April 23, 2024, 01:56:03 PM

Author Topic: FA Cup Final: Manchester United vs Chelsea  (Read 21447 times)

FA Cup Final: Manchester United vs Chelsea
« on: May 17, 2007, 08:34:46 AM »
                                          --The FA Cup Final 2007--

The FA Cup sponsored by E.ON
The Final
3pm, Saturday 19 May 2007
Wembley Stadium
Winning club receives £1,000,000
Listen Live with TheFA.com
FA CUP FINAL LIVE AND EXCLUSIVE ON SPORTSMAX !!!
Saturday May 19
Chelsea vs. Manchester United
@ 9 a.m. Jamaica Time (10 a.m. Eastern Caribbean Time(TT Time))

Match Officials
Referee: Steve Bennett
Assistant Referees: Peter Kirkup and David Bryan
Fourth Official: Howard Webb

Team Colours

Chelsea: Blue shirts, blue shorts, white socks
Manchester United: Red shirts, white shorts, black socks

Chelsea v Manchester United
FA Cup final
Date: Saturday, 19 May
Kick-off: 1500 BST
Venue: Wembley
Referee: Steve Bennett (Kent)
Watch (in UK): 1240 BST, BBC ONE. Highlights 2250 BST, BBC ONE
Listen: BBC Radio Five Live
Updates: BBC Sport website and mobile

Manchester United striker Louis Saha has been ruled out of the FA Cup final against Chelsea with a knee injury.

Saha has failed to overcome a knee problem to play.

United right-back Gary Neville has been ruled out with an ankle injury
, while Chelsea are without Michael Ballack, Ricardo Carvalho and Andriy Shevchenko.

Blues boss Jose Mourinho also lamented his lack of players and also has doubts over Ashley Cole, Jon Obi-Mikel and Arjen Robben.

Mourinho suggested he may have to play keeper Hilario up front if his injury problems continued but it is more likely to use Israeli youngster Ben Sahar.

United counterpart Sir Alex Ferguson is expected to have central defender Nemanja Vidic back to partner Rio Ferdinand at the back.

The Serbian played in the derby win at Manchester City when United clinched the title before sitting out the draw at Chelsea and the final game of the season in the defeat by West Ham.

Saha's absence opens the door for Alan Smith or Ole Gunnar Solskjaer to play a prominent role.

"Louis is out," said Ferguson.

"He picked up the knee injury in Milan and we did another scan on Monday to identify the problem more clearly."

Chelsea (from): Cech, Hilario, Cudicini, Geremi, Ferreira, A Cole, Terry, Boulahrouz, Diarra, Makelele, Obi, Lampard, Essien, Kalou, Wright-Phillips, Bridge, Robben, Drogba, Sahar.

Man Utd (from):
Van der Sar, Kuszczak, Brown, O'Shea, Ferdinand, Vidic, Evra, Heinze, Ronaldo, Scholes, Carrick, Fletcher, Giggs, Richardson, Eagles, Rooney, Smith, Solskjaer.

BIG-MATCH FACTS

Chelsea against Manchester United is a fitting fixture with which to end the domestic season, but it's only the third time in history that the leading two clubs in the League have graced the FA Cup final. In 1913, Aston Villa beat the champions Sunderland 1-0, and in 1986 champions Liverpool did the League and FA Cup double, in beating their Merseyside rivals and League runners-up Everton 3-1. Indeed every FA Cup final from 1995 has been won by one of the top four finishers in this season's Premiership. Having spent the top flight campaign chasing Manchester United, Chelsea are now looking to the FA Cup to compensate for surrendering their League crown to the Red Devils in what has now become the Blues' most important game of the season.
The Londoners were the last club to win the FA Cup final at the old Wembley in 2000 and are keen to be the first to lift the silverware at the magnificent new structure, built at a cost of more than £750 million. Seven years ago, Chelsea beat Aston Villa 1-0 in the end-of-season showpiece with a goal from Roberto Di Matteo. The same player scored the fastest goal in Wembley Cup Final history three years earlier, when his strike after 43 seconds led to a 2-0 victory over Middlesbrough. It wasn't so clear cut in 1970 as the final went to a replay. The original tie, played on a disgraceful surface that had earlier hosted the Horse of the Year Show, ended 2-2 after 120 minutes. Chelsea prevailed 2-1 in the replay at Old Trafford. Peter Osgood ensured he scored in every round, and David Webb won it in extra time. The west Londoners qualified for the final only once in the six years it was held at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff. They lost 2-0 to Arsenal in 2002.

The FA Cup remains the only domestic trophy Chelsea have not won under owner Roman Abramovich and manager Jose Mourinho. They go into Saturday's game in front of 90,000 and a global television audience on their longest winless run in the Mourinho era of five matches. They ended the Premiership season with five draws, interspersed by the loss on penalties to Liverpool in the Champions League semi-final.

This will be the ninth time that managers Mourinho and Sir Alex Ferguson have gone head-to-head. The Portuguese has the better record with four wins, one loss and three draws. The defeat was 1-0 in last season's visit to Old Trafford when United ended Chelsea's 40-match unbeaten Premiership run. Chelsea gained revenge by clinching their second straight Premier League title with a 3-0 success in last season's reverse fixture. This season's two meetings were all square, although the Stamford Bridge fixture was an uncompetitive affair as the title had just been claimed by the Red Devils.
Man Utd 1-0 Chelsea Report (Premiership, 6 November 2005)
Chelsea 3-0 Man Utd 1-0 Chelsea Report (Premiership, 29 April 2006)
Man Utd 1-1 Chelsea Report (Premiership, 26 November 2006)
Chelsea 0-0 Man Utd Report (Premiership, 9 May 2007)

Goalkeeper Petr CECH could well be celebrating an early birthday present should Chelsea win. The Czech Republic international turns 25 the day after the final.

MANCHESTER UNITED
take on their free-spending fierce rivals eager to complete a first League and FA Cup double since famously completing the treble with the Champions League in 1999. At the same time they would also deny Chelsea a Carling Cup and FA Cup double.

The Old Trafford giants are making a record 18th appearance in the FA Cup final, and are setting their sights on lifting the trophy for a 12th time, thus increasing the outright record they already hold. Seven of the previous 17 final appearances were under Sir Alex, and five of those were victorious (1990, 1994, 1996, 1999 and 2004). Ferguson has won 18 major trophies as United manager and 27 titles in total in his managerial career in Scottish and English football - a post-war record.

While Chelsea eased their way into the quarter-finals with home ties against lower League opposition in Macclesfield, Nottingham Forest and Norwich, before dismissing Tottenham after a replay, and Blackburn after extra time, Manchester United have come up against Premiership opposition all the way. They accounted for Aston Villa, Portsmouth and Watford at the first time of asking, and Reading and Middlesbrough after replays. Their Cup run has produced 23 goals, 15 by United, whereas Chelsea's has yielded 26 goals, 20 by the Blues.

The Red Devils had dominated meetings with Chelsea in football's oldest knock out competition. This is the 10th time they find themselves facing each other. United lead by eight wins to one. Since Chelsea's solitary success in the quarter-finals in 1950, United have won seven clashes, six at the first time of asking. They needed a replay on the most recent occasion, in the last four in 1999. A goalless draw at the Theatre of Dreams was followed by a 0-2 success in west London when Dwight Yorke scored both. United's most important victory came in the 1994 final, when Eric Cantona was at his height. The Frenchman scored two penalties in seven minutes after the hour of a match which had been level pegging until then. Mark Hughes and Brian McClair were the other scorers in a 4-0 triumph against Glenn Hoddle's side that completed United's first ever League and FA Cup double.

This final could provide Paul Scholes with a third FA Cup winners' medal after successes in 1999 and 2004, but Ryan Giggs could go one better, and become the first player to claim five winners' medals since Jimmy Forrest of Blackburn Rovers in 1891. Victory would also give the 33-year old Welshmen his 17th major honour, which would equal the all-time record of Liverpool's Phil Neal.

The PFA's Player and Young Player of the Year and United's 23-goal leading scorer this season, Ronaldo, will be making his 150th start for the club if he lines-up for the kick off.

« Last Edit: May 18, 2007, 06:56:41 AM by Small Magician »

Offline doublet750

• mi nuevo nombre es dinho mi vida es joga bonito
Re: FA Cup Final: Manchester United vs Chelsea
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2007, 09:31:21 AM »
and so it begins

« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2007, 10:16:01 AM »
Local Trinis

If you want to take in d game with Atmosphere

Come down to Trotters Sports Bar in St.Clair

News has been confirmed that they are opening early to show the FA Final

doors open at 9:30  Kick off at 10

Be There

« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2007, 11:29:11 AM »
No Man Utd Thread can be complete without the Blacklist  :devil:

MAN UTD PLAYA HATERS

Touches,
Fitzinho,
Ryan,
toppa,
THE Polished Hoe,
Mango Chow!,
andre samuel ,
Peong,
doublet750,
SOBRIQUET,
lickslikefire,
samo,
real madness,
Grande man,
dcs,
breezers,
jumbie,
trinikev
Maxg
Benchwarmer
Gladman

:beermug:  :devil:

no love for d haters  :D
« Last Edit: May 18, 2007, 07:56:05 PM by die hard warrior »

« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2007, 04:00:15 PM »
funny....cup final day...should be good...could only watch de first half as my team kicks off the ceramic cooler sweat at 11...shit

Man U songs for Fa cup final
« Reply #5 on: May 18, 2007, 04:54:41 AM »
got this forwarded to me this morning from a Man U supporter:

Jose, wherever you may be

Ji Sung park ate your dog for tea

Special one, your dog is dead

Why don't you get a cat instead

Mourinho are you listenin'?

Because we know your dog went missin'

We heard him bark

so we fed him to Park

eating in a stir fry wonderland

« Last Edit: May 18, 2007, 09:15:30 AM by superoli »

Re: Man U songs for Fa cup final
« Reply #6 on: May 18, 2007, 05:56:52 AM »
ah can't believe man circulating this kind of ignorant, and marginally racist/xenophobic crap  ::)

« Reply #7 on: May 18, 2007, 06:54:31 AM »
ah can't believe man circulating this kind of ignorant, and marginally racist/xenophobic crap  ::)

wow...   just because its a Utd Chant rite?

Offline doublet750

• mi nuevo nombre es dinho mi vida es joga bonito
« Reply #8 on: May 18, 2007, 11:47:36 AM »

MAN UTD PLAYA HATERS

Touches
west coast,
Fitzinho,
Ryan,
toppa,
THE Polished Hoe,
Mango Chow!,
andre samuel ,
Peong,
doublet750,
SOBRIQUET,
lickslikefire,
samo,
real madness,
Grande man,
dcs,
breezers,
jumbie,
trinikev
Maxg
Benchwarmer
Gladman

DHW stop copy and pasting this blasted list nah man....its not a MANURE thread...its a MANURE vs CHELSKI thread so we have every riite to hate against you (not tht we needed one) ;D

Tri state faithfull Nevada Smiths will be having the game get there early i emplore you if you plan to go

74 Third Avenue (Between 11th and 12th Streets), NYC (212) 982-2591

http://www.grahamecurtis.com/nevadasmiths/index.html

personally after watching chelsea lose to fool there i tink im just gona hope sopcast showing it and keep the sucide kit nearby   :rotfl:

Offline killadrilla

• King Thierry
« Reply #9 on: May 18, 2007, 12:04:18 PM »
Anyone know what channel it showin in the US?

« Reply #10 on: May 18, 2007, 12:06:56 PM »

Let me say it in language you can understand Smalls... I dont give a f*** if its a ManUre chant, a Kakapool chant, a Chelspree chant, an Arse n Hole chant, a Real Tata chant or a bARSOLONA chant - the dog eating asians is as racist a stereotype as the banana eating black.

This is even more unsavoury as it is one of their own players. When Italian do this, they are racist, when the spanish do this they are racist. If the germans do this, oh lord, they are all Nazis.

When the englidh do it, they are passionate football fans  ???

« Reply #11 on: May 18, 2007, 12:20:08 PM »
Anyone know what channel it showin in the US?

so far all I see is Setanta PPV  :(

« Reply #12 on: May 18, 2007, 01:00:27 PM »

MAN UTD PLAYA HATERS

Touches
west coast,
Fitzinho,
Ryan,
toppa,
THE Polished Hoe,
Mango Chow!,
andre samuel ,
Peong,
doublet750,
SOBRIQUET,
lickslikefire,
samo,
real madness,
Grande man,
dcs,
breezers,
jumbie,
trinikev
Maxg
Benchwarmer
Gladman

DHW stop copy and pasting this blasted list nah man....its not a MANURE thread...its a MANURE vs CHELSKI thread so we have every riite to hate against you (not tht we needed one) ;D

Tri state faithfull Nevada Smiths will be having the game get there early i emplore you if you plan to go

74 Third Avenue (Between 11th and 12th Streets), NYC (212) 982-2591

http://www.grahamecurtis.com/nevadasmiths/index.html

personally after watching chelsea lose to fool there i tink im just gona hope sopcast showing it and keep the sucide kit nearby   :rotfl:
  :devil: ah waiting for d cut tail saturday for alyuh  :devil:  :beermug:

« Reply #13 on: May 18, 2007, 05:06:17 PM »

Let me say it in language you can understand Smalls... I dont give a f*** if its a ManUre chant, a Kakapool chant, a Chelspree chant, an Arse n Hole chant, a Real Tata chant or a bARSOLONA chant - the dog eating asians is as racist a stereotype as the banana eating black.

This is even more unsavoury as it is one of their own players. When Italian do this, they are racist, when the spanish do this they are racist. If the germans do this, oh lord, they are all Nazis.

Midknight, may I, at this juncture, quote somebody..... ;)

pay attention man...sense does make some people break out in hives on this board !

AND DHW, you could take my name off de list JUST for this Game. :devil: :devil:
chelski ent winning nuttin :D
« Last Edit: May 18, 2007, 06:21:54 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #14 on: May 18, 2007, 05:31:31 PM »

Nah...because it is distasteful.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2007, 05:34:06 PM by JDB »

« Reply #15 on: May 18, 2007, 05:34:08 PM »
Well my money on ManU because I don't want Chelski to win a dam thing.
All that money and their football is dower to say the least.

Offline ttcom

• us/trini/jamaican
« Reply #16 on: May 18, 2007, 05:37:35 PM »
Die hard warrior, you forget my name in the the manuu haters list.
Stupidity is an elemental force for which no earthquake is a match."
-Karl Kraus

« Reply #17 on: May 18, 2007, 05:38:55 PM »
Anyone ever wondered what Jose says in his half-time team talks?

Chelsea to win 2-0, Drogba & Cole (according to the Special One)  ;)

« Reply #18 on: May 18, 2007, 05:43:43 PM »
Fox Soccer Canada brining it LIVE at 10am Eastern Saturday Mornin.  It doesn't say on de Fox Soccer Channel listings (For de Yanks) dat dey bringin de Final

Then at 5pm Eastern dey bringin EPL Season Review and at 6pm Eastern dey bringin EPL Goals of the Season.  Dat comin on both FSC Canada and USA.

If is one ting bout de EPL.....dey Marketin is de bess of all de Leagues by far.

« Reply #19 on: May 18, 2007, 06:17:00 PM »
any online streams?

« Reply #20 on: May 18, 2007, 06:19:51 PM »
question...is it CONFIRMED that they showing the game on cable in Trinidad??

know they kinda iffy with that sh..

btw..any answers to what happen with La liga?..separate thread..but say wha

« Reply #21 on: May 18, 2007, 06:52:19 PM »
Well my money on ManU because I don't want Chelski to win a dam thing.
All that money and their football is dower to say the least.

Cyber bet. Eh!
« Last Edit: May 18, 2007, 06:54:44 PM by Ent! »

« Reply #22 on: May 18, 2007, 07:46:08 PM »
FSC is showing it delayed on Tuesday night I believe.

I will try and catch it on a SOPCast station and/or listen on the radio.

« Reply #23 on: May 18, 2007, 07:53:10 PM »
question...is it CONFIRMED that they showing the game on cable in Trinidad??

know they kinda iffy with that sh..

btw..any answers to what happen with La liga?..separate thread..but say wha
game showing on CNC 3 live in d morning confirmed.
« Last Edit: May 18, 2007, 09:10:07 PM by die hard warrior »

« Reply #24 on: May 18, 2007, 09:27:28 PM »
How alyah could support a team that blatantly ,showing they in trust with the devil is beyond me jed,that is just not a logo u know  ::)

Offline rastafari

« Reply #25 on: May 19, 2007, 04:47:56 AM »

Midknight i am not a Man united fan, i am supporting Chelsea but if you think it is racist to say that,then i  am not agreeing with you. The chant is about one of their players who happens to be Korean that eats Jose's dog.

As far as i know, dog is one of the Koreans favourite food and they are proud to eat dog.
What does eating  dog have to do with racism?

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI
« Last Edit: May 19, 2007, 04:50:37 AM by rastafari »

Offline black chinee

« Reply #26 on: May 19, 2007, 05:28:49 AM »
lets go Chelsea.... If Arsenal not dey, ah want anybody but Man BOOOOOOO to win it :devil: :devil:

« Reply #27 on: May 19, 2007, 05:45:45 AM »

Well said,these guys will never understand the impact this type of racist remark has on asian people or all people...............

« Reply #28 on: May 19, 2007, 06:26:36 AM »
lets go Chelsea.... If Arsenal not dey, ah want anybody but Man BOOOOOOO to win it :devil: :devil:
common man utd  :devil:

« Reply #29 on: May 19, 2007, 06:57:33 AM »
come on CHELSEA come on CHELSEA come on CHELSEA