April 28, 2024, 12:27:00 PM

Author Topic: USA vs T&T remarks thread.  (Read 7589 times)

USA vs T&T remarks thread.
« on: June 10, 2007, 06:59:17 AM »
I have a couple minutes before I go, but in a nut shell.

I dont mind we lose eh, but is how we does lose. We knew about this gold cup since 6 months ago and the TTFF knew they wasn't going with the overseas players why didn't they prepare this team better than we go out there and look like a confuse, tired and not organise bunch. Imagine Guadeloupe on top of their table with teams such as Haiti, Canada and Costa Rica. And Wim taking about T&T have 1 million and USA have 214 million, how much Guadeloupe have compare to Haiti and Canada.

Only poor excuses all the time. Injury will happen, USA use two different teams in two games and winning. We carry 22 players if one man get injured it dosen't mean we have to lose or play badly for that... it had many none blacklisted players that could have been picked too. But when you only searching in small areas you will not find, we have many good players right in the USA.. open your mind coach. Get rid of your scout he making you look bad. Set up a US camp before you head back to T&T as you are here already.... like them (US Based) play the gold cup team.... utilise your resources better.

If we have to lose we have to at least play with some heart, desire and most of all as a team. Not a bunch of players standing around when they dont have de ball.

Jan - had a better game and made some great stops.

Kerry - waste. He shit down he self today.

Christon - fight it.

Noreiga - he had a good thing going until he got injured. My prays with him.

Pacheco - wasn't as good as the first game but did ok.

Theobald - need a case of red bull. Looked very tired.

Toussaint - best man today on the T&T side, should be converted to a central midfield. Remember yuh hear it here first.

Spann - did good in and out and yea, a boss with them kicks. Wow, this man is de next best dead ball specialist coming up... de man make that ball turn in mid air... LARD FARDA !!!!!!!!

Power - the worst player on the field and if thats the best right back (or left back now) we have in T&T right now, then we in real trouble. I am sure locals and US based defenders like Corey Rivers, Ian Gray (a cool head one), Dwayne Jack, Carlon Murray, Ronald Primus, Makan Hislop, Yohance Marshall, Corneal Thomas, Dexter Franklyn, Kevin Adams, Lorne Joseph, Fabien Lewis, Clyde Leon or Brenton DeLeon could do much better. We breathing a shit hound in Power and wasting caps on him. Forget what Wim said, our pro league cant be that bad, we manage to beat Mexicans and MLS teams on a few occasions in concacaf cup, so the talent is there we just need a coach to bring that out like what Beenhaker did with our WC team as many felt the same way about them but Beenhakker changed that.
Power is a workhorse like Devon Drayton (who atleast have more technical ability), Power does fight hard, but to much fighting does cloud your vision. He making to many mistakes, keep getting catch out of position, keep getting catch flat footed and giving away de ball when he get it or sending it up high to the US players and putting T&T back under pressure.
If T&T needs a runner they should pick Darren Brown. But not be able to make the simplest task in football will not cut it. Fundamentals is the first thing you learn in football. Trap, shoot, pass, one touch, juggle, etc etc...

Roberts- fight it real hard, better game. No service to him or else he might have scored.

Aguillera - de man solid eh, but he needs to be consistent. I dont know if Aguillera and Theobald forming a good parthership together. I still like him and feel he could develop into a great player.

Keyeno - fight hard, lack speed but did good. Ah only taking him for Glen.

Nickcolson - Wim sub him early and I was very happy but his replacment (Kerry) was poor. But Wim try and thats important, so now we know. Maybe this Nickcolson fella was nervous but its not hard to tell that a player is lacking in his overall play.

We midfield suffering bad for a creative player, time to put Toussaint in central midfield or give Keon Daniel a game and call up Jabloteh's Wendell Joseph for training when we go back home.

Wim when you get home try not to ask anyone locally to hep you select your players because many good players or who could be good players being overlooked.

If we win our next game and USA beat El Salvador then we stand a good chance to make it to the play-offs. Good luck T&T and Wim...

vs GUA

Williams
Keyeno, Noreiga, Wolfe
Spann, Theobald, Toussaint, Noel, Pacheco
McFarlane, Roberts

subs

Glasgow for McFarlane 65th
Daniel or Aguillera for Noel 70th, depends on de situation.
Jagdeosingh for Roberts 80th

Its important for caribbean teams to do good so teams like Canada, USA and Mexico will not get automatic births to the gold cup and qualify like the rest of us. T&T should also host the next gold cup so this will make sure none champions go through qualification.

PS: Glad to see 3 Princess Town Senior Comprehensive players on the current team. Pacheco, Noreiga and Phillip. Keep allyuh head up fellas, Rene Simoes was impress with these men and they never feel off, they fight hard and now I hope they reap many rewards. Its hard to grow up in T&T and stay focus.

Note.

I watch de game again this morning. Sean Power is a work horse and if he can become technically better he will make a good defender. He make's to much mistakes though and mistakes cost a team. As a defender you cannot make so many mistakes.

What sense winning the ball or breaking up plays and you giving the ball right back to the opposition.

I stand by what I said on Power. He either step up or step out, but as a professional and an international player you should be playing better football, running up de field and down de field with no idea what the hell you are there for is a waste to me and that causes teams to lose. He got caught to many times and his recovery time is POOR !!!!!!!!
« Last Edit: June 11, 2007, 07:35:13 AM by Sam »

Re: USA vs T&T remarks thread.
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2007, 07:27:42 AM »
I disagree about Power..de man real fight.

Spann give away de ball PLENTY..and shoulda get subbed.  apart from de corners and free kicks..he shit dong he pampers.

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2007, 07:42:31 AM »
Power is lacking technically but I agree that he plays with a lot of heart.

I've been saying the same thing about Toussaint. Even W Connection doesn't know how to use him effectively. He should play where Latas played. Easily our best player. He could make our full team.

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2007, 07:53:03 AM »
I never said Power was not a workhorse, de man does fight, but to much fighting does cloud your vision. He making to many mistakes, keep getting catch out of position, keep getting catch flat footed and giving away de ball when he get it or sending it up high to the US players and putting T&T back under pressure.

If T&T needs a runner they should pick Darren Brown. But not be able to make the simplest task in football will not cut it.

Fundamentals is the first thing you learn in football. Trap, shoot, pass, one touch, juggle, etc etc...

« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2007, 08:20:58 AM »
Power have raw tools with which to work.  I would invest in he once he have de right attitude.

Theobald one dimensional.  Think he caught up in the Dwight Yorke role lil too much.  The sign of a good player is the ability to adapt to conditions and change yuh game to suit.  He eh doin dat.

Spann was disappointing except from dead balls.  Clearly unfit.  The overall team fitness not exactly stellar but Spann was glaring.  He had de angle on Mapp fuh de 1st goal and still Mapp pass him like a full bus.

Pacheco eh ready.  Neither is C Baptiste, Nicholson, Toussaint, or Keyeno.  De "defence" played by Pacheco on Donovan was comically PATHETIC!  Yuh start running back to cover de man and den all of a sudden pull up and raise yuh hand lookin fuh offside?  WTF?  ??? ???  :banginghead: :banginghead: :busshead: :busshead:

Toussaint do a couple lil stepover and man impress.  Toussaint get a rude awakenin from a US 2nd XI squad.  He was ALWAYS EASILY knocked off the ball.  At this level, dat not good enough.  Latas was small but yuh couldn't get the ball off of him.  Not anywhere so with Toussaint.  He have potential but he have PLENTY to do.

Williams de goalie was decent.  One decision NOT to come off his line was quite baffling tho.

All in all.....dem fellas played to the level of their ability.  I believe they tried their best and that's all we can ask for.

There is a reason they playin in the PFL and it was demonstrated for all to see yesterday.

« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2007, 08:22:53 AM »
Sam ah reading yuh post and totally agree wid yuh bout Powers and ah saying to mehself, watch how men go jump on yuh case for your assesment of him, and jed sure enough men disagree wid yuh, but not me, i totally agree.....de man is ah damn sh&tsnake and men only making excuses for him, jed if you playing football all yuh life and getting paid to play it boot, i feel yuh should be able to make a proper friggin pass, and if yuh can't, practice til yuh can. i not picking on him, but it too glaring man, in dis day and age having effective wing backs is crucial to a team's success, as a matter of fact, having effective players at every position is crucial, right?

« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2007, 09:18:34 AM »
Power have raw tools with which to work.  I would invest in he once he have de right attitude.

Theobald one dimensional.  Think he caught up in the Dwight Yorke role lil too much.  The sign of a good player is the ability to adapt to conditions and change yuh game to suit.  He eh doin dat.

Spann was disappointing except from dead balls.  Clearly unfit.  The overall team fitness not exactly stellar but Spann was glaring.  He had de angle on Mapp fuh de 1st goal and still Mapp pass him like a full bus.

Pacheco eh ready.  Neither is C Baptiste, Nicholson, Toussaint, or Keyeno.  De "defence" played by Pacheco on Donovan was comically PATHETIC!  Yuh start running back to cover de man and den all of a sudden pull up and raise yuh hand lookin fuh offside?  WTF?  ??? ???  :banginghead: :banginghead: :busshead: :busshead:

Toussaint do a couple lil stepover and man impress.  Toussaint get a rude awakenin from a US 2nd XI squad.  He was ALWAYS EASILY knocked off the ball.  At this level, dat not good enough.  Latas was small but yuh couldn't get the ball off of him.  Not anywhere so with Toussaint.  He have potential but he have PLENTY to do.

Williams de goalie was decent.  One decision NOT to come off his line was quite baffling tho.

All in all.....dem fellas played to the level of their ability.  I believe they tried their best and that's all we can ask for.

There is a reason they playin in the PFL and it was demonstrated for all to see yesterday.
Again I think they playing him the wrong place. He should be facing the defense not playing with his back to goal.

He definitely has work to do but he has the tools with which to work.

« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2007, 09:19:55 AM »
much improved performance from the el sal game. maybe travel had an effect thurs night?

troubled the US at times. probably were on the verge of a few good shots when the 2nd goal was scored via a counter.

still have defensive problems though.

spann, roberts, toussaint, baptiste 1 & 2  all look good.

leh we get a 4-0 win over guatemala for 2nd place in the group!

« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2007, 09:29:07 AM »
palos...for nearly the entire first half the ball was played in the air for Andre Toussaint...The man was always a good player but overlooked for a while now...The man still did a decent job holding back some of the challenges....Second Half when he was getting it on his feet it was a different story...US defenders could not get around the short man...He screen well turn with his head up and play good balls through the defense...He was bun though...A few stepovers? Try effective dribbling to bring his teamates in the game...Yuh say Latapy coulda hold off challenges...When he played against Bahrain in the first game in Hasley is rel push around he get...Why you think he didn't play against England or Sweden but play against the smaller built Paraguayans? Why you think he does play more withdrawn at Falkirk? Pacheco stop running because he was trying to keep the line with his defense...They were slow to keep the line which allowed Donavan to slip in...They should have concentrated on the inside route when he they realized he was going to get the ball...so Donavon had no one to pass too...Seon Power is a aggressive player but his distribution lacks badly...Fabien Lewis needs to be given a chance to showcase what he can do....Theobald needs to step up his gear
« Last Edit: June 10, 2007, 09:31:04 AM by Ponnoxx »

« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2007, 09:46:34 AM »
Disagree about Kerry Baptiste...I find he is one of the best players on this C-team. Even in the USA game I wouldn't say he was a waste

He doesn't play often enough for us to judge properly, but he runs with the ball with speed and grace, knows how to get forward well, he can pass and is one of the best crossers of the ball.

Pacheco eh ready though.

« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2007, 10:07:05 AM »
As has been pointed out over many years, de fitness of our footballers is not at de level required at de international stage. Yesterday, dey were consistently about 5 seconds too slow to de ball. Reaction times were slow, anticipation, running off de ball, first touch, positiional awareness, marking, urgency, intensity etc. was below what was needed. Look at how Trent Noel came on de field in de 81st min.. He came on as doh we was leading an had de game wrapped up; no intensity at all. Altdoh we have tuh start tings at de youth level, de Pro League has a huge and important role in raising de standard of our ball. De clubs and dem need tuh take tings tuh anodda level.

For me, Andre Toussaint was T&T's best player on the day, but he didn't get much help from his strike partner. Also, many times he would get de ball and have no outlet. By de time one ah we players show deyself, about 4 USA man would converge on Toussaint. Yuh could see dat he was actually trying tuh make tings happen. One of de tings we lacking was somebody/anybody wit speed tuh burn.

Like most other people, I was baffled at Seon Power's inclusion in de national setup, but after reasoning wit Patriot and looking at him throughout de match yesterday, I could see why Wim does stick with him. He eh flashy, and his ball distribution is poor (so is Avery John's) , but he works hard, does the simple things and breaks up plays. He needs o work on his ball control and make simple passes. When he wins de abll at de back, he should jes lay it off tuh de closest teammate  ;D.

« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2007, 10:21:03 AM »

out of everyone i agree with this post the most....except with your perception of power. that is one of the worst performances i have ever seen from any trinidad player wearing the team colors. it was embarassing to watch that game and have ah player of his NON ability to be put in ah position of such great importance. Spann did not look good at all outside of his dead-ball hits but i will give him kudos for at least taking shots and hitting them on target because no one else apparently want to do that. i will agree with most on the board to say andre needs to play facing the defense. he does not have the frame to handle the knocks from behind. errol i thought would have been the better option for that kind of play.

i have said this before and will continue to say that i dont understand the role theobald playing on this team. because he played in the world cup (which in truth and fact he shouldnt have) makes him ah player we give the responsibility of being the go-to guy. he is not physically ready to play that position and i am never impressed with his play. keneyo not good ah little bit...cah pass..cah mark...dont track...no speed!!!! ah still haunted by that pass he made in de first game that caused us to lose that game.

if you look at the US team and watch our team you can see ah huge difference in physical appearance. they faster, stronger and much more fitter than us. No way we can compete against any opponent who has the upper hand in those 3 facets of the game. dem fellas need to be on a program where weight training is incorporated cause it glaring the difference in physical attributes to us and all of our opponents. :beermug:
« Last Edit: June 10, 2007, 10:23:46 AM by fordy »

« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2007, 10:41:48 AM »
A lot of the bad passes we saw yesterday had more to do with a lack of fitness rather a lack of technical ability( and I'm not saying we're on the same level with US technically) But we gave up the ball because of the US pressing game. Dem pro-league men not accustomed to that pace so when a man play a ball to a teammate, that teammate waiting for the ball instead of coming towards it. The mobile Americans would then just intercept the ball. Where we were absolutely woeful was in making penetrating passes. Here is where a Hardest or a Dwarika would have been useful because Denzil can't perform that role at this level yet.

The call remains the same. We need superior athletes. Greater endurance, strength, speed and awareness.   

« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2007, 10:43:12 AM »
I have to say that I also find Power works very hard, but has a lot to learn and tell me why weren't our defenders vectoring on Johnson and Donovan to break up that cross. Donovan would have had to try the shot on Jan who just might have held it.

What can I say, we tried our best but were out classed and out paced by the pace and accuracy of the US and their spot on passin.

I hope Anton put that U-17 squad in the gym three times a week to pack on the muscle and work on speed, because we are completey defficient in those areas
« Last Edit: June 10, 2007, 12:13:04 PM by grskywalker »

« Reply #14 on: June 10, 2007, 10:51:17 AM »
I dunno much about this Seon Power fella, but in terms of performances YESTERDAY which is what this thread is about, I think people are being overly harsh. If you watch the game again without being clouded by preconceived opinions about him.....except for being blown by on the first goal -he stuck to his task, stayed with his marker, broke up plays & cleaned up his teammates' sh*t better than the rest of our back four YESTERDAY

I agree that he is awkward as a non left footer on the left side...which I think affects his ability to play the ball effectively coming out of the back, but yesterday he put in a decent shift (relatively speaking of course)....

Offline trinfax

« Reply #15 on: June 10, 2007, 10:54:21 AM »
When Wim took over one of the first things he said was that our pro league is not up to standard. That showed yesterday... a pro league team against a MLS team and look what went on.

BTW.. Jack Warner and the TTFF do not care about Trinidad and Tobago nor football in Trinidad and Tobago. If they did, that group of players would not have been on that pitch in this tournament.

« Reply #16 on: June 10, 2007, 10:58:53 AM »
trinifax..I wouldn't say it was an MLS side becuz at least 5 of the guys were European based

Offline trinfax

« Reply #17 on: June 10, 2007, 11:01:01 AM »
Point taken poono, but still if thats what the pro league is sending out we have a real big problem.

« Reply #18 on: June 10, 2007, 11:05:29 AM »
When Wim took over one of the first things he said was that our pro league is not up to standard. That showed yesterday... a pro league team against a MLS team and look what went on.

BTW.. Jack Warner and the TTFF do not care about Trinidad and Tobago nor football in Trinidad and Tobago. If they did, that group of players would not have been on that pitch in this tournament.

fully endorse this post!!! :beermug: :beermug:

Offline Rhythmwize

« Reply #19 on: June 10, 2007, 11:24:32 AM »
I was at the game and watched the replay on FSC when I got home.

USA coach Bradley was kind to TnT, putting his B squad out there against Trini B squad.

I thought GK Williams played very well, many stops on point blank shots;  USA could have had at least a couple more goals except for those saves and some bad off-side calls by the Cuban Linesman.

While at the game, I thought TnT played hard and didnt embrassed themselves.
When I got home and watched it on TV...things looked worse.

Like that first USA goal;  Mapp, the USA left-winger, went right around Power like he wearing combat boots and then to make matters worse, Power quit tracking him down and gave Mapp all kinds of time to set up the cross.  If I coach, the number one rule, if beat off the dribble, is too track down hard from the backside on the correct goal-side angle.  Anyway, that Mapp guy gonna be a star in the furture for the USA, he really stoodout yesterday.  

« Reply #20 on: June 10, 2007, 11:50:30 AM »
With respect to Power..

well on the bright side, lets not forget what Medford did to Cyd Gray yet he turn out to be a great defender for us..

« Reply #21 on: June 10, 2007, 01:22:12 PM »

fully endorse this post!!! :beermug: :beermug:

AMEN!

« Reply #22 on: June 10, 2007, 02:40:46 PM »
Anyway, that Mapp guy gonna be a star in the furture for the USA, he really stoodout yesterday.  

Word on the street is that Everton is interested in him.

« Reply #23 on: June 10, 2007, 03:00:04 PM »
These 2 games show one main thing - Our PFL is really lacking.

At the international level, you dont work on fitness if your league is in session.

That is the first given, the first assumption, the players come fit.

The US are playing with players all over the world and in MLS.

I doubt they had 2 weeks together like the T&T team, as many UK leagues just recently finish.

So that shows up the TT PFL at the outset in terms of preparing players physically.

When the league was in offseason last December, and the T&T team train in national camp for the whle month, like we was fitter?? (or is it that the competition was not as hard?)

« Reply #24 on: June 10, 2007, 03:03:07 PM »

Spann give away de ball PLENTY..and shoulda get subbed.  apart from de corners and free kicks..he shit dong he pampers.

Ah bet yuh spann with all that shit yuh claiming he played end up with ah contract with some overseas club,and at the end of the day is them club who will decide if he playing shit or not and not you,but appreciate your opinion..........

« Reply #25 on: June 10, 2007, 03:26:14 PM »

Ah bet yuh spann with all that shit yuh claiming he played end up with ah contract with some overseas club,and at the end of the day is them club who will decide if he playing shit or not and not you,but appreciate your opinion..........

steusp, well we go see if he get dat big contract as yuh say. and I appreciate yuh opinion too.....like de time yuh write about man tight pants :devil:

« Reply #26 on: June 10, 2007, 05:27:32 PM »
I feel them Americans does run like girls!!!  fast girls though.  Yuh ever watch them? Watch Damarcus, Donavon and a set a them, running strange strange. 

« Reply #27 on: June 10, 2007, 05:40:43 PM »
.....except for being blown by on the first goal -

Well boy i owe spann a sorry
I thought that was he that got blown by
we were behind the goal on the other side and I didnt see a replay
« Last Edit: June 10, 2007, 05:52:55 PM by ricky »

« Reply #28 on: June 10, 2007, 06:12:39 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago football like ah diarrhea for years now…until they make it to the world cups. They like some bad dal they only hurting meh belly, but ah only going back for more pumkin and bustup shot in thee Indian wedding. They in ah mess. They only farting dal....
« Last Edit: June 10, 2007, 06:14:14 PM by Wehitis »

« Reply #29 on: June 10, 2007, 06:15:43 PM »
Trinidad and Tobago football has been like ah diarrhea for years now…until they make it to the world cup. They like dal they only hurting meh belly, but ah only going back for more pumkin and bustup shot in thee Indian wedding. They in ah mess. They only farting....
allyuh real f**king kicksy oui.  hahahha

try ah dose ah senna and ah bush bath!