March 28, 2024, 03:49:10 PM

Author Topic: Photo of the day  (Read 258455 times)

Re: Photo of the day
« Reply #1050 on: September 13, 2010, 02:47:25 PM »

Morning reflections..Muskoka

Power station near Peterborough, Ontario

Kayak

Along the Trans Canada trail

« Last Edit: September 13, 2010, 02:59:06 PM by ZANDOLIE »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #1051 on: September 13, 2010, 02:54:23 PM »
gorme, that first black and white make me what to get out there and shoot.
Haven't touch my camera in a couple of weeks...

isn't b&w grand?

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #1052 on: September 13, 2010, 02:56:33 PM »
I am unreasonably afraid of horses eh (one try to eat meh easter bonnet when ah was 3 years and since den....steupse) but...they do make wonderful subjects for paint and film..
nice job!

you and Catherine the Great - her for different reason though.  :devil:

Yes, I know, the horse thing about Catherine the Great is a myth ... but I could not resist.

well boy, YOU try being three years ole have having some big horse trying to eat yuh hat. Ma tell me I bawl from de Savannah right back to Observatory Street.

Me en care what Catherine problem was...all I know was a horse and me had a row and he win.

« Reply #1053 on: September 13, 2010, 03:04:45 PM »
gorme, that first black and white make me what to get out there and shoot.
Haven't touch my camera in a couple of weeks...

isn't b&w grand?

Well Queen, these days is only fake B&W...colour converted to grayscale and tweaked in Curves  :-\

I have a some rolls of B&W film in my freezer and a couple old MF cameras. Might take them out for a spin this weekend.

« Reply #1054 on: September 13, 2010, 03:14:43 PM »

Yellowjacket on flower

Trying a ting with extreme depth of field...

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #1055 on: September 13, 2010, 05:45:55 PM »

Well Queen, these days is only fake B&W...colour converted to grayscale and tweaked in Curves  :-\

I have a some rolls of B&W film in my freezer and a couple old MF cameras. Might take them out for a spin this weekend.
It can't be fake...it's just b&w done differently.
Goshe, I haven't work with film in years. It just isn't cost effect, despite its clarity. For what I do, digital works best and helps me play more.

« Reply #1056 on: September 13, 2010, 07:17:25 PM »

It can't be fake...it's just b&w done differently.
Goshe, I haven't work with film in years. It just isn't cost effect, despite its clarity. For what I do, digital works best and helps me play more.

IMHO  Digital can't capture the richness and variety of the dark tones and the details in highlights like B&W film. Close but not there yet.

BUT if you use software like Silver Efex you can come even closer. Its all an artform anyway. Different strokes I guess.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #1057 on: September 14, 2010, 07:25:01 AM »
I'm agreeing with you.
Much of it depends on your goal and what you're using the shot for I guess.
I can't afford to use film to play with...I'd have to be absolutely sure of how/what I intend to get out of the film. But no question, there is nothing like film. it doesn't suffer the degradation that digital does.

« Reply #1058 on: September 14, 2010, 11:38:19 AM »

I have a some rolls of B&W film in my freezer

Er,,why??

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #1059 on: September 14, 2010, 11:44:24 AM »

Er,,why??

the temperature helps keeps the integrity of the film much longer.

« Reply #1060 on: September 14, 2010, 11:47:13 AM »

Er,,why??

the temperature helps keeps the integrity of the film much longer.
really?

ok, but why a freezer and not a fridge............colder equal more integrity?
allyuh does trow de flim out in yuh backyard in january

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #1061 on: September 14, 2010, 12:24:16 PM »

ok, but why a freezer and not a fridge............colder equal more integrity?
allyuh does trow de flim out in yuh backyard in january

Not sure about Zando, but I would keep it in a ziplock bag in the freezer for long periods because the fridge tended to allow condensation and ruin the film. Had to be careful with defrosting it though for the same reason.
I used to keep batteries in the fridge though because I'd use them more frequently.

I do neither now since I only use digital.

as for trowing out de backyard...uhmmm...no.

« Reply #1062 on: September 15, 2010, 04:29:55 PM »

Shetlands... Elmtree Road in Southern Ontario

My favorite. Zando you capture a conversation piece here  :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #1063 on: September 15, 2010, 06:10:35 PM »

[/quote]

[/quote]

Thanks madame, I surprised myself with that one.

« Reply #1064 on: September 22, 2010, 08:44:55 AM »

Shetlands... Elmtree Road in Southern Ontario

Ent!!
At first glance look like a cali blonde in one ah dem shampoo commercials

zando you mad oui...if I had your talent I woulda take a few more  mount dem on some easel outside some rich folks stables and watch the sale$ fly

anyway...........try on doh hit the guardrail when allyuh drivin'

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #1065 on: September 22, 2010, 09:26:46 AM »
a man walk away from all dat?

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #1066 on: September 26, 2010, 07:16:10 PM »
last night's moon (Sept 25)

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #1067 on: September 26, 2010, 07:16:58 PM »

« Reply #1068 on: September 28, 2010, 12:04:20 PM »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #1069 on: September 28, 2010, 12:30:50 PM »
tight... :beermug:

« Reply #1070 on: October 04, 2010, 08:04:38 AM »
This eh really A pic...is a short story ;)

HOW NOT TO BUY YOUR FIRST FERRARI:

DO: Admire your new spyder

DONT: Pose like ah feckin douche

DONT: Forget to push the traction control button on your high performance car

DONT: mashup de cuddersmunt ting within 30 mins of drivin orf de dealer lot

« Last Edit: October 04, 2010, 08:06:20 AM by Dutty »

« Reply #1071 on: October 11, 2010, 01:27:28 PM »
End of color. On wards to dull!

« Reply #1072 on: October 21, 2010, 10:44:27 AM »
That pussy look evil

« Reply #1073 on: October 21, 2010, 10:44:59 AM »
 ???

« Reply #1074 on: December 07, 2010, 06:40:29 PM »
Snow, snow and more snow.....

« Last Edit: December 07, 2010, 06:51:21 PM by TriniCana »

« Reply #1075 on: December 07, 2010, 07:55:41 PM »
looks nice in a photo!!

« Reply #1076 on: December 08, 2010, 06:01:44 PM »
Day 4 of snow.

« Reply #1077 on: January 01, 2011, 05:53:25 PM »
New Years Eve aka Old Years day snaps.

« Reply #1078 on: January 02, 2011, 01:03:00 PM »
That pussy look evil
Laaawwdd fadder and doh tell mih my mind in de gutter..... :devil: ;D

« Reply #1079 on: January 07, 2011, 04:19:11 PM »
« Last Edit: January 08, 2011, 07:03:23 AM by Theresa Rocking »