April 27, 2024, 01:06:26 PM

Author Topic: Express Editorial: Let our best Warriors play  (Read 2512 times)

Express Editorial: Let our best Warriors play
« on: May 08, 2007, 10:34:46 PM »
Let our best Warriors play
Express Editorial

Wednesday, May 9th 2007

IT is a great pity that with the first anniversary of the Soca Warriors' memorable debut on football's biggest stage just over a month away, the team is being torn asunder right in front of our very eyes.

Players who did us proud in Germany are being forced to the sidelines over an issue about which they feel very strongly, and showing them the way off the field is the Trinidad and Tobago Football Federation (T&TFF).

That leaves us with much less than our best squad available for the CONCACAF Gold Cup, which is looming large, and in real danger of being humbled in the region's showcase event, mere months after experiencing the heady heights of competing in the World Cup.

At odds are profits generated by the national footballers in qualifying for their sport's grandest arena in 2006, with some of the players not satisfied with their final cut put forward by the T&TFF.

Those who are responsible for providing the Federation with that cash cow are claiming that figures were proposed and agreed upon on the way to Germany, then, after the fact, additional withdrawals, which weren't discussed, came into the equation, leaving the players with a far smaller piece of the pie than they had envisaged.

Some of them have hired the services of a lawyer, who is looking into the matter on their behalf, and in light of that initiative it would appear they have been blacklisted by local football's governing body, despite being ready and willing to wear the red, white and black on the playing fields of the United States next month.

The players have put forward their case, while the Football Federation has been stonewalling, offering statements defending their action but which have been quickly refuted by those in the know both here and abroad.

And earlier this week, no less a person than Bruce Aanensen, who was the hands-on manager of the national team and also involved in the negotiations on how the World Cup kitty would be divided, has suggested that the matter should be sent to arbitration.

It appears that is the right way to proceed since the players are adamant about their grouse and if the T&TFF is equally firm and confident in its position.

But even before seeking the services of an arbitrator, the Football Federation should display patriotism by selecting the best players to represent the country.

The T&TFF must remember that the Soca Warriors belong to us all, we whose hearts were filled with pride when they performed with distinction on the international stage last June, and not just to any organisational entity, however powerful.

Let the financial issue be decided by a third party and let only our finest don national colours for the Gold Cup.

Re: Express Editorial: Let our best Warriors play
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2007, 11:39:34 PM »
Players Get up, stand up: stand up for your rights!
Players Get up, stand up: don't give up the fight!

TTFF man, don't tell me,
Money is not all .
I know you don't know
That  it is the players' call.
Its not all that glitters is gold;
alf the story has never been told:
So now TTFF flick on the light, eh!
Give the players their rights. come on!

Players, stand up: stand up for your rights!
Players, stand up: dont give up the fight!
Players, stand up: stand up for your rights!
Players, stand up: dont give up the fight!

Most people think,
Great football saviour come from the skies,
Take away everything TTFF have
And make everybody feel high.
But if you know what TNT football is worth,
We will look for ours on earth:
And now players see the light,
You stand up for your rights. jah!

People sick an tired of-a Jacking ism-skism game -
living  n profiting in-TNT football name
People know they understand:
Almighty TTFF is run by  just one man.
He can fool some people sometimes,
But he cant fool all the people all the time.
So now we see the light (what we gonna do? ),
We gonna stand up for our WARRIORS rights! (yeah, yeah, yeah!)
« Last Edit: May 08, 2007, 11:45:51 PM by AB.Trini »

Offline kentsoulman

« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2007, 12:59:03 AM »
Cool lyrics AB. You know, I thought that Marley song would be a great anthem for FPATT, but now you re write the lyrics its even more suitable. When you recording it? lol

But another song that suits the cause is that one by Ladywell Black Mombasa (or something like that)

The Higher you build your barriers, the taller I become.......

Theres something insid so strong
I know that I can make it
Coz you're doing me wrong, so wrong.

Ok I don't know all the words, but you get my meaning.

another great article, and each time, the pressure builds a little more. They must get sick of opening the papers!

Keep the momentum going, your boys coming home this week, then see the heat get turned up!!

« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2007, 02:12:09 AM »
KentSoulMan, here they are

Labi Siffre Lyrics

Something Inside So Strong Lyrics

The higher you build your barriers
The taller I become
The farther you take my rights away
The faster I will run
You can deny me
You can decide to turn your face away
No matter, cos there's....

Something inside so strong
Tho' you're doing me wrong, so wrong
You thought that my pride was gone
Oh no, something inside so strong
Oh oh oh oh oh something inside so strong

The more you refuse to hear my voice
The louder I will sing
You hide behind walls of Jericho
Your lies will come tumbling
Deny my place in time
You squander wealth that's mine
My light will shine so brightly
It will blind you
Cos there's......

Brothers and sisters
When they insist we're just not good enough
When we know better
Just look 'em in the eyes and say
I'm gonna do it anyway x 4

And I know that I can make it

Brothers and sisters
When they insist we're just not enough
When we know better
Just look 'em in the eyes and say
I'm gonna do it anyway x 4

Because there's something inside so strong
And I know that I can make it
Tho' you're doing me, so wrong
« Last Edit: May 09, 2007, 04:50:31 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2007, 03:02:44 AM »
You again Kent hmmmmm Well we here behind de FPATT 100%

what did you say yuh name was again? ;D

« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2007, 08:01:10 AM »
Enough rhetoric; I say let's call for action the players and fans. If players truly want to represent TNT, then now is the time to take a stance!!!!!!

WIM, the coach has to demand from TTFF that our BEST players be represented.!!!!!!
One cannot be a whimp at a time like this.

« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2007, 08:10:00 AM »
send the u17s instead for a learing experience.

to the soca warriors:

2007 the number another summer (get down)
Sound of the funky drummer
Music hittin your heart cause I know you got sould
(brothers and sisters, hey)
Listen if youre missin yall
Swingin while Im singin
Givin whatcha gettin
Knowin what I know
While the black bands sweatin
And the rhythm rhymes rollin
Got to give us what we want
Gotta give us what we need
Our freedom of speech is freedom or death
We got to fight the powers that be
Lemme hear you say
Fight the power

« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2007, 08:46:48 AM »
Andre I feel you are porn afficionado, as seen by your latest AVATAR, boooiinngggg :o :o

Keep up the good work

« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2007, 09:05:30 AM »
I just hope FPATT get a new host for the function on the 20th Anil is anti FPATT

« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2007, 09:32:17 AM »
Yuh see people.....we have to keep with this....don't let this die a natural death....when de camp starting again...May 21st (I stand to be corrected)...dat is when again??...oh yeah...in a little over a week...

Any ah de "blacklisted" players get call up yet??....NO!!!....

We cyar stop now....

« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2007, 01:14:30 PM »
I understand that our players must stand up for their rights. But tell me who is really suffering from all of this mess going with TTFF…it is "US" as lovers of the game and or the younger players.  What can we do to stand up against what is going on with our football? Can we boycott the games? I would have loved to spend some money and take ah trip to the West Coast to support the team, but knowing that we're going there without proven talent makes me a little skeptical. Should we boycott the game to make things better??

Offline kentsoulman

« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2007, 02:13:06 PM »
West Coast: thanks for the lyrics. That is a truly powerful song. The words completely echo the fight of the true T&T football supporter against those that wish to do all of us a disservice.

Wehitis: Who is really suffering? You, the supporters are being sold short by not having your best players represent your nation.

The blacklisted players are being sold short because their career is a short one and its being damaged out of spite.

Every team that has entered the Gold Cup, and its supporters who have paid their hard earned money, are being sold short because TTFF have devalued the tournament by not fielding their strongest team.

Let us not forget that the players have not caused this dispute. They simply did not believe what they were told by the TTFF regarding income and expenditure. All TTFF had to do was put up or shut up. If they had produced their accounts, the argument would have been settled. They refused. This left the players with only one option-legal action.

The players have not broken any laws or rules. They are not guilty of any crime. The best TTFF can accuse them of is being greedy. Even if that was the case, its no cause for non selection. You can only think the worse case scenario surrounding TTFFs accounts and that they have not diclosed the truth. TTFF have led everyone to make this assumption. They could end this tomorrow. Instead, the players are punished for having the audacity to question TTFF. FIFA must step in and put pressure on TTFF.

The more you refuse to hear my voice
The louder I will sing
You hide behind walls of Jericho
Your lies will come tumbling
Deny my place in time
You squander wealth that's mine
My light will shine so brightly
It will blind you

Amen to that.

« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2007, 06:25:20 PM »
The express a day late and a dollar short. The impasse start since last year why they was not insisiting that all the time.