March 28, 2024, 06:32:56 PM

Author Topic: The Winning Structure For West Indies Cricket....  (Read 4026 times)

The Winning Structure For West Indies Cricket....
« on: June 27, 2007, 01:35:40 PM »
The selectors that I would appoint because they know what they are doing and know the game well, Khanhai Chairman of selectors, Radhee and Sobers.

Head coach - Gus Logie
asst coach - david williams

Manager - Omar khan
bolwing coaches - rangy nannan and michael holding

batting coaches - rowe(offensive) and larry gomes(defensive)

fielding coach - South african or aussie preferred

physios- aussie or american

trainer - aussie or american

psychologist - webster

Team:

captain: Darren Ganga
vice-captain: Ryan Hinds

wicket keeper: Ramdin
back-up keeper: Patrick Browne

Bowlers: Dave Mohammed
            Jaggernauth
            Jermaine Lawson
            Darren Sammy
            Pedro Collins
            Emrit
            Kelly
            Collymore
            Fidel Edwards
            Rampaul

Batsmen: Chanderpaul
              Sarwan
              Deonarine
              Bravo
              Chattergoon
              Pollard
              Simmons
              Barath         

God is de BOSS....     
« Last Edit: June 27, 2007, 01:38:06 PM by TrinInfinite »

Offline Remie

Re: The Winning Structure For West Indies Cricket....
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2007, 01:45:12 PM »
I hate to spoil the party but even with this structure our batting will still not score enough runs to compete in test cricket.

Offline Remie

« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2007, 01:47:16 PM »
However I do agree the change in selectors even if we still will get a cut ass.

« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2007, 02:13:20 PM »
I hate to spoil the party but even with this structure our batting will still not score enough runs to compete in test cricket.

i dont think we will do bad, these are the best batsmen in the regionals, i think with some experience and the batting coaches and so on listed, we will win test matches and be able to rise to the top again...

God is de BOSS.....
« Last Edit: June 27, 2007, 02:21:17 PM by TrinInfinite »

Offline Remie

« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2007, 02:19:55 PM »

i dont think we will do well, these are the best batsmen in the regionals, i think with some experience and the batting coaches and so on listed, we will win test matches and be able to rise to the top again...

God is de BOSS.....

They are the best batsmen in the regionals- yes.
Do they deserve a chance- yes.
Does the infrastructure of West Indies cricket prepare them to be successful in international cricket- no.
Will these players be successful at international level- no unless they are freaks of nature like Lara.

« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2007, 02:25:15 PM »

i dont think we will do well, these are the best batsmen in the regionals, i think with some experience and the batting coaches and so on listed, we will win test matches and be able to rise to the top again...

God is de BOSS.....

Does the infrastructure of West Indies cricket prepare them to be successful in international cricket- no.
Will these players be successful at international level- no unless they are freaks of nature like Lara.

totally agree with you breddah, but these fellahs need the experience and intl matches under their belt, if they get that, they will flourish, i think we need to invest our time in the best in the region who perform, not fellahs who have potential and have been failing time and time again..

God is de BOSS....

Offline Remie

« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2007, 02:28:35 PM »

God is de BOSS.....

totally agree with you breddah, but these fellahs need the experience and intl matches under their belt, if they get that, they will flourish, i think we need to invest our time in the best in the region who perform, not fellahs who have potential and have been failing time and time again..

God is de BOSS....

I agree in this is what should be done- i would not neccessarily choose the players you have chosen, but i have stopped worrying about team selection and selectors now. I feel it is all a waste of time and effort unless we start at the top and get rid of the administrators of West Indies cricket because whoever we pick and give experience to we are still getting cut ass for the forseeable future because of the stucture and systems in the whole of West Indies cricket.

Offline RRamdin

« Reply #7 on: June 27, 2007, 05:07:14 PM »
I think u miss out another man who has been part of this generation of rubbish who has succeeded at international cricket- don't worry people miss him out all the time, Shivnarine Chanderpaul. Although we are in quite a dire situation, Gayle and Sarwan for all their underperformances and inability to perform under pressure do average high 30's in test cricket. That is the best we have at the moment except for Shiv who averages mid-40's. I believe Gus Logie has already had his time as West Indies coach and didn't really do anything as coach; maybe though he was hampered by the fact he had Lara undermining him all the time and the poor infrastructure.

I don't believe in having a a coach, maybe a manager to oversee things but what i would have is specialist coaches. Bowling I would have Courtney Walsh, Holding is too engrossed in his media career at the moment. Batting could be whoever, fielding-somebody like Jonty Rhodes or Trevor Penney, and we need a fitness coach.

However as Remie said, all of this; selectors, coaches, support staff, players will not make any sort of difference until the WICB is either dissolved or reformed.

« Reply #8 on: June 27, 2007, 09:49:25 PM »
Once Holding around he buddies from the 80's go have influence we eh want to see dem no way around we cricket.

« Reply #9 on: June 28, 2007, 12:37:03 PM »
I think u miss out another man who has been part of this generation of rubbish who has succeeded at international cricket- don't worry people miss him out all the time, Shivnarine Chanderpaul. Although we are in quite a dire situation, Gayle and Sarwan for all their underperformances and inability to perform under pressure do average high 30's in test cricket. That is the best we have at the moment except for Shiv who averages mid-40's. I believe Gus Logie has already had his time as West Indies coach and didn't really do anything as coach; maybe though he was hampered by the fact he had Lara undermining him all the time and the poor infrastructure.

I don't believe in having a a coach, maybe a manager to oversee things but what i would have is specialist coaches. Bowling I would have Courtney Walsh, Holding is too engrossed in his media career at the moment. Batting could be whoever, fielding-somebody like Jonty Rhodes or Trevor Penney, and we need a fitness coach.

However as Remie said, all of this; selectors, coaches, support staff, players will not make any sort of difference until the WICB is either dissolved or reformed.

rhodes or penney is an excellent choice :beermug: rhodes was the first name to come to my mind, i would have to disagree with you on having two pace bowlers as batting coaches, we need a pacer and a spinner bc it will also give the batsmen who are incapable of batting spin a better idea how to bat spin....

God is de BOSS....

Offline RRamdin

« Reply #10 on: June 28, 2007, 02:52:05 PM »
I don't think I said to have two pace bowlers to be bowling coach, I was saying that Holding shouldn't be bowling coach because he is already too engrossed in his media career, and is unlikely to leave that to become our bowling coach no matter how much he talks. Spin bowling coach? Good idea we need somebody like Terry Jenner to nurture our spin bowlers. Apart from Lance Gibbs I don't know of anyone who has the previous playing experience and technical know how to fulfill this role; maybe Roger Harper?

« Reply #11 on: June 30, 2007, 01:40:43 AM »
 How come yuh only pick 10 Trinis on yuh side ??

« Reply #12 on: June 30, 2007, 06:24:18 PM »
this is a real green field scenario. the way the board is now, this would never happen.

« Reply #13 on: July 01, 2007, 04:51:28 AM »
How come yuh only pick 10 Trinis on yuh side ??

hahaha ent!?

apparently we the only place wit talent in the caribbean.

« Reply #14 on: July 01, 2007, 12:02:50 PM »
I wondering de same thing.  One set of Trini and Guyanese.  TI like yuh eat ah stale roti or wha?  :rotfl: 

Jefferz where de arse yuh was all dis time?  Ah thought yuh overs we?
« Last Edit: July 16, 2007, 07:49:16 PM by Savannah boy »

« Reply #15 on: July 02, 2007, 11:47:53 AM »
The WICB's structure needs to change first. It is still not being run like it should, which is as a business. Millions of dollars, employees (the players), legal considerations (contracts and tour agreements) are all things that need to be organised similarly to the structures at the CL group or Microsoft.

This antiquated and insular approach of selecting 2 from T&T, 2 from Jamaica, 2 from Guyana, etc. is problematic. It is sending the message that each territory will have it's interests sought rather than the entire region's. It is time to try to get the best out of West Indies cricket and not what's best for an individual territory.

Then and only then can we expect to see decisions geared towards the overall development and improvement of West Indies cricket.

« Reply #16 on: July 02, 2007, 10:06:43 PM »
nothing could help WI..........DE BEATINGS WILL CONTINUE.

« Reply #17 on: July 02, 2007, 11:04:43 PM »
Like Capo come back under ah next name.  Whappen, yuh was liming with Alvin Henry in NY or wha?   ;D

« Reply #18 on: July 06, 2007, 11:53:24 PM »
rel busy wit sports, school, gyul, gettin meh work now...

stewps.

how tings been?

« Reply #19 on: July 16, 2007, 07:50:13 PM »
Welcome back...it have more spice in de forum now.