April 28, 2024, 10:00:26 PM

Author Topic: Trinidad and Tobago 100 years behind and counting?  (Read 3623 times)

Trinidad and Tobago 100 years behind and counting?
« on: May 21, 2007, 11:14:42 PM »
I had the most interesting and not so flattering news on our little twin island republic this week , and i would like to share it with the members on this site. a female friend and former co worker of mine who now works for the WTO as an international investigator, was extremely exited and couldn't wait to tell me she was chosen to go to T&T on a job assignment and wanted me to come along as a chaperon, of which i refused, BC of other obligations.                                                                                                             upon her return we met for lunch and she began to relay the news of her trip. it seem that she had a fondness for Trini especially Tobago, but nothing could prepare me for what she had to say about the state of affairs in our beloved T&T.  she said our poverty level was on par with countries like Malaysia, Nepal ,Pakistan, Gaza, and singapore. she said almost 75 % of tringbagonians live just about or below the poverty line and our middle class was almost non existant. she also said there was a high disparity between the wealthy and the have nots. it was also brought to my attention that our sewer system and hydro electric system was 90 yrs behind time. she also  told me that T&T has some of the wealthiest ppl in the western hemisphere and for a country with all that wealth and such a small population, with pure uninhabited rain forest and breath taking land scapes, rich in marine life natural gas and oil, there was no reason for such poor infrastructure and high poverty rate. in her final analysis, she concluded that we were high on unemployment , poverty and illiteracy, and 120 yrs behind in technology.             positive.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2007, 01:27:05 AM by just cool »

Re: Trinidad and Tobago 100 years behind and counting?
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2007, 02:07:48 AM »
I think it makes a big difference where you set the poverty line.  If she has more details on that it would help explain why it so different from what our governments says.

From the Hansard for the SENATE Tuesday, October 17, 2006 pg 186
"The Minister of Finance, the Hon. Sen. Enill, said that the preliminary report by the European Union on the standard of living conditions is that the poverty rate in this country is 17 per cent. I am relying on the documents that they furnished for us with the Appropriation Bill which quotes a figure of 24 per cent. Those documents said that according to a 2005 survey, poverty stood at 24 per cent and that document identified 9 per cent as living in a situation where they do not know where their next meal is coming from; the indigent."

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2007, 02:51:34 AM »

Now reading in the paper that the same World Bank showed major reductions in our poverty levels.

"NOBODY should be surprised that international agencies like the World Bank and the IMF have rated Trinidad and Tobago among the leading countries with respect to economic development. It would have taken a complete fool in government, or a big-time bandit so placed, to have done otherwise given the high levels of revenue we have enjoyed over the past five years or so. So our GDP and GNP will have grown in tandem with the steep increases in prices of oil, gas and downstream energy products that account for most of our revenue. These and other indicators used by such agencies will also show a major reduction in poverty levels and almost zero unemployment."

IMF 'ranking' blinds us to poverty amidst plenty
Raffique Shah
Trinidad Express
Sunday, May 20th 2007

The rest of the article is in line with a lot of what you have said already.

« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2007, 03:31:10 AM »
DCS you're giving me a big job, but since i am the one to initiate this dialog, i will try my best to get the proper stats. just like you i found it hard to believe that T&T exist in such an impovrished state.but then again , i don't know what consensus is used by the WTO to evaluate ecconomic development, especially in developing countries.  i wan't to believe that they used their own system of eval base on infrastructure, foreign invesments, diseases, health care, unemployment, and iliteracy, bc she seemed to mention these things more than any thing else, but she was very apprehensive about telling me the down side of her trip until i forced it out of her. you know how white broards are, seem like she was tring to spare my feelings , i got to say though, it bothered me quite a bit.       positive
« Last Edit: May 22, 2007, 05:37:05 AM by just cool »

« Reply #4 on: May 22, 2007, 09:10:15 AM »
DCS you're giving me a big job, but since i am the one to initiate this dialog, i will try my best to get the proper stats. just like you i found it hard to believe that T&T exist in such an impovrished state.but then again , i don't know what consensus is used by the WTO to evaluate ecconomic development, especially in developing countries.  i wan't to believe that they used their own system of eval base on infrastructure, foreign invesments, diseases, health care, unemployment, and iliteracy, bc she seemed to mention these things more than any thing else, but she was very apprehensive about telling me the down side of her trip until i forced it out of her. you know how white broards are, seem like she was tring to spare my feelings , i got to say though, it bothered me quite a bit.       positive

breds you should have known dis breddah, look at where we come from and you'll see how the nation is, when man driving bentley home and fellahs beggin right down the street, somethign wrong family... we need a new govt with a plan and also a heart for the people..

God is de BOSS....

« Reply #5 on: May 22, 2007, 09:40:51 AM »

breds you should have known dis breddah, look at where we come from and you'll see how the nation is, when man driving bentley home and fellahs beggin right down the street, somethign wrong family... we need a new govt with a plan and also a heart for the people..

God is de BOSS....
u telling me u argree that trinidad 100 years behind man??? or that trinidad is monkey land gino???
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #6 on: May 22, 2007, 09:58:09 AM »
wto go tell yuh t&t is 300 years behind and yuh would believe it? adopt your own measures yes.

« Reply #7 on: May 22, 2007, 10:29:31 AM »
I believe this report we ah really behind we in front where ah good party is concern but that cant carry us any where.Politicians them tiefing and not representing the peolpe they represent them selfs.and that iz on the both sides,  if yuh should elect the other party besids thiefing they causing racialisim and strife in the country. and the people deos jus stand by and let it happen . just think how expensive things are ,the basic things for man survival. jus recently i read where a 10 yr old snatched ah woman purse on Fredrick st he was caught and beaten in the police station  maybe the child is hungry  or homeless and realy in need . our country is in a sad state and it seems as doh nobody can do any thing abouy it ,what ah thing .

« Reply #8 on: May 22, 2007, 10:30:52 AM »
Llisten up  rabbit and CO. did'nt you noticed i used a question mark on the subject matter to indicate that i was un sure of their eval. that's why i post this on line. i am very much in the dark when it comes to global ecconomics.           and PH what is this gino shyte.  just have some balls and call me what ever yuh feel like instead of disguising it, jerk off. and another thing i ain't no ignoramous. if only you knew who you are talking to, you would'nt dare use those words to discribe i. igno. you have real gyul behavior money.
« Last Edit: May 22, 2007, 10:42:49 AM by just cool »

« Reply #9 on: May 22, 2007, 10:37:10 AM »
Check out the CIA World Fact Book

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html

I am kind a surprised that she ranked Malaysia and Singapore with de likes go Gaza and Pakistan.  Malaysia is actually better than Canada and USA.

The stats in the World Fact Book seem to say otherwise.

The population below the poverty line for Singapore is not listed, but the other economic indicators seem to suggest that Singapore is vibrant.

Population below poverty line 21% for T&T
Population below poverty line 31% for Nepal
Population below poverty line 63% for Gaza
Population below poverty line 5.1% for Malaysia
Population below poverty line 24% for Pakistan

Population below poverty line 12% for USA

Population below poverty line 15.9%; Canada - note - this figure is the Low Income Cut-Off (LICO), a calculation that results in higher figures than found in many comparable economies; Canada does not have an official poverty line (2003)

« Reply #10 on: May 22, 2007, 10:52:27 AM »
Llisten up  rabbit and CO. did'nt you noticed i used a question mark on the subject matter to indicate that i was un sure of their eval. that's why i post this on line. i am very much in the dark when it comes to global ecconomics.           and PH what is this gino shyte.  just have some balls and call me what ever yuh feel like instead of disguising it, jerk off. and another thing i ain't no ignoramous. if only you knew who you are talking to, you would'nt dare use those words to discribe i. igno. you have real gyul behavior money.
um dais TI name. everytime u type somehting i relaise more and mor eu ahve a serious chip on your shoulders witht he world. I have rela gul behaviour?? u real ignorant to simple things and liek to judge men before u knwo facts? U forever calling men names and cussing like a george st jammet and telling i i have gyul behaviour?

in my experince the anytime someones says "if u only know who i am" means that u eh worth knowing". If your noteworthy u dont need to say somehting like that!!!
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #11 on: May 22, 2007, 11:50:24 AM »

i find it strange you could cite a reason why the country you live in is not filled with stupid people but cyah use the same principle to deduce that one measure for a country like t&t - no matter how small - is equally meaningless. you drawing conclusions when you see fit.

« Reply #12 on: May 22, 2007, 11:52:19 AM »
eh yute, weh yuh want from i, how come every time i post yuh make it your business to create friction with i. what's with you money. i really dont care if you think i am worth knowing or not, i dont need no more friends duke i am alright. just let me be nar roots. my bad if i mixed up TI name with what i thought was a dis, in any case i don't know TI like that so that's an honest mistake.and yeh i dos cuss a lot, so what,big f@#king deal. every body aint the same, plus that's my style wether you like it or not. but it have some man on this board who like to take liberty with their mouth, and always tring to belittle grown men and women like little kids. and i ain't having that, i will cuss way any guy who come at me like that, and i don't business.

f

« Reply #13 on: May 22, 2007, 12:06:43 PM »
Whaaaattttt!!

Dutty might get his wish . .

http://www.socawarriors.net/forum/index.php?topic=27621.0

man calling Hoe a Jerk off and saying he have girly behaviour, calling the Canadian based forumites "chump a$$ dudes", callaing T&T "a lunch box of an island" calling Ribbit a yute

dem is fighting words ....

btw de way ... Just Cool ... was reading a post above where yuh say ..

"but she was very apprehensive about telling me the down side of her trip until i forced it out of her. you know how white broards are, seem like she was tring to spare my feelings , i got to say though, it bothered me quite a bit. "

now I trying not to take it out of context .. .las time I quote you .. yuh get real vex with me.

But I am genuinely curious .. I do not know "how white broads are"?  Care to explain?

« Reply #14 on: May 22, 2007, 12:17:15 PM »
rabbit , i live in america not trinidad. i visit trinidad from time to time, and when i do i am there for less than a week. i stay in a hotel take care of business and i am out, not much time for any kind of evaluation. what the F do i know about trinidad, and another thing, i am not a super trini like you guys. i don't care much for all this trini sentiment and nastalgia. cause if i loved trini the way you foriegn based trini's claimed. i would've been living there as opposed to taking all this cold for nothing when my heart is home in a tropical climate.and i never cliam to know every thing, especially on this subject. i'll be the first one to admit to that. hence the reason i post the subject as questionable info.

« Reply #15 on: May 22, 2007, 12:33:19 PM »
cant we all just get along........all de fussin and word callin,go in de babes thread and watch some woman nah.

« Reply #16 on: May 22, 2007, 12:41:58 PM »
Common pecan do you really expect me to believe that. you live in canada and you never interact with white women, not even in the work place.i find that really hard to believe. what the F, this won't take no skin off my dick any way , so i'll explain. i don't know about canada but assuming all north amerian white women flexed the same. white women in the US take a lot of precaution when dealing with ppl of colour, i can't speak for  every white woman, and of course this does'nt hold true for every one. but only from my experience. it seem to me that most white women are aprehensive about bringing up sensitive subjects especially with ppl of colour and are very diplomatic in the way they disclose it. it's almost cowadice the way they interact with black ppl especially with black women.

« Reply #17 on: May 22, 2007, 12:47:50 PM »
rabbit , i live in america not trinidad. i visit trinidad from time to time, and when i do i am there for less than a week. i stay in a hotel take care of business and i am out, not much time for any kind of evaluation. what the F do i know about trinidad, and another thing, i am not a super trini like you guys. i don't care much for all this trini sentiment and nastalgia. cause if i loved trini the way you foriegn based trini's claimed. i would've been living there as opposed to taking all this cold for nothing when my heart is home in a tropical climate.and i never cliam to know every thing, especially on this subject. i'll be the first one to admit to that. hence the reason i post the subject as questionable info.

just cool, you doh have to love trinidad to apply the same standards. this have nothing to do with love and like and doh love and doh like. this just common sense. yuh getting tie up - take some of you own advice and "just cool" yourself.

« Reply #18 on: May 22, 2007, 01:09:56 PM »

Ease off the friction and just discuss the topic nah.

Anyway jus cool...when you get chance ask her about settings poverty lines and the confusing results that follow because there doesn't seem to be a standard.  Makes it seem as though it is chosen based on how it suits the particular organization's agenda.

Because there is a huge difference betw 21% and 80%   :o

When I hear these large numbers over 50% it doesn't seem in line with what I see myself making you wonder even more if we really that blind...or if our personal defiintion of poverty is completely different from that used for the stats.

Very interesting topic....they talk about it in parliament and it is good for us to get into the details and not just rely on the judgment calls of our politicians or those doing the studies.  :beermug:

« Reply #19 on: May 22, 2007, 01:16:24 PM »
Common pecan do you really expect me to believe that. you live in canada and you never interact with white women, not even in the work place..

Actually Just Cool . . believe it.  I have lived a sheltered life and truly, have not been exposed to the type of racism that you appeared to have experienced.  Yet, I have had many candid conversations about racism with white folks but have not seen the type of caution you speak of.

A short story . .my wife's brother, who is black (or Afro American as they say in de US) was in de music industry and dey rented a limo to travel from NY to Montreal one winter.  De car break down outside montreal.  All travellers were black and were standing outside the limo late in de evening.  Unexpectedly, a local car stopped and a ole man and his wife (white folks) offered assistance.  My brother in law was amazed that two ole white people would stop to help a car full of black people ...at night no less.  Now, that was year ago and tings have changed so it may not happen as frequently as before and that is only one story  ..not intended to reflect every case.

Racism is alive in Canada but i believe, different than de US

I now understand where you coming from.  And your comment, coupled with your experiences, in that context, makes sense.

now .. back to poverty ...

« Reply #20 on: May 22, 2007, 01:33:30 PM »
hey pecan, i will most definately ask her how she arrived at those figures and what consensus was used to evaluate our stat's. remember she just came back on friday so i will give her some time to finish her report. about the white woman issue. i was not impling racism but more so diplomacy and apprehension.

« Reply #21 on: May 22, 2007, 02:29:01 PM »
hey pecan, i will most definately ask her how she arrived at those figures and what consensus was used to evaluate our stat's. remember she just came back on friday so i will give her some time to finish her report. about the white woman issue. i was not impling racism but more so diplomacy and apprehension.

understood ... peace

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #22 on: May 22, 2007, 02:41:42 PM »

???   ???
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #23 on: May 22, 2007, 03:26:12 PM »

???   ???

<grabs cocoapanyol by she shirt and drags she outta here>

when ah did tell ya to cut ya hair Money ya didn't listen, now people takin ya fur one ah we....
allyuh Canadians yes.....

« Reply #24 on: May 22, 2007, 03:52:04 PM »

???   ???

<grabs cocoapanyol by she shirt and drags she outta here>

when ah did tell ya to cut ya hair Money ya didn't listen, now people takin ya fur one ah we....
allyuh Canadians yes.....

lol..lol leave money alone please  :-[