March 28, 2024, 05:35:27 PM

Author Topic: Shaun Fuentes Thread  (Read 50514 times)

T&T Players Round-Up, with Shaun Fuentes. (19-Oct-2005).
« Reply #30 on: October 19, 2005, 02:40:55 AM »
Cornell hopes for recall.
By: Shaun Fuentes.

Cornell Glen planned to call national head coach Leo Beenhakker to discuss whatever plans the Dutch-born coach may have for him with the national team.
Glen, of Columbus Crew, last played for T&T at the 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup but has not been able to earn a pick since and is now eager to make a contribution once requested.
“I’m hoping that I can discuss my future with the team because it was an amazing thing to experience the feeling after the win over Mexico,”Glen said. “I even won some bets with one of the Guatemalan players in the club. It was a fantastic result for us.”
The former Dallas Burn player said he has not been enjoying the best of times with Crew which is expected to name a new head coach later this month. “I had a problem with an archilles injury and even though I was getting some playing time I wasn’t up to my best but now things are looking better and hopefully I can catch myself again,” Glen added.
After December for Densill.

Home-based professional Densill Theobald will have to wait until end of the year to have the chance to sign up with Scottish Premier League club Falkirk.
Theobald, who impressed on a recent trial with the club of Russell Latapy, returned home to represent the country in 1-0 and 2-1 wins over Panama and Mexico. But the Caledonia AIA Fire player revealed that Falkirk boss John Hughes phoned him last week to explain the situation.
“Basically he said the club is interested but a deal probably will not come through until the end of this year. He was excited over the win we had against Mexico and you know everyone there loves Russell so they were really happy for us. I was grateful for the chance to come on the field against Mexico and the feeling was a truly great one for us. Now we must just get our heads down and repeat it against Bahrain,” Theobald said.
Shaka Hislop gloves for Holder.

English-based goalie Shaka Hislop turned over the gloves he used in the second half of this country’s 2-1 win over to Mexico to National Under 20 goalie Thorne Holder.
The ex- Queen’s Royal College custodian was outside the T&T dressing room after the win anxious to greet Hislop and was thrilled to have gotten the Selsport gloves from the former Portsmouth man.
“I knew he would give me something because this was such a big match that will go down in history for us. Shaka is a real role model and I know there a lot of things I can learn from him,” Holder said.
Hislop, who was also on the phone with Gillingham defender Brent Sancho around the same time, added “It’s good when we can do things like this and see the look on a youngsters face.”
What a gesture.

Following his late double in the 3-2 win over Guatemala, Stern John received an offer from an avid fan via his website message board to have 25 kids form the Princess Elizabeth’s Home attend the match against Mexico in support of him and the “Warriors”.
The fan, Roger Gervais, purchased the tickets, all for the covered section, and funded transportation and refreshments for the young fans who got the chance of a lifetime to meet the team members at the start of the warm up before the game. John led his teammates across the race track to touch hands with them.
John recalled how he felt when being told of the offer.
In a column by yours truly on the TTFF website last month, it was stated “Stern was thrilled with the news and immediately the old “El Do” boy sounded as though just for that, he would score another pair of goals in the next big one against Panama and then seal it at home versus Mexico.”
Well the rest is history now.
John has since commented saying “It was a great feeling and just to see the looks on their faces when we went over to them before the match was something to remember. The evening was an absolutely amazing one.” John is now T&T’s leading World Cup scorer with 18 goals.
Evans Wise sets up Waldhof win.

German-based winger Evans Wise continues to enjoy some promising form for his new club Waldhof Mannheim. The former US-based pro was named “Man of the Match” in a friendly encounter against Bundesliga side Shalke 04 last Saturday for setting up the first goal in his team’s 3-2 defeat.
Wise reportedly mesmerized the opposing teams with his footwork and agility on the left side.
“I think I did fairly well against them and it was good to impress against a Bundesliga team,” Wise said.
Last Friday he also assisted in the winner against SV Sandhausen in German Third Division League action. “The club has started to settle in the competition and things are looking better for us. My personal form is also quite decent at the moment and I’m hoping for better things in the weeks to come.” Wise is contracted to Mannheim until 2007.
Carlos Edwards waiting on Bahrain.

Midfielder Carlos Edwards who won several new fans with his tricks on the field against Mexico last Wednesday says he’s finally beginning to feel his best again and once the country needs his services he will be going all out to rip the opposing defenders.
“I think this win has made us believe so much in ourselves and you can expect me and the other players to really lift the tempo of our games now. Look at how guys like Aurtis (Whitley) and others were able to raise their game. I’m not saying that we will be over confident but really I think we will buckle down and play our real game now,” he said on Thursday.
In the meantime though, Edwards said he will be concentrating on helping Luton Town continue their fine form in the English championship Division.
"I'm not thinking of the possibility of being at the World Cup at the moment. I am just keeping in a positive frame of mind and first of all I am looking towards the game against Norwich and nothing else. We want to turn around this bad start to the week that we have had following the defeat against Crewe. My club that I play for is my first priority but when I do meet up with my team-mates for my country then that is a different ball game." Yesterday, Edwards kept to his word in netting a 26th minute goal in Luton’s 4-2 thrashing of Norwich City.
Gary Glasgow hopes for Stars transfer.
T&T Guardian Reports.

The transfer of out-of-favour national striker Gary Glasgow from Chinese club Gaungzhou FC to local pro-club National Quarries North East Stars seems set for a positive ending.
Contacted last week, Stars owner Darryl Mahabir said that he received information from the T&T Football Federation, which indicated that Glasgow, who also enjoyed spells in the MLS and US Soccer A League, would be given a temporary transfer.
Glasgow was originally targeted by Stars as one of their possible new signings during the PFL transfer window, which closed on September 14.
His move, however, was held up after Stars were unable to get his International Transfer Clearance in time from the Chinese club.
“It seems that we will have to wait until Monday to get his official release because the Chinese officials have requested that the T&T Football Federation re-submit its request for his transfer on behalf of our club,” said Mahabir.
Mahabir was, however, hopeful that the transfer would be completed by noon on Monday so that Glasgow, who has been training with Stars for the last couple of weeks, would be able to make his debut for the club in the PFL match against CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo, from 6 pm yesterday.
The Stars fielded Walter Moore in their squad for the penalty shoot-out win over WASA Clean & White in the Toyota Classic last Friday , after he got his international transfer clearance. However, Jaffar Munroe, a striker from Montserrat, did not get his and was forced to return to Montserrat.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2005, 08:49:13 AM by Flex »

Re: T&T Players Round-Up, with Shaun Fuentes. (19-Oct-2005).
« Reply #31 on: October 19, 2005, 11:38:36 AM »
WISE DOING IT AGAIN :beermug:

Offline pioneertrini

« Reply #32 on: October 19, 2005, 11:42:55 AM »
has wise ever played under beenhacker?

« Reply #33 on: October 19, 2005, 11:52:48 AM »
NAH I DONT THINK SO

« Reply #34 on: October 19, 2005, 12:00:12 PM »
has wise ever played under beenhacker?

No. Wise's last match fuh T&T was against Morocco on September 10, 2003. Fevrier was de coach.

« Reply #35 on: October 19, 2005, 12:12:07 PM »
HA HA I FINALLY ANSWER A QUESTION B4 TALLEST :beermug:

« Reply #36 on: October 20, 2005, 09:36:18 AM »
I keep saying it GLENN needs to be in this team. Wise may be able to solidify that left side as well

Pro-Players Round-Up, with Shaun Fuentes (27-Oct-2005).
« Reply #37 on: October 27, 2005, 02:42:09 AM »
Mind games or not, we’ll be ready says Shaka.

West Ham united goalkeeper Shaka Hislop says he has no problems with Bahrain scouting Trinidad and Tobago ahead of their 2006 World Cup half slot playoff on November 12 and 16.
And how come?  Hislop says because it will make them fully aware that they will be coming up against a team full of sheer determination with players prepared for the “games of their lives”.
Hislop made these comments from his team’s hotel ahead of a Premiership outing away to Liverpool on Saturday.
The former T&T captain said he was surprised to learn of all the hype back home over the alleged involvement of David Nakhid with the Bahrain FA, adding that the focus should be entirely on getting T&T past the next two matches and into the World Cup Finals next year.
“I'll start by saying this- David Nakhid has been a school-mate, a team-mate but above all a friend for longer than either of us would care to admit. And I'm sure he'll remain to be. What has happened concerning him and his proposed appointment to the Bahrain youth team is entirely unsurprising, after all he is a very recognized coach in the middle east,” Hislop told TTFF Media.
“What is surprising though is the media coverage the whole thing has received. These meetings, appointments, and exchanging of ideas is very commonplace in football at the highest level. I see it week in week out here at club level. I'm sure every one of the players in the squad is quite used to all of this, it won't be new to any of us.”
Hislop pointed out that it should be noted that the opposition is well aware that they will be in for a tough battle in both matches.
“It shows that they have respect for us, as we do for them. That's all. Personally speaking, I'd be delighted if they saw the videos of the last few games, they'll find out first hand a number of things we've learnt about ourselves which is that we're not easy to beat, we won't lay down, we'll fight to the end, we're a team and we're determined! Come the 12th and the 16th we'll be playing in the biggest games of our lives, and we'll be ready. Mind games or no mind games, it doesn't make the slightest difference,” Hislop assured.
Meantime, the T&T management confirmed that the 21-man squad, inclusive of the overseas-based players will reassemble on November 7 (with the exception of Dwight Yorke who arrives from Sydney on November 8 and will commence training the following day at the Hasely Crawford Stadium. Head Coach Leo Beenhakker will also arrive from Holland on November 4 and has indicated that he will comment on matters regarding the National Team and the upcoming matches at a media conference at the Piarco International Airport upon his arrival.
Ticket not yet on sale.

The Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation and the Local Organising Committee Germany 2006 wishes to state that contrary to rumors being circulated, tickets for the November 12 2006 World Cup qualifying playoff with Bahrain have not been sold out nor have they gone on sale.
Several calls have been coming into the TTFF headquarters on Dundonald Street from anxious fans enquiring about ticket sales which will in fact go on sale on November 10 from opening business hours at the advertised KFC and Republic Bank branches.
Peter O’Connor, marketing manager for the TTFF, made it clear that the average fan will have the opportunity to purchase up to six tickets to view the game at the Hasely Crawford Stadium.
“Tickets have not been sold out nor been sold. There are not no blocks of tickets on sale for corporate Trinidad and Tobago and tickets will go on sale at Nov 10,” O’Connor stated.
“We have also informed all  KFC and Republic Banks branches to not sell more than six tickets to any one purchaser. This is to ensure that the individual supporter has every opportunity to purchase tickets and if any are left over on Friday night, they will be sold from 9am on match day at the match venue.”
O’Connor further added: “There has been a huge demand from corporate Trinidad for large blocks of tickets but these requests have been turned down and please do not contact the TTFF offices for ticket sales because tickets will only be available from the advertised outlets.”
The TTFF and LOC also wishes to advise Advertisers and other companies to avoid any attempts to exploit the National Team and the “Journey to Germany” campaign.
“We are appealing to advertisers and companies  not to exploit the popularity of the team or the journey to Germany for their own gain. We are already aware of attempts being made to do this. Please be aware that any such party will be required to obtain permission to market any product or contest on the basis of the National Team and the qualification for Germany. And if they fail to respect our requests then the matter will be dealt with accordingly,” O’Connor added.
Sancho back in training.

Defender Brent Sancho was back on the field for light training this week following a lay off with a hamstring injury dating back to the build up to this country’s matches against Panama and Mexico. The reoccurrence of the problem ruled him out of the squad but he has earned a recall from head coach Leo Beenhakker for the upcoming matches against Bahrain.
Sancho said: “I’m feeling good and the treatment has really helped me out but it’s a matter of me getting match fit and I’m not sure whether I will get that chance this weekend. But by next week I’m almost sure to be back in the Gillingham shirt and ready for the Bahrain games as well.”
In the meantime, his club teammate Ian Cox has fully recovered from injury which also ruled him out of T&T’s last two games.
Collin Samuel turns on old club.

Striker Collin Samuel turned back the tables on his old side Falkirk as he scored Dundee United’s third and final goal in a 3-1 win in Scottish Premier League action on the weekend.
Samuel, a standby in the T&T squad for the upcoming games against Bahrain, came off the bench to score against Russell Latapy’s team which he campaigned with when now moving to Scotland from local club CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh.
He was jeered by fans as he warmed up to replace Spanish striker David Hernandez in the second half but then had the last laugh with the 80th minute goal via a flick on from Jim McIntryre’s cross.
“I’ve not had stick from the Falkirk fans before but I knew I’d get some boos today. They didn’t disappoint me and when I came off the bench to hear the noise, I smiled and knew I had to do something for them,” Samuel said.
“That’s why I was so happy with my goal. It was an important one for me but also means a lot to the team and to the manager.”
Latapy helped put Falkirk ahead when his well timed volley was parried by the goalkeeper for Darryl Duffy to slot home.
Guess what Jlloyd Samuel’s favourite meal is.

Possible national team addition Jlloyd Samuel says his long time idol is former England and Liverpool standout John Barnes. The 24-year-old Aston Villa star announced on the weekend that he has committed himself to this country’s national team and is hoping to be selected by Leo Beenhakker for the upcoming matches against Bahrain. Assistant coach Wim Rijsbergen was expected to be in the stands looking on at Aston Villa’s Carling Cup match with Burnley yesterday.
Samuel, after delaying his decision, having been eligible for England selection, said he was looking forward to the T&T experience. “It’s something I’m looking forward to with great interest because I think I can make a good contribution and hopefully I can get selected and play a part in the country’s bid to qualify for the next World Cup,” he said.
Samuel, whose family is from San Fernando, was on the bench on the England squad which included the likes of Wayne Rooney, David Beckham, Steven Gerrard, Joe Cole, John Terry and Phil Neville in a 1-0 win over Sweden in March 2004.
He also states in his personal Web site profile that he grew up playing in the famous Senrab boys team of East London alongside John Terry and Bobby Zamora, another player eligible and willing now to play for the “Warriors”. Samuel added that his favourite meal is curry-goat and rice, Caribbean style.
Kelvin Jack ready to go again.

Goalkeeper Kelvin Jack says he will do whatever it takes to be fit for the upcoming World Cup playoff matches against Bahrain. The goalie went off at half time in the 2-1 win over Mexico with a knee tendon injury and has been seeing a specialist back in Scotland since.
He is geared up to press for a starting role and wants club coach Alan Kernaghan to know this.
But it appears Kernaghan is not ready to give Jack the match practice.
“I started training again on Monday and having been seeing the specialist up here, I know I will be ready again in time for the matches against Bahrain. “It’s definitely a time in my career that I will not miss. Since June I have played 26 games for club and country and this break has done me a world of good” Jack said.
Ghetto Fabulous.
By: Lasana Liburd.

Otis Seaton was hired by Don Leo Beenhakker as the muscle. The Trinidad and Tobago national football team coach needed a player with the energy and courage to protect his back four and the street smarts to link up with his more valued front-runners like Stern John, Dwight Yorke, Russell Latapy and Carlos Edwards.
Seaton took the assignment. But he always felt he could bring more to the red, white and black family.
He knew that if he proved himself trustworthy and if he combined dedication and patience to his own offensive talent; then his chance would come.
Anyone fortunate enough to have been at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain, on October 12, 2005 or who witnessed it on live television will remember when Seaton became a "made man".
Mexico were leading 1-0 when Signor Latapy drifted inside from the left flank. Seaton was not slow to spot an opportunity and sprinted in the vacant area to receive the ball.
"I took a chance and made a run," Seaton told Express Sport. "And I told myself: 'you see me I going and do my thing'. Then I saw the opening and I just hit."
"Say hello to my lit-tle friend!"
Ever saw "Scarface"? It is Al Pacino's signature movie and depicts a penniless but ruthless Cuban refugee who rises from obscurity in the Miami slums to become a gangster kingpin. Seaton has his own copy of the flick.
It is not the drugs and violence that appeal to Seaton, although he saw enough of both evils while growing up in Malick. Rather, it is the tale of the underdog who beats an unsympathetic and uncaring establishment.
Mexico, ranked fifth in the world, do not expect to lose matches to Trinidad and Tobago. But they did not cater for Seaton's stinging 25-yard shot that ricocheted off the upright and dropped obligingly for John to complete the kill in the 43rd minute.
Eighteen minutes later, T&T completed the reversal against their clearly rattled guests with another John strike, again instigated by Seaton. Those two goals ensured that the tiny twin island republic remain in the hunt for a place in the 2006 World Cup tournament in Germany.
On November 12 and 16, Trinidad and Tobago must repeat the trick in a two-legged Play-Off against Asian outfit, Bahrain.
But first, let us make peace with the gangster flick aficionado who helped take us there.
Express Sport cornered Otis Seaton last Saturday. Or was it Aurtis Whitley?
Fittingly, our man of mystery has two names and even more stories about his rise from the streets of Malick to the sinking of Mexico.
Seaton joined his CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh teammates for Saturday's "Death March" through Port of Spain in protest of the growing crime and murder rate and was unwinding at Tony Roma's Restaurant in Newtown when I spoke to him.
His cap was pulled tightly over his short dreadlocks while he sported a gold chain and ID band. He wore short pants and button-up tee shirt.
Aesthetically, Seaton fits the stereotype of the streets that gave birth to him. His taste in music-he loves 50 Cent-and movies are the trimmings.
Only Seaton is not and never has been a thug. There is not so much as a traffic violation on his record and the only gang colour he wears is the national red, black and white strip.
Confused? Well, maybe your understanding of "ghetto culture" is not as sharp as you think.
But do not expect Seaton to change for your benefit. The 28-year-old is doing things his own way and the country may be better off if more youths followed his example. The key, according to Seaton, is dedication to craft, the capacity for hard work, respect for your counterparts and an eye for opportunity.
And, of course, finding the right trade.
Seaton can quote Pacino's Tony Montana character, but he prefers to meditate on the calm authority of French midfield star Zinedine Zidane. Zidane will retire a legend. Montana suffered a brutal death while still a young man.
The national star advised youngsters to choose life over death.
"It have certain bad boys who will encourage the boys (to do the wrong thing)," said Seaton, "and what the young boys fail to realise is you have a gun on you now but you won't have a gun on you all the time. So what happen when you meet someone you did something and you don't have it on you? And, even if you do, it is no life to live to be looking behind your back all the time.
"You don't have to join a gang or do the wrong thing to eat. You can be positive and eat too."
Seaton chose wisely.
Twenty years ago, his father, Clyde Seaton, migrated to the United States where he found work as a tiler.
The eight-year-old Aurtis Otis Whitley was the first of three children by Seaton and his common-law wife Cheryl Ann Whitley, while Aurtis also a younger sister from a different union.
The elder Seaton remains close with his family who often travel to visit him in New York while he telephoned daily and provided regular assistance. Years later, he offered to help his firstborn get US citizenship and they reasoned that it might be easier if they shared the same surname.
That was when Aurtis Whitley chose to become Otis Seaton. One snag though. The "footballer otherwise known as Aurtis Whitley" has to wait for his passport to expire before he can make the transformation complete.
"When that happens," he explains, "I can change my name to Aurtis Otis Seaton-Whitley if I still want to."
As a young boy in Malick, though, he was a "nobody" in a tough neighbourhood. His first lesson was to conquer fear.
"My father brought me up (teaching me) not to fear anybody," said Seaton. "I am not a rebel but I am not a stupidee either... In Malick, fellas would advantage and disrespect you if they can get away with it.
"The only way to get your respect is to stamp on that one time because if they disrespect you now and you allow it they will want to disrespect you all the time."
Seaton wore his fearlessness like a badge of honour. Apart from his fists, he discovered that he was handy with a football too.
He learned the rudiments of the game in his backyard from uncle, Russell Seaton, and always dreamed of playing for his country. But it was Malick Senior Comprehensive who gave him the chance to showcase his talent.
At 17, he lined up in a dominant Malick squad that included Arnold Dwarika, Gary Glasgow and Stokely Mason who were already national youth stars. If they felt Seaton would be happy to merely play alongside them, they were mistaken.
"I felt that I could do those same things (they were doing) and that I could match up to them," said Seaton. "So I wanted to reach to their level or further because I like to set myself goals."
It started a theme throughout Seaton's career. The higher the bar, the more determined he was to succeed. But he never compromised his principles.
There were two major disappointments.
In 1997, he signed for Portugal Division One club, Vitoria Setubal, after his first and only overseas trials. He stayed for six months but it was a bittersweet experience, which ended in his departure that winter.
"It was really tough because my agent (Toze Francisco) just dropped me at an apartment and disappeared," he said. "And there was no one around who spoke English. So I would just go to training and then head home. I never went out at all.
"At the end of it, there was a disagreement with the management... Each player had an apartment and my heat broke down but I couldn't speak the language so I told the club (through a translator) and asked them to send someone to fix it.
"Out there was very cold and two weeks passed and nobody still came to fix it. I said 'if is all this have to go on is better you all let me go back to where I come from'.
"I not leaving my homeland to go in a next country and be treated like that."
He was hurt too when ex-national coach Bertille St Clair dropped him during his first stint at the helm. St Clair recalled Seaton on several occasions, but the player refused the invitation.
"(St Clair) is only the coach who never gave me the inspiration to play football," said Seaton. "He never told me anything, he just didn't pick me. I got called many times after when he was the coach, but I never went."
Seaton's career flourished regardless from Malick to Nestle's, Superstar Rangers, Young Hearts and Jabloteh. He still hopes to play abroad, but he won't let his current status stop his growth.
As with Malick, Seaton does not bat an eyelid when he turns out for national training and finds himself competing with players like Yorke and Latapy.
It is friendly battle, of course. Seaton insisted he has never before felt the camaraderie that exists within the present squad.
But he will not sell himself short.
"I had to earn my respect on this team," he said. "These fellas are good players and the majority of them are overseas players and I am a local player. Even now, I think there will be even more pressure because they will be expecting me to have an even better game.
"They will be watching now and saying 'alright, they know I can do that and that' and they will expect to see it."
Seaton savours the challenge.
"I know what I am capable of doing and I work real hard in training," he said. "So I am not going to just lie down. I am ready for it." Beenhakker may have found a new hitman.
« Last Edit: October 27, 2005, 02:49:45 PM by Flex »

Pro-Players Round-Up, with Shaun Fuentes (16-Nov-2005).
« Reply #38 on: November 16, 2005, 03:35:50 AM »
Silvio Spann eyes England scene.

Silvio Spann was recently informed of a possible move to England and was grateful for receiving some of his recent matches for the country on DVD as clubs in the UK continue to express an interest in him.
The former Perugia player has made a name for himself with Japanese club Yokohama FC but has maintained a dream of playing in England. “For sure that’s always an aim of any professional player.
While I’m happy in Japan and I’m very thankful for the opportunity my club has given me, there are always other ambitions which a player wishes to achieve,” Spann said.
“But the focus now is getting this Bahrain game out of the way and sealing a spot in the next World Cup in the process.
“I think once we can all come up big on the day then our chances are very good of getting this victory. But we need to get it right as a team, more than ever before,” Spann ended.
Edwards: We owe it to the fans.

Luton Town midfielder Carlos Edwards is hoping to make up for what he described as a lapse performance in Saturday’s 1-1 draw with Bahrain. The former St Anthony’s College midfielder is expected to start again Bahrain in today’s return leg of the 2006 World Cup qualifying play-off and has made it clear that he wants to go all out like the rest of his team-mates have pledged.
“I wasn’t happy with my performance on Saturday and it has been on my mind. I don’t think any of the guys felt good about what happened in the last game. It wasn’t what we expected after having such a good match against Mexico,” Edwards said at the Crowne Plaza in Manama.
“I think everyone wanted to go out there and deliver but unfortunately we came up short and now we have the final chance to go out against Bahrain and get it done.
“This game is the most important of my life and I’m sure for the other guys and as well. The fans looking on will be feeling the same way. We owe it to the people as well,” added the former Wrexham star.
His wife, Theresa Edwards, a singer by profession, in England, was also involved in Saturday’s hype at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, as she was the lead vocalist for the Bahrain national anthem.
Falkirk directors follow Warriors.

Three directors of Scottish club Falkirk FC have been following the exploits of the Warriors in their final quest to get to Germany.
Jimmy Black, Martin Ritchie and Sandy Alexander were in Port-of-Spain for the first leg against Bahrain and were also on the charter to Manama for today’s final leg.
They of course made the trip to not only see T&T in action, but mainly due to the presence of one of their club’s major stars Russell Latapy.
The trio also made the visit to Maracas Beach, Smokey and Bunty’s as well as other popular spots in Trinidad.
They also linked up with Latapy’s local handler Wayne Mandeville and donated Latapy shirts to children involved in the Russell Latapy Kids Foundation and students of the Russell Latapy Secondary School in Laventille.
The Amarillo Bar at the Falkirk Stadium will also have a drinks promotion for fans to view today’s match live on their big screen.
Word is that the directors were also likely to finalise arrangements for Densill Theobald’s move to Falkirk but details are yet to be confirmed.
Noreiga, McKnight snap up US awards.

Former National Under 23 defender Anthony Noreiga was named the Colonial Athletic Association’s “Defender of the Year” in the United States for 2005 earlier this year.
In the process, the former Princes Town Senior Comprehensive captain became the first men’s player in the history of George Mason’s University to win such an award which came after the League’s coaches had cast their votes.
Noreiga anchored his team’s defence and netted one during the season to be also named on the Adidas/Brown Classic All tournament team.
Former Under 20 player, Teba McKnight, an ex-Naparima College standout was also named as a forward on the All-NCAA second team.
Another former national youth player, Osei Telesford was named to the Big South All-Conference first team for the second time in his career.
He was also chosen on the first team back in 2003. He switched to a midfield position this season and is second among all scorers with six goals.
Birchall joked about that wonder goal.

England-born midfielder Chris Birchall was thrilled to get his second international goal for T&T but was not pleased to have only come away with a 1-1 draw with Bahrain on Saturday.
The Port Vale midfielder kept T&T in the game with an absolute stunner in the second half for the Warriors to draw level to go into the second leg today with a good enough chance of booking their place in Germany.
“I’m delighted to get my second goal for T&T and especially the first one at home in front of the packed stadium. But it was a bit of a sour note that we conceded the away goal.
“Our aim going into the match was to make sure and not concede any goals but at least we’re still in it right now. Now we have to go to Bahrain and we know what’s got to be done,” Birchall said after the match.
The 21-year-old player from Stafford, England said that he had been joking around with goalie and roommate Kelvin Jack earlier on Saturday that he would net one on the day.
“Strangely I was actually joking around with Jack and saying that I was going to score one and luckily it happened.
“But personally I didn’t think I played that well.
“I think I can play a lot better than I did in this game and that was disappointing but hopefully we can all get it right on Wednesday (today),” Birchall added.
German World Cup winner backs Yorke.

Having experienced World Cup success with the West Germany team of 1990, Sydney FC coach Pierre Littbarski is hoping that Dwight Yorke can taste the world stage by guiding T&T to Germany 2006.
The former German international said that Yorke deserves to play in a World Cup, not just because of his past success but also due to the commitment he has given to both club and country in recent times.
“It is a very important thing for Dwight because to play in the World Cup is a highlight. Everyone at Sydney is hoping he can make it because he has been great for us.
“We want him to experience the greatest level of play at the World Cup,” Littbarski said.
“Dwight has been performing for us at a very difficult time for him as he has had to do a lot of flying to World Cup matches.
That is not an easy thing to do but he is very dedicated to his training and recovery.”
“It’s great to have the support of so many people because it shows that they want us to do well and hopefully we can give back to them and get through to the World Cup,” Yorke commented.

Re: Pro-Players Round-Up, with Shaun Fuentes (16-Nov-2005).
« Reply #39 on: November 16, 2005, 08:42:36 AM »
Nice....

Re: Pro-Players Round-Up, with Shaun Fuentes (16-Nov-2005).
« Reply #40 on: November 16, 2005, 09:00:25 AM »
Is there info on what UK clubs have shown interest in Spann?

Shaun Fuentes Why you run on the Field
« Reply #41 on: November 18, 2005, 01:34:08 PM »
I want to know who is this man in a suit running on the field

When I look good is Fuentes

Like this man dont know he have to be carefull

The men jump on him he drop down flap like a breadfruit, The boy know he lil weaky he luckly he aint get crush :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

And the worst part of the whole story is that he nice suit that he rent to go on the trip he cant take back because it get real dirt and grass on it.

Fuentes boy what you doing out they :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
« Last Edit: November 18, 2005, 06:02:39 PM by Tallman »

Re: Shaun Fuentes Why you run on the Field
« Reply #42 on: November 18, 2005, 01:37:18 PM »
man like me wish i was dey yes

« Reply #43 on: November 18, 2005, 01:50:26 PM »
Leave meh pardner!! i glad for de man.  If i was dey i woulda run onto de field too.  I mighta even get in de fight with de bahrain fellas and dem.

Big up tuh tallman who have ah picture in today's express!!

« Reply #44 on: November 18, 2005, 01:54:35 PM »
yea i see da pic too dun kno wen he back on d board it go be level stories

look out for ato boldon special on cnc 3 dat go hav some good footage too

Offline LICKS4SO

« Reply #45 on: November 18, 2005, 01:56:34 PM »
ALL yuh have to big up shaun too..... ;D ;D ;D he is a warrior too. he on the boat long time also. doing his thing(reporting) I mean...thanks shaun...

« Reply #46 on: November 18, 2005, 01:58:49 PM »
 Fuentes is a man that always support the Team....I could undersatnd his jubilation

« Reply #47 on: November 18, 2005, 01:59:34 PM »
yeah fuentes deserve to be there...once he eh break he camera and take de pics and he safe i happy for de man!

« Reply #48 on: November 18, 2005, 02:08:17 PM »
Big up to the Fuentes man

Offline LICKS4SO

« Reply #49 on: November 18, 2005, 02:13:45 PM »
all yuh..let we chip up and get him ah new camara!!!!!....I serious we send ah 2 dollars to tallman or flex.....somebody else second this request!

« Reply #50 on: November 18, 2005, 02:23:41 PM »
I talk to him last night online he say was real bacchanal

he say when match done Trini supporters start to get stone with heavy big stone and guess out of everybody who pick up the stone and them and fire back in true Trini style

yeah you guessed it
Anil "SPALK" Roberts

Ms que un club.

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #51 on: November 18, 2005, 02:24:16 PM »
I think we in a bit of a quandry.

Now we could get Shaun a new camera ...... but I think we should carry him on his own motorcade thru TT.

We starting in he "home" town of South .... we making a pass by Lil Tokyo ... den we going by Villa .... den is up the highway .... til we reach Copa.

« Reply #52 on: November 18, 2005, 02:35:19 PM »

The men jump on him he drop down flap like a breadfruit, The boy know he lil weaky he luckly he aint get crush :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

And the worst part of the whole story is that he nice suit that he rent to go on the trip he cant take back because it get real dirt and grass on it.

So what if the man run on the field. The country just qualify for WC ... if i was dey i on the field too.

Why allyuh men doh crawl back under a flicking rock instead ah posting shit like this.

Offline Trini_fan

« Reply #53 on: November 18, 2005, 02:44:36 PM »

:rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: I make that out too. He reach on the field before the other players all kinda thing. Small thing though he deserve to celebrate.

Offline jr sams

• Every time....all de time....true to form
« Reply #54 on: November 18, 2005, 04:42:02 PM »
Yuh know I thought is was him....ah jus finish watchin that piece again for the 100th time. I trying to put both games unto DVD.....history!
well yes

Offline cm103

« Reply #55 on: November 18, 2005, 06:39:08 PM »
Yuh know I thought is was him....ah jus finish watchin that piece again for the 100th time. I trying to put both games unto DVD.....history!

Hol on...yuh have d second game? Post that!!!! Men trying to hol that for a while now.

Offline Rotato Poti

• VIBES IT UP!!!
    • ACB reloaded
« Reply #56 on: November 18, 2005, 06:46:31 PM »
this is Shaun first step in becoming Speaker of the House .... right after Jack become Prime Minister!!!

I already campaigning .... ROTATO POTI for Minister of Lime Arrangement.

« Reply #57 on: November 18, 2005, 06:48:00 PM »
this is Shaun first step in becoming Speaker of the House .... right after Jack become Prime Minister!!!

I already campaigning .... ROTATO POTI for Minister of Lime Arrangement.

::) o good God

Shaun Fuentes reports on T&T women team.
« Reply #58 on: January 23, 2006, 07:06:32 PM »
T&T U20 women finish with win over Panama.

Trinidad & Tobago Women´s Footballers got two consolations from the CONCACAF  Under 20 Women´s Tournament in Vera Cruz on Sunday.
The Jamaal Shabazz coached team defeated Panama 3-1 to finish third in Group A of the CONCACAF Under 20 World Qualifying series. A hattrick from US-based striker Maylee-Attin Johnson helped T&T to third spot behind Mexico which they lost 2-0 to and Canada which defeated them 7-1 in the opening match. Canada and Mexico will now move on to the semi finals to be played Wednesday.
However so impressed was Mexican Coach Leonardo Cuellar with the T&T team that he invited them for two warm up matches at senior women´s level in April in Mexico City.
"The T&T girls have made tremendous improvements in their play and apart from the mistakes they made at the back proved that they play with the top CONCACAF teams,” Cuellar said.
"I do not know why your team did not play like this way against Canada,” he added. Cuellar stated that he felt T&T was now a team that would pose as a strong opposition to Mexico and others.
“T&T would be an excellent opponent for us as a warm up going to our UNCAF qualifying tournament at the end of April. They are quick and skillful and on the same level with our Central opponents.”
A hattrick by Johnson with goals in 6th, 45th and 69th paced T&T to its only win in the tournament. 
The star striker who was a favourite with the Mexican fans completed a hattrick with a spectacular header and 69th minute, to become the first T&T player to score a hattick at CONCACAF level. Joan Rodriguez got the only goal for Panama ten minutes from the end.
T&T Head Coach Jamaal Shabazz said he was a bit disappointed with the results and the errors made at the back because of lack of composure by the T&T girls.
"I think we can feel happy that knowing that we can play at this level but we need psychological particularly in terms of the girls believing in themselves and  being better focused. We gave up soft goals against Canada just as we do against the USA but we came out and fought against Mexico who is just as good a team as Canada. We need a specialist person in Psychology to help us in our work of developing the women´s program,” admitted Shabazz.
"I am what you will call a Ghetto or Bush Psychologist who can tell them about how David slew Goliath and to strive to be like the male ‘Soca Warriors’ and get them to listen to Maximus Dan´s song but the team needs more than that. We need an expert in that field who can teach them techniques in total concentration.”
"I remember I asked Mexico for a game last July and they refused and now without us asking, they want to play us at senior level.
At the conclusion of the first round on Monday, the winners and runners-up of each group will earn a place in the event’s semifinals at Veracruz’s Estadio Luis Pirata Fuentes on 25 January, with the winners of the semifinal games earning a place as CONCACAF representatives in FIFA’s U-20 Women’s World Championship. The T&T girls were expected back last night (Monday night).
« Last Edit: January 24, 2006, 08:40:51 AM by Flex »

Re: Shaun Fuentes reports on T&T women team.
« Reply #59 on: January 23, 2006, 07:16:09 PM »
Jamaica may create history in this tournament