April 28, 2024, 04:25:17 PM

Author Topic: San Juan Jabloteh Thread.  (Read 123776 times)

San Juan Jabloteh Thread.
« on: March 23, 2005, 06:43:25 AM »
San Juan Jabloteh hungry for success in 2005.
By: Joel Villafana.

Last season, they failed to successfully defend their league title, which they won back in 2003—but come 2005, Jabloteh will not be taking anything for granted.
Negotiations are well on the way for an English born coach to lead the team for the 2005 season—but in the meantime Assistant Coach and Youth Technical Director Michael Grayson will take charge of the squad.
Grayson who coached Starworld Strikers last season, will lead Jabloteh in the early part of the season and he is eagerly looking forward to the challenge.
He told ‘ttproleague.com’ “I want to ensure whenever the new coach takes over we are in a position of strength to go on and ensure we take back the league title.”
Jabloteh’s pre-season has gone pretty well so far—they have been in training for the last six weeks and Grayson is satisfied with the progress he has seen leading up to the 2005 season.
They were given a great test when they hosted and played the New York/New Jersey MetroStars and lost 3-2—but Coach Grayson believes the team is right where they should be at this point and will be firing on all pistons when the season starts.
The former Starworld Strikers Coach was quick to point out they suffered a few niggling injuries over the last week—the key one, new Jamaican born U.S. based striker Nicholas Addlery who will be out for at least 2 weeks with a concussion he sustained in the MetroStars game—also on the injury list is Michael Celestine, Travis Mulraine and Cyd Gray, however Grayson is hoping that all will be well come the April, 2nd when the season kicks off.
Jabloteh has brought in some re-enforcements that they hope will further strengthen the squad—Jamaican born striker Nicholas Addlery, Guyanese striker Nigel Codrington, North East Stars defender Charles Pollard and Joe Public’s Kevaughn Cornell.
Grayson believes all these players will add further quality to the squad, “Pollard is one of the better defenders in the league, while both Nicholas Addlery and Nigel Codrington are exciting and deceptive strikers.”
Nevertheless, Jabloteh’s potency, still lies with the likes of national skipper, now player/coach at Jabloteh Angus Eve, and their attacking force of national striker Nigel Pierre, along with Aurtis Whitley, Devon Mitchell and Trent Noel.
Grayson is expressing confidence that Jabloteh will do well this year, stating, “Our strength is that we possess quality players and our chemistry is just amazing, and it all has to do with the family atmosphere that exist in the club.”
The former national player, is hungry for success, and said “We want back the league title desperately and we also want to take away the knockout titles that will be on offer this year as well.”

Team Profile:
Coach—Michael Grayson

Assistant Player/Coach— Angus Eve

2004 Achievements.
Placed 3rd in the league competition,
Beaten finalists in the Pro Bowl Knockout competition.

Last Season’s Top Goal Scorer—Trent Noel and Aurtis Whitley—10 goals each

New Players— Nicholas Addlery, Charles Pollard, Nigel Codrington and Kevaughn Cornell.

Registered Squad of Players

Captain- Angus Eve

Goalkeepers— Daurance Williams, Brian James.

Defenders— Nigel Daniel, Ansil Elcock, Dexter Frankyln, Ian Gray, Cyd Gray, Charles Pollard, Kenyo Thomas and Marcelle Francois.

Midfielders— Vernon Bailey, Kerry Baptiste, Michael Celestine, Kevaughn Cornell, Angus Eve, Josh Johnson, Travis Mulraine and Trent Noel.

Forwards— Nigel Codrington, Devon Mitchell, Nigel Pierre, Aurtis Whitley, Nicholas Addlery, Christopher Sam and Kerry Noray.

Offline NC

Terry Fenwick Returning to Jabloeth?
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2005, 12:59:59 PM »
If Terry returned to Jabloeth as Head Coach of Jabloeth, should the TTFF move to utilize him as part of the development program?

Re: Terry Fenwick Returning to Jabloeth?
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2005, 05:11:21 PM »
Nc,
Do you think that if we move to use him, we will again be communicating a dependency on 'foriegin' expertise? do you think this reliance will communicate that we do not have TNT nationals who are competent to allow for this level of development?

Just thinking out loud.

« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2005, 05:28:43 PM »
But alberta trini we dont have the have the coaches at home to develop our youth  players

« Reply #4 on: April 19, 2005, 05:43:50 PM »
Why haven't the Local leagues utilised more of the local past players. The familarity with the style and play should be easier to maintain. Other than Kerry Jamison and Brian Williams ...which other ex player coaches now???

Other ex-players coaching
« Reply #5 on: April 19, 2005, 06:11:51 PM »
Other than Kerry Jameson and Brian Williams ...which other ex player coaches now???

Reynold Carrington and Leonson Lewis at W-Connection.

« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2005, 10:24:33 PM »
When one considers the growth and the development clinics which are been sponspored by FIFA in the region, we should be using these as foundations to build  capacity within our people. We cannot keep operating from a deficit model which looks at what we dont have  and places areliance for our success solely on outside interventions.

How many well educated and intelligent former national players we have who are plying their knowledge on foreign soil? Can there be some systematic  way to  attarct and welcome our nationals back to accept coaching  positions at home?

I believe that part of the  tension lies in the lack of supportive structures to enable and sustain coaching and development throughout the football system from the grassroots right up to the senior and pro leagues. We pump money into our national team  for the purposes of WCQ. This emphasis on the final product as oppose to the learning and the acquistion of skill development at different stages compromises capacity building. We ought to refocus on the process.

« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2005, 02:36:11 AM »
From what I heard, Terry Fenwick got axed from some English Conference League team just recently, both him and Miller. So you might be right ??
« Last Edit: April 20, 2005, 03:03:33 AM by Flex »

Offline NC

« Reply #8 on: April 20, 2005, 05:55:45 AM »
Nc,
Do you think that if we move to use him, we will again be communicating a dependency on 'foriegin' expertise? do you think this reliance will communicate that we do not have TNT nationals who are competent to allow for this level of development?

Just thinking out loud.

Youth Development is a very sesentative process.  And while I agree that we have many nationals coaching abroad I am not sure whether or not they have the experience necessary to undertake the delicate process of development.  For example, I am aware of one TnT national that boast about running twelve year old kids till they "through up" and he is responsible for their development (that scares me).  Besides ensuring that kids become tactically ready and technically awarethe is the nurturing side of development that most of the coaches need to become aware of its importance.  I am awrae of one national that has dedicated the last five to ten years of his career to development and I believe he is actually doing that right now in TnT.  However, I am sure that he will welcome some assistance from some with a different perspective. 

« Reply #9 on: April 20, 2005, 06:02:24 AM »
Nc,

Just thinking out loud.

de best man for de job is de best man for de job.
when fenwick was here, jabloteh was playing de best ball that a local club has played for a long time! He is one englishman that fully understands our culture and manages de team to suit (that is why he prabably struggling in england..lol)
i was in de stadium when jabloteh play chicago fire and won 5-2, and that scoreline was generous for the firemen!

Speaking to Eve after de game, he said that Fenwick was a great coach and that st clair's methods are "different........very different"

So i dont think that it was to do with a dependancy on foreighners but choosing who is de mest for de team!

« Reply #10 on: April 20, 2005, 06:40:26 AM »
Face it, the problem home is that the support structure will pay for a foreign coach, but will not do the same for a local, regardless of his ability. I agree with what many are saying Fenwick could not get a job in the UK, or should I say keep one. So he returns, to a club that he had success with. Lets not forget RH also had success with the same club. All said if he contributes in a positive manner alls well that ends well.

« Reply #11 on: April 20, 2005, 07:06:40 AM »

i was in de stadium when jabloteh play chicago fire and won 5-2, and that scoreline was generous for the firemen!

Speaking to Eve after de game, he said that Fenwick was a great coach and that st clair's methods are "different........very different"

So i dont think that it was to do with a dependancy on foreighners but choosing who is de mest for de team!

Fenwick wasn't the coach for that game, Ricky Hill was.

« Reply #12 on: April 20, 2005, 09:52:37 AM »

terry coached de team and put things in place for ricky hill. Hill only had the team for a few weeks before that CONCACAF club game

« Reply #13 on: April 20, 2005, 10:15:57 AM »

terry coached de team and put things in place for ricky hill. Hill only had the team for a few weeks before that CONCACAF club game

The game vs Chicago Fire was played March 2004. Jabloteh won the PFL for the 2nd year running in 2003. Hill was the coach that took them to that game and was replaced by Rutter after the 2004 season began.

« Reply #14 on: April 20, 2005, 11:27:01 AM »

Andre yuh way off on dat one. Hill had the team for the whole season before dat game.

Champs Stars meet Jabloteh
« Reply #15 on: August 06, 2005, 09:48:10 AM »
Champs Stars meet Jabloteh

Glen Mohammed

Saturday, August 6th 2005

CHAMPIONS National Quarries North East Stars may well surrender the T&T Pro League title which they won last year, should they lose today against CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh.

The teams meet from 4 p.m. at the Hasely Crawford Stadium in the featured match of today's fixtures. Already Stars have lost four times this season and are a full 18 points behind runaway leaders Vibe CT 105 W. Connection. The gap may be too far for the Sangre Grande outfit to make up if they were to suffer a second successive loss after going under 2-0 to Caledonia AIA/Fire in their last match.

Jabloteh too have had a slow start. Since the return of English coach Terry Fenwick, they have moved to second on the league table, though still 13 points away from Connection (30 points) .

Today's other matches will see Caledonia AIA/Fire entertaining United Petrotrin at the Larry Gomes Stadium, while in Tobago, leaders W. Connection search for a further three points against Tobago United, the bottom team in the competition.

TODAY'S T&T PRO LEAGUE MATCHES:

Caledonia AIA/Fire v United Petrotrin, 4 p.m. Larry Gomes Stadium

Larry Gomes Stadium CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh v National Quarries North East Stars, 4 p.m. Hasely Crawford Stadium; Tobago United v Vibe CT 105 W. Connection, 4 p.m. Dwight Yorke Stadium.

San Juan Jabloteh to release Mulraine, Pollard.
« Reply #16 on: September 10, 2005, 07:59:36 AM »
San Juan Jabloteh to release Mulraine, Pollard.
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian).

Already boasting three of the league’s top goal-scorers in Andre Toussaint, Earl Jean and Gefferson Goulart, T&T Professional Football League Senior Division leaders VIBE CT 105 W Connection is looking to bolster its strike force.
Goulart (11 goals), Toussaint (10) and Jean (nine) have scored 30 of the team’s 44 league goals. They are to be joined by Nigerian striker Iyiaka Okechukwu Stantley, who is moving from a club in Oman before the PFL transfer window closes on September 14.
Stanley, who got the know the local club through former W Connection striker, fellow Nigerian Alexander Conte, paid his own air passage to T&T in an effort to sign a deal with the club.
The 22-year-old has been at W Connection for the past 10-days under the watchful eyes of the club’s technical director, former national coach Stuart Charles-Fevrier of St Lucia, who will make his decision on the player in a few days.
W Connection defender Kevon Clement is set for a move in the opposite direction -United Petrotrin the most likely destination.
Second placed PFL club CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh seems to be house -clearing, with at least three more players seemingly on their way out.
Less than a month after releasing Ansil Elcock, Nigel Pierre, Vernon Bailey, Jabloteh coach Terry Fenwick looks ready to off-load summer signing Charles Pollard back to his old club National Quarries North East Stars, while Travis Mulraine is on his way to W Connection.

Confirmed transfers during the window.

PlayerClub leavingClub joining
Carrey HarrisNE StarsJoe Public
Abassi Mc PhersonNE StarsJoe Public
Atiba FordeU PetrotrinPetrotrin SC
Anthony SmallU PetrotrinPetrotrin SC
Colin JosephU PetrotrinPetrotrin SC
Ansil ElcockSan Juan JablotehNE Stars
Randolph JeromeFree AgentW Connection
Christopher HarveyHarbour ViewW Connection
Kayode Mc KennaNE StarsCaledonia AIA Fire
Sherwin LeeNE StarsTobago U
Jason MarcanoW Connection/CouvaSan Juan Jabloteh
Kelvin Mc KenzieGeorgetown FCNE Stars
Travis WaterthonAmelia Ward UNE Stars
Felix SealesPetrotrin SCU Petrotrin
Peter ProsperPetrotrin SCU Petrotrin
Marlon LewisPetrotrin SCU Petrotrin
Lyndon DiazW ConnectionD Force
Akil PierreW ConnectionD Force
Marvin PhillipStarworld StrikersD Force
Charles PollardSan Juan JablotehNE Stars
Nigel PierreSan Juan JablotehCaledonia AIA Fire
Travis MulraineSan Juan JablotehW Connection
Jerol ForbesSan Juan JablotehU Petrotrin
Kevon ClementW ConnectionU Petrotrin
« Last Edit: September 10, 2005, 09:39:55 AM by Tallman »

Jamaican star Keith Kelly joins San Juan Jabloteh.
« Reply #17 on: September 16, 2005, 02:53:15 AM »
Defence Force, Stars meet as FCB Cup starts.
By: Nigel Simon (Guardian).

Defence Force, last year’s beaten finalist and defending Pro League football champions National Quarries North East Stars will meet in the feature quarterfinal match of this year’s First Citizens Bank Cup.
The teams are among seven clubs chasing the $35,000 first prize while second place gets $30,000.
The match which will kick off at 9 pm at the Larry Gomes Stadium, Malabar, tonight, is the second of a double header in which CL Financial San Juan Jabloteh and little-fancied Tobago United will battle from 6.45 pm.
Defence Force and Stars have failed to separate themselves after 180-plus minutes of football this season. The two clubs have featured in a 0-0 and 1-1 league draws setting the stage for a close duel.
Defence Force has acquired former youth team goalkeepers Marvin Phillip, Kevin Graham, Triston Baptiste, and W Connection duo Akil Pierre and Lyndon Diaz during the transfer window which closed yesterday.
Stars meanwhile have shown the door to Carey Harris, Abassi Mc Pherson, Kayode Mc Kinnon, Sherwin Lee and Simeon Augustus.
Coming in were sturdy defender Charles Pollard, who has returned after a brief spell with Jabloteh, and Guyanese players, Travis Waterton and Kelvin Mc Kenzie. Stars were however unfortunate not to acquire former national striker Gary Glasgow from Chinese club Guangzhou FC before yesterday’s 3pm transfer deadline.
Club owner Darryl Mahabir said that the Chinese club were yet to respond to their response for a signature to his transfer documents, and in so doing denying the players a chance to earn a living.
Jabloteh coach Terry Fenwick said that his players will not be taking Tobago United lightly.
“We have beaten them three times already this season (7-0), (5-0) and (4-0), but that says nothing in a knockout competition.” Expected to be in Jabloteh’s line-up is highly rated Jamaican midfielder Keith Kelly who transferred from Jamaican club, Arnett Gardens.
With the tag of under-dogs on his team, Tobago United coach Peter Granville will be hoping to pull off the biggest upset of the season.
Granville completed the signings of Nigerian players Aminu Erilme, 22, and Samsideen Olutunji Quadri, 21.
In South at the Manny Ramjohn Stadium, Caledonia AIA Fire will be fancied to get past United Petrotrin in their 9pm meeting.
Oneke Forde of Jamaican club Sporting Central, former Jabloteh duo Ansil Elcock and Nigel Pierre, ex-Stars winger Kayode Mc Kinnon, Anthony Thompson and Stephen David from Indiana FC are all carded to be in the 18-man squad.
United Petrotrin have brought in a mixture of youth and experience in Peter Prosper, Kevon Clement, Jerol Forbes, Marlon Lewis and Felix Seales as they attempt to turn around their season, beginning with a run at the FCB Cup.
Defending champions, VIBE CT 105 W Connection will also be in action tonight.
The “Savonetta Boys” earned a bye into the semifinal round having topped the PFL standings at the end of round 14 matches and will only be play in an exhibition match with FCB from 6.45pm.
The winners of the Defence Force/North East Stars match will meet W Connection in one semifinal on September 23 while the AIA/Fire and United Petrotrin winner meets the winner of the Jabloteh and Tobago United match for a place in the final at Marabella, one week later.

Offline KND

Re: Jamaican star Keith Kelly joins San Juan Jabloteh.
« Reply #18 on: September 16, 2005, 05:33:38 AM »
not sure what happen to thia boy nah, He was highly rated at U17 and went tp PSG. Since then like he cannot even make Jamaica squad, Hopefully the change of scene will bring him back.

« Reply #19 on: September 16, 2005, 06:41:01 AM »
Glad we have to help him regain his talent..... come to your big brothers in T&T....

When Robert Scarlett and Jermaine Hue was with W Connection last season they didn't look to good, but we help groome them and now they got better.... hopefully Keith Kelly will learn a thing or two in T&T..

« Reply #20 on: September 16, 2005, 11:00:12 AM »
Glad we have to help him regain his talent..... come to your big brothers in T&T....

When Robert Scarlett and Jermaine Hue was with W Connection last season they didn't look to good, but we help groome them and now they got better.... hopefully Keith Kelly will learn a thing or two in T&T..

What load of crap. I doubt Scarlette and Hue learned much from playing in Trinidad. They were playing amongst players at the same or lower standrad from the league they played in Jamaica. The plyers who learn in Trinidad are the players from Guyana, St. Kitts, Antigua, Monsterrat and US Virgin Islands.  :devil: 3 months is hardly any time for anyone to learn. Both have since returned to Jamaica, and have now moved on to the MLS.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2005, 11:02:50 AM by Reggaefan »

« Reply #21 on: September 16, 2005, 12:58:17 PM »

What load of crap. I doubt Scarlette and Hue learned much from playing in Trinidad. They were playing amongst players at the same or lower standrad from the league they played in Jamaica. The plyers who learn in Trinidad are the players from Guyana, St. Kitts, Antigua, Monsterrat and US Virgin Islands.  :devil: 3 months is hardly any time for anyone to learn. Both have since returned to Jamaica, and have now moved on to the MLS.

You soundin a lil bitter there Reggafan.  Didn't know they sold aloes quite in Connecticut. 

Why is it impossible for Hue & Scarlett to have learnt and improved during their stint in Trinidad?  The players from the other islands you mention are the only ones to learn?  Somehow Jamaican's superior to everybody else?

Only in your insular mind I guess.

« Reply #22 on: September 16, 2005, 01:29:10 PM »

You soundin a lil bitter there Reggafan.  Didn't know they sold aloes quite in Connecticut. 

Why is it impossible for Hue & Scarlett to have learnt and improved during their stint in Trinidad?  The players from the other islands you mention are the only ones to learn?  Somehow Jamaican's superior to everybody else?

Only in your insular mind I guess.

Read the post again, I didnt say it was impossible to learn anything, i said chnaces are, they wouldnt have learnt anything! Put it this way, Jermain Hue and Robert Scarlette are seasoned international footballers, who have come up through the ranks fo Jamaica's youth programme. These plyers have played at the highest level for the past 5 years. What is there for them to learn playing in Trinidad for 3 months? Are they learning anything from teh bunch of Guyanese that play there? the antiguans? more like the other way round. Could theyhave learnt something from Russel Latapy, D. Yorke? Sure! but these plleyars are plying their trade elsewhere!

Not belittling the Trini League in anyway, nor am I biiter. Just staing facts I see fit.

« Reply #23 on: September 16, 2005, 02:00:18 PM »
From the the reggae boyz site  a nice post :rotfl:

Princess
Moderator   posted 09-16-2005 12:09 PM             
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Unless him fully healed (which is unlikely!) KK should not be expected to do too much upon arrival. Wish he could go to a club with proper staff to assist in his physical therapy. I have no faith in these Island teams - no offense!

« Reply #24 on: September 16, 2005, 02:45:14 PM »

Princess
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Unless him fully healed (which is unlikely!) KK should not be expected to do too much upon arrival. Wish he could go to a club with proper staff to assist in his physical therapy. I have no faith in these Island teams - no offense!

lol...lol...lol...well said from continental Jamaica!! 

just because alyuh jammys pay ah set ah brits who grandfather was jamaicans to play for alyuh and alyuh make ah world cup alyuh feel everybody else is island..lol

« Reply #25 on: September 16, 2005, 03:35:05 PM »

Princess

lol...lol...lol...well said from continental Jamaica!! 

just because alyuh jammys pay ah set ah brits who grandfather was jamaicans to play for alyuh and alyuh make ah world cup alyuh feel everybody else is island..lol

Jamaica, Trinidad....etc ... all islands.  BTW, Chris Birchall wasnt born in Trinidad. Neither was Seabra. Nor Was Ronnie Mauge, Nor Ian Cox, Nor Boucaud, nor Shakes, nor Zamora, nor the guy sfrom Villa. etc etc. no point in flogging thatdead horse.

« Reply #26 on: September 16, 2005, 03:44:26 PM »
hey reggaefan you follow our football

Foreign-born T&T players
« Reply #27 on: September 16, 2005, 03:50:36 PM »
BTW, Chris Birchall wasnt born in Trinidad. Neither was Seabra. Nor Was Ronnie Mauge, Nor Ian Cox, Nor Boucaud, nor Shakes, nor Zamora, nor the guy from Villa. etc etc. no point in flogging that dead horse.

Jlloyd Samuel of Aston Villa is the exception, he was born in T&T.

« Reply #28 on: September 16, 2005, 04:08:33 PM »
hey reggaefan you follow our football

He is a keen follower, some may say xenophobic follower of Jamaica's football.  Not sure about Canada though.

« Reply #29 on: September 17, 2005, 02:49:36 AM »
RF.....

You keep ignoring my question.... we have 11 Jamaicans based in T&T... you said we love Guyanese, but Guyana have the same amout us JA playing in T&T.....

Shakes and Boucaud hardly plays for T&T... in fact, Shakes has NEVER played for T&T.......

Mauge retired.....

Cox,, in and out on we team...

Birchall is here.......

Norville and Samuel was BORN in T&T.......

Seabra is living and working in T&T, he has his T&T citizenship, and is No longer on our team.... Seabra is a local T&T player, not a foreign born one.... his kid goes to school here, he plans to live here all his life.... I cant say the same for anyone of your foreign born players... so Seabra is a different case....

Zamora does not play for T&T....... and he does not want to play for T&T..... no love lost here....

PS: Scarlette and Hue imporved when they came T&T.... they said that on a TV 6 live TV program while they were here..... they said they love the game in T&T, its faster and better quality than in JA..... they also said the level is a bit higher, they were impress with W Connection standard and professional attitude on and off the field......they were also impress with the amount of foreign players that plays for W Connection....
« Last Edit: September 17, 2005, 02:56:49 AM by Flex »