April 28, 2024, 12:41:03 PM

Author Topic: Silverbacks To Take On Trinidad & Tobago National Squad  (Read 3393 times)

Silverbacks To Take On Trinidad & Tobago National Squad
« on: March 22, 2005, 05:20:13 PM »
The Atlanta Silverbacks men have been called into action against the Trinidad and Tobago National Team for a closed door scrimmage on Tuesday, March 22 in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. The Silverbacks were chosen to replace the Honduran National Team after the originally scheduled match between Honduras and TNT was cancelled after both teams were placed in the same group for the 2005 CONCACAF Gold Cup.
In a unique twist, the Silverbacks will face off against current teammate and TNT National Leslie Fitzpatrick. Fitzpatrick was called to the TNT squad in January 2005 and played his way into the starting lineup against the United States in a World Cup qualifier on February 9, 2005. Fitzpatrick is scheduled to report to the Silverbacks in early April.
Prior to departing for Fort Lauderdale, Silverbacks Coach David Vaudreuil noted "This is a great opportunity for us as a team and as an organization. While it is early for us in preparation for the 2005 season, this will give us a chance to evaluate the players we have in camp against the highest level of talent. It's rare to have this type opportunity this early in the season"

TNT is in Miami to prepare for their March 26 2006 World Cup qualifying encounter against Guatemala at the Mateo Flores Stadium in Guatemala City. The TNT roster is expected to feature several European-based professionals including Birmingham City's Dwight Yorke and Conventry City striker Stern John.

Re: Silverbacks To Take On Trinidad & Tobago National Squad
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2005, 06:06:55 PM »
did we win tonite?anyone hear?

« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2005, 06:09:11 PM »
well if we loss dat match we should really give up on the WC thing one time.  Anything less than 2-0 is a big disappointment.

Offline NC

« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2005, 06:15:03 PM »
WE WON 2-1, WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT.

« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2005, 06:30:16 PM »
where u hear that

Offline NC

« Reply #5 on: March 22, 2005, 06:31:31 PM »
FROM A COLLEAGUE OF MINE WHO WAS AT THE GAME.

Offline NC

« Reply #6 on: March 22, 2005, 06:34:11 PM »
I HEARD STERN'S GOAL WAS A VERY GOOD ONE.

« Reply #7 on: March 22, 2005, 06:40:22 PM »
if this result is true it is a f**kin disgrace

Offline NC

« Reply #8 on: March 22, 2005, 06:48:24 PM »
WHAT IS EVEN MORE DISGRACEFUL IS THE FACT THAT WE DID NOT PLAY A MEANINGFUL FRIENDLY SINCE THE USA GAME PRIOR TO THE WCQ THIS WEEKEND.  WHAT DOES THIS GAME (T&T VS. ATLANTA SILVERBACKS) DO TO OUR IMAGE AS A NATIONAL TEAM?  YOU ALL WOULD EVEN MORE DISTURBED IF YOU UNDERSTAND WHY THE GAME AGAINST HONDURAS WAS CANCELLED.

« Reply #9 on: March 22, 2005, 06:59:24 PM »
This will be quotes from the technical staff

"The mood in the camp is excellent.  Everyone is in high spirits"

"It's the result that counts"

"We keep giving away soft goals"

"Because ah from Tobago allyuh doh like meh"

"Mr. Gentleman.....ah axe yuh please not to axe meh anyting about Latapy"

"While we were a bit disappointed with the result, the guys tried hard"

"We're happy that there were no injuries"

"Mr. Gentleman...I don't know anything about Atlanta Silverbacks not even training.  I just show up to play the games the TTFF organise fuh we"

"I'm very confident that we will do well in Guatemala and no..I am not worried ahead of the game given this performance.  Remember...it is the result that counts"

Etc Etc Etc

« Reply #10 on: March 22, 2005, 08:12:23 PM »
This must be our lowest point yet, much worse than the loss to Antigua.  We have our FULL side of professionals with 4 DAYS to go before a World Cup qualifier playing against a WEAK club team that has barely even started training for their season yet.  You would think that big premiership men like Stern, Yorke, Jones etc. would be able to score at will against a side like that with or without any midfield support.  And we couldn't even keep a clean sheet? 
Can we sell our spot in the Hex and Gold Cup to a team that actually has a chance?

Offline NC

« Reply #11 on: March 22, 2005, 08:21:13 PM »
VERY FUNNY - YOUR QUESTION IS MAKING ME LAUGH.

« Reply #12 on: March 22, 2005, 09:00:39 PM »

Real disappointed with giving up that goal for true.

Wonder if we still forcing that 3-5-2

« Reply #13 on: March 22, 2005, 09:51:13 PM »
wey sub these day bwoy.Well  may be it was a training match with stoppages in between etc.You know bsc stop the game and have a chat with players about tactics etc

« Reply #14 on: March 23, 2005, 09:13:59 AM »
Just spoke with a good friend who saw the game. he said Dwight is teh only player that played like he mean business. Good movement, first touch, vision etc. He said Stern John is very static and easy to contain (actually the word he use was lazy no ass). he also remarked how easy T&t gave the ball away to such weak opposition. I eh get no line up.