April 27, 2024, 12:39:51 PM

Author Topic: Lara Hints at Return to International Cricket...  (Read 2514 times)

Lara Hints at Return to International Cricket...
« on: May 17, 2007, 07:31:12 PM »
When I read this article I was very happy, simply because Sarwan talk the most shit I ever hear from, when he said its bc of Lara's dominance in the game that caused the West Indies team to not shine.. BULLSHIT..

Lara hints at return

LONDON—Just under a month after his dramatic retirement from international cricket, West Indies star batsman Brian Lara has hinted at a return to the game.

Speaking Wednesday at Lord’s to launch an exhibition celebrating his illustrious career at the MCC museum, Lara gave no details but stated that he will be training and keeping in shape, presumably for some form of competitive cricket.

“A bat is going to be in my hand in the near future,” Lara told reporters.

“Brian Lara loves playing cricket and would still like to play cricket at some point in time,” he added.

Distraught over the West Indies’ poor showing at the World Cup, Lara reversed his original plan to tour England this summer and announced on the evening of April 19—moments after West Indies beat Bangladesh for their only Super-8 win in the World Cup—that he would quit international cricket after the World Cup.

But his pronouncements Wednesday—though vague—about a return, made it clear that he still has the desire to play competitively.

“I am going to be in the nets in Trinidad, I am going to be working, staying fit and ensuring that my game is still very good for another two or three years,” Lara said.

The 38-year-old left-hander retired with almost 12,000 Test runs and holds the world record for the highest Test score of 400 not out against England set three years ago in Antigua, and the highest first-class score of 501 not out against Durham 13 years ago at Edgbaston.

He is the all-time leader in Test runs aggregate at 11,953 runs, compiled in 131 Tests, and he has scored 10,387 runs in 298 One-day Internationals.

The Cricinfo Web Site had reported this past weekend that Lara was being linked to a breakaway Twenty20 cricket league.

The report said Lara, Australians Shane Warne and Glenn McGrath, and “more big names to follow” are being linked to a breakaway Twenty20 competition taking place in India this October.

Lara and McGrath, the former Australia fast bowler, both announced their retirement from cricket after last month’s World Cup.

Warne retired from international cricket earlier this year following Australia’s 5-0 trouncing of England in the Ashes. (CMC)

©2005-2006 Trinidad Publishing Company Limited
Designed by: Randall Rajkumar-Maharaj · Updated daily by: Sheahan Farrell

I look forward to seeing my childhood hero return again...

God is de BOSS....

Re: Lara Hints at Return to International Cricket...
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2007, 07:35:04 PM »
he is hinting at a return to competitive cricket not international cricket...

two different things...

« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2007, 07:53:07 PM »
he is hinting at a return to competitive cricket not international cricket...

two different things...

of knowing how lara has been over his career, i dont rule out anything with lara.. revenues will suffer for the west indies to draw a crowd and make money on tour... dat alone will make people coax lara to return...

God is de BOSS....

« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2007, 08:15:23 PM »
good.

but he should say that he going to start training and start getting into shape... cuz if he thinks he in good shape now well he might aswell stay retired.

Im sorry... I love de man for what he has done... but I'm sick of seeing Lara be worshipped even after that momentus let down in the world cup...

it was his last WC, it not like he young and vibrant, why he couldnt disaplin he ass den and get into shape eh!?

stewps.

« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2007, 08:52:45 PM »
Jefferz, how you know de man not in he best shape at dis stage of his life?  Lawd de man nearly middle aged.  He is 2 years away from being 40 yuh know.  Another 10 years again and he getting rocking chair for Christmas.  He still one of de best but fadda time ketching up fast, fast, fast.

« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2007, 09:41:58 PM »
Jefferz, how you know de man not in he best shape at dis stage of his life?  Lawd de man nearly middle aged.  He is 2 years away from being 40 yuh know.  Another 10 years again and he getting rocking chair for Christmas.  He still one of de best but fadda time ketching up fast, fast, fast.

stewps. Logie at his age was in far better shape. IS professional cricket he talking about comin back to then he needs to be professionally fit. plain and simple.

Offline trinfax

« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2007, 09:38:43 AM »
stewps. Logie at his age was in far better shape. IS professional cricket he talking about comin back to then he needs to be professionally fit. plain and simple.

Are you comparing Logie to Lara at this age? I'll pick Lara 300 times before I pick Logie at ANY age in Logie's career. AND each person's body is different.. you are only saying that by just looks for there is no way you can determine just how fit Lara is at this stage.

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2007, 12:14:46 PM »
good.

but he should say that he going to start training and start getting into shape... cuz if he thinks he in good shape now well he might aswell stay retired.

Im sorry... I love de man for what he has done... but I'm sick of seeing Lara be worshipped even after that momentus let down in the world cup...

it was his last WC, it not like he young and vibrant, why he couldnt disaplin he ass den and get into shape eh!?

stewps.

boi fuh all de outta shape yuh talkin bout ah fine lara does still look quick inbetween de wickets dem...I en kno nah i cud be wrong
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2007, 07:03:34 PM »
Awright fitness specialist.  Yuh obviously out with de daggers fuh Lara so it eh have nutten anybody go say dat go make any sense with you.  Talk done.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2007, 07:05:33 PM by Savannah boy »

« Reply #9 on: May 19, 2007, 04:00:30 PM »
I've been ah Lara fanatic since I was ah little child... I was THERE in Antigua when he made the 400.

Lara doesnt bowl and he eh our strong point in the field... being the captain yuh set an example...

Something that he could have certainly helped is by partying less and training more.

Ask the people closet to him about how he prepared for the WC.

stewps.

Me being disappointed has nothing to do with how I feel about de man... He was ah name I heard everyday growin up... I worshipped him, yes I feel let down, but that doesnt mean my points are invalid and biased by it.

« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2007, 08:39:29 PM »
(Lara was a leg spinner boss before he hit the big times).  Lara broke no rules.  All dis curfew business is new thing.  Flintoff had a few drinks and he fall in de water.  He unfit for that?  Yuh want man to train at night too?  When Lara make de 400, he was doing de same thing.  Man jes looking for scapegoat after de WC performance.  Notice all these latest partying insinuations did not come from Trini Sports Writers so one must take it with a grain of salt.  I jes doh buy de notion dat some perceived slackness which I call it have anything to do with his cricket fitness.

I know more than you...having played with and against him.  I am also from St. Ann's not far from he house at all.  Jes ask the Davis Bros, de Carew Bros., Bishop, Gouveia, Shepperd, Scott Rodriguez, Andre Lawrence, Richard Smith and any of his other associates.  All I saying is doh believe everything yuh read and consider the sources.  Worshipping him and knowing him is two different things all together.  How could yuh points be valid when yuh on de oustside looking in?  Listen nah man, I could tell you some things dat happen over the years with the West Indies players dat yuh would not believe but I cannot post dat info here.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2007, 08:55:09 PM by Savannah boy »

« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2007, 10:23:40 PM »
I've been ah Lara fanatic since I was ah little child... I was THERE in Antigua when he made the 400.

Lara doesnt bowl and he eh our strong point in the field... being the captain yuh set an example...

Something that he could have certainly helped is by partying less and training more.

stewps.

Me being disappointed has nothing to do with how I feel about de man... He was ah name I heard everyday growin up... I worshipped him, yes I feel let down, but that doesnt mean my points are invalid and biased by it.

breddah how long you watching lara? ??? schupssssss.... when i was watching lara you was about 1 or 2 years old for the most, what de hell are you talking about, lara bowled leg spin at first and was a very good leg spinner but concentrated on his batting, his sister use to bowl to him as a chile, he also was an excellent fielder but was lazy when he was younger, and when he played county cricket and won every title in county cricket,he was also one of the bess 2nd slips in the history of the west indies, so b4 u come and talk ur shit, know your facts nah... Lara did his job, like the saying goes, dont do as i do, do as i say, but your ass will come back and say some shit like practise what u preach, ok thats true but lara performed, if you as a batsman know you not as good as lara, why would u try 2 do what he does do and fail, you have 2 work harder and if de teammates listened 2 lara, none of dis losing would happen, its jeaoulsy and spite in most cases, thats why Lara failed...

God is de BOSS....

Offline sinned

« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2007, 11:08:54 PM »

stewps.

breddah how long you watching lara? ??? schupssssss.... when i was watching lara you was about 1 or 2 years old for the most, what de hell are you talking about, lara bowled leg spin at first and was a very good leg spinner but concentrated on his batting, his sister use to bowl to him as a chile, he also was an excellent fielder but was lazy when he was younger, and when he played county cricket and won every title in county cricket,he was also one of the bess 2nd slips in the history of the west indies, so b4 u come and talk ur shit, know your facts nah... Lara did his job, like the saying goes, dont do as i do, do as i say, but your ass will come back and say some shit like practise what u preach, ok thats true but lara performed, if you as a batsman know you not as good as lara, why would u try 2 do what he does do and fail, you have 2 work harder and if de teammates listened 2 lara, none of dis losing would happen, its jeaoulsy and spite in most cases, thats why Lara failed...

God is de BOSS....

good points but i think you mean first slips breddah. lara was a first slipper for most of his career