April 25, 2024, 09:08:06 PM

Author Topic: What's your football history like?  (Read 7242 times)

What's your football history like?
« on: June 29, 2007, 03:42:12 AM »
I been on this site for quite some time and i always wondered how many of you actually played football and at what level, please don't make up no bogus team to try and fit in. I started at:
Valencia United, Sangre Grande Junior Sec.,Arima Senior Com.,
Jabloteh under20
,before North East Stars it was called Economy Strikers,A small stint at WASA but passage was too much so i just droped out,and last but not least a 2nd division team in long Island which was called Ocean side United.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2007, 03:46:58 AM by triniairman »

Offline rastafari

Re: What's your football history like?
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2007, 05:56:18 AM »
Burrokeets fc under 16 and under 17(north zone), St francois nationals fc(north zone) and London Metropolitan University.

JAH BLESS RASTAFARI

« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2007, 06:39:05 AM »
Every Mervina League team who was short of a player on Saturday mornings and Saturday afternoons- I played for although my official team was from Lower Duncan Street. Trinity College and Trinity Cathedral in the Servers League where some of the best National players from POS played and Finally Malvern Juvenile Team. You would not believe this but I was Kelvin Berassa understudy at Malvern.

« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2007, 07:03:18 AM »
You would not believe this but I was Kelvin Berassa understudy at Malvern.
Yuh right, me eh believe dat  ;D.
« Last Edit: June 29, 2007, 07:24:57 AM by Tallman »

« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2007, 07:23:48 AM »
trinidad
- lunchtime and recess ball at naps.
-interclass @ naps.

miami
- intramurals at FIU
- saturday sweat @ flamingo park on south beach

then
- miami shores rec complex 2-3 times a week
- play with a Bolivian side for a bit

then
- break leg, surgery, rod down tibia (like alan smith). out of the game from 1999-2002

atlanta
- pick ups around town - piedmont, ocee, sting soccer club, some iranians, etc.
- roswell league side for 2 season
- play with "The Russian Team" @ Stars Alpharetta league for 2 season
- pick up with a kenyan side in 2005. still playing with them.
- when roswell league in session, i is run at their open practice on tuesday night. quality stuff.

so right now, i getting 2 sweat a week. prefer 3 or more. is like sex. need it 3 times or more a week or i in a real bad mood.

« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2007, 07:40:59 AM »
National under 14, Eldorado Senior Comp, Wreck 1st season and ended my career.. Only small sweat after dat. Too cheap to cough up de 40,000 US for de operation. plus is not like me piggy-leeks dat was injured. Miami - morningside Park, Scott Park, broward - Fig Tree and now ah in a korean league with a team dat does play 2 game a year and eat pig and drink Soulju.

« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2007, 07:54:30 AM »
National under 14, Eldorado Senior Comp, Wreck 1st season and ended my career.. Only small sweat after dat. Too cheap to cough up de 40,000 US for de operation. plus is not like me piggy-leeks dat was injured. Miami - morningside Park, Scott Park, broward - Fig Tree and now ah in a korean league with a team dat does play 2 game a year and eat pig and drink Soulju.

mornningside? i used to play hustle basketball there back in the day.

i run some ball there with the haitian set bout twice but they was playing shit. prefer miami shore rec. complex off 95th st. was walkable for me.

« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2007, 08:07:12 AM »
I actually started off playing small goal in streets and at school,before making a hit at tranquill both under 16 and at intercol level,played for city boys,havocs,and tringrove in the eddie hart league,played some ball with young & the restless at the poor house league in st.james with meh distant family alistair,kenneth and alvin ramdoo also guys like ronald coo,and piper was there as well,had a couple runs with very talented guys like marlon charles,chet,superville.     

« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2007, 08:15:01 AM »
Miami Lakes USA - (August to September 1998)

Queen's Royal College.....1998 - 1999

Malvern FC 2003 - 2005

People who went QRC around that time, and people who play for Malvern or follow they football within that time could confirm. 

« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2007, 08:20:19 AM »
Trinidad:  Princes Town Senior Comp. (1991-93), Superstar Rangers 1st team (1999), South Zone U19 1st choice keeper and national pool

US: Iona College, Trinidad and Tobago USA

« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2007, 09:16:57 AM »
Trinidad:

Left Back fuh de Cedar Avenue Curb Kickers- of the Valencia All Buss Toe League.

Holy Cross College- Honorary Captain of the Boots fuh Shilling all-Star team; part-time water boy.

USA:

Retired to a life of Academics.

Triniairman...when you lived Valencia?

« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2007, 09:48:20 AM »
Minor league & small goal champ

Beach foot-volleyball

« Last Edit: June 29, 2007, 09:52:40 AM by kingman »

Offline RGarcia

• Forward To Mid-Field to Defense
  • Who Jah bless, no man curse!
« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2007, 10:21:24 AM »
Trinidad: Diego Martin Stars Queens park Savannah League, Harard, Samba Youths, T&T U13,U16 (Norway Cup1997)

US 2000-Present: FC.Westchester,Mount Vernon Pride(Bronx League),Mount Vernon High School,Mercer

County Community College, (Currently) Southern Connecticut State University.
All American

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2007, 10:41:51 AM »
Common entrance to:  Arima Gov't Secondary- (87'-91')- Senior Grade Football.

A'Levels at:  Princes Town Sen Comp- Nat'l Intercol Champs (94'). Top goalscorer in League wid 24.

Full Scholl to:  American University Washington, DC Div 1- Elite 8 in 1997. (95' to 98')

Working in Los Angeles and playing for fun on weekends with The Long Beach Lions.

...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

Offline breezers

• he who rise against poor ppl shal perish in d end
« Reply #14 on: June 29, 2007, 11:14:20 AM »
Trinidad:  Princes Town Senior Comp. (1991-93), Superstar Rangers 1st team (1999), South Zone U19 1st choice keeper and national pool

Common entrance to:  Arima Gov't Secondary- (87'-91')- Senior Grade Football.

A'Levels at:  Princes Town Sen Comp- Nat'l Intercol Champs (94'). Top goalscorer in League wid 24.

Full Scholl to:  American University Washington, DC Div 1- Elite 8 in 1997. (95' to 98')

Working in Los Angeles and playing for fun on weekends with The Long Beach Lions.

Well firstly ah have tuh large up muh P/Town clip!!

in terms of de ball:

SCHOOL - Point Fortin R.C
               Point Fortin College
               P/Town Sen Comp (01-02 national Intercol champs/allstar 1st team)

CLUB - Point Fortin Civic Center (youth levels)
          Starworld Strikers (pro league)

currently in de US playing College ball
Soca Warriors, Holland And Barcelona,
BIG BIG TEAMS!!!!

Offline Trevor

« Reply #15 on: June 29, 2007, 11:45:36 AM »
Folks,

You have not heard from me in awhile, so let me put a little post here.

•   St. Mary’s College – 1970 and 1971-Won North Intercols, but lost in the finals to San
Fernando Tech both years

•   T&T National Under-19 – 1971 and 1972

•   Maple – 1972-1974- Won FA Cup and Amstel in 1972

•   Played in numerous minor league teams from town to Eddie Hart League

•   National Senior Team – 1973 – Did not go to Haiti – Along with Leroy Spann, Godfrey Harris, and Renwick Williams, got suspended from the national team for playing with club

•   Howard University – Won NCAA championship 1974, Semi-Final in 1975

•   Coached Juniors Soccer Club in Washington, DC, for numerous years.  Players included Shaka, Kona, Nakhid, Ronald Simmons, Barry Henderson, Ian Bain, Chinas, Troy Regis, Tiger, Doc and Deeks from SocaWarriors Website, taught Tongue from SocaWarriors Website how to manage a team (could not make the team) and how to cook pelau.  Sorry, somebody else taught him how to cook pelau.

•   Coached many youth teams in Washington, DC area

•   Coached hundreds of goalkeepers in Washington, DC area

•   Did a lot of work with Lincoln Phillips

•   Worked in many soccer camps in Washington, DC area

•   Conducted hundreds of clinics in Washington, DC area

Ah done!

Trevor

« Reply #16 on: June 29, 2007, 12:10:35 PM »
Folks,

•   St. Mary’s College – 1970 and 1971-Won North Intercols, but lost in the finals to San
Fernando Tech both years

•   National Senior Team – 1973 – Did not go to Haiti – Along with Leroy Spann, Godfrey Harris, and Renwick Williams, got suspended from the national team for playing with club

•   Coached Juniors Soccer Club in Washington, DC, for numerous years.  Players included Shaka, Kona, Nakhid, Ronald Simmons, Barry Henderson, Ian Bain, Chinas, Troy Regis, Tiger, Doc and Deeks from SocaWarriors Website, taught Tongue from SocaWarriors Website how to manage a team (could not make the team) and how to cook pelau.  Sorry, somebody else taught him how to cook pelau.

Ah done!

Trevor

Large up Trevor...always good to hear from the vets and pioneers  :beermug:

sobriquet...you know Avery and Dominic?

« Reply #17 on: June 29, 2007, 12:54:38 PM »
Hyo Trevor...yuh forget to put allyuh Boulevard Fete match side  :D

66-70: QRC -U14 to 2nd 11 (1st 11-bench) - was better at T&F
71-72: Pera (Greek team) Quebec Provincial Soccer League(QPSL div2)
72- Gave up T&F after ah get wash by Crawfie and Glance - TO maple leaf Games
73- Quebec Provincial U18 - Canada jnr Olympics - striker, Lost to BC
73-76 - Caribbees (QPSL div 1) - right back. striker-76
77-79 - WestEnd Spartans  - MTL Metro League - forward - TopGoalScorer 3 yrs
         Lost Eastern final Canadian Nationals ot Ottawa St. Anthony's(76- scored 2)
80- MTL Rebirth (MTL Metro div2) 15 games 23 goals(missed 14 games)
     Refused Burnley (div 2 trial - due to impending birth of son)
     Knee Injury 1 week before Montreal Manic trail(NASL)
83-85 Caribbean students union - Concordia Univ. Intermural indoor champs.
86- 3rd Knee operation to remove Cartilidge
87- La Salle Cosmos - Quebec SemiPro Soccer League(5 games-2 goals - ankle injury)
     ended season as Team Athletic Therapist
89 - Asst Coach Dorval United Women - National Champs - 6 prov. players,3 National
92- Coach Montreal Ramblers - QSSL (team moved to USL)
95-96 Player/Coach NDG Maroons - Mtl Metro div 2 - midfield/coach- Quebec finalist
96-98 Coach Lachine Cosmos - Quebec Elite Soccer league
77- present - Hilltoppers SC - Fete-match team(20 mins last yr; 15mins this yr)
              presently MTL Veteran league(O45)champs.
              Seems I'm losing 5 mins ah year...damn
04-05 - Pointe Claire snr Women -   
07 - Pointe Claire U(9) boys House league (AC Milan)

« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2007, 01:04:15 PM »
small goal, and big goal in the streets and parks of Santa Rosa Heights, Arima...dont get it twisted that was some serious ball running dey!

sat on the bench for one U16 game for FATIMA v CIC

1 Season of HS ball in New Jersey, them kids thought I was Pele oui, well maybe not the coach cause I hardly got to play  ;)

92-97 Banks league in New York, played for Prudential Securities, that was a jokey league, sometimes games was 7 v 11, Pru usally had the 7 players.  Most of the teams was made up of back office workers of West Indian heritage.

97- 2000  Friday night pick games in Baruch College gym, that was another quality sweat, meh gyal coulda have nex man cause friday nights I sweating in the gym, doh aks me bout no movies or no dinner.

2002- Present Fig Tree park Plantation FL, now a shell of my former self, which was not much to begin with.  the wickedest small goal goalkeeper east of University Blvd!!!

« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2007, 01:07:27 PM »

« Reply #9 on: Today at 10:20:19 AM »

I went P/Town that same time and use to train with the Intercol team.

« Reply #20 on: June 29, 2007, 01:15:28 PM »
Large up to meh fellow P. Town mites.  Hope all is well with you guys, whereever you are.

Offline Trevor

« Reply #21 on: June 29, 2007, 01:33:05 PM »
Maxg,

Although we used to play a big fete match around Christmas, anything out of the Boulevard was serious business in those days.

The team you may be talking about was Romans (about 1967-1968).  The Boulevard produced some greats in sports and culture.  The following is a list.

•   Brian Davis (cricket)
•   Charlie Davis (cricket)
•   Glen Davis (cycling)
•   Richard DeSouza (cricket and football)
•   Robert Evans (national cyclist)
•   Dennis Evans (junior table tennis champ)
•   Roderick Ward (basketball)
•   Jimmy Blanc (foot ball)
•   McDonald and Frank Ward – major folks behind Silver Stars,
George Bailey Band, Peter Minshall Band, Mas Camp owners, etc.
•   Victor “Toti” Wilson (pioneer of the steelband).  Valentino sang about him this year in the Calypso Monarch.  Coincidentally, he used to tune the pan to the chime of QRC clock.  In the 1960s, “Toti” used to sit down in front his house making man heads for cutlasses. 
•   Some members of the Alexander Ragtime Band of 1939.  A major forerunner to the founding of the steelband.
•   The Thompson family
•   The Castillo family

Trevor

Offline SOBRIQUET

• Intercol Champion 94' w/ Princes Town
« Reply #22 on: June 29, 2007, 01:56:17 PM »
Folks,

Fernando Tech both years

Ah done!

Trevor

Large up Trevor...always good to hear from the vets and pioneers  :beermug:

sobriquet...you know Avery and Dominic?

Dem is meh boys self.  Dominic recruited me but graduated the year before i arrived and I played 2 years with Avery.

Big up all meh P-town Squaddies...
« Last Edit: June 29, 2007, 02:05:32 PM by SOBRIQUET »
...with Blacksmith, Dogfoot, Jurawan and dem

« Reply #23 on: June 29, 2007, 02:36:39 PM »
84-89 holy cross college class on class sweat and 86-89 spain 82 under 18 eddie hart league.right back.presently kickin ball in meh backyard with meh 2 daughters.

« Reply #24 on: June 29, 2007, 02:57:10 PM »
84-89 holy cross college class on class sweat and 86-89 spain 82 under 18 eddie hart league.right back.presently kickin ball in meh backyard with meh 2 daughters.

Holy Cross College was like Std 6 for Arima Boys RC, who by the way have the bestest elementary school football team from back in the day.

« Reply #25 on: June 29, 2007, 04:22:38 PM »
Common entrance to:  Arima Gov't Secondary- (87'-91')- Senior Grade Football.

A'Levels at:  Princes Town Sen Comp- Nat'l Intercol Champs (94'). Top goalscorer in League wid 24.

Full Scholl to:  American University Washington, DC Div 1- Elite 8 in 1997. (95' to 98')

Dread, I went Central too. Right next to "Red Nanny" (primary school next door). With man like Cruckshank, Dave Dickson, Branch sons,
and girls like Lavern jeffers, Natalie. Simone

Then meh mudda didnt like me going up to Arima everyday and everbody else going in town so then I get moved to Eldo... It really had nothing to do with behavior absolutely nothing. Besides I was only ever the second worst child in school. Ah never get de tittle. Elvis and Alvis use to live right next to de school but played for de Enemy.... arima Compre who back then had a bomb squad..

« Reply #26 on: June 29, 2007, 04:38:47 PM »
Started off as ah youth at Harvard football club. Under 14, 16  and Intercol for Trinity College.  Intercol for St. Marys'.

Ah small stint with Queens Park; Trincity United/Nationals (the year we clean up Eddie Hart league and knockout was de best dred); Joe Public for ah season and half.

Georgia Perimeter College (2 years state and regional champs. went to national tournament my freshman year. Made All tournament team those years.

Brewton Parker College (when they was ah power in the NAIA southeast region); currently 2nd all time for single season goals and assists in school history.

Played on ah representative "Trindad & Tobago" team here in the states. Players from Michigan, Ny, Miami and atlanta was part of that team. Players currently on national team played on those teams. actually it is set up as ah feeder team for the TTFF to look at players out here,  but is only bertille and lincoln actually pays attention closely!!! This team actually will be playing against ah Jamaican pro league team next month here in atlanta.

ADSL division1; Atlanta Caribbean league; Cobb league...all kinda leagues in Atlanta area...and the occasional fete match too!!! :beermug: :beermug:

« Reply #27 on: June 29, 2007, 05:24:17 PM »
 1968- 74: QRC. Under 14, A Colts, 2nd and 1st XI. Played in 3 intercol.Lost to Ron LaForest and Wayne Lewis Belmont team in North semi-final. Played one North final vs Tranquil. Lost to then 1-0 on the magnificent free kick from McIntyre. Lost to Tranquil again in my last year. Intercol as far I concern is the best exposure  a TT youth can experience. If  ever  I were to born again I asking God to let me experience Intercol again. With QRC, but we must win the next time around. Mike Grayson was a member of that team. Played in CYO leauge in the St. Joseph savannah. Played in Eddie hart league with a team called Chelsea. Sunday morning football. The best

1974-76. TT youth team. 3rd place Concacaf in Toronto. Played with Essex in POSFL and then the 2nd Div NSL. Won NSL div2 and FA trophy. Beat TECSA 1-0. Brilliant front post header by Sammy.

1977-81. Howard Univ. Nothing spectacular. Diisappointed by NCAA 2 year suspension on HU. You can play all you want and win everygame. NO post season appearance. First experience with African and JA players. Amazed at the African skill level. But most of them were experienced ball players from their  home. Played with Trevor Lieba and Dennis Cuthbert(they were there for me in my freshman year, eternally grateful). Then there was Richard  Davey,Gerard Dugan and a Nigerian named Syvanus Oriaki. That guy should have gone to Europe and played. One of the best I have seen and played with. Also played with Juniors in the off-season. Mucho fun when Juniors and All-Stars clash.

1981- 1995. Juniors, Takoma Wolves, Deportivo Panama, World Bank/IMF club teams. The best bus rides to Toronto and Montreal for tournaments with Juniors. Nothing can't beat that. Played US Amatuer and Open cup with Wolves. Went to a couple regional play-offs in Baltimore, NJ and NY. Deportivo Panama were recreational. Had to tote meh children with me.

« Reply #28 on: June 29, 2007, 05:48:48 PM »
I should know you man...we was at 'Cross together.

Check yuh PMs

« Reply #29 on: June 29, 2007, 05:50:20 PM »
[quote author=SOBRIQUET link=topic=28920.msg329619#msg329619

Dem is meh boys self.  Dominic recruited me but graduated the year before i arrived and I played 2 years with Avery.

Big up all meh P-town Squaddies...
dom is a good pardna of mine man...he finishing up he training down in Alabama now...