April 26, 2024, 02:39:18 PM

Author Topic: Why are Brazil So Good?  (Read 2845 times)

Why are Brazil So Good?
« on: June 01, 2007, 10:02:37 AM »
Brazil. That single word has come to sum up the very best of football.

It stands for artistry, inspiration and genius, for the combination of sublime individual skill and collective fluidity to create a whole that is both beautiful to watch and devastatingly effective.

The country has produced 50 years' worth of great players - Garrincha, Pele, Jairzinho, Tostao, Socrates and Zico to name but a few.

They had a disappointing World Cup in 2006. But with outstanding individual talents such as Ronaldinho and Kaka orchestrating the team, expectations that they will produce more moments to live on in football legend remain as high as ever.

But how does Brazil produce so many great teams and wonderful players?

As the world's most exciting team prepare for their friendly with England on Friday, BBC Sport asks some of the biggest names in Brazil's football history what makes them so good.

The story of Brazil's domination of world football starts with the sport's uniquely important position in national life.

"The national football team," says its former coach Carlos Alberto Parreira, "is the symbol of national identity, the only time the nation gets together."

Football is the most important thing in Brazilian national life

"Football in Brazil is like a religion," adds Carlos Alberto Torres, captain of the side that won the 1970 World Cup.

"Everybody talks about it all the time - not only when we are close to the World Cup.

"This is the difference between Europe and Brazil. After the World Cup, people in Europe start to think about life, business. Here in Brazil, we breathe football 24 hours a day."

According to Parreira, no-one is quite sure why.

"Sociologists, psychologists have tried to explain, but nobody can find one reason," he says.

"Maybe because we didn't have to fight for independence, we don't have earthquakes or things like that. We didn't go to war."

Journalist Alex Bellos, author of Futebol - A Brazilian Way of Life, believes it was also due to the relatively late abolition of slavery at the end of the 19th century, and a lack of positive symbols.

Whatever the reason, Brazil very early "recognised football in our future and tradition and (as) our opportunity to communicate to the world that we are powerful," says 1994 World Cup winner Leonardo.

"In the 1930s, we started to organise a team to be competitive in the World Cup, and the 1950s were the beginning of this big dream to make Brazil the best international team in the world," he added.

Losing the final to Uruguay in 1950 was viewed as a national tragedy, but it only heightened the desire to win.

And it led to a little-known aspect of Brazilian football. Believing they had let themselves down through personal weakness and a lack of research, the national side came to see comprehensive preparation and innovative tactics as crucial to success.

Contrary to the popular belief that Brazilian teams are defensively naive, the idea of the modern back-four originated in the 1958 World Cup-winning team.

Through a careful evolution of the way they played, Brazil continued to have a tactical lead until 1970.

Allied to detailed planning and a concentration on physical training beyond that in Europe - not to forget the sheer quality of players - Brazil's plan met with unprecedented success. They won three of the four World Cups between 1958 and 1970.

Having an entire nation obsessed with football and, by extension, winning the World Cup, has developed a degree of self-fulfilment.

For some children, sport is the only way out of poverty in Brazil
Brazil is a big country - 183m people - and that is a lot of potential footballers, especially when, as Parreira says, "the whole of Brazil" is playing the game.

But for some in Brazil football is more than just a game.

It is, says journalist Lito Cavalcanti, a "life solution".

Many of Brazil's greatest footballers grew up in favelas - the shanty towns in its sprawling cities. Here, life is hard, and football offers an escape from the crippling poverty.

"It's the only way out of misery," says Cavalcanti. "The lower classes have no effective schooling. They live in favelas where drug dealers control their lives. Sport is the only way out, and in Brazil football is the only sport people care about.

"What makes them so good? Necessity. It's the only life they have ahead of them. That is their drive."

In 2006, Carlos Alberto Torres received a Fifa award for the most beautiful goal to have been scored in World Cup history - his thunderbolt in Brazil's 4-1 win over Italy in the 1970 World Cup final.

Nine Brazilians were involved in the move, with Rivelinho, Jairzinho and Pele providing memorable cameos before the coup de grace - Alberto's unstoppable shot.

"Now I realise how beautiful and how important that goal was," said Alberto.

Alberto was just 25 when he scored that goal, but his artistry had been honed day-by-day, week-by-week, year-by-year as a young child.

In Brazil children learn football in a very different way from their European counterparts.

There are no leagues or competitive matches for young children - such a concept is seen as likely to hinder a player's creative impulses.

"The children play a lot but it's always very free," says Leonardo.

"We don't tell eight-year-olds you have to play right-back."

Parreira agrees: "We don't put them in a cage, say 'you have to be like this'. We give them some freedom until they are ready to be coached."

And that sense of creativity is never lost.

Ronaldinho is just the latest in a long line of brilliant Brazilian players - but why are there so many?
"In Europe if you are dancing in the team bus before a World Cup final match it would be viewed as not concentrating," says Leonardo.

"But in Brazil if you are not speaking and laughing on the bus that is seen as being afraid.

"It is a different mentality. The idea of the system and the collective is different. The system is more important in Europe than it is in Brazil, even if we know it is important."

Brazil's success, though, stems from more than talent and the freedom to express it - behind Ronaldinho's gleaming smile lies hours of hard work.

"The English academy system is one where players are training for just four hours a week," says Brazilian football expert Simon Clifford.

"Compare that to Ronaldinho when he was a 16-year-old with Gremio, where he would have been training for up to 20 hours a week."

Parreira adds: "In Brazil players are fabricated, they are produced.

Crlos Alberto Torres
We say in Brazil that a great player is born every day Carlos Alberto
1970 World Cup winning captain "They come to the clubs when they are 10-12 and then they start in categories according to age.

"There are no more players from the beach or from the street. This is a myth, a legend. They are built, grown in the clubs."

Tactically, too, Brazil remain to this day very different from other international sides.

Former Republic of Ireland coach Brian Kerr says Brazil are unique in international football.

"The only two players who are really defenders are the centre-backs," says Kerr. "The shape of the team is 2-2-2-2, with the full-backs playing high up the pitch.

"That is how they would line up, but after that anything could happen that might lead them to have three wide players on the left.

Brazil have an embarrassment of riches on the player front
"It was different from anything I had seen and it was the quality of the players that allowed them to do that."

Brazil's football production-line has its fair share of casualties - Ronaldo was the only player from the under-17 Brazilian team who went on to become a professional.

Only the very best make it through to Brazil's starting 11 to display their extravagant skills on the world's stage.

In Ronaldinho, Adriano, Kaka, Ronaldo and Robinho, Brazil have five potential match winners - most teams are happy to have just one such player in their side.

And success has bred success for more than half a century.

"You go to the schools here," says Carlos Alberto Torres, "and you see the kids saying I want to be like Ronaldo or Pele or Zico.

"They are examples to the kids - and we have lots of them, not only one or two.

"We say in Brazil that a great player is born every day."

That might well be so. But just as important is that Brazil's unique environment ensures they actually become one.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/internationals/6700897.stm

Re: Why are Brazil So Good?
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2007, 11:40:39 AM »
 :)

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2007, 12:04:31 PM »
Posted on: Today at 12:02:37 PM
Posted by: sammy

That might well be so. But just as important is that Brazil's unique environment ensures they actually become one.

You will become a superstar if your other options of survival are slim. It's all about socioeconomics.

« Reply #3 on: June 01, 2007, 12:06:25 PM »
It is a cultural thing kind of like fete in TnT

People like to fete, You grow up wanting to go to fete, once you get old you still go to fete.

once a fete going on in TnT, the crowd support they.

it just like that in Brazil when it comes to football.

everybody like it everybody want to do it and generation after generation the same values get passed on.

i watch a show from brazil about beach limers one time and they had a girl playing beach volley ball that had better ball touch than we whole national team.

and this was not a specially picked football volley ball girl this was just a random girl playing volley ball on a beach.

When last you went maracas and see a girl that could juggle more than 10.

There in lies the difference between Trinidad football and Brazil football.

It is not so much about the 11 good players who make up the brazil team but it is more about the 11 million other players that those 11 had to be better than to get pick in the first place.

Necessity is the mother of all invention.

I am better because I need to get better to "Survive" in the football world in brazil.

You could sit on your ass for a few years decide you want to put on back your boots and walk on a PFL team easy like Sunday morning, once you have a lil Skills.

In a place like brazil you will never make it back.

« Reply #4 on: June 01, 2007, 12:18:04 PM »
KND yuh eh easy..equating fete to trinidad like football to Brazil..the sad thing is yuh right..i know ppl home who eh wukking but playing mas and hitting endless carnival fete.

« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2007, 12:57:09 PM »
It is a cultural thing kind of like fete in TnT

People like to fete, You grow up wanting to go to fete, once you get old you still go to fete.

once a fete going on in TnT, the crowd support they.

it just like that in Brazil when it comes to football.

everybody like it everybody want to do it and generation after generation the same values get passed on.

i watch a show from brazil about beach limers one time and they had a girl playing beach volley ball that had better ball touch than we whole national team.

and this was not a specially picked football volley ball girl this was just a random girl playing volley ball on a beach.

When last you went maracas and see a girl that could juggle more than 10.

There in lies the difference between Trinidad football and Brazil football.

It is not so much about the 11 good players who make up the brazil team but it is more about the 11 million other players that those 11 had to be better than to get pick in the first place.

Necessity is the mother of all invention.

I am better because I need to get better to "Survive" in the football world in brazil.

You could sit on your ass for a few years decide you want to put on back your boots and walk on a PFL team easy like Sunday morning, once you have a lil Skills.

In a place like brazil you will never make it back.

sorry....
what yuh say make sense, somehow ah like da sentence bout girls juggling more that 10 :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

Offline Madd Ras#13

« Reply #6 on: June 01, 2007, 03:46:47 PM »
KND yuh eh easy..equating fete to trinidad like football to Brazil..the sad thing is yuh right..i know ppl home who eh wukking but playing mas and hitting endless carnival fete.

wah so sad in dat from man en have no yute or anything den man gud tuh do as one feel like dat dont make it sad is one life tuh live. fete is we/my ting!!! lawrd knows how ah miss mih fete after fete after fete after fete :devil: de sad ting is dat trini doesnt have ah football support like de fetes n dem have back home ;D
all dat is necessary is necessary

« Reply #7 on: June 01, 2007, 03:56:52 PM »
Guys,
         Them Brazilians does fete more thean we. A friend who goes down regularly say that they does party real hard too.

« Reply #8 on: June 01, 2007, 09:36:18 PM »
The difference for Brazil  is football then fete we is fete, fete and more fete anything after

« Reply #9 on: June 02, 2007, 01:25:10 PM »
Brazil is meh team, but lately dey frustrating.

From lately I mean 2002 on...winning the international treble (World Cup, Copa America, Confed Cup)...that Copa America and Confed Cup was some of the sweetest ball I see Brazil play. Then comes Germany 2006 and look what dey do. Then after they beat Argentina 3-0 in what was prob the best game of last year...then look how they play vs England yesterday.

They does play amazing when they ready...truly a joy to watch and yuh wouldn't want to be anywhere else than glued to your television. And sometimes they will pull so much stones that yuh does get vex yuh actually like this team so much.

But for all the praise and admiration they have worldwide...all the fear they inspire in opposing teams...they earned it. The history of football shows it up till today. Can't take dat away from them.

It's just not like watching Brazil
« Reply #10 on: June 03, 2007, 12:21:27 PM »
It's just not like watching Brazil
By Jonathan Stevenson (BBC Sport)

I have a question for Dunga: Will the real Brazil please stand up?

At Wembley on Friday, in front of nearly 90,000 expectant fans and a global audience, the most famous football nation on earth gave yet another performance which belies their status as the guardians of the beautiful game.

This Brazilian side, it seems, merely flatters to deceive.

They tease you, they hint at the genius within with the occasional audacious flick or trick, but, ultimately, they leave you feeling like you still need more to be satisfied.

Rather than spending 90 minutes purring over sizzling Samba style in front of you, you feel instead a little bit cheated that, somehow, it just doesn't feel like watching Brazil.

Well, maybe Brazil B, but this certainly wasn't their A game. Not the one that 183 million Brazilians will demand at next month's Copa America, anyway.

This is not a new thing. Remember the World Cup last summer? Remember the leaden-footed lumbering of the once puma-like Ronaldo? Remember the ineffectual drifting of the once decisive Ronaldinho?

Just what has happened to the thrill-a-minute, edge-of-your-seat, super sexy football with which they used to dominate the game?

Perhaps Brazilian footballers are suffering from that curse of the modern game, that dirty word that no-one likes to use but always refers to at the end of the season: tiredness.

Take their most famous player, for instance. Exactly a year ago, Ronaldinho appeared to be on the brink of ultimate greatness.

The buck-toothed maestro with the permanent smile already had one World Cup winners medal in his locker and had just led Barcelona to their second successive La Liga crown and the Champions League trophy to boot.

In one interview, Brazil legend Tostao said that Ronaldinho was so good that in his homeland there were suggestions that if he led his country to another world title he would have to be put in the same bracket as the incomparable Pele.

High praise indeed, coming from Pele's strike partner at the 1970 World Cup finals.

But Ronaldinho simply could not find that spark. He looked laboured and exhausted after a hectic season at Barca and could do nothing as Brazil bowed out at the quarter-final stage.

Without a proper rest, Ronaldinho has had to carry both the enormous weight of expectation at the Camp Nou this year and also the burden of being chief goal-getter with Samuel Eto'o out injured for five months.

Ronaldinho has shouldered this burden manfully, but it has left him over-worked and worn out - and the cheeky grin the world fell in love with has slowly disappeared too.

As seemingly the whole of football queued up to tell the world Cristiano Ronaldo was the new 'best player in the world', barely anyone even mentioned Barca's number 10 anymore.

No surprise really that both he and AC Milan's Kaka have refused to play in this summer's Copa America, saying that they need a proper rest instead.

So tiredness could be one reason. But maybe the way Brazil played at Wembley is also a vision of the future under new coach Dunga.

If managers often try and mould teams in their own image, then the boys in blue and gold are not a million miles away from a carbon copy of their gaffer on this showing.

After all, Dunga was the very antithesis of everything legend tells us a Brazilian footballer should be.

A rock in front of the back four, Dunga did not participate in any of the fancy stuff. He simply used his exceptional reading of the game to break up attacks and played risk-free passes so his team did not lose possession.

He was a percentages player, as Alan Hansen might say, and he was a very, very good one.

At Wembley, there was a lot to admire about Brazil that appears to have come straight out of their coach's coaching manual.

The back four looked solid, Gilberto played the Dunga role with his customary skill and they rarely gave the ball away, with barely a pass longer than 20 yards all evening.

Well structured? Yes. Tactically sound? Yes. Tough to break down? Yes. Exotic, mesmerising and spell-binding? No.

Even the full-backs seemed content to largely focus on their defensive responsibilities.

The attack-happy duo Roberto Carlos and Cafu must shudder at the very sight of it. But maybe Dunga is just using the players he has at his disposal to their greatest effect.

In the golden days, there would be five or six players on the Brazil teamsheet that would make you tingle with excitement.

The weary Ronaldinho and Kaka apart, this team just does not have quite the same X-Factor.

Just look at where they play: Naldo at Werder Bremen, Mineiro at Hertha Berlin, Vagner Love at CSKA Moscow and Afonso Alves at Heereveen.

These are all good players who deserve a chance to play for their country after fine seasons, but they hardly set the pulse racing when they pick the ball up.

Maybe the education of Brazilian footballers these days is being stunted by the sheer speed with which they are exported to Europe when the big bucks come calling.

Whatever the reason, the child-like thrill that usually accompanies watching Brazil is no longer there.

If this is a glimpse into the future of the Brazilian national team, it's not just their adoring public back home that misses out.

The very sport itself will be poorer for it.

« Reply #11 on: June 03, 2007, 02:40:03 PM »
Tallman, that was a good article, thanks for posting it.

I share de same frustrations of the writer, but I doh think this is a glimpse of what the future of Brazil play will look like...I simply think they does turn it off and on when they ready

« Reply #12 on: June 03, 2007, 02:49:08 PM »
People are too harsh on Brazil....it's like when I watch Ronaldinho, I want him to do something magical everytime he gets the ball...same thing when people watch Brazil....It's just not realistic.

The days of walking pace football where players have ample room and time to gallery and dance...and where a skilful player could dominate and entertain with tricks & flicks are over (they've been over for some time)....Every once in a while on a good day when everything goes right, and everyone is on their game, fans get a glimpse of "vintage Brazil"....but the frequency with which that kind of entertainment comes in the modern game has decreased and people need to get used to it and get over it.....

All things considered, I think Brazilian attacking players on the average are still amongst the most colourful and entertaining in the world.....

« Reply #13 on: December 10, 2007, 05:28:27 AM »
Kicker wrote:
People are too harsh on Brazil....it's like when I watch Ronaldinho, I want him to do something magical everytime he gets the ball...same thing when people watch Brazil....It's just not realistic.

The days of walking pace football where players have ample room and time to gallery and dance...and where a skilful player could dominate and entertain with tricks & flicks are over (they've been over for some time)....Every once in a while on a good day when everything goes right, and everyone is on their game, fans get a glimpse of "vintage Brazil"....but the frequency with which that kind of entertainment comes in the modern game has decreased and people need to get used to it and get over it.....

All things considered, I think Brazilian attacking players on the average are still amongst the most colourful and entertaining in the world.....

Backlash Towards Brazilian Style Unfair

Paul Gardner
New York Sun, Friday Dec 4, 2007

Soccer does not have a silly season: It operates permanently in a world that borders on the absurd, and it's never very difficult to come up with recent examples of silliness.

Maybe they come from the press. I'm staring at one of those right now, a headline about the poor form of the Spanish club, Valencia, under Ronald Koeman, its new Dutch coach: "Koeman Demands Improvement as Valencia Hit Rock Bottom." Really?

Okay, that's just plain silly. But there's another version of silly — what George Orwell called "sillyclever" — that's not so easy to laugh at. As an example, consider this: It comes from Carlo Ancelotti, the coach of AC Milan. He was busy heaping praise on his Brazilian midfielder, Kaká, who has just been voted the Ballon D'Or (Golden Ball) by the French magazine France Football. The award means, in effect, that a global panel of 96 journalists has judged Kaká to be the best player in the world.

"He's a fabulous player," Ancelotti said. "It's an award he deserves." So far so good — but then Ancelotti is quoted as saying, "Usually Brazilians are circus performers, but he is unusual in this way. In the game he is essential." Could Ancelotti possibly have said that? On his Milan roster, he has seven other Brazilians, including the great Ronaldo, the all-time leading World Cup goal scorer and a two-time winner of the Ballon D'Or.

I find it difficult to believe that Ancelotti would be quite that silly. But what I do not doubt, because I have heard it expressed far too often, is that the image of the Brazilian player as nothing more than a self-indulgent performer of fancy tricks is one that has deep roots, particularly in Europe. What lies at the root of that point of view, it seems to me, is nothing more complicated than jealousy, the wish to find a weakness in the Brazilian game that has won so many more international titles than any other version of soccer.

The charge of frivolity is not without some substance. Of course, there are hot-dog Brazilians who overdo the dribbling and the trickery — but not many. Any player who consistently hogs the ball, who repeatedly grandstands when he should be getting on with the game — how long is a player like that going to last at the top level?

BINGOOOO!!!! :beermug:

A good example of a Brazilian player with an abundance of trickery is the 23-year-old Robinho, now with Real Madrid. The coach at Real is the German Bernd Schuster, and we know for sure that last season he did come up with a damagingly silly quote. He was then in charge of Getafe when Barcelona's Argentine star Lionel Messi scored a superb goal against it after a 60-yard dribble that took him past five defenders. Schuster didn't call it a circus performance, that's true, but he made it clear he didn't like it with his sour "We should have fouled him" comment. Now, Schuster has Robinho on his team, and Robinho, with his dribbles and jinking runs has saved Real on a number of occasions already this season. Maybe Real's opponents should foul him more? The mindless downplaying of Brazilian-type skills is bound to lead to that sort of contradiction. Any player with outstanding personal skills is viewed with suspicion and is always vulnerable to the accusation that he is not "a team player." He is likely to be the first scapegoat when a team hits a losing streak.

Hmm. Preach! :beermug:

There is a certain type of coach who revels in telling the world that "there are no superstars on my team" — when his team is winning, that is. Unfortunately, the fans have made it clear that they like superstars, that they want to see some razzle-dazzle, and that they like personalities.

So, from the duller and less adventurous coaching minds has come the theory that winning soccer and attractive soccer can't coexist — it has to be one or the other. The theory undergoes a further development with the discovery that winning soccer is manly soccer, a red-blooded physical game, as opposed to attractive soccer, which gets denigrated as "pretty" soccer — obviously something fragile that will be mercilessly crushed when the he-men get at it.

The Brazilian example makes a mockery of all this, or at least it always has done. Maybe things are changing, and maybe the game is becoming more physical to the point where Brazil, too, has to adopt a more pragmatic approach. One could argue that this is exactly what Dunga, Brazil's new coach, is calling for when he talks of having an "effective" style.

But there is convincing proof that Brazilian-style soccer is — however grudgingly — accepted as the world standard. Sepp Blatter, the president of FIFA, recently felt it necessary to warn the world of soccer that it faces a grave danger … of being taken over by Brazilians!

"It's a danger," he said. "A real, real danger." Blatter's point was that many countries are now relaxing their citizenship requirements, meaning that they can recruit good Brazilian players, naturalize them, and have them quickly on the field as part of the national team. "If we don't take care about the invaders from Brazil, not only toward Europe but toward Asia and Africa," Blatter continued, "then in the World Cups in 2014 and 2018, out of the 32 teams, we will have 16 full of Brazilian players."

You could class that as yet another silly statement, I suppose, but like Ancelotti's alleged remark, it hides a vital truth. The two go together and they underline the contradiction I have been discussing. No doubt the "circus performer" slur will continue to be repeated, but surely not many people really believe it. The bigger truth is contained in Blatter's worry: That Brazilian players are so admired, all over the world, that soccer faces a future of national teams filled with naturalized Brazilians.

To some of us, that does not sound like a silly statement. It sounds like a delightful state of affairs.

http://www.nysun.com/article/67467?page_no=1

« Reply #14 on: December 10, 2007, 08:59:24 AM »

But then there is Argentina....