Can T&T beat GUA.

Yes
39 (63.9%)
No
20 (32.8%)
Tie
2 (3.3%)

Total Members Voted: 60

Author Topic: Thread for the T&T vs Guatemala game.  (Read 51273 times)

Thread for the T&T vs Guatemala game.
« on: June 10, 2007, 07:45:18 AM »
Greetings.

As usual, any updates/scores, shout-outs, reports, predictions, views, etc, on the game vs Guatemala (12-Jun, 9pm TT time) in Boston will be posted here, this way, we can help maintain the message board and not make it look too scrappy with un-necessary or related headlines and postings on game day.

Possible Live Internet Links.
Warrior Nation Gold Cup Coverage
Warrior Nation Blog.

TV Viewing.

Telefutura in Spanish (USA - 9:00PM Eastern)
Sportsmax (T&T - 9:00PM Eastern)

Crew Meet Up.

Live Chat.

Head to head Gold Cup battle

P  W  L  D  F  A

Guatemala             2   1  1  0  3  4
Trinidad & Tobago  2   1  1  0  4  3

3.7.1991   Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala   0:1 (0:0)   Los Angeles, California USA
15.2.2000   Trinidad & Tobago - Guatemala   4:2 (2:1)   Los Angeles, California USA

More Updates To Follow.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2007, 08:57:17 AM by Flex »

T & T vs Guatemala - The History
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2007, 09:25:33 AM »
we need to beat them by at 4 for 2nd in the gold cup group (assuming USA beat el salv). not sure if this possible based on past results. but football is a funny game.

Date Venue Results Competition
 Guatemala 2:0 Trinidad and Tobago 
19/03/1967 TEGUCIGALPA  CONCACAF Championship 1967
 Guatemala 4:0 (1:0) Trinidad and Tobago 
17/11/1968 GUATEMALA CITY  FIFA WC 1970 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF
 Trinidad and Tobago 0:0 Guatemala 
20/11/1968 GUATEMALA CITY  FIFA WC 1970 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF
01/12/1969 SAN JOSE (CRC)  CONCACAF Championship 1969
 Trinidad and Tobago 1:0 (1:0) Guatemala 
10/12/1973 PORT-AU-PRINCE  FIFA WC 1974 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF
 Trinidad and Tobago 2:2 (2:1) Guatemala 
05/10/1988 PORT OF SPAIN  Friendly 1988
 Guatemala 0:1 (0:0) Trinidad and Tobago 
20/08/1989 GUATEMALA CITY  FIFA WC 1990 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF
 Trinidad and Tobago 2:1 (1:1) Guatemala 
03/09/1989 PORT OF SPAIN  FIFA WC 1990 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF
 Guatemala 1:0 (0:0) Trinidad and Tobago 
03/07/1991 LOS ANGELES  CONCACAF Gold Cup 1991 USA
 Trinidad and Tobago 1:1 (1:1) Guatemala 
06/10/1996 PORT OF SPAIN  FIFA WC 1998 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF
 Guatemala 2:1 (1:1) Trinidad and Tobago 
08/12/1996 LOS ANGELES  FIFA WC 1998 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF
 Guatemala 3:1 (2:0) Trinidad and Tobago 
23/01/1998 GUATEMALA CITY  Friendly 1998
 Trinidad and Tobago 4:2 (2:1) Guatemala 
15/02/2000 LOS ANGELES  CONCACAF Gold Cup 2000 USA
 Trinidad and Tobago 3:1 Guatemala 
24/03/2001 PORT OF SPAIN  Friendly 2001
 Guatemala 4:1 (0:0) Trinidad and Tobago 
11/08/2004 GUATEMALA CITY  Friendly 2004
 Guatemala 5:1 (3:1) Trinidad and Tobago 
26/03/2005 GUATEMALA CITY  FIFA WC 2006 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF Zone
 Trinidad and Tobago 3:2 (0:1) Guatemala 
03/09/2005 PORT OF SPAIN  FIFA WC 2006 Prel. Comp. CONCACAF Zone

Re: Thread for the T&T vs Guatemala game.
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2007, 10:56:26 AM »
Not certain what rules Cancacaf is using to separate teams tied on points but the FIFA standard is Head to Head before Goal Difference. COncacaf used head to head for the U-17 qualifiers but this was probably mandated by FIFA.

If that is the case, all TnT has to do is beat Guatemala to beat Guatemala to be at least 3rd place. If El Salvador avoids defeat against the US they will be second and TnT will be 3rd (which may or may not earn a 2nd round place, but that is a next story).

If it is a 3 way tie Guatemala will lose out because TnT would either have a better goal difference or would have scored more goals in the common matches.

A 2-0 win over Guatemala would put TnT in 2nd place as long as El Salvador loses to the US.

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2007, 10:57:14 AM »
Let's be real, the team will be home by next Friday :(

« Reply #4 on: June 10, 2007, 11:11:57 AM »
Yuh make meh laugh dey.

fat lady might be warming up but she ent singing yet.

« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2007, 11:27:50 AM »
Yuh make meh laugh dey.

fat lady might be warming up but she ent singing yet.

Wheeys sar..

« Reply #6 on: June 10, 2007, 11:48:50 AM »
She also selectin she outit because she know she have a sure gig

« Reply #7 on: June 10, 2007, 02:16:28 PM »

dat made me laugh lol

« Reply #8 on: June 10, 2007, 03:22:57 PM »
One heartening thing though is that we creating opportunities on goal. Time to give Mc Farlane a start. To be honest i eh know what to do about that defense.... hopefully ah Our Father and two hail marys will do the trick

« Reply #9 on: June 10, 2007, 05:25:54 PM »
was jus listenin to tv6 news and they said in the post match interview wim say doh axe him bout he second string team cuz d federation does coast on him wen he does that...i think is a matter of time b4 he quit...too much foolishness goin on...if da was me i woulda tell ttff tuh haul allyuh modda a$$...ah feel it fuh him...how yuh go blame wim if ah setta big hardback man cya do d basics on d field??..nobody can say that the goals conceded were due to tactical inefficiencies..is because of pure assness on d field bein played by big fricken men...i like ah ass hopin we ress somtin on guatemala and get tru to d nex roun buh da come like me chewin on ah charlotte street bad ting...IT NUH HAPPENIN!!

ah dun talk

« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2007, 05:34:36 PM »
Ah hope allyuh see what really going onn! today hunduras defeated mexico, gaudeloupe beat canada, and the tico's got whiped in a weak group. that just goes to show how competitive concacaf has become, that means qaullifing will be hell. every other team had a good showing except us,even cuba looked real facking good and JA not far behind even though they not in the tourney. I really don't understand how the foot ball beroucracy works, but what i do know is that if we dont get cracking on this impass bull shyte the fans will suffer the consequences. we allready know how warner and he boys feel about we football, so we cant leave it up to them. fellas , i dont know about all yuh, but i cant take not going to the big stage in 2010, so i willing to do what ever it takes to see us there again. the GC is lost to us, so we have to look to the furture. this team we went with try their hardest, but dey eh able. we must have our foriegn based back in uniform ASAP, and i dont feel like leaving it in jack's hands. we need to start protesting, writing letters boycotting, picketing the ministry of sports, get the public involved, but we need to stop chating and start doing , it;s the onlllly wayyyyyy we will get things done, we have to show them we serious. and i am down for what ever.          positive.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2007, 05:38:19 PM by just cool »

Re: T & T vs Guatemala - The History
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2007, 06:38:32 PM »
we need to beat them by at 4 for 2nd in the gold cup group (assuming USA beat el salv). not sure if this possible based on past results. but football is a funny game.

all this is ireelevant..because this is an entirely different T&T squad..

« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2007, 06:50:53 PM »

good one....... :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2007, 08:16:32 PM »
Qualification that eh go b an issue with this team. So leh Jack sit down and crunch the number sand he go soon realize that the opportunities to tief go b realllllllllllllll ltd with dat side. So when he see the money possibilities the real warriors go b back. All them ole men have to play so Dennis unretire, see if Dawg knees good because dem younguns eh ready

Re: T & T vs Guatemala - The History
« Reply #14 on: June 10, 2007, 08:36:07 PM »

Moderators, what kind ah thing all yuh allowing on de forum, look at Andre avatar, remember we have Christians on de forum  :o  :devil:. Andre ah just joking meh boi, nothing much on de forum, everything is about de Gold Cup, ah just bored on de forum and browsing around looking tuh start some shyth. Sometimes ah does get tempted tuh put some freaks as meh avatar, but ah cah betray meh idol (Latapy) ah only replacing Latapy wid Latapy. Big up yuh self, yuh know Supa doh bad mind people, yuh avatar is one ah de best round here, if not de best.HIGHLY BLESSED.
« Last Edit: June 10, 2007, 09:51:27 PM by SUPA »

« Reply #15 on: June 10, 2007, 08:53:03 PM »
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007_CONCACAF_Gold_Cup

first criteria is total goal difference.
Second is number of goals scored.
If still even, it then comes down to head to head computations.

As it is now, we are -3, with Guat and El Salvador on 0.
To finish second and guarantee qualification, we need
1) USA to rout El Salvador
2) TT to rout Guatemala.

I can see the US beating El Salv, but I dont know by how much. Chances are that it will be narrow, cause they already qualified....A simple win, even a draw is enough for them to top the group.

We hadda go in with the mentality to beat Guatemala by 4 clear goals to bring them to -1 and boost us to +1.
This will also most likely see us surpass El Salvador's goal differential too.

Clear scenario for us.

« Reply #16 on: June 10, 2007, 09:32:21 PM »
It always a stats man who will come up with the equation how we go do it. Ladies and Gentlemen the fat lady has selected her outfit and is waiting on the final whistle.

« Reply #17 on: June 10, 2007, 10:38:18 PM »
ah hope she sing in ah g-string and timbs tuh match tnts equally disgusting showing at dis tournament...

Offline Warlord

« Reply #18 on: June 10, 2007, 11:50:15 PM »
This is the final game in the tournament for these guys so hopefully they'll put on a much better showing than the last two games. The thing is the backfour has been terrible along with the keeper. They should be axed after this tournament. At this level, its unacceptable to play and concede goals the way they have.
"I love to see my people living in love, hate to see dem fighting and swimming in blood."

« Reply #19 on: June 11, 2007, 01:25:01 AM »
Do Ray Me Fa So La Ti Do............

« Reply #20 on: June 11, 2007, 05:05:40 AM »
Eight replies and no body has nothing to say about what i mentioned. do i need to have 5 stars for yus to take me seriously? believe you me , i am not seeking attention, i just want us to help the process  along, and i dont want us trini's to  sleep on jack, Bc i now understand his psyche. this man is off the charts. please ppl lets try our best to come together and do what ever little we could to help our football.    positive.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2007, 05:07:28 AM by just cool »

« Reply #21 on: June 11, 2007, 05:31:43 AM »
This is the final game in the tournament for these guys so hopefully they'll put on a much better showing than the last two games. The thing is the backfour has been terrible along with the keeper. They should be axed after this tournament. At this level, its unacceptable to play and concede goals the way they have.

....but mih concern is, whey we finding another back four??....defence has always been a problem for us for as long as I can remember....

« Reply #22 on: June 11, 2007, 06:03:04 AM »

....but mih concern is, whey we finding another back four??....defence has always been a problem for us for as long as I can remember....

dat is because in  TnT, defense is whey yuh does go when yuh tired. "wham yuh bun, play back".  and when de other day  i sayin we should have a defensive coach, People gettin kicks notably Palos... :waiting: :waiting: :waiting:
Teams know that TnT will have a level of skill and unpredictability but they also know dat de defence go have a couple holes and I believe its simple due to our upbringing where defense is concerned.

Offline Flash7

• Allez Le Rouge et Bleu!!
« Reply #23 on: June 11, 2007, 07:40:03 AM »
For anyone who said the soca warriors are the best in the Caribbean, i beg to differ. Warner cradled the team too much, letting them play almost all their matches at home, i already knew the Gold Cup was going to be a rude awakening for them, that's how it goes.

« Reply #24 on: June 11, 2007, 07:50:43 AM »
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2007_CONCACAF_Gold_Cup

first criteria is total goal difference.
Second is number of goals scored.
If still even, it then comes down to head to head computations.

As it is now, we are -3, with Guat and El Salvador on 0.
To finish second and guarantee qualification, we need
1) USA to rout El Salvador
2) TT to rout Guatemala.

I can see the US beating El Salv, but I dont know by how much. Chances are that it will be narrow, cause they already qualified....A simple win, even a draw is enough for them to top the group.

We hadda go in with the mentality to beat Guatemala by 4 clear goals to bring them to -1 and boost us to +1.
This will also most likely see us surpass El Salvador's goal differential too.

Clear scenario for us.

Not surprised that Concacaf is doing their own thing but even the Wikipedia site acknowledges that we do not need to rout Guatemala.

A 2-0 win for TnT and a 2-0 win for the US would guarantee 2nd place.

A 2-0 win over Guatemala would guarantee third.

« Reply #25 on: June 11, 2007, 08:25:34 AM »
doh know why we keep harping about the dfence because is years our dfenders in ah mess......wasnt it at the last GC one of our WC dfenders was doing de dog?.....man use tuh be complainin about Dog and Shurland David and Elcock and Lawrence and others....ENT!...so leh dem fellahs get dey baptism by fyah and move on.

« Reply #26 on: June 11, 2007, 11:42:27 AM »
DEfence was always our problem- That is why I had to give Porterfield his pips- a clean sheet against Canada. He also boasted about helping the defence.Remember we cried down Cyd Grayand called him a goat.

« Reply #27 on: June 11, 2007, 12:55:52 PM »
I have given up on this tournament fellas, it is just a waste of time our guys can't beat anyone! Chalk this up as a bad experience for the fans and a learning one for the team and an embarrassing one for the country

Offline CarenageBoy

« Reply #28 on: June 11, 2007, 12:57:36 PM »
The honest and realistic answer to this question is: This current team of local Pros cannot beat a full-strength Guatemala team.

« Reply #29 on: June 11, 2007, 02:26:19 PM »
sound like some ah we could only support in good times.