March 29, 2024, 06:23:37 AM

Author Topic: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions  (Read 911809 times)

Re: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions
« Reply #3480 on: September 18, 2011, 10:59:32 AM »
Great game by both teams. I feel it for Chelsea a little bit as I didn't think Man U were 3 goals better than them at half time. But they real miss and have only themselves to blame.

I nearly forgot Rooney's penalty debacle because of Torres' criminal miss. It was a goal unscored.

« Reply #3481 on: September 18, 2011, 11:02:05 AM »
3 goal, a post, a crossbar, a missed penalty and man still quarelling bout refereeing

majoring in minors

That's all that you see?

from you yeah...

winning big when you not necessarily better is called schooling (as opposed to bossing). Chelsea got schooled in the first half. with a bit of luck they coulda equalise in the second but with a bit of luck Man U coulda score six. The refereeing is the least of you problems
« Last Edit: September 18, 2011, 11:05:43 AM by Midknight »

« Reply #3482 on: September 18, 2011, 11:10:21 AM »
3 goal, a post, a crossbar, a missed penalty and man still quarelling bout refereeing

majoring in minors

That's all that you see?

from you yeah...

winning big when you not necessarily better is called schooling (as opposed to bossing). Chelsea got schooled in the first half. with a bit of luck they coulda equalise in the second but with a bit of luck Man U coulda score six. The refereeing is the least of you problems

You have to be joking about schooling.

« Reply #3483 on: September 18, 2011, 11:11:00 AM »
And by de way, did any notice that Bosingwa had Ashley Young in his back pocket?

« Reply #3484 on: September 18, 2011, 11:12:39 AM »
lord, whatever it is sir alex have, the man need to bottle it.   i have to give united props, the man blooding in youngsters, overhauling the side and still resting it on teams.

« Reply #3485 on: September 18, 2011, 11:16:18 AM »
And by de way, did any notice that Bosingwa had Ashley Young in his back pocket?
Hear nah!! you must be the biggest sour grapes week in week out. Chelsea got fu*King schooled today. They were lucky not to get atleast 6 or 7. Nobody saying Chelsea is garbage, we just saying they was not ready for Man.United today, and was beaten because of that. The ref did a good game. I still think that shit tackle from Ashley on Chicarito should have been a penalty.

« Reply #3486 on: September 18, 2011, 11:19:59 AM »
What a F@#king joke.

you real sour dread. ah gettting the impression yyou're a Chelsea fan :thinking:

Fella I does take meh licks, not when the ref bias like that. You saying that's a good PK? Man I done replying to you, you jokey.
Horrendous refereeing in this game!!
Yea it was, Man.United should have gotton a penalty on that shit tackle from Cole on Chicarito :pissedoff:

« Reply #3487 on: September 18, 2011, 11:40:20 AM »
What a F@#king joke.

you real sour dread. ah gettting the impression yyou're a Chelsea fan :thinking:

Fella I does take meh licks, not when the ref bias like that. You saying that's a good PK? Man I done replying to you, you jokey.
Horrendous refereeing in this game!!
Yea it was, Man.United should have gotton a penalty on that shit tackle from Cole on Chicarito :pissedoff:

It have people on this forum no matter what will only see non calls or decisions as 'United bias'. Yuh just wasting yuh time because they stuck in their mentality.
On another note Evans may be slow and weak but he can hit a pass. That ball he hit Nani with that lead to Nani scoring was sweet.
« Last Edit: September 18, 2011, 11:49:59 AM by Giggsy11 »

« Reply #3488 on: September 18, 2011, 11:40:55 AM »
3 big points, top of the league by 2 points with 15 points from 15 , goals flying in the net week in week out

Elan go and pleasure yourself to Torres and f**k off until we meet again... UNITED!!!

Offline Dansteel - The Iceman

« Reply #3489 on: September 18, 2011, 11:51:17 AM »
Very good game. Chelsea didn't do enough to win it but Man U looked beatable. Chelsea took too long to put on Mikel because they were struggling to keep the ball in midfield and their finishing was ridiculously bad. United just took more of their chances.

Not a great United team in terms of pure talent but it's amazing what they can do by being highly cohesive and having excellent finishing. That looks like it's going to win them the title, unfortunately.
Victoria concordia crescit

« Reply #3490 on: September 18, 2011, 12:08:29 PM »
Hear nah!! you must be the biggest sour grapes week in week out. Chelsea got fu*King schooled today. They were lucky not to get atleast 6 or 7. Nobody saying Chelsea is garbage, we just saying they was not ready for Man.United today, and was beaten because of that. The ref did a good game. I still think that shit tackle from Ashley on Chicarito should have been a penalty.
Ball was out of play already. You can't give a penalty for that. If the ball was still on the field, penalty for sure.

« Reply #3491 on: September 18, 2011, 12:09:40 PM »

Man Utd played no setta football brother. Count the crosses, the final balls, the shot on goal, etc. F@#k with alyuh giddy talk. I gave you all yuh 3 points. But you all does get carried away to much man. Ashley Young eh Beat Boswinga once, not once. Nani couldn't get pass Cole either (obviously he's getting smart as he cuts inside and smash a beauty). Anderson couldn't see his way.

So doh come round me about being sour. Chelsea was up to Man utd today big time as the score line is very flattering to Man Utd. Yo all does handle a win like you never won anything before, yuh swear is schools girls.

« Reply #3492 on: September 18, 2011, 12:10:25 PM »
3 big points, top of the league by 2 points with 15 points from 15 , goals flying in the net week in week out

Elan go and pleasure yourself to Torres and f**k off until we meet again... UNITED!!!

Where were you mid week?

« Reply #3493 on: September 18, 2011, 12:12:56 PM »

Where were you mid week?

watching United save their energy to deal with your team today.. imagine we were like 6/10 today.. what would have happened if we near 8 or 9?

« Reply #3494 on: September 18, 2011, 12:16:59 PM »

Where were you mid week?

watching United save their energy to deal with your team today.. imagine we were like 6/10 today.. what would have happened if we near 8 or 9?

have tuh like alyuh yuh know.

« Reply #3495 on: September 18, 2011, 12:28:01 PM »
Both teams were unspectacular but Man U was very clinical in the first half - Chelsea looks good in the middle but lacking confidence up top, and not agressive enough at the back

Plenty goal throw way too jed lol..

Game shoulda been like 6-4 to Man U...
« Last Edit: September 18, 2011, 12:52:59 PM by kicker »

« Reply #3496 on: September 18, 2011, 12:45:16 PM »
Chelsea beat themselves in this game, Man utd did not beat we. Say what alyuh want. We were better.

You serious with this "Chelsea beat themselves" talk?  Both teams had misses but counting Rooney's penalty and the bad pass to Berbatov that easily should have been two more.  Even if you want to count the Ramires and Torres misses, you'd still have to throw in Rooney's dribbler off the upright and ManU still winning this game.

I ent see City play... but ManU made a liar out of me today, even with the misses they were really impressive in creating opportunity after opportunity.  And Ashley Cole lucky he survive to see the end of the game after that challenge on Hernandez.

« Reply #3497 on: September 18, 2011, 12:55:32 PM »
Thought point 9 was pretty interesting.

Ten points on Manchester United 3-1 Chelsea

September 18, 2011

http://www.zonalmarking.net/2011/09/18/ten-points-on-manchester-united-3-1-chelsea/

A crazily open game with no overall pattern, so here are some disparate observations.

1. Early on, there was an amazing lack of pressure upon the player in possession in midfield, particularly when Anderson and Darren Fletcher had the ball. This seems to be an early trend this season around Europe – in Serie A games it has been particularly obvious that sides aren’t closing down until the opposition get into the final third of the pitch. Considering Barcelona are currently the best side around and base their game without the ball around pressing, it’s a strange development.

2. When Manchester United played Chelsea four times last season, the major trend was that Chelsea needed a strong player to stay goalside of Wayne Rooney – when he dropped into the hole, he was a major threat. Andre Villas-Boas wasn’t naive enough to go without a holder, but he did play Raul Meireles there. The Portuguese midfielder is a functional player who can play there (arguably his major quality is his ability to ‘do a job’; it’s difficult to identify a particular area of the game he excels at), but probably not against a player as dangerous as Rooney. Jon Obi Mikel may have been a better bet:

3. United have often been extremely fluid in attacking positions this season, but today there were much more structured. The wide players tended to stay wider, for example – compare Young’s positioning today with his action zones against Tottenham on the opening day.

4. The interesting thing about this week’s “story” about Fernando Torres criticising his teammates was that Torres actually offered a good analysis of the reasons why he hasn’t thrived at Chelsea. His major source of goals at Liverpool was from through-balls played into his path, and his comments that he wanted a more ‘vertical’ game at Chelsea with creative midfielders who played the ball more quickly was a fine analysis. It doesn’t excuse his own poor finishing, but it does explain why he hasn’t suited Chelsea – or why Chelsea hasn’t suited him. His brighter performance today came because Chelsea were trying to slide balls through the defence – see his goal, as well as his inexplicable miss.

5. In hindsight, this wasn’t a game for Frank Lampard. Mikel could have dealt with Rooney, and Chelsea would have been able to press better, as well as assist Torres more effectively, with two of Ramires, Meireles and Juan Mata playing just ahead. Lampard has been an extremely effective player – without ever being an extremely talented player – for many years, largely because he was perfect for a specific role in a specific system. Villas-Boas has changed that system, and now roles have changed, even within the same starting formation. It is too soon to write off Lampard, but he may have to adapt to retain his place as a regular.

6. If Villas-Boas is trying to modernise Chelsea and create a better passing side, he’d do well to look at his centre-backs’ ability on the ball. Jonny Evans had a 95% pass completion rate, Phil Jones’ was 88%, but John Terry and Branislav Ivanovic both finished on 77%.

7. Throughout all Sir Alex Ferguson’s sides, perhaps the main similarity has been the use of width, and the use of diagonal balls. That was particularly obvious today – Evans played a great crossfield ball to Nani for the goal, and Anderson did the same shortly before Nani set up Javier Hernandez in the first half. Rooney often dropped deep and played a shorter diagonal. When a 4-4-2 / 4-4-1-1 meets a 4-3-3, often the main advantage for the former is the fact that the wingers are often immediately against the opposition full-back – the wide forward in the 4-3-3 usually watches the opposition full-back rather than covers his own. Twice in a row at Old Trafford, United’s right-winger has dominated Ashley Cole.

8. When ahead, players who can come off the bench and play simple passes to keep the ball are invaluable. Michael Carrick is the classic example, but Dimitar Berbatov did well, not conceding possession once from 14 passes.

9. United conceded 22 shots here, 22 at Bolton, 20 against Arsenal, 21 against West Brom and 16 against West Brom. These are surprisingly high figures (they’ve allowed more shots than any other Premier League team) – the question is whether this is because of defensive slackness, or because opponents are overly-keen to test David De Gea.

10. Despite a couple of errors here, Villas-Boas is doing a good job at Chelsea. The side needed an overhaul of its first XI and its general football ideology, and already the side seems fresher, younger and more technical. They competed well here, and were unfortunate to be 3-0 down at half-time. Some managers would have feared a thrashing and shut up shop, but the introduction of Nicolas Anelka for Lampard – and a change to more of a 4-2-1-3 – showed bravery, positivity and confidence in his players, and it broadly worked well.

« Reply #3498 on: September 19, 2011, 08:29:58 AM »
saw the match live at Old Trafford.. my first time there
sorry...cant find the words to describe ( yet )...

« Reply #3499 on: September 19, 2011, 08:33:31 AM »
me doh favor no side but man u playing some of the best ball i ever see from a premier league side this year yes....with young talent to boot.

jones, ferdinand, evans, rooney, smalling, young, welbeck, cleverly....look seven starters for capello euro 2012 side right there.

« Reply #3500 on: September 19, 2011, 12:42:08 PM »
Which part Big Mags say he see de match Old Trafford or the All England Lawn Tennis Club???

Djokovic have Federer in he back pocket....Manu have Chelsea in theirs:)

« Reply #3501 on: September 19, 2011, 01:48:10 PM »
Loving the false sense of security men bathing in on this thread...

If is one thing Sunday's game would have showed is that for all the click the offense clicking, the defense is very vulnerable.

Man United were deserved winners but 3-0 at the half was not reflective of the game and it could have easily gone in another direction. 22 shots conceded including a number of sitters tells a story.

Allyuh doh get tie up, Smalling is not a right back (will soon be found out), men like Evans and Wellbeck is not quality and De Gea have level bore to get.

Man U is definitely the form team right now, i have to concede that the movement and speed of the offense and interchanging of play is breathtaking.. But let us not forget that Chelsea looked just as imperious at this stage last season. With the players Chelsea have now, the fluidity will come and they will peak at the right time.

Man U must fizzle... Is only a matter of time.

« Reply #3502 on: September 19, 2011, 03:00:07 PM »
Man definitely porous at the back... Noticed that in a big way from scince the Arsenal game... but if yuh scoring more than yuh conceding...then does it really matter?

« Reply #3503 on: September 19, 2011, 03:01:00 PM »
fizzle or not, we will always find a way to win. :) . Glory Glory ! Beat us if you can

« Reply #3504 on: September 19, 2011, 05:20:54 PM »
Man definitely porous at the back... Noticed that in a big way from scince the Arsenal game... but if yuh scoring more than yuh conceding...then does it really matter?
Always true. They do leave a lot of space in front of the defence (the same spot that Barca killed them from in the CL Final) though. A side with better defenders and holding mids may be able to blunt their attack while a false 9 or playmaker exploits the space in front of the defenders. All speculation of course. But it makes me wish Arsenal had fielded a full strength side for the Old Trafford game. What a game that would have been. Ah well. Shoulda coulda woulda.
« Last Edit: September 19, 2011, 05:34:00 PM by Dansteel - The Iceman »

Offline Fantastic

« Reply #3505 on: September 19, 2011, 07:02:15 PM »
Hope some of allyuh realize de porous defence allyuh talking bout is a makeshift one. A young, new GK. 1 defender in his regular starting position(evra). Fletcher in his 2nd game in what seems like a couple yrs. De entire midfield and forward line, except maybe Nani were a little off in terms of touches and sharpness. Not discounting Chelsea's efforts at pressuring de ball, but many, many Man U passes were just inaccurate and mishit. In my opinion both teams had opportunities and the flow was somewhat even..........the thing that stood out to me was that even without leaders like vidic, ferdinand, and giggs on the field, this group looked like they believed even when playing below top form that they would still beat Chelsea. I haven't seen that or gotten that feeling from watching this matchup in quite a few years. I think with a better defensive presence in the middle of the field, Man U will win this league by a wide margin. Chelsea fans better hope for dem 2 african to come back and be the forces they were a few years ago. Without that, allyuh like Tyson after he got knocked to fack out and people stopped fearing him.
Doh loss yuh head boss

« Reply #3506 on: September 19, 2011, 07:06:50 PM »
Hope some of allyuh realize de porous defence allyuh talking bout is a makeshift one. A young, new GK. 1 defender in his regular starting position(evra). Fletcher in his 2nd game in what seems like a couple yrs. De entire midfield and forward line, except maybe Nani were a little off in terms of touches and sharpness. Not discounting Chelsea's efforts at pressuring de ball, but many, many Man U passes were just inaccurate and mishit. In my opinion both teams had opportunities and the flow was somewhat even..........the thing that stood out to me was that even without leaders like vidic, ferdinand, and giggs on the field, this group looked like they believed even when playing below top form that they would still beat Chelsea. I haven't seen that or gotten that feeling from watching this matchup in quite a few years. I think with a better defensive presence in the middle of the field, Man U will win this league by a wide margin. Chelsea fans better hope for dem 2 african to come back and be the forces they were a few years ago. Without that, allyuh like Tyson after he got knocked to fack out and people stopped fearing him.

How about dat? Doh mind dem yuh know dey graspin at straws,because dey know despite not playing at our best we still got the result as usual! And dat hutin dem bad!

« Reply #3507 on: September 19, 2011, 07:48:37 PM »
All theory aside, the make shift team cut Chelski and Arse-anal..... talk is cheap.

« Reply #3508 on: September 19, 2011, 11:07:55 PM »
All theory aside, the make shift team cut Chelski and Arse-anal..... talk is cheap.

8 f**king 2 and 3-1 as well as missing a penalty and hitting the crossbar and the post and while they had chances we didnt have our 1st choice CB's and used a new to the positon RB and have a 20 year old keeper

2 shit teams on the way out of their "challenging United" years... 19 titles, 3 CL , 12 FA Cups .. f**k off London

« Reply #3509 on: September 20, 2011, 08:20:10 AM »
Loving the false sense of security men bathing in on this thread...

Man U is definitely the form team right now, i have to concede that the movement and speed of the offense and interchanging of play is breathtaking.. But let us not forget that Chelsea looked just as imperious at this stage last season. With the players Chelsea have now, the fluidity will come and they will peak at the right time.

Man U must fizzle... Is only a matter of time.

Chelsea las year was a whole different story. For one thing they was Beating West Brom, Wigan and Sunderland. The very first big Sam they meet they lose. Even during the run I remember Kev saying that they wasn't Playing well.

United have a lot of upads because the players now getting minutes as regular starters. Chelsea players was always gong to get worse so much so that none of the players from that early Chelsea run are better today than they were last year.