April 20, 2024, 01:25:32 AM

Author Topic: Going Korea with U17 player Stephen Knox.  (Read 10689 times)

Going Korea with U17 player Stephen Knox.
« on: May 09, 2007, 02:21:25 PM »
By: Saun Fuentes (TTFF).

This young and ambitious striker will go down in the record books as one who scored T&T's all important 2-1 victory over Canada to set them on course for their first ever qualification for a FIFA Under 17 World Championship. Knox, from Arima and a member of the CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh club talks about his days growing up, his hopes, his ambitions and shows signs of having a clever and level head on his shoulders.

Tell a bit about your up bringing. Your early footballing experience?
As a younger boy, I was fortunate to have three older brothers who encouraged me to play football. They kept behind me. I went Arima Boys RC and we won a few titles there. Then I was at 1st FC Santa Rosa and some other smaller clubs. I started at Joe Public at age 14 and now I have been with CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh for two years now.

You must have idols. Who are they and why?
Internationally it’s Ronaldo. And locally I would say Angus Eve. He was a good player and he was determined to make it. He coaches at Jabloteh as well and talks to me on a normal basis a lot of times.

What’s your favourite food?
Anything my mom cooks.

Who is your Favourite international player and club?
Ronaldo and Real Madrid.

What other sports you fancy?
Just Football !

What would go down as your most memorable moment in the game so far?
When I scored four goals in our 8-1 win over Aruba and also when I scored for Fatima College against Mucurapo SC to win the North Intercol title. Most memorable moment in the game.

What brand of boots you wear on the pitch?
Nike.

At what age did you decide that you wanted to have a serious go at football?
At age ten. That year we reached the semi-finals of the National Primary Schools Competition. I was the captain but we lost to Egypt Primary. Jean Luc Rochford from this Under 17 team was also on the team with me back then.

Who helped you make that call to get more into the football beat?
My father pushed me a lot. Mom wanted me to focus more on the academics  as she didn’t consider football a long term surety plan. But now she has accepted my football ambitions. My dad John is a retired lecturer at COSTATT and my mom is a retired Primary School Principal.

What drives you?
This comes from my parents! From the earlies my mom always made sure I did my schoolwork and If I didn’t I wouldn’t be able to go out on the football field. I transferred from Holy Cross College to Fatima College in Form Four and the principal there Anthony Garcia was responsible for that move.

What advice you would have to other youngsters like yourself who are trying to make it and may not have the resources or similar backing like yourself?
Keep your head up. Never look down at yourself. If you want to do something, go all out and things will start happening positively for you.

Tell us who are some of the coaches you would have come up under?
Gwenwyn Cust and Angus Eve at Jabloteh, Keith Look Loy and Anton Corneal with the national team.

What are your dreams for the next four-five years?
Hopefully I would like to see myself in a foreign professional club either in Spain or England or even if the opportunity comes up for me to further my studies in the USA and play football at the same time. I would like to major in Economics.

Why Economics?
I just like it generally. I’m also good in History.

Did the Soca Warriors inspire you in some way?
What they accomplished inspired me a lot especially since the average “Trini” said the team would not be able to make it and was just a bunch of talented players who couldn’t get it right together. They proved everybody wrong and showed the world that they could achieve success and do it with all the determination and courage.

How do you relax away from football ?
Sometimes I just prefer to be alone at home, sleep or lime with family members and friends.

Do you think footballers your age work hard enough in an attempt to accomplish their goals?
Honestly I think some players just do enough to get by and it’s because of the options we have in Trinidad and Tobago. We don’t necessarily have to fight hard to be a footballer and we have other outdoor options. If you look at the poorer places in Costa Rica and Honduras, they have to fight more to achieve something and support their families. We in T&T are of a more relaxed nature. But the guys in this team have showed a willingness to work hard and that’s a good sign for the future. With the right guidance which we already getting, hopefully we could move on to bigger things and be an inspiration to others.

Does your last comment inspire you to become a better person and player?
It does at times but sometimes it could all get the better of you and you can become the average person again and maybe be sidetracked. That’s when it’s time to pull your socks up.

Player Info

Name – Stephen Knox
Position – Forward
Club – San Juan Jabloteh
School – Fatima College
Date of Birth – September 3, 1990
Hometown – Arima
« Last Edit: May 10, 2007, 05:26:31 AM by Flex »

Re: Going Korea with U17 player Stephen Knox
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2007, 03:12:56 PM »
Nike

Steups. 

Anyway, Fatima all de way.

« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2007, 03:36:59 PM »
 He answered the questions well...Hope he could talk as well as his interview was...Anyhow I watch this man on schoolsoccernet.com rel bend up men...He is one for the future...He was spot on when he said our footballers don't have to fight like other countries which does result in lack of intensity...kingman, i think used to always talk about lack of intensity...Go T&T

« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2007, 03:45:56 PM »
Admirable responses to the questions...at 17 he already seems to know the value of pushing beyond your comfort zone and being the best one can be

All the best Stephen

« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2007, 05:57:48 PM »
The fella sound articulate that good. The era of the dumb blonde gone as well as the dumb jock.

Offline legal alien

« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2007, 05:59:10 PM »
Nike

Steups. 

I woulda never answer that question, especially at his age.
« Last Edit: May 09, 2007, 08:28:44 PM by legal alien »

« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2007, 06:15:42 PM »
Nike

Steups. 

ah see you is a adidas man  :devil:

« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2007, 06:23:44 PM »
This yute has a good head on his shoulders and a healthy dose of talent.

« Reply #8 on: May 09, 2007, 06:55:35 PM »
I transferred from Holy Cross College to Fatima College in Form Four and the principal there Anthony Garcia was responsible for that move.

Dat is something Fatima good at.  Lara is another example.

« Reply #9 on: May 09, 2007, 07:06:14 PM »
Scounting for talent? Fatima is head- Yes

Offline black chinee

« Reply #10 on: May 09, 2007, 07:12:42 PM »
nice read.....keep yuh head on youte.....

well it nice dey have to deal wid de transfer drama from young..... so later on when de money and dey career depend on it dey go be good at it  :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #11 on: May 09, 2007, 08:33:43 PM »
I remember this yute from a toddler we both from Santa Rosa Heights, and me and his brothers used to sweat with a neighbourhood club and dey used to bring him down to the field believe me this young man playing ball with men twice is age and size since he about 6, he was a real pest only running big men down trying to win d ball. He comes from a close knit spiritual family which helps to keep him grounded. I could take pride in seeing him reap rewards for his hard work.

Congrats Knoxy

« Reply #12 on: May 09, 2007, 08:51:04 PM »
I transferred from Holy Cross College to Fatima College in Form Four and the principal there Anthony Garcia was responsible for that move.

something wrong with holy cross  :waiting:?   :devil: my old school  :devil:

« Reply #13 on: May 09, 2007, 09:11:11 PM »
Nutten wrong with Holy Cross dey just doh play ball.

« Reply #14 on: May 09, 2007, 09:18:40 PM »
i know dey suck lol  ;D  :'(  :devil:

« Reply #15 on: May 09, 2007, 09:25:15 PM »

true statement...i remember when i was at fatima dey had like 5 or 6 men come from holy cross in form 6...about 2 of dem play ball fuh fatima

Re: Going Korea with U17 player Stephen Knox.
« Reply #16 on: May 10, 2007, 05:46:44 AM »
Where can I find biographies on all the under 17s or was it on the board an I missed it....Bless.

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #17 on: May 10, 2007, 06:32:11 AM »

ah lot of people doh realize the talent dat come out of Holy Cross!

Lyndon Andrews, Kelvin Jack and now Knox .....
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

Offline rastafari

I bigging up Stephen Knox long time
« Reply #18 on: May 10, 2007, 09:54:35 AM »
http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=1186.msg244533#msg244533

Where are all the talent scouts?

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
« Last Edit: May 10, 2007, 09:57:49 AM by rastafari »

« Reply #19 on: May 10, 2007, 10:08:19 AM »
I like how dis fella talk. Sound real professional. That's Grrreat to see fellas vocabulary getting better back home.

« Reply #20 on: May 10, 2007, 10:27:32 AM »
Do you think footballers your age work hard enough in an attempt to accomplish their goals?
Honestly I think some players just do enough to get by and it’s because of the options we have in Trinidad and Tobago. We don’t necessarily have to fight hard to be a footballer and we have other outdoor options. If you look at the poorer places in Costa Rica and Honduras, they have to fight more to achieve something and support their families. We in T&T are of a more relaxed nature. But the guys in this team have showed a willingness to work hard and that’s a good sign for the future. With the right guidance which we already getting, hopefully we could move on to bigger things and be an inspiration to others.

very insightful comment from the youngster.

Out of the mouths of babes and sucklings...

Offline marcus

• BLOOD, SWEAT & TEARS
« Reply #21 on: May 10, 2007, 03:05:06 PM »

Knox, keep it up! Very well done!

« Reply #22 on: May 10, 2007, 03:25:13 PM »

ah lot of people doh realize the talent dat come out of Holy Cross!

Lyndon Andrews, Kelvin Jack and now Knox .....
d secret is d lunch time sweat when that bell ring all man on that field lol  :devil:  :beermug: good days  ;D

« Reply #23 on: May 10, 2007, 03:30:11 PM »
I like how dis fella talk. Sound real professional. That's Grrreat to see fellas vocabulary getting better back home.

one word...

FATIMA

« Reply #24 on: May 10, 2007, 03:33:54 PM »
Surprised he did not mention qualifying for the Under 17 WC as the finest moment..or the goal against Canada...

When was this interview done?

Very nice read by the way..wish him and all the T&T youths with a dream of playing ball at the highets level all the best. Hope he realizes that he is now an inspiration to many

« Reply #25 on: May 10, 2007, 09:28:15 PM »
Ah have ah special feeling bout deis youth..he will go on to bigger and better things...

Knox, Paul, Molino, Samuel and O'Neil are players thay many will predict will have a very bright football future..

« Reply #26 on: May 10, 2007, 09:33:27 PM »
Ince eh from Holy cross as well?

Offline CAPITANO

• I heart zaboka
« Reply #27 on: May 11, 2007, 06:32:41 AM »

Nah !!  ince went Eldo .............
WE JAMMIN STILL!!!!!!

« Reply #28 on: May 11, 2007, 02:01:01 PM »

Nah !!  ince went Eldo .............

Lyndon "Chubby" Andrews went Holy Cross

« Reply #29 on: May 11, 2007, 02:10:07 PM »
HOLY CROSS FOREVER ;D[/size]