April 25, 2024, 01:38:36 PM

Author Topic: Dale Mitchell hired as Canada's soccer coach  (Read 4896 times)

Dale Mitchell hired as Canada's soccer coach
« on: May 17, 2007, 08:15:39 PM »
Dale Mitchell hired as Canada's soccer coach
May 17, 2007

AP - May 17, 12:46 pm EDT
More Photos

TORONTO (AP) -- Dale Mitchell was hired as Canada's soccer coach Thursday, inheriting a national team that is ranked 94th and has not been to the World Cup since 1986.

He replaces Frank Yallop, who quit last June to coach the Los Angeles Galaxy.

Mitchell, a former star player who was on the '86 team, has coached the under-20 team the last five years. He will move into his new job once the world under-20 championships end in July. His first game will be Aug. 22 at Iceland.

"I think national teams have to be about something more. ... I would never be against having a foreign person on my staff, if that person could help us," Mitchell told a news conference at BMO Field. "But I think there's something to the entire group all being from the same country and all being from the country that they're representing when they go into battle in those qualifying matches."

Mitchell also has worked as an assistant to the national under-17, under-20 and senior teams. He is a former coach of the year in the A-League.

ADVERTISEMENT

"This job to me is essentially about two things," he said. "It's about Canadian players, and it's about CONCACAF where we have to compete. I've been involved with those two things during the last 30 years."

CONCACAF covers North and Central America and the Caribbean, with three automatic qualifying berths for the World Cup and a shot at a fourth via a playoff.

Former national team coach Bob Lenarduzzi believes Canada can qualify for the 2010 World Cup if it takes the right approach.

"We have a good core of players," he said. "And the trick will be to get that core of players and to get them to all buy into a philosophy that is team-first."

Mitchell understands he is in a "results-oriented business."

"To me, it means you have to be resilient and hard to beat defensively, and tight and organized and on the same page," he said. "You have to have a commitment to defending, you have to have an ability to hit teams quickly in today's game. You have to be able to play the transition game."

Stephen Hart, the coach of Canada's under-17 team, was appointed Mitchell's assistant. Hart will lead the Canadian team at next month's Gold Cup next while Mitchell is with the under-20 squad.

« Last Edit: May 17, 2007, 08:21:08 PM by Bally »

Re: Dale Mitchell hired as Canada's soccer coach
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2007, 08:31:38 PM »
ho hum ???

« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2007, 10:28:33 PM »
Wey the big names.  No offence, but the U.S. and Canada have missed a great opportunity to take thier teams to another level; with the resources they have at their disposal, all they needed were two proven coaches, and they would have been on their way.  Instead, they went with coaches, while not bad, will be stepping into the international game with questionable coaching experience for that level.

« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2007, 11:53:34 PM »
Wey the big names.  No offence, but the U.S. and Canada have missed a great opportunity to take thier teams to another level; with the resources they have at their disposal, all they needed were two proven coaches, and they would have been on their way.  Instead, they went with coaches, while not bad, will be stepping into the international game with questionable coaching experience for that level.

What resources Canada have when it come to football?

« Reply #4 on: May 18, 2007, 12:45:13 AM »

If by resources yuh mean financial priority, effort and sheer drive...the U.S come out on top between the two in football. Both countries have the talented individuals but Canada needs to prioritize football more strongly. Hopefully with Toronto FC, a growing number of players in Europe and a burgeoning multicultural population this will happen.

One thing yuh have to credit the U.S for...they does put de money and efforts into sport, whatever it may be. They were overdue for football and they catching up fast (as much as ppl doh like it). There is a nationalistic issue they have in sport too...they doh want to let anybody else do what they think they can do for themselves. Which is probably why they stick with that Bradley feller...100% Yankee. To be fair he eh doing so bad...but time will tell.

As fuh Canada, this Mitchell feller is a gamble in truth. We will see. We all knew SH would not end up with the Head Coach position at present but if he manage to impress with the Canadian side at the Gold Cup and with that assistant coach position afterwards...he could be Canada's Head coach sooner than later.

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2007, 06:35:05 AM »

Canadian fans were hoping for a high profile coach, but nobody is too upset about Mitchell being coach.  He has been successful at every level, playing for Canada at the 1986 World Cup, winning titles with Vancouver in the CSL and A-League, and has consistently taken Canada to the U-20 World Cup.

Of course, with incompetance at the CSA, it took Canada a year to fill the coaching position, when they could have filled it in one week. 

As for Stephen Hart, he once again (three times) failed to qualify Canada for the U-17 World Cup.  There is no question in my mind that Canada should be qualifying for this tournament, and Dale Mitchell has taken the same group that could not accomplish qualification (which is easier) and had great success with Canada's U-20 team.

« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2007, 08:43:19 AM »
oh god SH that man hit you a low blow about the U17 qualification.

hit it back something dey  :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2007, 11:32:07 AM »
     Well lets see what T&T can do with the big name we have,i don't think they have missed any opportunity,this is just a challenge for these Coaches it's more of an opportunity for them to step up the ladder,the thing is Canada Football can't get worst than what it is lets hope from here on it's a way up,i'm just a beleiver in locals and i think they should be given a chance/support. 

Offline ANC2

« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2007, 02:00:14 PM »

Canadian fans were hoping for a high profile coach, but nobody is too upset about Mitchell being coach.  He has been successful at every level, playing for Canada at the 1986 World Cup, winning titles with Vancouver in the CSL and A-League, and has consistently taken Canada to the U-20 World Cup.

Of course, with incompetance at the CSA, it took Canada a year to fill the coaching position, when they could have filled it in one week. 

As for Stephen Hart, he once again (three times) failed to qualify Canada for the U-17 World Cup.  There is no question in my mind that Canada should be qualifying for this tournament, and Dale Mitchell has taken the same group that could not accomplish qualification (which is easier) and had great success with Canada's U-20 team.

Winnipeg Fury point finger to who you want, but Canada have no footballers that can do what needs to be done and that is score goals. Stern John have more International goals in CONCACAF than the whole Canadian team total. I was reading since 1995 Canada did not qualify for the U17, which until 2005 use to be only 2 teams qualifying. Canada no where near the ability of Mexico, Costa Rica and USA. So why you think they should be qualifying. Now to give allyuh props from what I understand the Canadian team should have beaten T&T by a good score line in Jamaica. So maybe we was lucky, but allyuh was lucky in GC 2000. U20 Dale Mitchell  has said in the media that the players are in a good environment and that is essential. 4 teams have always qualified for that U20 tournament. So my logic is that the u17's producing talent for the future. Canada just have to wait its turn. Face it Canada don't care about football. Teams, like US, Costa Rica, Mexico spend more on dem U17 than allyuh spend on the Canada World Cup team. Imagine Canada women have a budget just like the men. Where you ever hear about dat. Face it Canada football cannot be saved by no foreign coach. The last foreign coach you all had failed big time at WC qualification winning only two games and then went on to lose to Cuba in the GC. Face it Canada limited!

« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2007, 05:39:12 PM »
Ariggo Sacchi once said about Italy's exit from Euro 96. "Casaraggi misses from 6 yards out and Zola misses a penalty, and I get fired." That is football. Players know when they let down their fans, a nation and a coach. But that is the naure of the business
« Last Edit: May 18, 2007, 05:47:20 PM by palos »

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2007, 06:34:31 AM »

Both Dale Mitchell and Hart have worked with their respective age groups for years and had a number of opportunities to qualify.  Mitchell has delivered the goods while Hart has consistently fallen short.

If the CSA has decided on a Canadian coach, then based on merit, Mitchell is the clear winner on every level, and rightfully was given the senior coaching position.

« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2007, 07:04:29 AM »
The Canadian Soccer Association implied that this appointment is a ‘horrendous’ job fit for a Canadian.

THE CSA also said they wanted a Canadian Coach

Quote:

“The board was very adamant that they really felt that Canada needed a Canadian coach, for one of many reasons: they felt that it [needed to be] someone who resided in this country permanently,” Linford said. “They felt that given the record of some previous coaches in many countries, they were seen as rather mercenary. The phone rings, and a better offer appears, off they go.”

I think there is some merit in that belief ... unless of course the employment contract is for 4 year period to next worl cup.

Here is the article from the National Post

A ‘horrendous’ job fit for a Canadian
NEW SOCCER COACH NAMED World Cup veteran Dale Mitchell won’t beg for more cash
BY ERIC KOREENNational Post ekoreen@nationalpost.com
TORONTO • It should have been a joyous occasion for Dale Mitchell, the incoming coach of Canada’s national soccer team.

Instead, it sounded a little like an apology for the perception people have of the national program.

“At this point,” Colin Linford, president of the Canadian Soccer Association, said yesterday at BMO Field, “I’d like to introduce you to Dale, and thank him and [assistant] Steve [Hart] for taking on this horrendous job, as some people might see it.”

While Mitchell, the 49-year-old coach who will take over the men’s team after he coaches the under-20 team in this summer’s FIFA Under-20 World Cup, had nothing but positive things to say about his new gig, it surely isn’t a job without its headaches, as Linford alluded to.

The biggest problem, as is often the case with sports in Canada that are not hockey, is money — specifically, the lack of it.

Frank Yallop, the team’s last full-time head coach who left the position in June of last year, cited money to play matches as one of the reasons he departed for the Los Angeles Galaxy of Major League Soccer. Hart had been the interim coach since Yallop’s exit.

Mitchell made it clear that he would not use funding as a crutch if the team fails.

And he stressed it was everybody’s job to make sure the team is well-prepared. “It’s not only a matter of having money, it’s a matter of using the money smartly. It’s being clever with it.”

Linford, however, was sending assurances that Mitchell would have a sizable budget to work with.

“We’ve said that we must play more games,” Linford said. “In order to do that, we have to generate revenue. If it’s not sponsorship, then it has to be games.”

By selecting Mitchell, the Association has gone with its second straight Canadian coach to head the men’s team, after the failed experiment that was Holger Osiek’s four-year tenure at the helm.

But it wasn’t for a lack of trying. Brazilian Rene Simoes and Argentine Osvaldo Ardiles were both interviewed, with negotiations with Simoes only falling through last month when the CSA’s board of directors balked at approving a contract.

Linford indicated that after the experience with Osiek, it was important to go with a Canadian. Mitchell’s new assistant, Stephen Hart, was the other finalist for the job.

“The board was very adamant that they really felt that Canada needed a Canadian coach, for one of many reasons: they felt that it [needed to be] someone who resided in this country permanently,” Linford said. “They felt that given the record of some previous coaches in many countries, they were seen as rather mercenary. The phone rings, and a better offer appears, off they go.”

“If you look at the top five teams in the world, you look at Brazil, Argentina, Italy, France, teams like that, they always hire their own people,” Mitchell added. “I think when you hire your own people, you keep your identity.”

It is Mitchell’s identity that made him the eventual choice for the CSA.

Like Yallop, he was a member of the 1986 World Cup team. With 19 goals as a Canadian senior, the Vancouver native is tied for the team’s all-time record.

More importantly, he has led the last two under-20 teams to World Youth Championships, and will again head the team as Canada hosts the now-renamed tournament this summer — Hart will guide the senior team in the CONCACAF Gold Cup in the United States in June.

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #12 on: May 19, 2007, 08:53:05 AM »

The CSA Board are full of sh*t.   They simply don't want anyone to rock their boat.

The last coach (Frank Yallop) was Canadian, and he bolted to MLS in the middle of his contract.

« Reply #13 on: May 19, 2007, 09:47:02 AM »

The CSA Board are full of sh*t.   They simply don't want anyone to rock their boat.

The last coach (Frank Yallop) was Canadian, and he bolted to MLS in the middle of his contract.

Albert Einstein said the definition of insaniity is "doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results".

So if de "dont rock de boat" attitude prevails, den i predict no world cup for Canada for some time.

« Reply #14 on: May 19, 2007, 10:03:09 AM »
“If you look at the top five teams in the world, you look at Brazil, Argentina, Italy, France, teams like that, they always hire their own people,” Mitchell added. “I think when you hire your own people, you keep your identity.”

What BS!  What de hell is Canadian Soccer "identity"?

Anonymity?

Steupes......Dem people does jes talk out dem ass wee.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #15 on: May 19, 2007, 10:45:37 AM »

Anonymity?

hahahhhah Canada really feel them have something untapped. No foreign coach would make a difference, because most good foreign coaches demand plenty plenty money and they demand many games at the international level.
Canada can't even get a football league going . The MLS who they cry down for years had to pave the way for them. And that team only have one Canadian starting, what does that tell you?

« Reply #16 on: May 19, 2007, 11:01:11 AM »

Anonymity?

hahahhhah Canada really feel them have something untapped. No foreign coach would make a difference, because most good foreign coaches demand plenty plenty money and they demand many games at the international level.
Canada can't even get a football league going . The MLS who they cry down for years had to pave the way for them. And that team only have one Canadian starting, what does that tell you?

Notice he conveniently leff out de country dem does look up to as de mecca of football and football coaches....England.

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #17 on: May 19, 2007, 12:55:22 PM »

Anonymity?

Notice he conveniently leff out de country dem does look up to as de mecca of football and football coaches....England.

Canada had the money to pay Simoes, they simply chose not too.  As stated earlier, the problem is noit that Mitchell is the coach, the problem is the CSA Board that played games for a year trying to hire a domestic based coach (and the Board is primarilly the Provincial Associations).

As for the English influence, I would say T&T has a far greater English influence.  The last English coach Canada had was Tony Waiters, who took us to the World Cup in 1986.  Since then we have had 2 Canadians and a German.

As well, unlike T&T, only a minority of our foreign based players play in Britian.

And no, we do not have a domestic league, but we do have domestic teams.  Does T&T have a truly professional league, or is it largely semi-pro, similar to the many leagues and clubs that Canada possess ?

TFC are trully professional, with a sold-out 20,000 seat stadium.  Vancouver Whitecaps and Montreal Impact dwarf any of the 'pro' T&T' clubs.

Offline ANC2

« Reply #18 on: May 19, 2007, 01:20:47 PM »

Anonymity?

Canada had the money to pay Simoes, they simply chose not too.  As stated earlier, the problem is noit that Mitchell is the coach, the problem is the CSA Board that played games for a year trying to hire a domestic based coach (and the Board is primarilly the Provincial Associations).

As for the English influence, I would say T&T has a far greater English influence.  The last English coach Canada had was Tony Waiters, who took us to the World Cup in 1986.  Since then we have had 2 Canadians and a German.

As well, unlike T&T, only a minority of our foreign based players play in Britian.

And no, we do not have a domestic league, but we do have domestic teams.  Does T&T have a truly professional league, or is it largely semi-pro, similar to the many leagues and clubs that Canada possess ?

TFC are trully professional, with a sold-out 20,000 seat stadium.  Vancouver Whitecaps and Montreal Impact dwarf any of the 'pro' T&T' clubs.

Man coming here to argue Canada shit on the board and don't even know his soccer history. Tony Waiters had two chances with the Canadian Team. Then they had a Scottish guy Tony Taylor whom I have met on a couple of outings in TO with my daughters team (that is another story). Then they had Bobby Lennaduzzi, followed by Osieck (a German), now here is the kicker Yallop is English born in England and played for Canada through grand parents or great gan or something so  ;D

Offline Winnipeg Fury

« Reply #19 on: May 19, 2007, 02:51:04 PM »

Anonymity?

Man coming here to argue Canada shit on the board and don't even know his soccer history. Tony Waiters had two chances with the Canadian Team. Then they had a Scottish guy Tony Taylor whom I have met on a couple of outings in TO with my daughters team (that is another story). Then they had Bobby Lennaduzzi, followed by Osieck (a German), now here is the kicker Yallop is English born in England and played for Canada through grand parents or great gan or something so  ;D

Yes, but Waiters, Taylor and Yallop are all Canadian citizens, and were all involved in Canadian soccer.