March 28, 2024, 09:12:08 AM

Author Topic: Thread for Chelsea vs The Champions!  (Read 6765 times)

Thread for Chelsea vs The Champions!
« on: May 08, 2007, 09:06:39 AM »
Chelsea vs The Champions!
vs.

Stamford Bridge
Wednesday, 9 May
Kick-off: 2000 BST
Coverage on the BBC Sport website & BBC Radio Five Live with highlights on Match of the Day on BBC One

InTrinidad: Only at Trotters in St Clair.
Game on Setanta Sports which is only at Trotters
Kick off: 3pm

Chelsea will again be without Didier Drogba and Arjen Robben, both having missed Sunday's draw at Arsenal.

Boss Jose Mourinho has added young strikers Scott Sinclair and Ben Sahar to the squad to face the champions.

Paul Scholes and Ryan Giggs are among several players who will be rested as The Champions! keep one eye on the FA Cup final.

With the Premiership title sealed, Sir Alex Ferguson is expected to make several changes.

Chelsea (from): Cech, Cudicini, Hilario, Ferreira, Geremi, Terry, Boulahrouz, A Cole, Bridge, Essien, Lampard, Makelele, Diarra, Obi, Sinclair, Sahar, Kalou, Wright-Phillips, J Cole.

The Champions : Van der Sar, Kuszczak, Heaton, Brown, O'Shea, Ferdinand, Vidic, Heinze, Evra, Ronaldo, Fletcher, Carrick, Scholes, Eagles, Giggs, Richardson, Rooney, Smith, Solskjaer, Dong, Saha, Lee, Shawcross.

BIG-MATCH FACTS

CHELSEA clinched their second successive Premiership title with a 3-0 win in this equivalent fixture last season. This time around they must relinquish that crown to their visitors Manchester United, in a dress rehearsal for the FA Cup final. Jose Mourinho will be hoping to retain his undefeated League record at Stamford Bridge. The Blues are unbeaten in 61 home League games - 55 in the tutorage of the current incumbent. Indeed the Portuguese chief has masterminded a combined total of 93 home League matches without defeat - last losing on 23 February 2002 when FC Porto were beaten 2-1 by Beira Mar.

Although they're ending the season second best to the Red Devils, Chelsea are on a longer current unbeaten League run than United of 12 matches, they've lost fewer Premiership games (three to United's four) and conceded fewer goals (23 to 26). Victory will close the unassailable gap between them to four points.

Mourinho's only defeat to United was 1-0 in last season's trip to Old Trafford which ended their 40-game unbeaten Premiership sequence. They've since thrashed them in last season's corresponding fixture, and shared two goals in a classic game of two halves at the Theatre of Dreams in November. The Londoners have lost one of the last eight League clashes at the Bridge, winning the last three.

The Champions! will take particular pleasure in running out at Stamford Bridge as the newly crowned Premier League title winners. The club who've become champions of England for the 16th time, the ninth in 15 Premiership seasons and the first in four years, will revel in the fact of having arrested the title from the holders for the last two years.

Sir Alex Ferguson will be looking for the victory that will increase United's lead over Chelsea at the top of the table to 10 points, which would also give them the physiological advantage ahead of their meeting at the new Wembley on Saturday week. They've already won four more League games than the Blues (28 to 24), scored 20 more goals (83 to 63) and have failed to find the net in two top flight matches to Chelsea's three.

Sir Alex Ferguson's side are chasing a first point and a first goal in four visits to the west Londoners.

REFEREE

Graham Poll (Tring, Hertfordshire)
Premiership referees' table
Graham Poll's 2006-07 Premiership card count

SEQUENCES/RECENT FORM

CHELSEA
Club stats
Fixtures
2nd 81 points

1. Drawn the last three Premiership matches against Newcastle (a), Bolton (h) and Arsenal (a).

2. Won nine and drawn three of the last 12 Premiership matches, since losing 2-0, away to Liverpool on 20 January.

3. Kept clean sheets in nine of the last 12 League games, and in 11 of the last 15.

5. Opened the scoring in more Premiership matches than any other club (27).

6. Kept 21 clean sheets in the Premiership (won 19, drawn two), and conceded the opening goal in only seven top flight games - better than any other club on both counts.

7. Will play 64 matches this season.

8. Not lost a home Premiership game under Mourinho (won 44, drawn 11), nor been defeated in the top division at the Bridge since a 1-2 reverse to Arsenal on 21 February 2004 (won 48, drawn 13). If they can maintain that run until the end of this season they will equal Liverpool's top flight record of 63 home League matches without defeat. Combining Mourinho's record with FC Porto, he is unbeaten in 93 home games in the English and Portuguese leagues (won 80, drawn 13).

9. Still to play Everton on this ground next Sunday.

The Champions!
Club stats
Fixtures
1st 88 points ;D

1. Lost one of the last 12 Premiership matches.

2. Won more Premiership matches this season than any other club (28), drawn fewer (four), dropped fewer points (20), scored more goals (83), at one every 39 minutes on average, and boast the highest aggregate of 109 goals (83 for, 26 against), at 3.03 per match.

3. Opened the scoring in 26 top tier engagements - only Chelsea have taken the lead more often (27 times).

4. Failed to score in just two Premiership matches this season, but on the longest current run since firing a blank of 18 matches. Missed the target in one of 31.

5. Not been involved in a goalless draw in the highest League this season, and currently on the longest run without a no score draw in the highest echelon (37 matches). Also, the only club to hold a 100% record when a Premiership clean sheet has been kept - won 15 of 15.

7. Own the joint longest list of different scorers of Premiership goals this term of 17 players.

8. Second in the Premiership's "Last Six Current Form" table with 13 points out of the 18, trailing Aston Villa (14 points).

9. Gained more top tier points on the road than any other club (41), scored more away top League goals (37) and equal with Chelsea on total of away defeats (three).

10. Wrap up their League programme home to West Ham on Sunday.

KEY PLAYER NOTES/POTENTIAL MILESTONES

CHELSEA
Squad profiles

Didier DROGBA is the highest scoring Premiership player this season with 31 goals, 19 of which are League goals. The Ivory Coast International leads Manchester United's Cristiano RONALDO by two at the top of the table for the Barclays Golden Boot award.

If on the field from the outset, John TERRY will be making his 200th start in a Chelsea shirt.

The Champions!
Squad profiles

Wayne ROONEY is The Champion's top scorer with 23 goals.

RONALDO is the club's leading marksman in the Premiership with 17. The Portugal World Cup star is two behind Chelsea's Didier Drogba at the head of the race for the Barclays Golden Boot.

If selected in the 11, RONALDO will be making his 150th start for the Red Devils.

Paul SCHOLES is one goal short of holding the record outright as Manchester United's highest scorer of Premier League goals. He has netted 95 and equalled Ruud van Nistelrooy's total. Ryan GIGGS has scored 93 times in the Premiership.

GIGGS is a double short of 100 League goals.

When next selected in the 11, Gary NEVILLE will be making his 350th Premiership start - all for the Red Devils.

If he plays, Rio FERDINAND will be making his 150th Premiership appearance in a United shirt.

If he lines-up for the kick-off, Ole Gunnar SOLSKJAER will be making his 150th English League start - all for the Old Trafford club.

If he takes the field, Michael CARRICK will be making his 50th Manchester United appearance.

THIS SEASON'S REVERSE FIXTURE

Manchester United 1-1 Chelsea
26 November 2006 - Ref: Howard Webb
Man United scorer: Saha 29
Chelsea scorer: Carvalho 69

HEAD TO HEAD TOTALS

Home and away
League: Chelsea 36 wins, Man United 54, Draws 39
Prem: Chelsea 9 wins, Man United 8, Draws 12

at Chelsea only
League: Chelsea 19 wins, Man United 29, Draws 16
Prem: Chelsea 5 wins, Man United 4, Draws 5

The League figures in these Head to Head totals include all Premiership matches

Re: Thread for Chelsea vs The Champions!
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2007, 11:51:23 AM »
The only thing i vex about from Sunday is that this game mightn't be what i wanted it to be. Both managers would be looking at FA cup....as bragging rights don't count for much now. BTW.....what you mean it only showing on trotters? CNC3 wont cover it? If that is de case...well dat change my whole plan for tomorrow...... :-\
The greatest single cause of atheism in the world today are Christians who acknowledge Jesus ;with their lips and walk out the door and deny Him by their lifestyle. That is what an unbelieving world simply finds unbelievable.

Offline Lazie

« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2007, 01:58:22 PM »
The champions need to rest some players to prepare for the Fa Cup Final.  All I want tomorrow is for the lines in the Guard of Honour to be as straight as a pants seam and all Chelsea players must stand at attention.

« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2007, 01:59:31 PM »
The champions need to rest some players to prepare for the Fa Cup Final.  All I want tomorrow is for the lines in the Guard of Honour to be as straight as a pants seam and all Chelsea players must stand at attention.

yuh done know lol  :devil:

Offline jub02

• Mighty Arsenal & Newcastle .
« Reply #4 on: May 08, 2007, 04:31:03 PM »
dis game wud of been so much better if de title was stil to play for
oh well, without drogba it stil gon be boring

« Reply #5 on: May 08, 2007, 05:39:04 PM »
The only thing i vex about from Sunday is that this game mightn't be what i wanted it to be. Both managers would be looking at FA cup....as bragging rights don't count for much now. BTW.....what you mean it only showing on trotters? CNC3 wont cover it? If that is de case...well dat change my whole plan for tomorrow...... :-\

It's showing on Setanta Sports...   Sportsmax are not bringing it.. 

Therefore only Trotters are showing it.   so expect a big crowd

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #6 on: May 08, 2007, 07:13:03 PM »
God damn FSC not showing it either

« Reply #7 on: May 08, 2007, 07:32:35 PM »
God damn FSC not showing it either

Download it after the game done.

You will not miss anything as both teams will be playing scrubs.

I like what Ferguson is doing in going all out against West Ham next weekend. It would be very easy just to rest players there too but he is trying to repect all the teams involved in the relegation battle.

« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2007, 05:56:49 AM »
7 Hours till we receive our Guard of Honour....

payback is a bitch!

« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2007, 06:28:24 AM »
2 - 0 ManU
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2007, 11:25:19 AM »
What time is de game today?

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2007, 11:34:20 AM »
3-1 Chelsea in the league and FA cup
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2007, 11:56:03 AM »

So no body could give me de start time for dis game???   :beermug:

« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2007, 11:58:44 AM »

12:00 PST
3:00 PM (tnt) EST

« Reply #14 on: May 09, 2007, 12:04:55 PM »

Ahhhhhhhh.....Thank you  :rotfl: :beermug:

« Reply #15 on: May 09, 2007, 12:07:18 PM »

Ahhhhhhhh.....Thank you  :rotfl: :beermug:

Jus remember after joy is sorrow...so laugh now..cry later  :devil:

« Reply #16 on: May 09, 2007, 12:37:48 PM »
Hear nah, all yuh ain't see that C side Utd sending out, lol. 8 changes to the team that played Man City. If only they didn't have the FA Cup coming up, I woulda say that was an insult.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2007, 12:43:53 PM by FLi ! »

« Reply #17 on: May 09, 2007, 01:37:11 PM »
any updates? feed? how much Chelsea up by?  ;D

« Reply #18 on: May 09, 2007, 01:44:11 PM »
any updates? feed? how much Chelsea up by?  ;D

Hull yu tail, any links today??  Wuk finally caught onto me and dey block my site :rotfl: :beermug: :devil:

« Reply #19 on: May 09, 2007, 01:49:20 PM »

0-0 at halftime a very dull, boring, uneventful game thus far.

« Reply #20 on: May 09, 2007, 01:49:26 PM »
what site yuh work block? send to me nah, leh me see if it works here and I would update you  :devil: looks like it's nil nil at the half  ;D

« Reply #21 on: May 09, 2007, 01:51:30 PM »
what site yuh work block? send to me nah, leh me see if it works here and I would update you  :devil: looks like it's nil nil at the half  ;D

Google live footy and try de link for man u

« Reply #22 on: May 09, 2007, 01:52:01 PM »
rooney scored ah hattrick

« Reply #23 on: May 09, 2007, 01:57:41 PM »

Have you tried http://www.asiaplatetv.net/aptv_today.htm
You will of course need the P2P clients installed.

« Reply #24 on: May 09, 2007, 02:03:35 PM »

Have you tried http://www.asiaplatetv.net/aptv_today.htm
You will of course need the P2P clients installed.

Thanks, clear as day  ;D  :beermug:

« Reply #25 on: May 09, 2007, 03:08:06 PM »
4-3 to Man U !!!

Oh wait daiz yellow cards.
0-0 great game  :thumbsdown:

« Reply #26 on: May 09, 2007, 04:24:22 PM »
4-3 to Man U !!!

Oh wait daiz yellow cards.
0-0 great game  :thumbsdown:

« Reply #27 on: May 09, 2007, 06:09:29 PM »
 :yawning:
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #28 on: May 09, 2007, 06:42:23 PM »
Ha haha ha ha ha\

Chelsea B team cant even beat Utd's C team 

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

We had fun in trotters though...

The real game is on the 19th

Oh yeah...THE GUARD OF HONOUR WAS SWEET!