March 28, 2024, 02:57:55 AM

Author Topic: Swans close to Scotland capture  (Read 2379 times)

Swans close to Scotland capture
« on: May 15, 2007, 07:54:23 AM »
Swans close to Scotland capture
By Phil Blanche (Western Mail)

SWANSEA CITY were last night closing in on the capture of Trinidad and Tobago striker Jason Scotland.

Though Swans boss Roberto Martinez poured cold water on a possible deal last week, sources in Scotland are claiming that the St Johnstone striker could arrive in South Wales by the end of the week.

It is understood that Swansea would pay a nominal fee for the 28-year-old who is contracted to the Perth club until the end of August.

Martinez insisted he had “only been getting information” about the player when Swansea’s interest in Scotland was revealed last week.

Scotland scored 26 goals last season and would provide the extra pace up front that Martinez is seeking.

“He is a player that we have been watching for quite a while and I’m still to make my mind up as to whether he would be a good Swansea City player,” said Martinez.

Meanwhile, the Swans’ bid to snare Scottish striker Darryl Duffy could be set to receive the luck of the Irish.

The Swans are locked in a three-way fight to land the Hull City striker with Hartlepool and Hibernian also keen on the 23-year-old’s services.

Newly-promoted Hartlepool are confident they can tempt Duffy – who bagged five goals in 10 games for them in a two-month loan stay before the New Year – back to Victoria Park after a similarly successful end-of-season spell at Swansea.

Hartlepool boss Danny Wilson is a big admirer of the Glaswegian and has already tabled a £125,000 bid, but the former Barnsley and Sheffield Wednesday manager could be on his way after being linked with the Northern Ireland vacancy.

Wilson moved quickly yesterday to distance himself from the role vacated by new Fulham boss Lawrie Sanchez, but sources in Belfast suggest that he is the Irish Football Association’s first choice.

Swansea want to sign Duffy – who has 12 months left on his Hull contract – on a permanent basis after he grabbed five goals in as many starts as Roberto Martinez’ men just missed out on the play-offs.

But Hull are playing hardball over a transfer fee and Swansea might have to spend most of their summer budget to land the Scotland U21 striker.
Saints wait as duo consider options
By Graeme Dey (Dundee Courier)

ST JOHNSTONE hope to settle the future of striker Jason Scotland before the end of this week but anticipate having to wait a little longer before discovering whether midfielder Simon Mensing will be with them next season.

Swansea are heading the chase to land Scotland. Dundee United are also in the hunt but the Welsh club have offered Scotland a lucrative deal and spoken to Saints regarding the compensation fee they’ll have to pay in order to land the player in time for pre-season training.

Meanwhile, re-signing discussions with Mensing over the weekend have offered St Johnstone hope that they might yet hang on to the tough tackling midfielder despite interest from elsewhere.

“We’d a good chat and now Simon is weighing everything up,’’ said boss Owen Coyle, “I’m sure he’ll receive offers that, financially speaking, are better than the one we’ve made him but he loves it here so, in that respect, we’ve got something going for us.

“However, Simon is in no rush. I think he is going to take until the end of the month before making a decision and I understand where he is coming from.’’

Re: Swans close to Scotland capture
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2007, 08:12:06 AM »
nah jason yuh wa make meh cry here....u aint hav no right to be playin in league one doh let lawrence tief up yuh head...yuh much much much betta dan dat oh gorm

Offline black chinee

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2007, 09:31:15 AM »
nah jason yuh wa make meh cry here....u aint hav no right to be playin in league one doh let lawrence tief up yuh head...yuh much much much betta dan dat oh gorm

lol.... Scotty tuh league 1.... Sammy tuh MLS.... buh wah de FAWK is dis

« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2007, 09:48:31 AM »
He is 28 years old and is being offered a lucrative deal by a league one club!!

What else do you expect!!??

You feel he have allyuh tuh study?

« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2007, 09:49:24 AM »
Scotland is at the peak of his career and a he can play at a more competitive league than League1

« Reply #5 on: May 15, 2007, 11:58:32 AM »
Scotland is at the peak of his career and a he can play at a more competitive league than League1
We might think so, but if he not getting any offers from more competitive leagues what he supposed to do?

« Reply #6 on: May 15, 2007, 04:26:46 PM »
We might think so, but if he not getting any offers from more competitive leagues what he supposed to do?

What happened to the interest Birmingham and Dundee.utd showed in him?

« Reply #7 on: May 15, 2007, 04:44:18 PM »
What happened to the interest Birmingham and Dundee.utd showed in him?
Interest, yes. But interest is only talk.  Offers...??

If Steve Bruce call Scotland agent and ask how he doing and if he available that is interest.  But until he put a offer on de table that is all it is.

« Reply #8 on: May 15, 2007, 06:36:23 PM »
League One leaves a lot to be desired by someone with Scotty's talent, but at least is a door through the border into England, if not SPL

Realistically Scotty would have to step up his game significantly if it were an EPL or Championship club calling...cause remember he has been training with a Scottish 1st Division side all this time, doh matter he standing out.

If Scotty does very well with this side (provided they really sign him), put in some good performances for T&T, he can move up the ranks...Good luck to him, I always like to see a little football beside he name every saturday