April 27, 2024, 03:01:47 AM

Author Topic: Dennis Lawrence given Wrexham captaincy  (Read 1871 times)

Dennis Lawrence given Wrexham captaincy
« on: August 08, 2005, 05:43:28 AM »
Dennis Lawrence given Wrexham captaincy
Wrexham AFC

As Saturday's League opener rapidly approached, manager Denis Smith revealed a new name as Club captain - Dennis Lawrence.
With Brian Carey having to announce his retirement from the playing staff, there was a position vacant and the boss had no hesitation in promoting the Trinidadian international into the role.
Scot Darren Ferguson remains as team captain, with Dennis backing him up on the field and also looking after the off field side of things. This has already seen him help sort out the players' new bonus system for the coming season.
"It is a great honour for me," said the defender.
"I also look on it as personal achievement in my own career and now it's official, I'm delighted to be given such a responsibility."
It was also appropriate that he got off to a winning start with Saturday's success against the big spenders of Boston United.
"That was obviously a positive note and especially with so many new players in the team," he said.
"Fair play, I thing we deserved the win and the points.
"Now the next game comes around quickly and long may our performances continue to bring us more points."
Meanwhile, Dundee face being plunged into a goalkeeping crisis ahead of their August 20 clash with Queen of the South. Present holder of the number one jersey, Kelvin Jack, heads across the Atlantic immediately after this weekend’s game at Clyde to prepare for Trinidad and Tobago’s World Cup clash with the USA.
And he isn’t due back in Dundee until the eve of the Doonhamers’ visit. That’s a concern for manager Jim Duffy who, with Derek Soutar sidelined, only has 17-year-old Scott Murray as cover.
Duffy knows from last season—when Brent Sancho was travelling back and forth from that part of the world—how difficult a situation it can be and he admits he’ll be keeping tabs on it.
“Derek isn’t close to being ready to play again and if anything were to happen with Kelvin then we’d only have Scott for the Queen of the South game.
“Hopefully, everything will work out but weather or mechanical problems can disrupt travel.
“We had Brent miss a match or two last season through not getting back here in time. Even if things go to plan it’ll be the Friday night before we know that we have Kelvin available.”
« Last Edit: August 09, 2005, 02:42:36 AM by Flex »

Re: Dennis Lawrence given Wrexham captaincy
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2005, 07:00:55 AM »
Congrats Dennis...well deserved!

« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2005, 08:51:23 AM »
well done

« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2005, 11:06:27 AM »
wat is the difference between club captain and team captain????

big up to dennis any way

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2005, 11:51:23 AM »
Tallest you really earned this one. All warriors is time to stand up and step up allyuh game

« Reply #5 on: August 08, 2005, 02:12:42 PM »
lawrence is probably the best player in the whole english 4th divison.  he should have moved up

Offline StoreBayLimer

« Reply #6 on: August 08, 2005, 07:43:43 PM »
I am happy for him -- being promoted, shown respect, it helps in many ways.

« Reply #7 on: August 08, 2005, 07:52:51 PM »
keep it up big man.....

« Reply #8 on: August 10, 2005, 07:11:35 AM »
wat is the difference between club captain and team captain????

big up to dennis any way

i am just as confused as you are ??? ??? ??? ???