April 16, 2024, 12:48:21 PM

Which are you more likely to choose to help raise funds for FPATT?

collection box in bar/office
2 (5.3%)
go to bank to make deposit
3 (7.9%)
attend fundraising match/lime
12 (31.6%)
buy FPATT clothing
5 (13.2%)
donation by post
4 (10.5%)
donation by card via iternet
11 (28.9%)
Would not donate
1 (2.6%)

Total Members Voted: 38

Voting closed: July 30, 2007, 04:00:37 PM

Author Topic: FPATT Thread  (Read 132286 times)

Re: Fundraising for FPATT
« Reply #570 on: May 01, 2008, 01:20:56 PM »

« Reply #571 on: May 01, 2008, 01:30:34 PM »
By post. 8)

« Reply #572 on: May 01, 2008, 03:09:32 PM »
Thanks FPATT and E-Man, looking good, but a Golf shirt style woud be great. ( or even a T Shirt  ;) )
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Re: FPATT at Parliament
« Reply #573 on: May 01, 2008, 04:46:56 PM »
People is TnT Is this being covered by the local media CNC3, the Express, and others?  If not I think its the FPATT obligation to have their media dept make sure this get covered to make the public aware of the cause.  Shaka working for ESPN should no this especially

Re: FPATT at Parliament
« Reply #574 on: May 01, 2008, 08:33:58 PM »
FPATT media now dat is a thought. D other media besides d express now realize a story dey lil slow

Offline takenoprisoners

Re: Will FPATT oversee players' contracts before Jackula bites again
« Reply #575 on: May 25, 2008, 08:49:32 AM »
This is what bothering me. Now that this impasse is going into arbritration, will these guys sign contract before they play. How will the foreign and local players coordinate. Does FPATT have all the players(local and foreign) on board. I aint trusting TTFF. It could be divide and rule situation still.

Did FPATT advise any players or negotiate any contracts on their behalf for the upcoming game vs England?
« Last Edit: May 25, 2008, 07:30:12 PM by takenoprisoners »

Offline mwanasoka

• Football is played from de neck up.
Re: Will FPATT oversee players' contracts before Jackula bites again?
« Reply #576 on: May 25, 2008, 09:46:45 AM »
Nice thread.
I doh know if FPATT can afford lawyers but ah sure socawarrior member Lawyers could donate some
PRO BONO representation fuh now.Also,OVERSEAS PROS who use tuh contracts could offer ah lil PRO SE advice to de local yutes.Man like Yorke,Latas... what want tuh coach technical skills could also coach contractual basics. " EACH ONE TEACH ONE ".MENTOR AH YUTE NAH ! FPATT would be de communication center fuh all de members,via e-mail/phone anyway.
When the power of love overcomes the love of power,the world will know peace.

« Reply #577 on: May 25, 2008, 10:03:55 AM »
Unfortunately, until TTFF are prepared to sit down with FPATT at the negotiating table, players have to decide whether or not to sign the contracts offered to them. Some players have refused to sign them and some have sign contracts covering World Cup qualifying matches.

There are aspects of these contracts that we are not happy with and have advised members not to sign. But players have to decide for themselves who has their best interests at heart.

Offline mwanasoka

« Reply #578 on: May 25, 2008, 10:19:00 AM »
Keep up the Good Work FPATT ! Good lookin out !
God Bless. :notworthy:
« Last Edit: May 25, 2008, 10:20:52 AM by mwanasoka »

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #579 on: May 25, 2008, 10:24:54 AM »
Unfortunately, until TTFF are prepared to sit down with FPATT at the negotiating table, players have to decide whether or not to sign the contracts offered to them. Some players have refused to sign them and some have sign contracts covering World Cup qualifying matches.

There are aspects of these contracts that we are not happy with and have advised members not to sign. But players have to decide for themselves who has their best interests at heart.

What have been the repercussions for the players who have refused to sign these contracts? Who has refused to sign?
« Last Edit: May 25, 2008, 10:37:41 AM by takenoprisoners »

« Reply #580 on: May 25, 2008, 10:52:27 AM »

What have been the repercussions for the players who have refused to sign these contracts? Who has refused to sign?

it depends on what their refuse to sign. The code of conduct for individual matches and tournaments is normally a non-contentious issue, it is the contract related to image/commercial rights and match fees which is the contentious one.

Refusing to sign the code of conduct normally precludes the player from playing, cuz that deals with anti-doping issues, etc,  while refusal to sign the latter would generally have dictate the player doesn't get paid, as he hasn't agreed to the apportionment of revenue on the federation's terms. 

some players had refused to sign for the Guadeloupe game I believe and didn't get paid.

Offline takenoprisoners

« Reply #581 on: May 25, 2008, 11:08:44 AM »
Thanks for the clarification FPATT and Fli. :beermug: :beermug:  The players need to work as a unit on and off the field, they have tremendous leverage at present to bring about the recognition of  FPATT. ;)
This lack of unity is Jack's trump card. :banginghead:
« Last Edit: May 25, 2008, 11:23:29 AM by takenoprisoners »

Offline mwanasoka

« Reply #582 on: May 25, 2008, 11:33:20 AM »
Thanks for the clarification FPATT and Fli. :beermug: :beermug:  The players need to work as a unit on and off the field, they have tremendous leverage at present to bring about the recognition of  FPATT. ;)
This lack of unity is Jack's trump card. :banginghead:
Yeah yuh rite TNP,only one way tuh negate JW's trump card an daiz to re-trump him at de 11th hour.
Ah General Strike by all players on the island at de 11th hour. Not no wild-cat ting.Dis is leverage faddar.When he realize he go be in de red fuh millions,he go feel de pressah on he vampire testicles an advise de TTFF tuh sue fuh peace. :devil:
« Last Edit: May 25, 2008, 11:36:01 AM by mwanasoka »

« Reply #583 on: May 25, 2008, 03:59:04 PM »
Hopefully now dat d locals see dat d devil could b beaten and let FPATT represent dem and stop gettin on like a pickney on d 1st day of school

Questions for FPATT
« Reply #584 on: July 09, 2008, 11:26:47 AM »
What's the situation with the arbitration?is it settled or it still going on?

I saw a post that read "Warriors get big Bucks" when did they get that money?

What sort of conditions the present set of players playing under?

Are they all receiving the same pay?or is it based on experience?or is it based on a foreign/local system?

Are players being contracted per game or for the period of the WC?

Are FPATT members being insured through FPATT or TTFF?

There might be more questions that people want to add to the list,since you all have taken the responsibility to see about the welfare of the players may be you can shed some light on if any changes are being made concerning the treatment of players in the country.

Although i've asked these questions of FPATT,if any one can shed some light on this please feel free to update us.

Re: Questions for FPATT
« Reply #585 on: July 09, 2008, 12:55:27 PM »

Are they all receiving the same pay?or is it based on experience?or is it based on a foreign/local system?

There might be more questions that people want to add to the list,since you all have taken the responsibility to see about the welfare of the players may be you can shed some light on if any changes are being made concerning the treatment of players in the country.

Although i've asked these questions of FPATT,if any one can shed some light on this please feel free to update us.

I can shed light on the first two. Though liability has been confirmed by the consensual arbitration, the TTFF are just basically ignoring the result. The next step is for assessment of how much is owed to the players, which could perhaps involve some costly forensic accounting. But look forward to more litigation to get orders to see the accounts and orders to enforce the judgment.

The money the players had gotten was the charity witheld sum, which was supposed to be paid to a nominated charity a long time back, but was only paid before the final arbitration hearing.

Re: Questions for FPATT
« Reply #586 on: July 09, 2008, 01:46:52 PM »

I can shed light on the first two. Though liability has been confirmed by the consensual arbitration, the TTFF are just basically ignoring the result. The next step is for assessment of how much is owed to the players, which could perhaps involve some costly forensic accounting. But look forward to more litigation to get orders to see the accounts and orders to enforce the judgment.

The money the players had gotten was the charity witheld sum, which was supposed to be paid to a nominated charity a long time back, but was only paid before the final arbitration hearing.

...and that 'charity' sum was a share of the FIFA bonus paid to each participating team from the World Cup.

The "FIFA" bonus is separate from the World Cup bonus promised by Jack.

FIFA money= Participation bonus.

Jack money= Performance bonus

...two different things Coop's

FPATT want to help World Cup campaign.
« Reply #587 on: September 20, 2008, 04:49:27 AM »
FPATT want to help World Cup campaign.
By: Lasana Liburd (Express).

Shaka offers to soothe Sunderland.

Shaka Hislop's oratory and charisma are now standard fare in his profession as an ESPN commentator and UK Guardian columnist. And the former Trinidad and Tobago 2006 World Cup standout is ready to use his experience and credibility, on and off the field, to help the "Soca Warriors" in their South Africa 2010 campaign.

Hislop, the first president of the Football Players Association of Trinidad and Tobago (FPATT), offered to help the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF) improve relations with the foreign employers of their top players in the wake of a public spat between FIFA vice-president and T&TFF special adviser Jack Warner and Sunderland manager Roy Keane.

Keane and Warner traded insults after the England Premier League manager ordered national icon and Sunderland midfielder, Dwight Yorke, to miss a World Cup qualifier away to the United States on September 10.

Hislop, who was once the England Premiership's most expensive goalkeeper and is the only foreigner after Brazilian legend Pele to receive an England PFA Special Merit award, is convinced that FPATT can play a crucial role in the negotiations between club and country, which can be vital to the Warriors' qualification chances.

"From my experience, the TTFF has never negotiated directly with any club I played for," said the former Newcastle, Portsmouth and West Ham custodian. "We have offered to be the go-between but they never accepted. I still think that, with FPATT's help, there would have never been that ridiculous exchange between Warner and Keane that was damaging to football and, in particular, Trinidad and Tobago football."

Hislop insisted that most international players-not just from Trinidad and Tobago-feel pressured by their clubs from time to time. He pointed to Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard's recent minor surgery, ordered by his club, which ruled him out of a crucial World Cup qualifier for England but ensured he was ready for Liverpool's next Premiership fixture.

Like Gerrard and Trinidad and Tobago captain Dwight Yorke, Hislop believes the players are usually the ones to suffer and suggested that more should be done to improve relations rather than merely invoking FIFA's bylaws.

Hislop, a recent inductee in the local sport Hall of Fame, insisted that Yorke was a victim of a lack of dialogue between the two parties.

"I think Dwight has been dragged into this through no fault of his own," said Hislop. "Contrary to what some people have said, (his international future) wasn't a topic of conversation before he signed his new contract at Sunderland. It only came up when he decided to return (to the national side).

"All international players are aware of this pressure although it is usually handled quietly behind closed doors it is not just small countries. A lot of big countries sit with club owners and managers and discuss their concerns so they don't have these types of disputes that drag football down and have hurt Sunderland and Trinidad and Tobago."

He suggested that the T&TFF was often disinterested in building bridges and preferred to use FIFA's influence to strong arm clubs. FPATT prefers an approach that is as respectful to the players' careers as it is to the needs of the national side.

"I think some diplomacy and courtesy will go a long way towards minimizing these problems," said Hislop. "Instead, we have been neglecting that and it just blew up in our face in the international media last week."

The FPATT boss was not surprised by Keane's assertion that Sunderland were stuck with a massive medical bill after forward Kenwyne Jones was injured during Trinidad and Tobago's Centennial match against England in June. Jones has not played since, although he recently returned to the training ground.

When FPATT attempted to open dialogue with the T&TFF in February, Warner suggested that the T&TFF follow the European model where nations were negotiating directly with the "G14" clubs-a consortium of Europe's most influential teams-on the use of their players.

But Hislop insisted that the T&TFF had not followed the G14 pact either as evidenced by Jones' medical situation. Trinidad and Tobago's international players, according to Hislop, are insured for between $500,000 and $2 million (TT), which is not nearly enough to cover rehabilitation for a serious injury in Britain.

"Mr Warner went on a tantrum and used Europe and the G14 as the reason that the T&TFF shouldn't negotiate with FPATT," said Hislop. "But it is part of their agreement that countries should not only fully insure national players but also reimburse clubs their wages while on international duty.

"So you have Mr Warner referencing this agreement to the T&TFF but still not employing the bare basics of what the agreement was about Clearly the TTFF have not negotiated with Sunderland either."

FPATT officially launched in 2007 and were promised funding by Sport Minister Gary Hunt, earlier this year, although Hislop explained that the association remains starved of cash.

"We continue to await funding," said Hislop, "which we need to press ahead with some of the projects we have on the drawing board.

"It has been a quiet period for us but we are still working behind the scene and just waiting for a few T's to be crossed and I's to be dotted."
« Last Edit: September 20, 2008, 08:08:41 AM by Flex »

Re: FPATT want to help World Cup campaign.
« Reply #588 on: September 20, 2008, 12:43:57 PM »
"Contrary to what some people have said, (his international future) wasn't a topic of conversation before he signed his new contract at Sunderland."

Lol, interesting... but I'm not surprised.

Re: FPATT want to help World Cup campaign.
« Reply #589 on: September 20, 2008, 02:02:21 PM »
It was not an issue because he retired so in fact he had no international future

Warner: FPATT an organisation the TTFF does not recognise.
« Reply #590 on: December 14, 2008, 06:33:10 AM »
Warner: Millions missing from Sportt.
By: Ian Prescott (Express).

Jack Warner is alleging that million-dollar corruption is taking place within the Sport Company of Trinidad and Tobago (Sportt) and since this is taking place under his watch, Sport Minister Gary Hunt is accountable.

"Let the Minister of Sport give an account of his stewardship," Warner declared yesterday at a media conference held at CONCACAF's Edwards Street office in Port of Spain.

There, Warner displayed documents revealing big salaries, large increases and huge perks for Sportt personnel. He also alleged that in addition to an already sizeable compensation package, acting chief executive officer Anna Thompson had her salary raised by $9,000 per month.

Warner, the FIFA vice-president and Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation special adviser, claimed that no interviews were held for Thompsons' post, although she was the most junior of three deputy CEOs at the Sport Company.

Further, Warner charged that state funds in the sum of $125,472 have been expended to provide private security for Thompson and her family because of threats. He questioned whether Government provides such security for everyone who is subject to threats.

Warner also queried why Sportt wanted to move their offices at the Ato Boldon Stadium in Couva, which are free of charge, to a newly-renovated site on Henry Street, Port of Spain, where they have to pay a massive monthly rental.

He said for the past few months he had been seeking unsuccessfully to raise such questions in Parliament.

"I call on the Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs to explain the expenditure of $2,747,433.60 on rentals by Sportt, with a monthly sum of $248,768.40 being paid faithfully every month for the rental (of the building on Henry Street) for the past seven months and without as much as a chair in the building," Warner declared.

"Tell the public if this is true. I await his answers."

Warner, the self-described "Shadow Minister of Sport" and Opposition Member of Parliament for Chaguanas West, had planned to confront Hunt with his evidence on Friday, Parliament's final sitting for the year, but Hunt was not present.

"It is bad enough that money in this country is badly spent," Warner said. "But it is worst when the money is spent and not accounted for.

"The Sport Company was not formed to give ham and jam to some officials, it was formed to help sportsmen."

Warner charged the Government, and Hunt in particular, of treating the country with contempt by not answering pertinent questions concerning the issue.

He even accused Sportt of helping the Football Players Association of Trinidad and Tobago (FPATT) to fight its legal battle with the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (TTFF). He further described FPATT as an organisation which the TTFF does not recognise.

"FPATT was paid $99,990 in September this year. Is the Government now providing funds for unions? If this is the case, will Government also provide funds for OWTU, NUGFW, BGWU, PSA and all the others or do they have to go through the Equal Opportunities Act to secure funding. What is the purpose of the payment."
« Last Edit: December 14, 2008, 07:06:21 AM by Flex »

Re: Warner: FPATT an organisation the TTFF does not recognise.
« Reply #591 on: December 14, 2008, 08:25:30 AM »
Come on Jack ,you cannot expect me to take you seriously

When last did you look into the mirror,do that and come again,then maybe we would solve your shit...uation

Jack you have to look at things with both eyes....Open..... :rotfl:

« Reply #592 on: December 14, 2008, 08:37:34 AM »

When last did you look into the mirror,do that and come again,then maybe we would solve your shit...uation

Doh get tie up!! Jack's eyes are wide open!! The question is whether or not the people who hear what Jack say have their eyes open.

« Reply #593 on: December 14, 2008, 09:05:34 AM »

Vampires doh have reflections :)

« Reply #594 on: December 14, 2008, 11:07:25 AM »

Vampires doh have reflections :)

And nary a truer word was spoken

« Reply #595 on: December 14, 2008, 11:25:38 AM »
I goin an sing my normal tune here

Jackass take in $173 MILLION TTD and he doh want to pay the players who took the TTFF to its first ever WC appearence and HE talkin bout other people corrupt
Jackass......you are a winner
boi....gorn nuh gorn
I cyar wait for his legacy to pass and leave the TTFF in good hands...if THAT is ever possible
« Last Edit: December 14, 2008, 11:53:28 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #596 on: December 14, 2008, 11:49:07 AM »

Doh get tie up!! Jack's eyes are wide open!! The question is whether or not the people who hear what Jack say have their eyes open.

Boy.....for real eh....booing Hunt every time he name call on de PA system in de Stadium is proof enough dat he have people in dis country real tie up....

But in all seriousness, wha going on wid FPATT??

« Reply #597 on: December 14, 2008, 11:54:02 AM »
Ah go be de first to say that there is a lot of information and unanswered questions on Jack's dealing showing him to be a BIG crook.  But if at the same time de big thief dat he is uncover corruption in another area why should we immediately dismiss it?  Some of what Jack is pruporting to be taking place within the Ministry of Sports and SPORTT is troubling to me.  If we are more concerned with the messenger and miss de message or worse yet do not want to lend any credibility to the message because of the messenger well we in a worse way.

Corruption in T&T should be exposed, regardless of who brings it to light.

Blessing

« Reply #598 on: December 14, 2008, 11:58:24 AM »
Shadow Sports Minister.....ent it hv ah saying dat does goes like :

"Real recognize real," well in this case is :

"bandit recognize bandit" and  "schemer recognize schemer"

Cmon Jack, you the man to find and reveal corrruption!!!! :beermug: ;D

« Reply #599 on: December 14, 2008, 02:09:56 PM »
Ah go be de first to say that there is a lot of information and unanswered questions on Jack's dealing showing him to be a BIG crook.  But if at the same time de big thief dat he is uncover corruption in another area why should we immediately dismiss it?  Some of what Jack is pruporting to be taking place within the Ministry of Sports and SPORTT is troubling to me.  If we are more concerned with the messenger and miss de message or worse yet do not want to lend any credibility to the message because of the messenger well we in a worse way.

Corruption in T&T should be exposed, regardless of who brings it to light.

Blessing

Steups... did he 'uncover' corruption, or did he 'allege' corruption?  Make some kinda blasted sense nah man... is JACK we talking about here enuh.

At least de bastard finally admit that FPATT is ah union... so why then does he not recognize them?