March 29, 2024, 03:18:32 AM

Author Topic: US town set to ban saggy trousers  (Read 3387 times)

US town set to ban saggy trousers
« on: June 14, 2007, 02:15:16 PM »
US town set to ban saggy trousers

A mayor in the US state of Louisiana says he will sign into law a proposal to make wearing saggy trousers an act of indecent exposure.

Delcambre town council unanimously passed the ordinance earlier this week making it a crime to wear trousers that show underwear.

"If you expose your private parts, you'll get a fine" of US$500 (£254) Mayor Carol Broussard said.

Offenders will also risk up to six months in jail.

Fashionable

Speaking of people who wear saggy trousers, Mr Broussard told the Associated Press news agency: "They're better off taking the pants off and just wearing a dress."

White people wear sagging pants, too
Mayor Carol Broussard

Town attorney Ted Ayo said the ordinance expands on the existing state indecent exposure law by adding underwear to the list of forbidden exposures.

"This is a new ordinance that deals specifically with sagging pants," Mr Ayo said. "It's about showing off your underwear in public."

Some residents say the ordinance targets blacks, as low-slung trousers are fashionable among hip hop fans.

Mr Broussard denied it was racially motivated.

"White people wear sagging pants, too," he said.

:applause:

Re: US town set to ban saggy trousers
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2007, 02:23:47 PM »
*steuups*

Dat mayor just want to bring back de 70's style bee gees nut squeezin polyester pants he grow up with

Let de yoots have dey fashion oui...besides,, dem wanna be gangsters dat does wear dey pants low does have real problems when dey tryin to runnin from police

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2007, 02:51:14 PM »
I want dem pass a law forbiding plumbers to bend down UNLESS they handsome and fit...

oh gawd ah had one here de udda day...all he was missing was de bell from Notre Dame and he keep dropping he wrench.

shims...now ah cah see out meh right eye good.

« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2007, 04:47:18 AM »
dey should ban old men who is wear short pants 12" above de navel, white socks and dress shoes

« Reply #4 on: June 15, 2007, 05:32:30 AM »
dey should ban old men who is wear short pants 12" above de navel, white socks and dress shoes
like dese
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2007, 05:49:23 AM »
like dese

Ed Zachery!

« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2007, 05:53:45 AM »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #7 on: June 15, 2007, 06:01:41 AM »
Ed Zachery!
and Chu Bett?
hmmm ...yuh better post dat joke ...i forget it or never heard it

« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2007, 06:20:03 AM »
Ed Zachery!
and Chu Bett?
Exactly and You Bet ;)

« Reply #9 on: June 15, 2007, 06:31:13 AM »
Ed Zachery!
and Chu Bett?
Exactly and You Bet ;)
every day is a learning experience :)

Offline prodigy23

« Reply #10 on: June 15, 2007, 09:01:27 AM »
that is d kinda laws he tring to pass with d taxpayers moey :-[ ......wow

« Reply #11 on: June 15, 2007, 09:26:37 AM »

Two years ago (from what i read today), lawmakers in Virginia passed a "baggy pants law" that banned teens from exposing "below the waist undergarments in a lewd or indecent manner".  And this state ,as recent as 2005, had a "fornication" law barring unmarried couples from having sex in private places.  Makes you wonder is sex in public places was acceptable  :rotfl:

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #12 on: June 15, 2007, 09:37:07 AM »

Two years ago (from what i read today), lawmakers in Virginia passed a "baggy pants law" that banned teens from exposing "below the waist undergarments in a lewd or indecent manner".  And this state ,as recent as 2005, had a "fornication" law barring unmarried couples from having sex in private places.  Makes you wonder is sex in public places was acceptable  :rotfl:

Doh laugh...ah good lawyer could argue dat.  If de law say PRIVATE and people get ketch in PUBLIC, how yuh go charge dem?  Under which law!!  Yuh see?  Daise why I love words and ah love law!!  Keeps yuh on yuh toes!!!
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #13 on: June 15, 2007, 09:46:09 AM »
by de way...dat mayor doh have nuttin better tuh spen tax money on? 
I can please only one person per day. Today is not your day. Tomorrow isn't looking good either.

« Reply #14 on: June 15, 2007, 11:10:09 AM »
Maybe the tax payers in the town ask for the law?

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #15 on: June 15, 2007, 11:33:19 AM »

good point but dat still doh mean yuh have tuh do it.

Offline Queen Macoomeh

• come closer dahlin...
    • See Nen Nen News
« Reply #16 on: June 15, 2007, 12:12:54 PM »

good point but dat still doh mean yuh have tuh do it.

actually Coco, that is EXACTLY what it means.

« Reply #17 on: June 15, 2007, 12:39:57 PM »
Coco, in the USA most public offices are filled as a result of elections.
Police
Judges
City Hall
and others
so maybe there was a plebiscite and the voters voted for that
I ent kno eh
but they love putting things to the public to vote on.
Some may argue that it is time consuming and that is why people are elected and then others , like me, wish it could be like that here sometimes.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2007, 12:42:47 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #18 on: June 15, 2007, 01:55:54 PM »

How it is in Canada?

« Reply #19 on: June 15, 2007, 02:06:29 PM »
How it is in Canada?
I do not believe judges, and sheriffs are elected here
plus there are also many times that Americans have to vote on issues that Canadian politicians seem to make the decisions on.
I am no way near an expert on these issues.
here is an example of elected officials in the US
if you look at the County Officials most I believe are bureaucrats/civil servants/not elected here in Canada.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2007, 02:22:19 PM by WestCoast »

Offline cocoapanyol

« Reply #20 on: June 15, 2007, 02:23:35 PM »

How it is in Canada?

I think that judges are appointed.  They are not elected by the public.  But ah go have tuh double check on dat.