look at that nah...

between dey back pockets ?
<stares>

« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2007, 08:23:36 PM »
look at that nah...

<stares>
ah prefer yuh when yuh was de nun.

« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2007, 08:31:16 PM »
look at that nah...

<stares>
ah prefer yuh when yuh was de nun.

but to me ah was worst

« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2007, 11:34:45 PM »

haha

Look at that.  I said before the bad publicity was enough punishment for this fellah.  Dat simulated rape ting is pure garbage talk but since is celebrity news it ain't really matter.

Akon nobody want to see you together because pedophilia against the law!!   :rotfl:

« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2007, 01:58:06 AM »
Poor Gwen Stefani ent do nuttin and get ketch in this too. Oh well. Cyah feel sorry for millionaires ent lol

« Reply #8 on: May 05, 2007, 10:55:24 AM »
haha
Look at that.  I said before the bad publicity was enough punishment for this fellah.  Dat simulated rape ting is pure garbage talk but since is celebrity news it ain't really matter.
Akon nobody want to see you together because pedophilia against the law!!   :rotfl:
yeah companies doh want their money associated with this sort of behaviour
simulated rape or child molestation like I said in this thread
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=26993.msg303231#msg303231
but unfortunately, some go still say that "is ok man, is ok"
« Last Edit: May 05, 2007, 10:58:16 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #9 on: May 05, 2007, 12:38:32 PM »
 :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: :applause: Well done Verison. Nice to know that he is not getting away with that. From day one I said that the age of the girl didn't matter but his behavior was disgusting.

« Reply #10 on: May 06, 2007, 11:14:40 AM »

When exactly they dropping him because I still seeing Akon Verizon promos on TV.

« Reply #11 on: May 06, 2007, 11:59:13 AM »
maybe Verizon have a contract with the networks to let the adds run out.
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #12 on: May 06, 2007, 05:32:04 PM »
Good for Verizon!! :applause: :applause:
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #13 on: May 07, 2007, 11:32:12 AM »
maybe Verizon have a contract with the networks to let the adds run out.

nah i doh think is that. 

« Reply #14 on: May 07, 2007, 12:28:36 PM »
HA HA HA JUSTICE SERVED!! AKON AND OTHER RAPPERS BEWARE, ONCE ALL YUH EMPLOYERS START PULLING THE PLUG WE GO SEE HOW MUCH OF A BIG STAR ALL YUH REALLY IS

« Reply #15 on: May 08, 2007, 11:02:49 AM »
I was watching CNN yesterday and Glenn Beck had Al Sharpton on his show. The two of them really don't agree on anything, but they were discussing the whole rap/language/behaviour thing. Beck then proceeds to show the clip of Akon assaulting that girl, and Al Sharpton's response was shock (he had not seen the video or known about the incident before). He then asked Beck for a copy of the video and promised to "go after" this guy (Akon) himself.
While I am all for Akon and his ilk getting their just deserts, I am worried about the undue attention to the girl (the victim), which will increase, and to the country as a whole. I hope this ends well.

« Reply #16 on: May 08, 2007, 12:19:10 PM »
Poor Gwen Stefani ent do nuttin and get ketch in this too. Oh well. Cyah feel sorry for millionaires ent lol

whats thats about gwen steffani?

« Reply #17 on: May 08, 2007, 01:15:03 PM »

« Reply #18 on: May 08, 2007, 02:17:51 PM »

whats thats about gwen steffani?

well akon was de opening act for gwen on tour. Therefore since Verizon has pulled out of sponsoring Akon they have also by extension pulled out of sponsoring Gwen's tour. So she losing out on bucks too

« Reply #19 on: May 08, 2007, 05:47:31 PM »
well it was just on CNN..plus they had an interview with the girl brother..Ian Alleyne
is only cause de man sound like me ah end up stopping on the channel..then ah see was bout Akon in Zen lol
we people really have a distinctive accent..and we does mock Guyanese, Bajan and Jamaican?lol

Offline monty

« Reply #20 on: May 08, 2007, 06:54:01 PM »

Offline socachatter

• ey boy look ah make
« Reply #21 on: May 09, 2007, 08:07:23 AM »
well...the plot thickens.  check out what has surfaced in the last couple days. question is...who did the site?

http://www.danahalleyne.com/
"Moral certainty is always a sign of cultural inferiority.  The more uncivilized the man, the surer he is that he knows precisely what is right and what is wrong.  All human progress, even in morals, has been the work of men who doubted current moral values, not of men who tried to enforce them."

« Reply #22 on: May 09, 2007, 08:56:39 AM »
Well lo and behold I am watching E news last night and what story was featured as no 1 on the daily ten, but none other than AKON and Dana, OH LAWD Trini in the news again! If I was the owner of Zen, my next business venture would be a little roti shop oui! Talk about negative publicity!
Gwen Stefani stands to lose millions from their concert as Akon is the opening act and since Verizon pulled out money gone down the drain. Verizon by the way has removed Akon from all of it's products from wallpaper, cell ringtones, and phones!

« Reply #23 on: May 09, 2007, 09:12:17 AM »
Well lo and behold I am watching E news last night and what story was featured as no 1 on the daily ten, but none other than AKON and Dana, OH LAWD Trini in the news again! If I was the owner of Zen, my next business venture would be a little roti shop oui! Talk about negative publicity!
Gwen Stefani stands to lose millions from their concert as Akon is the opening act and since Verizon pulled out money gone down the drain. Verizon by the way has removed Akon from all of it's products from wallpaper, cell ringtones, and phones!
That DanahAlleyne.com website is kinda disturbing. I waiting for the inevitable backlash where people will start to attack the girl and her morals and remove focus from that thug. I hope this does not happen though...

« Reply #24 on: May 09, 2007, 10:06:12 AM »
That DanahAlleyne.com website is kinda disturbing. I waiting for the inevitable backlash where people will start to attack the girl and her morals and remove focus from that thug. I hope this does not happen though...

Sadly this is no longer an issue about what Akon did at Zen. The US media has picked up on this news story, and  has turned it  into a  mockery.
Akon's lyrical content is now being questioned, comparisons to Don Imus are being referenced. The usual suspects/cronies Al Sharpton etc. will get involved, and they will claim to be looking out for the girl's best interest, which we all know is a farce. As socachatter stated earlier "the plot thickens"

Offline socachatter

• ey boy look ah make
« Reply #25 on: May 09, 2007, 10:54:53 AM »
what i find most disturbing about that site is who did it?  was it her or her family?  and if so why? to what end?  i understand that the family is quite publicity hungry but it is really disturbing to think that they would go to this extent and use a 14 year old girl to their sinister ends. 

was it her?  if she created the site... it's even more disturbing.  i'm thinking it has to be someone with too much time on their hands or some other agenda.  i'm sure the truth will surface.  whether the tape will ever surface, if it exists, is a whole other story.
"Moral certainty is always a sign of cultural inferiority.  The more uncivilized the man, the surer he is that he knows precisely what is right and what is wrong.  All human progress, even in morals, has been the work of men who doubted current moral values, not of men who tried to enforce them."

« Reply #26 on: May 09, 2007, 11:12:19 AM »
WHOIS record for danahalleyne.com

Administrative Contact:
      williams, victor  victorwill@yahoo.com
      This domain for sale
      2051 west la loma dr
      rancho cordova, California 95670
      United States
      (916) 215-1515

Offline Patterson

« Reply #27 on: May 09, 2007, 11:43:12 AM »
Isn't this exploitation of a minor...........hv to be some kinda crime in de US showin an underage girl like this

usin the e-mail address shown by daryn for a hi5 search.......

http://hi5.com/friend/48391432--victor--Profile-html

Victor's sites also include.............he's listed as CEO and webmaster
http://www.afrosingles.net/
http://www.luvcafe.com
http://www.romanceblvd.com/
http://www.holla.us/

« Last Edit: May 09, 2007, 11:47:34 AM by Patterson »

Offline socachatter

• ey boy look ah make
« Reply #28 on: May 09, 2007, 12:17:40 PM »
what would possess a man with that kind of CV to create that site?   :-\

and allyuh eh easy!  is a bunch ah PIs we have in dis place!   ;)

« Reply #29 on: May 09, 2007, 12:24:10 PM »
what would possess a man with that kind of CV to create that site?   :-\

and allyuh eh easy!  is a bunch ah PIs we have in dis place!   ;)

It's called cyber squatting.....