April 29, 2024, 04:16:21 AM

Author Topic: usa v guatemala  (Read 7321 times)

usa v guatemala
« on: June 07, 2007, 07:39:11 AM »
United States slip pass Guatemala in gold cup opener.
By: Andrew Dalton (AP Writer).

CARSON, Calif. (AP) -- Clint Dempsey is thriving even as his national team is struggling. Dempsey's first-half goal gave the United States a 1-0 victory over Guatemala on Thursday in the opening round of the CONCACAF Gold Cup.
The U.S. team has yet to lose this year, but often looked ragged against what should have been an overmatched opponent.
In the first competitive game for the Americans since their first-round World Cup exit last June, Dempsey scored off Taylor Twellman's assist in the 26th minute. That kept the United States undefeated in 20 group-play games of the Gold Cup. Twellman sent a cross from the left side to Dempsey just as he surged into the box for an easy goal.
U.S. coach Bob Bradley said he started Twellman over Eddie Johnson, who had had a pair of hat tricks in MLS games recently, anticipating just such a situation.
"This game was tailor-made for Taylor, sorry, and his instincts in the penalty area," Bradley said.
It was the eighth national team goal for Dempsey, who plays for Fulham in England, and the second in a week. He also scored in a Saturday exhibition against China.
"It was good to get that goal against China. I hadn't been scoring for the U.S. in a while," Dempsey said. "I'm just running on confidence right now."
The lanky, flat-topped Texan was all over the field and constantly involved during the first half. He had a near-miss in the eighth minute on a shot that flew right of the goal. He was replaced in the 61st minute by Johnson.
Dempsey came to the States fresh off a big goal for Fulham over Liverpool last month.
Bradley won his first competitive game as coach of the national team, but his players were outplayed in the second half. He was 4-0-1 in exhibitions coming in; the one tie was with Guatemala.
"We hoped for more goals," Bradley said. "We had opportunities for the second goal. Had we scored the second, maybe it would have opened up."
The Americans were lively and dominant in the first half, but were often on their heels in a rough second half that saw central defender Oguchi Onyewu ejected with two yellow cards.
Star U.S. forward Landon Donovan temporarily left the game in the 70th minute after an apparent blow to the forehead. He and Guatemala's Carlos Ruiz traded shouts as Donovan went to the sideline, but he soon returned.
But Onyewu got his second yellow for a midfield scuffle in the 73rd, leaving an already-depleted defensive corps in difficulty. Midfielder Pablo Mastroeni is serving a three-match ban following a red card in last year's World Cup, when the Americans were eliminated in the first round.
Guatemala coach Hernan Dario Gomez said Onyewu's cards were a good sign for the United States -- it means a team noted for its cool organization is beginning to play more physically.
"I like it when they lose their composure," Gomez said through a translator. "It means they don't want to lose. And I want to see the Americans do well."
Bradley said Onyewu's second foul may have been provoked.
"There's always an attempt by teams when players have yellows to look for opportunities to get a second yellow," he said. "They have players like Carlos Ruiz who are very good at initiating contact and drawing fouls."
Frankie Hejduk, recovered from a severe knee injury, played his first international game since April 2006 for the U.S. team.
Goalkeeper Tim Howard saw little action in the first half, but needed to work for saves after the break. He made a leaping block of a high shot by Leonel Noriega in the 50th minute -- perhaps Guatemala's best chance of the game -- and a diving save on a free kick 10 minutes later.
The defending champion Americans are seeking a fourth tournament victory in the Gold Cup, the championship of North and Central America and the Caribbean, and their third in the last four events.
The U.S. team plays Trinidad and Tobago on Saturday. Guatemala plays El Salvador, which beat T and T 2-1 later Thursday night.
Guatemala, which played the United States to a scoreless exhibition draw on March 28, has not won a Gold Cup game in 15 tries dating back to 1996.
The Americans were yet again essentially visitors in their home country as they took on a Latin American opponent; the crowd overwhelmingly favored the Guatemalans.
Dempsey said facing jeers at home is a good, if not entirely wanted, test for the U.S. squad.
"This is what it's going to be like when it comes time to qualify for the World Cup," Dempsey said. "But obviously we'd like to have more support."

Fans with USA and Guatemala face-paint cheer for their teams during USA vs Guatemala first round match 07 June 2007 at the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup at the Home Depot Center in Carson, California. USA defeated Guatemala 1-0. AFP PHOTO / Robyn BECK (Photo credit should read ROBYN BECK/AFP/Getty Images). ...AFP/Getty Images.

CARSON, CA - JUNE 7: Clint Dempsay #8 of the U.S. goes up to head the ball against Guatemala during thier CONCACAF Gold Cup first round match at the Home Depot Center June 7, 2007 in Carson, California. The U.S. won 1-0. (Photo by Stephen Dunn/Gettty Images). ...Getty Images.

CARSON, CA - JUNE 7: Carlos Quinones #18 of Guatemala fights for the ball with Michael Bradley #18 of the U.S. during thier CONCACAF Gold Cup first round match at the Home Depot Center June 7, 2007 in Carson, California. The U.S. won 1-0. (Photo by Stephen Dunn/Gettty Images). ...Getty Images.

CARSON, CA - JUNE 7: Goal keeper Tim Howard #1 of the U.S. jumps to catch a corner kick by Guatemala during extra time of thier CONCACAF Gold Cup first round match at the Home Depot Center June 7, 2007 in Carson, California. The U.S. won 1-0. (Photo by Stephen Dunn/Gettty Images). ...Getty Images.

USA's Landon Donovan (R) is attacked by Guatemala's Gustavo Cabrera during second half action at the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup at the Home Depot Center in Carson, California, 07 June 2007. USA defeated Guatemala 1-0. AFP PHOTO / Robyn BECK (Photo credit should read ROBYN BECK/AFP/Getty Images). ...AFP/Getty Images.

USA's Carlos Bocanegra (L) attacks past an unidentified Guatemala player (R) during first half action at the 2007 CONCACAF Gold Cup at the Home Depot Center in Carson, California, 07 June 2007. USA defeated Guatemala 1-0. AFP PHOTO / Robyn BECK (Photo credit should read ROBYN BECK/AFP/Getty Images). ...AFP/Getty Images.

CARSON, CA - JUNE 7: DaMarcus Beasley #7 of the U.S. shoots in front of Claudio Albizuris #7 of Guatemala during thier CONCACAF Gold Cup first round match at the Home Depot Center June 7, 2007 in Carson, California. The U.S. won 1-0. (Photo by Stephen Dunn/Gettty Images). ...Getty Images.

United States' Oguchi Onyewu gestures his he leaves the field after receiving his second yellow card against Guatemala in the second half of their CONCACAF Gold Cup soccer match in Carson, Thursday, June 7, 2007. The U.S. won 1-0. ...(AP Photo/Chris Carlson).
« Last Edit: June 08, 2007, 04:22:36 AM by Flex »

Re: usa v guatemala
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2007, 08:03:37 AM »
those who don't have  FSC can see the game in Spanish on Telefutura along with the TRINI EL SALVADOR game right after

« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2007, 09:06:55 AM »
for all trinis fsc will be blocked because tv6 has the rights, so tune in from 8:30pm t&t time on tv6

« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2007, 01:26:22 PM »
those who don't have  FSC can see the game in Spanish on Telefutura along with the TRINI EL SALVADOR game right after
nah i eh tink so last nite i flip tru de guide and i only see de trini game.yuh sure?

« Reply #4 on: June 07, 2007, 07:33:13 PM »
I am backing the US hard tonight.

I have no delusions of us winning this group so I want them to wash Guatemala and El Salvador BAD.

Make it a 3 horse race between the three of us.

« Reply #5 on: June 07, 2007, 07:37:08 PM »
this game boring.... :-\ :-\

« Reply #6 on: June 07, 2007, 07:39:03 PM »
1-0 for USA .. goal by Demsey

Showing on GOl TV (without audio for a while)

« Reply #7 on: June 07, 2007, 07:40:55 PM »
guat defense is shit.

« Reply #8 on: June 07, 2007, 07:43:13 PM »
de commentators on GOL TV talking bout the black listed players .. not much info other than de soca warrior team playing later tonight is not the same from the world cup lol
« Last Edit: June 07, 2007, 07:44:47 PM by pecan »

Offline Socaman

• Live Yuh Life Like Yuh Playin Mas!!!!
« Reply #9 on: June 07, 2007, 07:56:55 PM »
I cyah stand that US team.. :puking:I want to see Gua surprise them tonight.. ;D

« Reply #10 on: June 07, 2007, 08:03:01 PM »
End of first half

USA 1, Guat 0

Game is lack lustre

« Reply #11 on: June 07, 2007, 08:06:40 PM »
I cyah stand that US team.. :puking:I want to see Gua surprise them tonight.. ;D

me either but i want ah draw

« Reply #12 on: June 07, 2007, 08:15:43 PM »
We hadda support the US to beat these ther 2 teams...

Guatemala not impressive, they playing real nasty too...

Oniweyu have Ruiz in check.

« Reply #13 on: June 07, 2007, 08:40:20 PM »
We hadda support the US to beat these ther 2 teams...

Guatemala not impressive, they playing real nasty too...

Oniweyu have Ruiz in check.

he now get a red card :rotfl:

Offline ckhan

• Pay Forward
« Reply #14 on: June 07, 2007, 08:48:58 PM »
Dis game lacking dread...
If a free society cannot help the many who are poor it cannot save the few who are rich.

- John F. Kennedy

Offline socachynee

• goals win games
« Reply #15 on: June 07, 2007, 08:55:38 PM »
so it should be over by now I just see ww.livescore.com have 1-0 USE in the 90'

« Reply #16 on: June 07, 2007, 09:01:02 PM »
^^ it now done......

-hate the dog shit commentary though  :-\

« Reply #17 on: June 07, 2007, 09:50:55 PM »
^^ it now done......

-hate the dog shit commentary though  :-\

Wha was the final score?