April 25, 2024, 02:24:56 AM

Author Topic: Brown again!!  (Read 5469 times)

Brown again!!
« on: May 12, 2007, 06:38:41 AM »
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/index.pl/article_sports?id=161145078

Brown again!
T&T sprinter whips Olympic champ in Qatar

Kwame Laurence klaurence@trinidadexpress.com

Saturday, May 12th 2007

Trinidad and Tobago track star Darrel Brown picked up from where he left off in Jamaica last Saturday when he whipped his rivals in the Qatar IAAF World Super Tour 2007 men's 100 metres final, in Doha, yesterday.

In near-still conditions, Brown romped to victory in 10.13 seconds, gaining a comfortable cushion on Jamaican training partner Michael Frater, who filled the runner-up spot in 10.19.

After the race, Brown was a satisfied sprinter.

"It was a pretty good run, but I felt a bit tired from the long plane ride. I came in on Wednesday morning."

Reigning Olympic 200m champion Shawn Crawford, of the United States, was forced to settle for bronze in 10.20, just ahead of Nigeria's Olusoji Fasuba (10.21). Portugal's Olympic 100m silver medallist Francis Obikwelu copped fifth spot in 10.24.

Yesterday's result represented the second one-two finish in as many meets for the Jamaica-based MVP Track Club. One week ago, at the Jamaica International Invitational, Brown clocked 10.02 seconds-his fastest-ever opener-to claim the 100m title, ahead of Frater, the second-placed finisher in 10.13.

"The two races were almost the same," Brown told the Express, yesterday. "It's just that this one had more high-profile names, but it was almost the same.

"The season is still early...I'm just taking one race at a time. Right now I'm healthy and running strong. When the bigger guys come out, I'll see where I'm really at."

In the preliminary round, yesterday, 22-year-old Brown topped the second of two heats in 10.22 seconds to lead all qualifiers into the final. Crawford and Jamaica's Chris Williams were second and third, respectively, clocking 10.25 and 10.31.

T&T's 2005 World Athletics Final champion Marc Burns-competing in his season-opener-finished sixth in heat one and 13th overall. Running into a 1.6 metres per second headwind, Burns got to the line in 10.50 seconds. Frater won in 10.38.

Later in the meet, Williams topped the men's 200m field in 20.24 seconds. Crawford (20.59) finished a distant second, while Gambia's Jaysuma Saidy (20.62) copped third spot.

MEN'S 100M FINAL

(wind: -0.1 m/s)

1 Darrel Brown (T&T) 10.13

2 Michael Frater (JAM) 10.19

3 Shawn Crawford (USA) 10.20

4 Olusoji Fasuba (NGR) 10.21

5 Francis Obikwelu (POR) 10.24

6 Christopher Williams (JAM) 10.27

7 Dwight Phillips (USA) 10.34

8 Yahya Hassan I. Habeeb (KSA) 10.43

Re: Brown again!!
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2007, 09:31:02 AM »
Good race comng off the plane.  He didn't start well but commanded the race.  His real test is Prefontaine in June when all except Tyson Gay will line up. In fact, I will say if he gets top 3 in that field he will almost assuredly win a medal in Osaka at Worlds if he manages his rounds better than 2005.

« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2007, 09:38:22 AM »
Good race comng off the plane.  He didn't start well but commanded the race.  His real test is Prefontaine in June when all except Tyson Gay will line up. In fact, I will say if he gets top 3 in that field he will almost assuredly win a medal in Osaka at Worlds if he manages his rounds better than 2005.

I agree....Ato do you think Brown is on the right track for an Olympic gold medal next year?..(providing he remains healthy)

« Reply #3 on: May 12, 2007, 12:27:58 PM »
Yeah but Ato....what going on with Burns?

« Reply #4 on: May 12, 2007, 02:29:33 PM »

Ato but to manage his round better should should he not run  the 200 before olaska

Offline willi

« Reply #5 on: May 12, 2007, 02:35:50 PM »
He must certainly be doing more overdistance training than before, so the impact of competitive 200m running would not be so great as before.

« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2007, 08:48:22 AM »
Brown wants to better 9.99 mark

Newsday
Sunday, May 13 2007

KINGSTON: Trinidad and Tobago’s World Championships silver medallist Darrell Brown believes once he stays healthy he should enjoy his best season on the track this year.

Brown, the 100 metres silver medallist from the 2003 World Championships in Paris, said he was in line to break his personal best of 9.99 seconds.

“Once I stay healthy I’m supposed to run faster than 9.99 this season,” said Brown, who achieved the mark at the 2005 Trinidad and Tobago National Championships.

His main goal for this season, however, is to medal at the World Championships in Osaka, Japan.

“Hopefully, I just want to medal again,” he said after opening the season with a 10.02 seconds clocking in Kingston on May 5. “I would like to win but I will be coming up against your (Jamaican) guy Asafa (Powell), so it will be tough,” added the 2002 World Junior champion, who won his second straight 100 metres race in Doha on Friday.

Brown, who holds the World Junior 100 metres record at 10.01 seconds, said the change in his programme seems to be working wonders so far this season.

He joined the Stephen Francis-coached MVP camp last October and after running a couple 400 metre races at development meets here, Brown believes this new drill can only make things better for him.

“Comparing to last year, it helps to make me stronger for the last part of my race,” he said.

Brown also praised his top-rated teammates at the MVP camp, saying they had been a positive influence.

The world fastest man Powell, World Championships 100 metres silver medallist Michael Frater, Sherone Simpson and Brigitte Foster-Hylton also train with Brown

“They have a big influence on me because when I am not accustomed to the workout, they encourage

Offline willi

« Last Edit: May 14, 2007, 01:21:56 PM by willi »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2007, 02:07:43 PM »
If he gets a better start he would definitely break that 9.99pb.
BTW does anyone know his 60m PB, because judging by how far he was behind Fasuba who is a 6.4x 60m man he looks like he could run it in the high 6.5x to low6.6x range.
Psalm 14:1
The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God.

« Reply #9 on: May 15, 2007, 10:28:49 AM »
“I would like to win but I will be coming up against your (Jamaican) guy Asafa (Powell), so it will be tough,” added the 2002 World Junior champion,   ....hmmmmm no doubt asafa is a big one but that statement right there I think is a statement of doubt   he's already given himself two slots  to get to rather than three.....mentall...mental

« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2007, 11:24:06 AM »
“I would like to win but I will be coming up against your (Jamaican) guy Asafa (Powell), so it will be tough,” added the 2002 World Junior champion,   ....hmmmmm no doubt asafa is a big one but that statement right there I think is a statement of doubt   he's already given himself two slots  to get to rather than three.....mentall...mental

or he is just a modest guy who realises that he is in de man's country and feels a little respect is due ???

Offline Aviator

« Reply #11 on: May 15, 2007, 11:26:56 AM »

Mental could be a part of it, but remember he is training with the man and must know that it will be next to impossible to make up the difference between the two of them in just one year. there is a 0.22 time difference between them which is a heck of a lot in a 100m and Asafa has shown that he could live in the 9.8's if he so chooses, while if DB drops 9.8x it would be the race of his life. So i think he is just being honest.  Tyson Gay made a similar staement last summer, when he dropped that 9.84 chasing down AP, so i don't think it is doubt but rather him just being realistic and knowing that one year isn't enough, but if he remains healthy, DB will a problem in Beijing

« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2007, 06:07:09 PM »
If I am Asafa, right now the only person who I really studying is Tyson Gay....who else is within 2 tenths of me???? Sean Crawford is wildly inconsistent, Fasuba is a fraud, Leonard Scott hasnt figured out how to run well for 4 rounds. Tyson is the only person who, if he gets in front of Asafa in a 100m, Asafa is going to LOSE! He will and HAS run down everyone else with consummate ease.

Who else is running the 200m to be able to challenge Asafa at 100m? No one.....Asafa has it made....he is stronger and faster than all but Tyson, and they aren't running the 200....Asafa is sub 20, no-one else in thE 100 is close.....end of story. 

Hate to say it but no one not running the 200 will be remotely close to Asafa next year in Beijing. End of story....anyhow back to our boys....I said it before I will say it again....Borzov, Crawford, Wells, Lewis, Christie, Bailey, Greene, Gatlin - the last EIGHT OLYMPIC 100m champions - and what do they all have in common? 200m running - some way more than others like Greene, Gatlin, Lewis and Borzov. Look it up if u doubt. 

YOUR odds of getting a 100m medal IN A CHAMPIONSHIP where you have to run 4 rounds are slim to none if you don't run 200m.....look at some of the the silver and bronze medalists to that list....
Obadele, Fredericks, Quarrie, Boldon, Dennis Mitchell, Sean Crawford, Obikwelu, Calvin Smith

The young Trini boys have to show sub ten consistency in their running and this is the year. How do they get there?  By shaking off this nonsense about not liking the 200m and going after it HARD....they have a mindset that "we does get hurt when we run 200" and its bullshit.  I have heard it direct from them and I have told them myself that it's b.s.

Darrel's physique is ^&%$ amazing - that boy is ripped like I have never seen.

Just keep it together and lets get about 5 or 6 sub tens EACH this year Marc AND Darrel.

2 0 0m !
« Last Edit: May 16, 2007, 06:23:44 PM by atoboldon »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #13 on: May 16, 2007, 06:23:21 PM »
But Ato i hear Franno have them fellas doing a lot of overdistance stuff like 300's so do u think that that will be enuff or is it still imperative that they run the 200m in competition.

P.S, Henry Rolle doing wonders with Kerron stewat but Burns has been stagnant. Really hopes he drops a 10.0x on Sunday with those guys he running agaginst.

« Reply #14 on: May 16, 2007, 06:26:33 PM »
EVERY sprint camp (except Rolle apparently) does a ton of overdistance. Big whup.  We ran 400s at 47 pace up til my last year.  It's the John Smith model.  You think everyone in the world doing drive phase by accident? ;D  200s in training is not 200s in competition.  They will never go 20.0 or even 20.3 in practice so they will never have that level of speed endurance and ability to manage their gear shifting!

P.S. Rolle IS doing wonders with Kerron - doh think I bashing him, but let's see what she does post-collegiately.  Fana and Burns were hot in college too, even if not as hot.
« Last Edit: May 16, 2007, 06:30:41 PM by atoboldon »

Offline Aviator

« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2007, 06:35:27 PM »
Well Ato i know you talk to dem boys all the time. so i hope you really drill that into their head, because if memory serves me right the only man that had a succesfull 100m career without touching the 200m was Donovan Bailey, he had a Pb of only 20.49. I don't think that they ahve to become 200m specialist like yourself or Tyson gay but a few of them a season wouldn't hurt.

« Reply #16 on: May 17, 2007, 03:43:22 AM »
Ahhh but Donovan used to run low key 200s in Europe I remember seeing him run - it was ugly as hell, but he ran, and he has one leg longer than the other and all kind of issues...don't think for a second Donovan didn't

BTW so did Ben Johnson!

« Reply #17 on: May 17, 2007, 11:02:22 AM »
Ato isn't it up to the coaches to instruct these fellas? 
If the benefits are so obvious, why the coaches not makin them enter 200m events?

Offline Aviator

« Reply #18 on: May 22, 2007, 03:19:05 PM »
Ato, it looks like your prayers (and mine) have been answered. Brown is running the 200m at Hampton games.

Brown to double at Hampton

Tuesday, May 22nd 2007

Trinidad and Tobago track star Darrel Brown is expected to face the starter in both the 100 metres and 200m events at this weekend's Hampton International Games, at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Mucurapo.

The men's 100m will be contested on Saturday, and the 200m on Sunday.

All officials who will be working at the Games, as well as two representatives from each participating club, are asked to attend an important technical meeting, at the Crawford Stadium, tomorrow. Starting time is five p.m.

« Reply #19 on: May 23, 2007, 11:48:31 AM »
 ;D ;D :applause: :applause: :wavetowel: :wavetowel: :whew:

Looks like they are turning it into a paid workout. Fantastic.