March 28, 2024, 05:18:23 PM

Author Topic: St Clair: We’ll be prepared for whatever comes our way.  (Read 12609 times)

St Clair: We’ll be prepared for whatever comes our way.
« on: March 23, 2005, 02:19:16 PM »
‘Warriors’ aim to put points on the board.
By: Shaun Fuentes, TTFF Press Officer in Guatemala City.

With eight games to go after this one, the “Warriors” need to get into the norm of picking points up. That’s what head coach Bertille St Clair has ordered from his players when they take on Guatemala at the Mateo Flores Stadium in Guatemala City from 8pm local time (10pm T&T time) on Saturday.
With Trinidad and Tobago’s  next outing at home to Costa Rica on Wednesday, the pressure could slowly mount if the “Warriors” were to come away with nothing to show from Saturday’s affair and the T&T faithful will be looking on with keen eyes from this weekend.
The T&T 18-man squad arrived in Guatemala at 7:30pm on Thursday night and were quickly escorted to the Grand Tikal Hotel after a few fans grabbed the opportunity to get their shirts signed and pictures taken, with Dwight Yorke notably being the most popular with the home fans.
The conditions here have been slightly chilly and the team was expected to get a good feel of the surface at a training session carded for around game time on Friday night.
Most of the morning period following a 9am breakfast was spent reviewing the Guatemalan team on video and holding discussions around the game itself, mindful of the fact that the Guatemalans would be under pressure not to lose any points at home having drawn their previous qualifier with Panama.
But the home side will remember their 4-1 win over T&T at the same venue in a friendly last August. T&T lost defender Marlon Rojas to a yellow card inside the opening 15 and after losing Angus Eve to injury in the pre-match warm up, also lost Arnold Dwarika, Gary Glasgow, Cornell Glen and Derek Phillips to injuries during the encounter. This time around, goalkeeper Shaka Hislop, Brent Sancho, Carlos Edwards, Dennis Lawrence, Silvio Spann, Leslie Fitzpatrick, Stern John, Hector Sam, Dwight Yorke and Clayton Ince are all in the T&T squad which should pose a different and hopefully tougher opposition for the Guatemalans.
In other matches between the two nations, T&T won 3-1 at home in a build up to their 2002 qualifier away to Costa Rica and won 4-2 in the 2000 CONCACAF Gold Cup first round. In past World Cup action, T&T won 2-1 at home and 1-0 at the Mateo Flores Stadium with Philbert Jones and Kerry Jamerson (2) being the scorers during the 1990 campaign. In the 1998 qualifiers, T&T drew 1-1 at home with Jerren Nixon on the mark and then lost 2-1 in the return with Angus Eve netting the lone item.
But St Clair is not thinking about past performance and results whether at home or away.
“Playing away from home is difficult but I always believe that it’s a mindset and it can only be a problem if you think about it that way,” St Clair told TTFF Media on the eve of the match.
“Football is a level playing field and I am quietly confident that we can get a result once we play to our ability and plan. The best way to defend is to go out and attack and I think we need to put some pressure on the home team from the first whistle and exploit their weaknesses,” he added.
Remembering the Rojas sending off as well as mindful of possible yellow card suspensions for future games, St Clair said he hoped that being cautious will not affect T&T’s game.
“Everything is in the hands of the referee so we have to try our best to play to the rules but that must not affect our aggression.
“The team has changed since the last game as we have more experience this time but the same would occur with Guatemala. Hopefully we have prepared well and the evening will end in our favour. You go into every game aiming for three points,” St Clair concluded.
Wrexham striker Hector Sam has not played since scoring the equalizer in the 2-1 win over St Vincent and the Grenadines last November which could leave St Clair starting with Kenwyne Jones up front with John again while Yorke and Edwards will be the trumps in the middle of the pitch with Fitzpatrick and Spann supporting not to forget Eve. Workhorse Marvin Andrews is out through injury which means that Sancho will need to pull all his weight in the back alongside Lawrence, Rojas, Thomas and Nigel Henry in the wait.
“I am positive about us giving a good showing considering too that this is our first game of the round away from home,” said Hislop, who is expected to wear the armband. “It’s important that we settle in quickly and take the game to them rather than sit back and allow them to control. We expect that the atmosphere will be a hostile one but it’s not a first time for us. A good result is certainly beyond us in this one,” added the Portsmouth man.
Guatemalan MLS striker Carlos Ruiz is their biggest threat and head coach Ramon Maradiaga expects his team will get the job done.
“I don’t expect that the game will be an easy one but we will want to make it as difficult for them as well and take advantage of being at home. We know they are capable of good football but we will try to take care of that,” Maradiaga uttered.
American referee Kevin Stott will take charge of proceedings which will be witnessed by CONCACAF President Jack Warner who flew into Guatemala on Friday with his entourage.
News from the 25th of March 2005.
St Clair: We’ll be prepared for whatever comes our way.
By: Shaun Fuentes, TTFF Press Officer in Ft Lauderdale.

Veteran midfielder Angus Eve continued his scoring form for Trinidad and Tobago’ senior team when his 41st minute rocket shot turned out to be the winning item for the “Warriors” in their 2-1 victory over Atlanta Silverbacks at the Sunrise Hilton training pitch on Tuesday.
In what was the final tune up before Satirday’s 2006 World Cup qualifier away to Guatemala, coach Bertille St Clair saw his men turn in a solid performance against a team that never really posed problems as goalkeepers Shaka Hislop and Clayton Ince got a half each with not very much to do between the uprights.
Overall though, the exercise may have been just what the team wanted at this stage, a chance to get together in a game situation.
The Silverbacks, team of midfielder Leslie “Tiger” Fitzpatrick seemed intent on giving the visitors a tough run but they never really matched up and were lucky not to have gone behind in the 22nd minute when Anton Pierre’s drive from the top edge of the penalty box went just wide of the upright.
With nothing to show on the scoresheet, Eve then stepped up. A ball played into Stern John by midfielder Dwight Yorke on the edge of the box led to Eve collecting wide on the right and having sufficient time to rifle home a right footer through the stranded Silverbacks goalie on 34 minutes.
Stoke City’s Kenwyne Jones started up front with John but he had to be replaced in the 24th minute after receiving a knock to the knee. His replacement, Nigel Pierre, didn’t take long to make the 100 odd T&T fans present aware of his presence. Carlos Edwards swung one over from the right and Pierre, all alone, went up and perfectly headed into the right corner for a 2-0 advantage going into the break. Moments before the break though, Fitzpatrick won the ball atop the box and found Yorke whose well struck low shot was saved by the ‘keeper.
The second half saw St Clair change his team around with Silvio Spann replacing Edwards. Keyeno Thomas for Eve, while Rojas, an earlier substitute, came back on for Eve. With 20 minutes to go Silverbacks midfielder and former Honduran National team star, Alex Pineda-Chacon brought them back into the game when he scored one.
The other defenders Anton Pierre, Brent Sancho, Nigel Henry played the full 90 as did John and Yorke. Wrexham’s Dennis Lawrence and Hector Sam received at the Sunrise shortly after the outing.
Miami-based forward Jason Nelson, from Tobago, also got a few minutes in place of Pierre (N) near the end. Nakhid got 17 minutes of the pitch in place of Atiba Charles and showed glimpses of his ability in the middle, making runs at the defense and threading the ball around but to little avail at that stage.
“I think overall the match was a good one for us because the guys looked more assertive and comfortable as a team,” St Clair told TTFF Media. “It allowed us to see how the players would perform in the positions that we will like to be in and all in all, it was not a bad showing. We were clean in defense and things didn’t look badly in the middle of the park but we know that it will be a different ball game in Guatemala and at this stage we will be prepared for what is to come at us,” St Clair added. The team spent much of Wednesday relaxing and will return to the training  ground on Thursday morning before departing for Guatemala ahead of Saturday's encounter.
Despite the outcome for Silverbacks, Head Coach David Vaudreuil was extremely pleased with his squad's efforts against a T&T squad that featured Dwight Yorke, Stern John and Shaka Hislop, he commented, "Given that we're missing several of our regular season starters,  and one of those was playing for the other team, we played much better than I expected. I'm pleased with our progress in such a short period of time."

Line-Up:
Shaka Hislop (Clayton Ince 46th), Anton Pierre, Brent Sancho, Nigel Henry, David Atiba Charles (David Nakhid 73rd), Carlos Edwards (Silvio Spann), Leslie Fitzpatrick (Marlon Rojas), Dwight Yorke, Angus Eve (capt) (Keyeno Thomas), Kenwyne Jones (Nigel Pierre 24th) (Jason Nelson), Stern John.
'Warriors' respond well to Sunrise call.
By: Shaun Fuentes, TTFF Press Officer in Ft Lauderdale.

The absence of experienced Glasgow Rangers defender MArvin Andrews from Saturday's World Cup qualifier against Guatemala should not be a major worry for this country's senior footballers.
This is the opinion of head coach Bertille St Clair after he received confirmation of Andrews' knee injury on Tuesday as he took charge of the "Warriors" in their Fort Lauderdale training camp ahead of the second match of the final qualifying round. It's not certain whether the big defender will also miss the March 30 match against Costa Rica at the Hasely Crawford Stadium, Port of Spain.
Added to Andrews' missing in action status, English-born stopper Ian Cox also turned unavailable after suffering a hamstring pull on the weekend which resulted in a late call for Wrexham defender Dennis Lawrence who last appeared against Mexico last year and was unforgettably a regular member of the 2002 World Cup squad.
"Marvin has grown into becoming one of the more important players in the team and is now one of the recognised defenders in Scotland but I don't think his absence will have any major effect on the team," St Clair told TTFF Media on Tuesday. "Of course, there's always a concern when you are missing a key player, especially in defense, but we have guys who can step up to the call and this simply means that one of the other guys will now get a chance to take up that responsibility."
Over the past two days St Clair has focused on getting the players reacquainted with each other and the spirit on and off the pitch has been a lively one at the Sunrise Hilton. Training each day from 9am and then at 4pm along with the excellent facilities at the LA Fitness Center being part of the all-access package has been the story for the "Warriors".
"It's always important to ensure that the guys are comfortable together when you are preparing for a game and this goes on to have a positive effect on what takes place on the pitch. So far I think things have gone well and we should be able to get on even better as the match date gets closer," a focused looking Dwight Yorke said shortly before the training match with the Atlanta Silverbacks on Tuesday afternoon.
Some followers of the team from home and even those who have showed up at the team base in Ft Lauderdale questioned whether the overseas-based pros would actually report to camp on time and those here have seen the committment for themselves which has left St Clair a pleased team boss.
"I always advocate that if you are going to represent Trinidad and Tobago, then you have to do the things that the country deserves from you. As the coach I have stressed the importance of this and we have observed  that each of the guys who have come on board have adapted quickly and have been doing the right things. Rules are made to be followed and you tend to gain once you follow it correctly," St Clair stressed.
"We are doing as much on the field to try and gel as a unit and we are working on getting as mentally prepared as we can for this game in Guatemala which is our forst match of the round away from our Stadium," he ended.
« Last Edit: March 25, 2005, 04:01:16 PM by Flex »

Re: St Clair: We’ll be prepared for whatever comes our way.
« Reply #1 on: March 23, 2005, 03:15:31 PM »
Like Angus hadda start boy... 

« Reply #2 on: March 23, 2005, 04:20:47 PM »
Is it Bertille St Clair's mission to give as many Tobago playuers as possible a "run" with the National team?

How else does one explain Devon Leacock & now this Jason Nelson (whey de ass he come from?) playing with the National team in what are supposedly important warm up matches before WC qualifiers?

I doh care where dey come from but dese players have no connection to the national team whatsoever so why are they playing...especially in these games?

Bertille completely lorse de plot.

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2005, 04:34:39 PM »
We talk about this on the forum already.  Cyah win win allyuh men atall boy.  At this stage getting a knock before the game, as well as keeping fresh, is important.  Why yuh feel Nakhid play?  Because he going to suit up in Guatemala City?  Highly unlikely.  He played so that the players would not have to risk injury at this late stage by playing too many minutes. 

Most likely Bertille played his possible starting team in the first half and then had the subs run in the second half.  We have been having problems conceding goals, so the back four played all game for the extra practice.  Dwight especially needs the work as he is not match fit, so he played the full 90, along with Stern who also needs the run.  Other than that, key men came off (according to the report).  The report also said that the Tobago fella got "a few minutes at the end".  How unreasonable is that?

« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2005, 04:51:38 PM »

Bertille completely lorse de plot.

I can't cry him down on this one. I am actually happy with this report.

Spann back in the fold, Rojas fit and get a run in midfield.

I just hope that Kenwyne wasn't really injured and that they just took him off as a precaution.

It would be something else if Henry starts either game. From being completely out of the National team picture and to start a world cup qualifier at his age is very rare.

« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2005, 05:07:09 PM »
We talk about this on the forum already.  Cyah win win allyuh men atall boy.  At this stage getting a knock before the game, as well as keeping fresh, is important.  Why yuh feel Nakhid play?  Because he going to suit up in Guatemala City?  Highly unlikely.  He played so that the players would not have to risk injury at this late stage by playing too many minutes. 

Most likely Bertille played his possible starting team in the first half and then had the subs run in the second half.  We have been having problems conceding goals, so the back four played all game for the extra practice.  Dwight especially needs the work as he is not match fit, so he played the full 90, along with Stern who also needs the run.  Other than that, key men came off (according to the report).  The report also said that the Tobago fella got "a few minutes at the end".  How unreasonable is that?

Is ok if you was to get a run wit de National team?  Have yuh name appear as a sub?

When flikkin England and dem playin....yuh does be seein man who not on de f**kin squad playin in match?

Allyuh does get me f**kin vex sometimes wit de shit allyuh condonin wee.

Carry on...when we get de muddass 6 in we tail same allyuh go be bawlin bout how de players dem eh no f**kin good.

Is eedah yuh runnin tings professional or is a fete match side yuh dealin wit. 

Allyuh deserve wha de ass allyuh get.

Offline rocwell

« Reply #6 on: March 23, 2005, 05:36:53 PM »
I agree with Jahyouth, St. Clair is giving a couple of newer payers a look.  It might not be players who you think should be there and that's a fair criticism.  It's funny you should mention England, as on there upcoming tour of the U.S. many of their top players won't be there and some of the other guys will get an opportunity.

In Copa America last year most teams left out their 'A' players(a few Brazilians got a shot at the first string squad because of this)  Most of those players will never make their respective A squads.  It's ok in 'friendly' matches to experiment with new players.

« Reply #7 on: March 23, 2005, 05:43:11 PM »
i think the point palos is making is that we are a few days away from a very important match. now is not the time to give people 'a run'. now whether its just to give men a break from injury like jahyouth said is a diff question.

« Reply #8 on: March 23, 2005, 05:43:51 PM »
Calm Palos, calm.

If we were a top shape professional outfit we wouldn't be playing no Silverbacks three days before a game and our C-team would have been giving them beans, not no 2-1 win. That boat pass.

Right now we trying to make the best of a less than great situation.

It is true that the Jason Nelson fella shouldn't be there but I guess that Bertie is still trying to scout and juggle players for future games.

Although with: Stern, Yorke, Jones, Glen, Pierre, Sealey, McFarlane, Nixon tried so far I can't see what we hope to gain by trying out someone new in attack. Midfield or defence maybe but if there is a Trini-born striker that is better than these men we would probably know about him by now and he wouldn't be no unknown in Miami.

Offline rocwell

« Reply #9 on: March 23, 2005, 06:31:17 PM »
i think the point palos is making is that we are a few days away from a very important match. now is not the time to give people 'a run'. now whether its just to give men a break from injury like jahyouth said is a diff question.

If he's carrying them to Guatemala, where they'll be potential (especially in an emergency) substitutes, then they should get a run.  If you disagree with their selection in the first place, then one can't argue there.

« Reply #10 on: March 23, 2005, 06:45:06 PM »
looks like we played a 4-4-2     still he needs 2 select the team better   eg spann 4 tiger  rojas 4 henry

« Reply #11 on: March 23, 2005, 07:27:54 PM »
BSC always proving that he's not up to par for this job..hard as I may want to believe this man can do the job, it's tough. 2nd game coming up and he still testing players! As far as being concerned about players getting hurt and giving other men sweat.. why not give men who's on the bubble of making the team sweat? Who is this Nelson fella? The possibilty of getting hurt is part of the game, frig man could get hurt jocking (ask Sam)..

I agree with palos, we jus looking for licks!

« Reply #12 on: March 23, 2005, 08:17:57 PM »
It's funny you should mention England, as on there upcoming tour of the U.S. many of their top players won't be there and some of the other guys will get an opportunity.

In Copa America last year most teams left out their 'A' players(a few Brazilians got a shot at the first string squad because of this)  Most of those players will never make their respective A squads.  It's ok in 'friendly' matches to experiment with new players.

When England tour America, dey will name a 22.  Yuh tink it go have some Englishman who playin in de A league gettin a run out wit de England team in any game on dat tour?

In de Copa America how much men who WAS NOT NAME IN DEY OFFICIAL SQUAD get a run wit de National team?

When yuh friendly match is yuh final warm up match before a vital World Cup qualifier, you honestly think is "ok to experiment with new players?...especially players who not in yuh official squad?...especially players who not even playin in de A league?  What exactly is de purpose of dat?

Man....allyuh does continue to amaze me wit de f**kin dotishness allyuh does accpet wee.

Wit dem kinda scenes it eh go be surprisin if we take at least 3 in we pweffen on Saturday!

But is ok....because is jes a "fiendly" ent?    >:(
« Last Edit: March 23, 2005, 08:20:38 PM by palos »

« Reply #13 on: March 23, 2005, 08:35:05 PM »
Wait a minute here= Have some of you guys ever played football. Have you ever been on tour and not gotten a sweat.
I gather that the coach wanting to see how his starting eleven was doing, and having seen them gell, gave the other brothers a run in the position that they are shadowing, in case of injury,

It is so simple. the icing on the cake on this Post was JUMBIE who in a moment of great wisdom said that Man does get injured Jocking- and he put a fine lick on the point by adding Ask SAM.

What a thing.

I am anxiously awaiting Sam's rely.

« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2005, 08:47:05 PM »
And mankind does want to know why dey does call we a TIN-POT outfit. :-[

I realise, due to the constant amount of chupidness and mickey mouse this side does put down, come like the norm to the un-indoctrinated on this site. Imagine men actually looking to make a excuse for the chupidness.

If we actually win any game in this hex it will be thru divine intervention and not preparation!

Offline rocwell

« Reply #15 on: March 23, 2005, 08:55:39 PM »
When England tour America, dey will name a 22.  Yuh tink it go have some Englishman who playin in de A league gettin a run out wit de England team in any game on dat tour?

In de Copa America how much men who WAS NOT NAME IN DEY OFFICIAL SQUAD get a run wit de National team?

When yuh friendly match is yuh final warm up match before a vital World Cup qualifier, you honestly think is "ok to experiment with new players?...especially players who not in yuh official squad?...especially players who not even playin in de A league?  What exactly is de purpose of dat?

Man....allyuh does continue to amaze me wit de f**kin dotishness allyuh does accpet wee.

Wit dem kinda scenes it eh go be surprisin if we take at least 3 in we pweffen on Saturday!

But is ok....because is jes a "fiendly" ent? >:(

England has a much greater talent pool than we do (or probably will ever have) so I doubt anyone outside the premiership will even get called up. 

It's a friendly which is only a few days before an important match, full intensity is not required or expected, so I'd expect the starting players to get a little time and the guys on the bench get some time as well.  What's the problem?

I see your point about Nelson, but with T&T we need to take a look at all the players able and willing to play for us. That's what friendlies are for
We're Trinidad & Tobago, beggars can't be choosers.
I'd share in your amusing rage if St. Clair did that for the match on Saturday.

And they way our guys play lately we'd collect 3 anyway.

Wait a minute here= Have some of you guys ever played football. Have you ever been on tour and not gotten a sweat.
I gather that the coach wanting to see how his starting eleven was doing, and having seen them gell, gave the other brothers a run in the position that they are shadowing, in case of injury,

The Truth.

« Reply #16 on: March 23, 2005, 09:27:21 PM »
Arrite den......These are some of the quotes from posters...

rocwell

It's a friendly which is only a few days before an important match, full intensity is not required or expected, so I'd expect the starting players to get a little time and the guys on the bench get some time as well.  What's the problem?

injunchile

Now dat we see de posts.....can anyone please tell me where Jason Nelson name is on the list of players announced below?  Because fuh de life of me...I cyah find it.

Obviously I mus be miss it because a man say he shadowin somebody.

A nex man say de coach want to see he startin XI and den give "the other brothers ON THE TEAM a run.

So which "brother" is Jason Nelson???????

Tanx.

Trinidad & Tobago Team:

Goalkeepers:
Shaka Hislop (Portsmouth), Clayton Ince (Crewe Alexandra).

Defenders:
Marvin Andrews (Rangers)..replaced by Dennis Lawrence (Wrexham)due to injury, David Atiba Charles (W Connection), Anton Pierre (Defence Force), Brent Sancho (Dundee), Ian Cox (Gillingham), Marlon Rojas (Real Salt Lake), Nigel Henry (Charleston Battery).

Midfielders:
Silvio Spann (Yokohama FC), Kerry Baptiste (San Juan Jabloteh), Angus Eve (San Juan Jabloteh), Leslie Fitzpatrick (Alanta Silverbacks), Kenwyne Jones (Stoke City), Carlos Edwards (Wrexham).

Forwards:
Stern John (Coventry City), Dwight Yorke (Birmingham City), Cornell Glen (FC Dallas), Scott Sealy (Kansas City Wizards), Hector Sam (Wrexham).

Offline rocwell

« Reply #17 on: March 23, 2005, 09:35:19 PM »
I'll quote myself
I see your point about Nelson...

« Reply #18 on: March 23, 2005, 09:38:56 PM »
is real bull shit to run ah man who not on de team.

he shoulda run man who on de bench.

ah bet yuh man on de benc not match fit either.

is real bulllllllshiiiiit!

« Reply #19 on: March 23, 2005, 10:04:23 PM »
is real bull shit to run ah man who not on de team.

he shoulda run man who on de bench.

ah bet yuh man on de benc not match fit either.

is real bulllllllshiiiiit!
like this board flip boy?

Palos sounding like Sub and Truetrini sounding like Triniman.

All i need now is for Sam to start bigging up JA and I good.

« Reply #20 on: March 23, 2005, 10:19:21 PM »
I'll quote myself
I see your point about Nelson...

Dat was de only point I was makin.  Dat and how BSC doin SHIT to allow dat....and is not de fuss time he do it needah.

« Reply #21 on: March 23, 2005, 11:19:14 PM »

You right palos...I think people didn't realise this Nelson guy was basically a walk on.

Maybe BSC scouting better than we thought....the man finding people nobody on the board hear about before.  I really feel he naive and doh realise how doing them things will cause problems for himself.  Maybe he get tie up how the Jabloteh players get a run with the Metrostars.....he find that was brilliant.

I would let this pass for now only because it have more important things to come but I really have to wonder at what point the idea of inviting this guy to train came up.  If is when they reach Miami ...well boy.

Triniman...where yuh...no comments that Bertille was Nelson school teacher?    ;D

« Reply #22 on: March 24, 2005, 04:05:57 AM »
Palos, I eh see Nigel Pierre on that original list neither.

But I agree, who de hell is Jason Nelson, never heard of him, he might be good yea, but why waste caps on a player who maynot even be on de T&T team for de next 2 games. ? when Sealy needs it more because Glen still injured out and Jones got a knock. Even McFarlane, Tinto or Bailey would have been great additions.

Why didn't we play El Salvador or Cuba instead of Atlanta Silverbacks.. ?? we going to Central America so we need to play that type of pre-game.

I believe Nakhid will and can help.

It seems like BSC like this Nigel Henry fella, I'm not sure how good he is though.

Angus Eve, I give you my respect, you prove me wrong.

Good luck T&T.
« Last Edit: March 24, 2005, 05:18:37 AM by Sam »

« Reply #23 on: March 24, 2005, 06:52:23 AM »

It is so simple. the icing on the cake on this Post was JUMBIE who in a moment of great wisdom said that Man does get injured Jocking- and he put a fine lick on the point by adding Ask SAM.

What a thing.

I am anxiously awaiting Sam's rely.

I'll admit I was the hop scotch champ of the east, west, south and north..but is still does not mask the nonsense that BSC doing. Days before a WC qualifing game and he giving man sweat off the street? 

Like younger said.. divine stuff is need for we to win!

Jumbie

ah bet you gone home and try my theory about getting hurt!

Offline PIMP

« Reply #24 on: March 24, 2005, 07:34:01 AM »
i agree with you palos....i think that players should earn their way into the side....players like kerry baptiste who on the roster not even getting a run and he has worked hard....i think this goes back to the lack of professionalism BSC has displayed...there is no visability in his tactics and his player selection leaves alot to be desired....I think t&t is the only team to let an unknown player come onto the team and get an int'l cap....ah does really feel it for the local based pros....ah real love t&t to my heart but honestly they are the hardest team to back....anyways we need at least 4pts in the next 2 wcq games....if not it only have one thing to do....GO T&T

St Clair: whatever
« Reply #25 on: March 24, 2005, 08:34:23 AM »
In my job, I often tell folks, "It is easier to be critical than to be correct" After reading some of the posts about and following the exploits of our national football team, I  have to restrain myself at times from adhering to that maxim.

It would appear that  somewhere in the process of selection, preparation and planning for success, that there are evidence of essential disconnect. Whether it be the ineptitute of management or the strategic manouvers by the coaching staff.  How can one not systematically  map out  the teh ' friendly games' needed for our team to come together? How can we not effectively evalaute the  positional needs of the team? How can we not have a system in place by now for our opposition? Why are we not in the opposition's country earlier to acclimatize the players to altitute and field conditions?

I would like to think that the powers to be have very sound and experienced  knowledge that I do not have about these inquiries. I trust and  hope that the decisions being made are based on  factors albeit ones I have no knowledge of but ones I presume are in the best interest of the team.

Credits for having our most experienced overseas players on the squad  for a pivotal game. Like most others , I query some of the moves to bring in untried players  when you ave  'Warriors' who have gone to battle for this team on the bench?

I am not advocating mediocracy by allowing  so called expereienced players just for the sake of name. I believe that if there is a player who has demonstrated proven ability at an international or at a level of competition which he can parlay his skills and contribution to the team, then let's provide that opportunity.

But let's not resort to  'nepotism' like tendencies and name people to the team based on a 'likeness' or  'hunches' or intuition.  Recent past performances should be an indicator of  probable tendencies.

I implore our TNT football organization  once more to put  the best foot forward in these upcoming games. Let us be conjunctive in our approach; let us be resolute in our thinking and lets us be relentless in our actions to boldly claim our  intent to be in 'GERMANY' for 2006. ''FULL FORCE '' ahead.

« Reply #26 on: March 24, 2005, 08:52:49 AM »
Fellas:

For allyuh that don't know Bertille history, think back to the U20 World Cup Team in 1991, that team had 5 to 6 Tobagonians on it (most ever, based on my recollection on any T&T team).  Now, ah not saying that the fellas didn't deserve to be there, but from a personal standpoint Bertille does have an inferiority complex with trinis. 

The guy is good fundamentally, having played for him, he helped me a lot.  Is his way or the highway.  No way should Jason Nelson have played in that game.  Maybe train with the team, but not play in a practice game.  Half the time we looking like garbage b/c all we hearing is that the team not playing together often enough.  Reality must set in fellas.

« Reply #27 on: March 24, 2005, 09:11:50 AM »
All this furor is really unbelievable.  The guy played about 3 minutes.  3 minutes. 

3 minutes is what he played.

I am sure that Bertille did not expect this to serve as any "try out" for Nelson as there is not much a man can show in 3 minutes, but as I said (and we see with Kenwayne taking a slight knock), you are better safe than sorry when only a few days before a key match.

Now if he had taken Baptiste or Nixon on the trip and only given him 3 minutes to sweat yuh woulda hear noise on the forum.  What we have to notice is that Bertille is obviously happy with who he has up front for this game (Stern John (Coventry City), Dwight Yorke (Birmingham City), Cornell Glen (FC Dallas), Scott Sealy (Kansas City Wizards), Hector Sam (Wrexham)), and as such did not see it fit to bring any other men to play.

With all the Tobago talk, many people missed the key: Miami-based forward Jason Nelson, from Tobago, also got a few minutes in place of Pierre (N) near the end.  As a player in the Miami area, why not let him play 3 minutes having trained with the team all week to ease up the players, and save the expense of bringing another striker who he has no intention whatsoever to use in the game.

I would fully expect that if the team were in camp in Toronto Joel Bailey would have trained with the team and gotten a 3 minutes run, or even Terry St. Louis if the team was in Edmonton, Canada or whereever he is up there.

Forwards:

« Reply #28 on: March 24, 2005, 09:35:20 AM »
A Couple of questions: What is the purpose of the camp???
The squad has not played a single quality game since the US game, yet people saying the one warm up game should not be played with intensity. Are you kidding me? With 4 days to recover, I will argue this point with anyone. Teams play league games Sunday and CL Wednesday. Plus if you go to WC what is the spacing of your games??? They have teams playing WC Qualification Wednesday & then Saturday as we speak.
Why could the best potential line up not play with full intensity for 1hr. and then potential subs for the remainder?
The objective of this camp is to prepare for a qualification game. This is not look see business.

« Reply #29 on: March 24, 2005, 09:45:39 AM »
Take a bounce fuh dah one Observer.