March 28, 2024, 07:43:48 AM

Author Topic: And the award goes to....  (Read 4504 times)

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
And the award goes to....
« on: June 08, 2007, 09:45:26 PM »
Aight, two categories
Who is your pick for

Best Male actor EVER
and
Best Female Actress EVER?

dead or alive although it goes without saying dat if dey dead dey not acting again...
put a snap in case we doh know who it is

My choices
Forest Whitaker - man can act! (Crying Game was the first time I saw him act)

Judi Dench - comedic actress, drama, suspense, She can do it all (Plays "M" in the Bnd movies)

Re: And the award goes to....
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2007, 10:13:25 PM »
Tough tough question ,but am confident in that these actors ,could replace almost anyone ,in any role.
 Leonardo DiCaprio

Katherine Hepburn

made these choices switching ,actors and roles and if they could off ,pulled off different movies ,obviously leo couldna pull off King of Scotland,but Forrest could not do Titanic .

others
Brad Pitt
Denzil
Clark Gable
Jimmy Stuart
Jodie Foster
Merryl Strepp
« Last Edit: June 08, 2007, 10:37:35 PM by Quagmire »

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2007, 06:26:09 AM »
Allyuh have some good picks dey so far.  I mehself like Leonardo and ah love Brad Pitt.  He have some good range..comedy, drama.  Legands of de Fall.  Ah fall in love wid he when ah see dat movie.  He had meh crying laughin, longing all kinda emotions.

Fuh female, ah like Jodie Foster.

I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2007, 06:31:12 AM »
Best Male Actor
Al Pacino

Best Female
Merryl Strepp

« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2007, 07:15:35 AM »
afor bets male i going between lerie joseph and eric "stalk" st hill
for female- BEAULAH. whats her name again...somehting king??
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2007, 08:27:57 AM »
All Time -

Male - Al Pacino

Female - Meryl Streep

Currently -

Male - Denzel Washington

Female - Helen Mirren

Honourable mention......

Male -  Kevin Spacey, Don Cheadle, Tim Roth, Chiwetel Ejiofor, Edward Norton, Terrence Howard

Female - Toni Collette, Charlize Theron, Alfre Woodard, Susan Sarandon, Scarlett Johansson

Offline johnny_ringo

« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2007, 08:38:54 AM »
Best male eva- Hansley Ajoda, his performance in the multi award winning No Boundaries was astonishing

Best female eva- Beaula , her many captivating stage performances are some  of the best modern theater has ever seen.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2007, 09:36:00 AM »
Well lemme see
DiCaprio? Nope The boy is ok but not a great actor to me
Hepburn, yeah boy, awesome actress
who else?
Streep - she is one to add to the list. Consummate actress
Can't give Pacino the nod. He is great as ONE kind of actor - high maintenance, high wire, stressful characters. He can't seem to act anything else.
Johnny Ringo = sorry don't know your submissions. Got a snap?
Brad Pitt? lol..gimme a break
Jodie Foster will be a great actress before she retires. She has all the makings but I didn't like her in "Inside Man"

« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2007, 10:00:51 AM »

« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2007, 11:27:35 AM »
Best male eva- Hansley Ajoda, his performance in the multi award winning No Boundaries was astonishing

Best female eva- Beaula , her many captivating stage performances are some  of the best modern theater has ever seen.

whats her real name again..somehting king???
is she still alive? i havent heard anything about for a long time
Perhaps the epitome of a Trinidadian is the child in the third row class with a dark skin and crinkly plaits who looks at you out of decidedly Chinese eyes and announces herself as Jacqueline Maharaj.- Merle Hodge

« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2007, 11:40:42 AM »
my choices for male actors would be Nicholson, Connery, Freeman
and for female Sarandon, Weaver, Foster and Merkerson (I used to love her when she played Reba the Mail Lady on Pee Wee's Playhouse :rotfl: :rotfl: NOT, as I never knew this ;) )
« Last Edit: June 09, 2007, 03:36:22 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #11 on: June 09, 2007, 12:16:20 PM »
Here are my nominations for 2000's

2000 John Travolta - Battlefield Earth / Lucky Numbers

2001 Tom Green - Freddy Got Fingered

2002 Roberto Benigni (Dubbed Godzilla-style by Breckin Meyer) - Pinocchio

2003 Ben Affleck - Daredevil / Gigli / Paycheck

2004 George W. Bush - Fahrenheit 9/11

2005 Rob Schneider - Deuce Bigalow: European Gigolo

2006 Marlon Wayans & Shawn Wayans - Little Man

For more info, resort to WC little font tricks

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Razzie_Award_for_Worst_Actor

« Last Edit: June 09, 2007, 01:43:32 PM by pecan »

« Reply #12 on: June 09, 2007, 01:03:07 PM »
cough cough your link ent workin cough
click here ;D
you have to remove the [/color from behind the addy...

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Razzie_Award_for_Worst_Actor

Westcoast

like dis? but i jess try de link an it work for me

« Reply #13 on: June 09, 2007, 01:44:23 PM »
i changed it for you in my post but in reply #11 it dont work

go back to reply #11
just click on modify and then remove the [/color and leave the ] after the addy
when you fix it I go delete ALL my posts

oh ho .. thanks :D  .. no need to delete unless Queen say so

« Reply #14 on: June 09, 2007, 01:46:53 PM »
GOOD JOB :applause: :applause:

oh ho .. thanks :D  .. no need to delete unless Queen say so
I cyar even post pictures in de photo of the day thread widout buss head 
even ah picture of a boat I was told to go outside, like I have an ocean in meh basement  ;D ;D ;D ;D
« Last Edit: June 09, 2007, 03:06:54 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #15 on: June 09, 2007, 03:16:48 PM »

whats her real name again..somehting king???
is she still alive? i havent heard anything about for a long time

Shirley King
Retired a couple of years ago from teaching. She was they Home Ecomonics teacher at umm
Secondary school (one in the east, cyah remember dey name right now)

Still helping Freddie Kissoon run his drama school...
Not sure if she is till on stage doh.

My favorite actor of all times - Samuel L Jackson
Ah doh have a female yet

« Reply #16 on: June 09, 2007, 05:54:51 PM »
dis thread is a nice compilation of people who are undeservingly overpaid and over-regarded

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #17 on: June 09, 2007, 06:18:00 PM »
that's true for a lot of preofessions Grande..

Baseball
basketball
hockey

while professions like
nurses
teachers
health care aids
daycare staff
and janitors are underpaid.

we let this happen.

« Reply #18 on: June 09, 2007, 08:08:26 PM »
that's true for a lot of preofessions Grande..

Baseball
basketball
hockey

while professions like
nurses
teachers
health care aids
daycare staff
and janitors are underpaid.

we let this happen.

I agree, and we perpetuate it too.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #19 on: June 10, 2007, 09:09:38 PM »
agreed Grande....

we humans like to be entertained and pay handsomely for it.
I guess it is escapism? To go sit in the dark and pretend we don't have a care in the world for 120 minutes.
Hollywood is big business and doesn't give back much. Not sure why an actor who plays Jeffery Dahmer or Paul Bernado should receive 2 million while the family of the victims live in loss and pain. But we're like that Grande. Maybe when we stop pretending we're civilized and evolved, we can get more done.

« Reply #20 on: June 13, 2007, 03:11:00 PM »
Allyuh want to see real talent

Is to watch ah Trini convince movie goers dat he from Brooklyn  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tHdj0p1Ottw&mode=related&search=

« Reply #21 on: June 13, 2007, 03:18:59 PM »
Allyuh want to see real talent

Is to watch ah Trini convince movie goers dat he from Brooklyn  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tHdj0p1Ottw&mode=related&search=

I gorn from Trini too long ... de indian man is Trini?

« Reply #22 on: June 20, 2007, 08:38:31 PM »
agreed Grande....

we humans like to be entertained and pay handsomely for it.
I guess it is escapism? To go sit in the dark and pretend we don't have a care in the world for 120 minutes.
Hollywood is big business and doesn't give back much. Not sure why an actor who plays Jeffery Dahmer or Paul Bernado should receive 2 million while the family of the victims live in loss and pain. But we're like that Grande. Maybe when we stop pretending we're civilized and evolved, we can get more done.

I hear yuh. It does get meh upset when ppl does go on about ppl on tv/movies as if they is demigods, calling dem by their full names too eh: "oh so-and-so was brilliant / amazing/ gorgeous in dis movie"

De real heroes are de women and men who does work hard to make a honest living to feed and shelter dey family, and trying to make ends meet at the same time. We don't hear anything about dem being amazing though
« Last Edit: June 20, 2007, 08:40:08 PM by Grande »

« Reply #23 on: June 20, 2007, 08:53:31 PM »
wha alyah drinking boi ,haterade owa  :rotfl: jah .

« Reply #24 on: June 20, 2007, 09:01:33 PM »
wha alyah drinking boi ,haterade owa  :rotfl: jah .

boy these tings does be in yuh face whole day it doh bother yuh

want some?  ;D

« Reply #25 on: June 20, 2007, 09:08:31 PM »
hard luck partner ...but nah is alrite lol . Alyah overeacting  man ,even doh it is rediculous ppl preoccupation with famous ppl .That don t mean normal people can t appreciatate the art of actors.Look even u is have to big up Christino Rinaldo performances  ;D

BTW Leonardo is not even in my top ten favs quenie .
Got to give to my boi Jonny Depp ever since jump street .
others Di nero ,heard it takes 5 pachinos to equal one de niro eh .

« Last Edit: June 20, 2007, 09:14:17 PM by Quagmire »

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #26 on: June 22, 2007, 08:25:07 AM »
Nah, I have less energy wrapped up in that, than it sounds, doh worry...

Is someting to make you go 'hmmm' doh...Grande have a point.

« Reply #27 on: June 22, 2007, 04:48:12 PM »
I'm not much of a movie buff and certainly not much of a movie historian, but from what I've seen here goes:

Male: I'm having a hard time deciding between Morgan Freeman and Sean Connery. Outside picks are Denzil Washington (John Q almost brought me to tears), John Travolta, Robert Di Nero and Michael Douglas. An honorable mention to Johnny Depp for his role in Pirates of the Caribbean series and Djimon Hounsou for his role in Amistad - "Give us Free" and Gladiator.

Female: Streep, Susan Sarandon and Halle Berry are my top picks for female. Outside picks are Charlize Theron, Julia Roberts and Jodie Foster. An honorable mention to Audrey Hepburn for Breakfast at Tiffany's... had me thoroughly convinced that she was mad plus her role in the original "Sabrina" movie is good too and also Julie Andrews for Sound of Music, still one of my all time favourite movies.