March 28, 2024, 07:56:59 AM

Author Topic: Any landscapers or green thumbs here?  (Read 22151 times)

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
Any landscapers or green thumbs here?
« on: May 21, 2007, 09:14:06 AM »
I am doing battle with the parasitic English Vine. It seems to want to take over my little fowlcoob.

Any suggestions? (Other than prayers and discussions with the plant)

Re: Any landscapers or green thumbs here?
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2007, 09:20:47 AM »
you ever use Round Up?
use it carefully as it kills everything
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2007, 09:23:53 AM »
No, this is not simply a weed and the land is heavily forested so I don't want that in my yard. I want a specific remedy.
Advice and practical help. I've already done the google thing.

« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2007, 09:25:26 AM »
eh eh I have used Round up ;D ;D ;D ;D
i ent just google that :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:
and yes it does KILL everything ;) ;)
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2007, 09:27:31 AM »
I've got dogword, tulips and other ground cover all over. I don't want that damaged.

..your google skills preceed you..lol

« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2007, 09:33:02 AM »
and when I dont want to kill everything I have used a small paint brush to apply the Round Up to the leaves of the weed.

« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2007, 09:41:12 AM »
<sits back and watch>

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2007, 09:43:16 AM »
this isn't a plant, or even a tree. The vine is a parasite, not native to North America, that has been allowed to grow without being checked or cut back for years.

It has ckoked off three 50 foot maple trees that will need to come down. It was beginning to grow onto the house but we've got that pulled back. It has taken over a large section of yard as ground cover.

a paintbrush isn't practical... :(

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2007, 09:44:13 AM »
<sits back and watch>

Rooks...if I hear ONE scandalous laugh from you, I coming up de road and pelt ting in yuh house.

« Reply #9 on: May 21, 2007, 09:47:03 AM »
<sits back and watch>

Rooks...if I hear ONE scandalous laugh from you, I coming up de road and pelt ting in yuh house.

make sure whatever you pelting it solid cause ah jus finsh vaccuming  >:(

« Reply #10 on: May 21, 2007, 09:50:45 AM »
this isn't a plant, or even a tree. The vine is a parasite, not native to North America, that has been allowed to grow without being checked or cut back for years.

It has ckoked off three 50 foot maple trees that will need to come down. It was beginning to grow onto the house but we've got that pulled back. It has taken over a large section of yard as ground cover.

my advice is to call a company. u will get the best advice from them. I use to work at a  lawn care company so i think is best if  call someoen with expertise either tree removal or somehting like that.
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #11 on: May 21, 2007, 09:51:23 AM »
*goes to look for some ballons to fill wid red koolaid*

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #12 on: May 21, 2007, 09:55:56 AM »
my advice is to call a company. u will get the best advice from them. I use to work at a  lawn care company so i think is best if  call someoen with expertise either tree removal or somehting like that.

Have the guy coming again this evening. Was hoping to get some advice from someone other than a paid consultant. You know how that goes.
Had a tree guy in already and it will cost us a college fund to remove those 3 trees, even if we leave the stumps. But...no one send and call me, so ah banning meh jaw.

The boardies in Europe will know this vine, they allow it to grow there, but I think the trees and houses are made differently and can stand up to this vine.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2007, 09:57:46 AM by Queen Macoomeh »

« Reply #13 on: May 21, 2007, 09:57:29 AM »
:o :o
or hor dat is ya new Hood you in now den
it must look like dis den
in dat case you may try this then

eh eh is dat time ahready?
whey fooot, I have to go
good luck wid dat BIG armen job eh
later ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Last Edit: May 21, 2007, 10:05:09 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #14 on: May 21, 2007, 09:58:13 AM »
I am doing battle with the parasitic English Vine. It seems to want to take over my little fowlcoob.

forget de bush lewwe cook de chicken

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #15 on: May 21, 2007, 10:00:29 AM »

forget de bush lewwe cook de chicken

I'll leave you right where I find you.

« Reply #16 on: May 21, 2007, 10:00:33 AM »
*thinks - expensive furniture
<sits on the floor instead>

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #17 on: May 21, 2007, 10:05:16 AM »

ay ay, speaking of furniture, yuh know mine not here yet? I'm going to call and make some noise.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2007, 10:09:35 AM by Queen Macoomeh »

« Reply #18 on: May 21, 2007, 10:10:06 AM »
I hope ya ent buy de furniture from Vanaik Furniture and Mattress store on Dundas St. E. ;)

« Reply #19 on: May 21, 2007, 10:11:44 AM »

ay ay, speaking of furniture, yuh know mine not here yet? I'm going to call and make some noise.

what you mean call ??? What dat mean ???

girl is to ah driveby walk in dey business wid ya purse under ya arm and dey delivery receipt wrap up in ya hand....go ah direct walk straight to de skinnest girl ya could find in customer service.

speak reel fass to say "lemmespeaktodeymanager NOW".

as god make moses and noah build ah double decker ark with funishings, dey delivery truck in front ya house in 15 minutes.

ya could tank meh when ya see meh

« Reply #20 on: May 21, 2007, 10:12:05 AM »
I hope ya ent buy de furniture from Vanaik Furniture and Mattress store on Dundas St. E. ;)

ah thought you left ???

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #21 on: May 21, 2007, 10:14:03 AM »
 :rotfl: never heard of them..lol

just got off the phone  :rotfl: :rotfl: de lady say how she doh have everythign ready and if I want partial delivery but it go cost me more.

people brave eh?

I cooly asked for her manager, spoke softly and told them I expect my furniture delivered WITHOUT extra charge even if they have to bring one chair at a time via donkey cart or bicycle.

*steupse* Vine, salespeople or customer service, somebody go dead today.

« Reply #22 on: May 21, 2007, 10:15:34 AM »
ah thought you left ???
Oh gaum, I scruntin fa some ole talk today as is wha she name holiday?
easy meh up nuh ;D ;D

« Reply #23 on: May 21, 2007, 10:17:37 AM »
:rotfl: never heard of them..lol

just got off the phone  :rotfl: :rotfl: de lady say how she doh have everythign ready and if I want partial delivery but it go cost me more.

people brave eh?

I cooly asked for her manager, spoke softly and told them I expect my furniture delivered WITHOUT extra charge even if they have to bring one chair at a time via donkey cart or bicycle.

*steupse* Vine, salespeople or customer service, somebody go dead today.

yep, play mad and throw anyting at meh house nah...

but girl i doh call, i walk in...
those businesses feel I NEED THEM, when in fact DEY NEED MY MONEY...you alright

i walk in
« Last Edit: May 21, 2007, 10:19:13 AM by Rookmin V. Maharaj »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #24 on: May 21, 2007, 10:17:47 AM »
ah thought you left ???
Oh gaum, I scruntin fa some ole talk today as is wha she name holiday?
easy meh up nuh ;D ;D

oh yes is ah holiday. Ah forget. Is so when yuh not gainfully employed.
Every day meh foot cockup, ah sipping mint juleps and watching the illegal immigrants work in the yard.

« Reply #25 on: May 21, 2007, 10:20:04 AM »
excuse me miss, I jez reach home from de people wuk since midnight  ;)
holiday or not is wuk in meh back side.

Imagine day sen dis wid de Queen Sofa :devil:
addendum: ah find a better one.

That is a massive job
« Last Edit: May 21, 2007, 10:28:51 AM by WestCoast »

« Reply #26 on: May 21, 2007, 10:21:59 AM »
Imagine day sen dis wid de Queen Sofa :devil:

<stares at WC>

so ya get any advice yet Queen or ya still waiting on dese people in here ?

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #27 on: May 21, 2007, 10:32:40 AM »
lol I not waiting on the board...lol

called the landscaper guy again and he made some suggestions. I want to work with him not sit back and watch. I have to learn to be a hands on kinda girl and that is a feat for me who never got her nails broken or hands dirty.
Being royalty has it's drawbacks.  :rotfl:

Phone just ring again, another manager offering apologies. I told him I don't want apologies, I want my furniture.

I did walk in last week and chose the largest person behind the desk. They had told me it would be here last Friday.

If it wasn't for the fact that we really like these pieces I would cancel y'know...and go by WC's furniture store and get the cokyea furnitures wid de posey vase.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #28 on: May 21, 2007, 10:36:07 AM »
[ :o :o
or hor dat is ya new Hood you in now den
it must look like dis den
in dat case you may try this then

actually, you're close..it is almost at that stage. Can't tell if this is the same vine I have here though. But it done teef my 3 trees. I want to remove it before it injures more. Strong little bugger.

I might use the tnt in troot but the neighbours frown on explosions..  :rotfl:

« Reply #29 on: May 21, 2007, 10:38:47 AM »
good luck with that
your work is cut out for you
I figure is one small vine

tell de furniture people to buy some of dese

Miss Rooks Lady, I gorn dis time
Have a Great Holiday
« Last Edit: May 21, 2007, 10:41:56 AM by WestCoast »