March 28, 2024, 10:24:32 AM

Author Topic: Pompey line up T&T trio  (Read 3402 times)

Pompey line up T&T trio
« on: May 16, 2007, 02:43:44 PM »
I know something like this was posted already but on 16 May 2007 there was a similar article also saying Hertha Berlin was also intersted.

http://home.skysports.com/list.aspx?hlid=466904&CPID=8&clid=47&lid=2&title=Pompey+line+up+T&T+trio

Skysports.com understands Portsmouth are closing in on the signings of Trinidad & Tobago trio Lester Peltier, Khaleem Hyland and Atullah Guerra

The San Juan Jabloteh stars impressed Pompey boss Harry Redknapp during a recent training stint at Fratton Park.

The midfield trio are regarded as three of the brightest young talents to emerge from Trinidad & Tobago and Hyland has already featured for the national team.

A number of clubs are thought to be chasing the three players with Ajax and Hertha Berlin expressing an interest in them.
However, Portsmouth are determined to land the exciting trio and have offered them four-year deals to move to the South Coast.

Agents Steve Davies and Paul Mohamed of DMC Sports Management have helped broker the deal and Davies revealed Portsmouth have begun the process of obtaining work permits for the trio.

"Portsmouth are very keen to sign the three players after they impressed during their time at the club," Davis told skysports.com.

"Harry Redknapp is a big fan of them and he believes they can have a big future in the game.

"Ajax expressed an interest also and offered more money in agent fees, but we believe moving to Portsmouth is the right move for them.

"A big factor in going to Portsmouth is that they have Paul Hart there as director of youth at the club and his track record is second to none with young players.

"Work permits have been applied and even though the players might not meet the international criteria we are confident that the club will be given special dispensation because of the undoubted potential of the three players."

Re: Pompey line up T&T trio
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2007, 02:47:56 PM »
well ajax do have one of de best youth systems around. wouldnt mind seeing them go there. they can develop into very good players.

« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2007, 05:34:32 PM »
Me think that roberts performance in holland have sparked the interest of these dutch clubs to our shores.

« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2007, 06:44:55 PM »
Dis footbal news just geyyin sweeter  ;D . Is just for Jackula, Scamps and Rodent to stop spoilin' de momentum  >:(

« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2007, 06:48:06 PM »
Dis footbal news just geyyin sweeter  ;D . Is just for Jackula, Scamps and Rodent to stop spoilin' de momentum  >:(

4 real dreamer.

« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2007, 07:09:07 PM »
Pompey was closing in for 2 months now...until I see dem fellers shaking Redknapp hand with they name behind de jerseys, then I will believe.

They clearly getting attention though, so good luck to them and I hope the lack of international credentials eh go be an issue..

« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2007, 10:34:45 PM »
"Ajax expressed an interest also and offered more money in agent fees, but we believe moving to Portsmouth is the right move for them.

These youngsters would be better off going to Ajax rather than Portsmouth.  I feel that the work permit requirements will moot any move to England and they'll end up in Holland anyway..........IF this is to be believed.

Offline banton

• football in meh veins football in meh blood
    • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XeWOxnWoXKI
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2007, 10:55:10 PM »
if pompey stick they will get the click,send them holand let them face off against darryl roberts
football in meh veins football in meh blood

« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2007, 11:24:53 PM »
Best place for dem youth right now is Ajax.  Where else is there a better place to learn the science of the game.  When yuh make it at Ajax, yuh sure to move on to big things.

« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2007, 07:45:22 AM »
 :applause: :applause: Trini players on the rise!!!!!!

Offline pompey_researcher

« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2007, 01:40:42 PM »
Got it on pretty good authority that its unlikely this will go through due to work permit problems :(

« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2007, 01:44:04 PM »
it could also be that Dutch sides are giving us more attention cause Beenie and Wim putting in a good word  :beermug:

« Reply #12 on: May 17, 2007, 02:30:34 PM »
There is a loop hole they can use it’s the same one Kenwayne Jones use he got a student visa play for two years in the league represent your country 75% off the time when your three  year up apply for a regular work permit 

« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2007, 02:52:11 PM »
There is a loop hole they can use it’s the same one Kenwayne Jones use he got a student visa play for two years in the league represent your country 75% off the time when your three  year up apply for a regular work permit 

dah's the part ah like...buh wha bout when we carry we best players all times - not counting Yorke - how dey getting selected to make that 75 % represent for all competitions, whey dey makin dem numbers ? specially when club doh wha release dem for fren-lies.....

Offline redtrinigirl

• A Trini In London
« Reply #14 on: May 17, 2007, 03:03:36 PM »

I believe it was a working holiday visa, and at that time you could have worked for the full two years. Now you can only work 12 months out of that two years. they will have to make up alot of appearances during those 12 months to get the work permit. And that being the case they might only get a one year contract, until they get the official permit.
Attraction of the Mind gives Respect.
Attraction of the Heart gives Friendship.
Attraction of the Body gives Desire.

Attraction of all Three of them at once …
gives Love.

« Reply #15 on: May 17, 2007, 03:07:27 PM »
There's no way these fellas gettin pick for 75% of our int'l friendlies any time soon.

Send dem to Belgium.

« Reply #16 on: May 17, 2007, 03:21:22 PM »
Seems like Peltier is eligible for a Dutch passport through his Dutch grandmother. But the work/holiday visa is the route for the others if you believe this article..

http://www.premiershiplatest.com/news/san-juan-jabloteh-trio-lester-peltier-kh-552285.html

« Last Edit: May 17, 2007, 03:24:40 PM by Filho »

« Reply #17 on: May 17, 2007, 03:35:15 PM »

I believe it was a working holiday visa, and at that time you could have worked for the full two years. Now you can only work 12 months out of that two years. they will have to make up alot of appearances during those 12 months to get the work permit. And that being the case they might only get a one year contract, until they get the official permit.

Yuh could work full time for half de time (1 year)

Or yuh could work part-time (half de time) for de full 2 years

Football wuk is part time wuk in any case

« Reply #18 on: May 17, 2007, 04:48:50 PM »
Got it on pretty good authority that its unlikely this will go through due to work permit problems :(
Well i guess it's gonna be AJAX for our boys