April 27, 2024, 12:10:10 AM

Author Topic: Potential Formation  (Read 3198 times)

Offline triniwings

Potential Formation
« on: August 01, 2005, 12:21:02 PM »
                                                            Jack

Dog                Lawrence               Avery

Charles                                                                                        Rojas

Birchall

Edwards                      Theobald                   Spann   

Yorke                   

Re: Potential Formation
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2005, 12:25:58 PM »
I would put spann right behind Yorke to make that final build up in the last third of the field.

« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2005, 12:28:12 PM »
bricahll as defensive mid?????

Offline triniwings

« Reply #3 on: August 01, 2005, 12:38:00 PM »
but duscam, if birchy is a natural ball winner with a superior work rate to most other national players, blessed with efficient and effective technique, and cud rest some sweet curlin bullet from outside dee box.....but he is no creative midfielder who could make plays, but a solid midfielder who gets the job done and passes well.......which position do you want for him...I think this is the best we cud come up with.

« Reply #4 on: August 01, 2005, 12:42:08 PM »
where you get natural ball winner from?? he fit and does run back but he is not a defensive minded player....he plays right wing or striker for club..and attacking mid for trinidad..dont see how yuh get defensive in there. and he more creative than alot of those guys.
« Last Edit: August 01, 2005, 01:05:06 PM by Tallman »

Offline triniwings

« Reply #5 on: August 01, 2005, 12:50:03 PM »
The reason why I put forward this fomation and lineup is because of the following advantages:

we need defensive depth so along wit dee wing backs....we always have 3 strong backs to cover  
avery dog and lawrence solid, but avery cah overlap

rojas left footed,and at least he is an extra man to pass dee ball to in midfield when overlappin, if he slip in markin we have avery to cover him always...we basically played dis same 3 in dee back dee whole world cup, cuz gray was non-existent..we have no other left footed players, even leo said it

birchall need to be dee ball winner, and bring it out of dee back as well as buss shot out off dee box

dis dee only formation where we cud still keep spann theo and edwards all playin togther in their preffered attacking midfield positions

and we always played wit 2 strikers and cah get goals

play wit one and keep possesion in midfield and we have more depth and attackin power to dee offense, includin dee flanks...cuz de wing backs will be encouraged to come forward if dog, tallest and avery in dee back to cover

Yorke cud post up as well as fight for dee ball with fitness(our fittest striker at the moment) and strength on top as opposed to 2 unfit strikers who throw away like stern and scotland

our midfield and flank options are our weakness,dis boosts it

Glen and Jones cud add youth and pace off dee bench

wa alya say?

« Reply #6 on: August 01, 2005, 01:01:56 PM »
Triniwings, I agree with you and that is why i say put Spann behind Yorke and Birchy right behind he so then two could create some magic in the middle, because Birchy is not a flashy player, he is sound and steady with his passes and he will make that pass to Spann who always makes great runs off the ball and can create some space for himself and has the creative mind and skill to put Yorke in great position to finish of can supply that ball to the flank for the crosses in the box that Yorke is most deadly with. That's just what i see from this formation.

« Reply #7 on: August 01, 2005, 01:16:17 PM »
Better Formation

Hislop

Pierre-----Sancho-----Dog-----Rojas

Edwards---Rougier-----Yorke----Tiger

Stern----Jones

Play the same men who play the US the last time around.

They had a good game and with a little more luck we could have even tied.

If we play the same men with a superior coach in beenie man we bound to win ;)

Offline triniwings

« Reply #8 on: August 01, 2005, 01:16:31 PM »
same here Jersey Trini

wonder wa dem oder fellas go say

Offline triniwings

« Reply #9 on: August 01, 2005, 01:18:04 PM »
I respect your opinion KND2...but I think some of those players...and especially that system for our players....have been tried and tested, and always seem to fail.

« Reply #10 on: August 01, 2005, 01:36:23 PM »
                                              jack
                         andrews    lawrence    sancho

charles                                                       john

birchall

edwards             yorke            spann/theobald

john

its understand able that we need defensive coverage but with john and charles attackin up the flanks  and spann /theobald ability to cut inside and deliver the amount a ball john go get he go miss the first 10 as usuall but score 1 and in the back nuttin aint passin them 3         

Offline Strip

« Reply #11 on: August 01, 2005, 02:49:34 PM »
whitley go hadda make tha side before theobald

« Reply #12 on: August 01, 2005, 03:17:25 PM »
Formation 1:   

Hislop

Andrews
                        A.Charles                       Lawrence

Sancho

Edwards                                              Birchall

Spann

Yorke                     K. Jones

Stern         

Formation 2:

Hislop

Lawrence             Andrews            A.John

Sancho                Birchall

Edwards                                                 Spann
                                           Yorke

K. Jones
                                                   Stern

we are hopeless when it comes to attacking down the left..so thats why i figure we should be a little predictable and attack down the right-wing through Carlos Edwards and also inside-right.
The reason why i have right-footed Birchall on the left is so that he will always drift to the inside when he has the ball and then be able to play a decent ball down the right or through the middle or even a reverse pass back down the left.Think about it fellas and you'll see he will be distributing the ball a lot better.

« Reply #13 on: August 02, 2005, 07:46:07 AM »
stueeps

« Reply #14 on: August 02, 2005, 04:16:45 PM »
stueeps

aye why don't you make a decent statement for once nah?

Offline triniwings

« Reply #15 on: August 02, 2005, 11:51:08 PM »
Feliziano I eh agree wit dah one breds.....

Sancho?

Stern?

Lawrence as a wing back?

Why alya insist in playing Stern all dee time so, he served us well but he is past his best.  Stern is now a slow, unfit lazy post up forward who throws away our opportunities.

Daz jus my opnion though....respect yuh point of view

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #16 on: August 03, 2005, 12:34:07 AM »

Nearly everybody on this forum saying drop Stern, or don't start Stern,  then the coach stated that  he is playing Stern.  Now most of the critics shut up and starting Stern. It begs the question,  what is the technical basis for many  of the proposed formations.   On a different note, why don't we have the courage to try new players?  If Stern is starting then it doesn't take a lot of courage to play any of the up and coming strikers.

Offline triniwings

« Reply #17 on: August 03, 2005, 10:24:08 AM »
good point...I was just putting forward my idea based on our strengths and weaknesses, but at the end of the day..it's up to Leo....