April 25, 2024, 05:46:08 PM

Author Topic: heatinghelp  (Read 2071 times)

heatinghelp
« on: May 10, 2007, 02:41:35 PM »
i believe that some of you might have your own house , just to let you know that this is the time you should check your boiler weather it be steam or hot water(hydronic) or furnace hotair system.
do be robed by any contractors any more , all your answers at your finger tips.  i hope this might be of use to some of you.

http://www.heatinghelp.com

Offline Dr. Rat

• Licks Pass!!!
Re: heatinghelp
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2007, 02:46:57 PM »
Zulu...

What really wrong?  Wha going with you...just so.....
PNM in yuh mudda-in-law

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2007, 04:31:58 PM »
Zulu..like yuh into infomercials or what?  ;D
anyway ah changing meh natural gas forced air furnace this summer..any suggestions with brands and rebates?

« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2007, 04:56:51 PM »
Rat wah yuh mean, explain .feliz one thing ah could tell yuh doh wait till it geh cold ,best time iz now when it iz hot becauz the prices iz much lower ,heating contractors dont have much work .

« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2007, 05:00:38 PM »
Rat wah yuh mean, explain .feliz one thing ah could tell yuh doh wait till it geh cold ,best time iz now when it iz hot becauz the prices iz much lower ,heating contractors dont have much work .
yeah by summer..ah mean next few weeks lol
yuh know anything bout them thermal heaters?..dem is the ones that go into the ground outside and circulate through the house..ah think is the pressure does create the heat

« Reply #5 on: May 10, 2007, 05:42:04 PM »
Feliz  i only deal wid boilers, and furnace since ah in this field ah  never had to deal wid them thing now that yuh ask ah have to go an start investigating about  thermal heaters. when ah first read yuh post ah thought yuh was talking bout them heaters that doz heat the flooring .buh wah yuh could do iz go to   the heating help site and post yuh question yuh would get responses also yuh should find out how efficient iz that system between that and a furnace .

« Reply #6 on: May 10, 2007, 06:41:49 PM »
Zulu what about a heat pump?
dais what I have
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #7 on: May 10, 2007, 07:16:35 PM »
dais what I have

heat pump? how dat does work?

zulu dem heat men busy installin a/c now

« Last Edit: May 10, 2007, 07:18:54 PM by Dutty »

« Reply #8 on: May 10, 2007, 07:48:53 PM »
dais what I have
heat pump? how dat does work?
zulu dem heat men busy installin a/c now ;)
Dutty, basically here is how a heat pump works.
Take a fridge
Cold on the inside and the coil  on the back is hot.

well in winter the inside coil in the heat pump unit is hot and then in summer there are valves that switch the thing around where the inside coil in the heat pump unit will be cold
Therefore Cold in summer and Hot in winter.
http://home.howstuffworks.com/question49.htm

since I installed mine, my heating/cooling bill has dropped in half..it is very efficient.
and having cooling in summer is REAL SWEET Dutty. oh gaum...coolness......
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #9 on: May 10, 2007, 08:05:47 PM »
Man ah doz only hear about them things but we doh have them in NY , wah some people do iz install ah furnace and use it for cooling also for heating .

« Reply #10 on: May 10, 2007, 08:07:51 PM »
hmmm  :thinking:
how I miss dat heat pump ting intrute?

sounds interesting..especially the cutting bills in half part
I wonder how I miss that when I was looking for energy efficient alternatives?...I goin and research it, there must be a downside for me to have missed that system completely

I even had some fellahs quote me the geothermal set up that feliz lookin at....that is the most efficient , but too much flickin $$$$$ for dat

ps..ok..just googlin dat ting again...westcoast..dat heat pump you have the source of heat is from the ground right?

partly geothermal?
« Last Edit: May 10, 2007, 08:12:20 PM by Dutty »

« Reply #11 on: May 10, 2007, 08:19:37 PM »
Man ah doz only hear about them things but we doh have them in NY , wah some people do iz install ah furnace and use it for cooling also for heating .
yuh talking bout ah forced air furnace system?..where we could switch back and forth when we want?

« Reply #12 on: May 10, 2007, 08:26:12 PM »
hmmm  :thinking:
how I miss dat heat pump ting intrute?

sounds interesting..especially the cutting bills in half part
I wonder how I miss that when I was looking for energy efficient alternatives?...I goin and research it, there must be a downside for me to have missed that system completely

I even had some fellahs quote me the geothermal set up that feliz lookin at....that is the most efficient , but too much flickin $$$$$ for dat

ps..ok..just googlin dat ting again...westcoast..dat heat pump you have the source of heat is from the ground right?

partly geothermal?
well it look like we all talking bout the same thing partly lol
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Geothermal_heating
the ones i was thinking bout is the 'closed loop'..them does only go bout 10 feet underground..but ah didnt realize you coulda use it for cooling though

plus with the 'oil' situation..yuh might as well invest the money  ;)

« Reply #13 on: May 10, 2007, 08:28:59 PM »
partly geothermal?
OK the Geothermal Heat Pump is the MOST efficient and the most expensive.
but mine is an Air Source Heat pump
I figure that I will recover my money in 8 to 10 years.

Did i tell you it COOLS in the summer  ;D ;D ;D ;D   coolness.....
« Last Edit: May 10, 2007, 08:33:03 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #14 on: May 10, 2007, 08:34:52 PM »
yeh when yuh say heat pump my mind went to hot air , how regular do you shut down for service.