March 28, 2024, 05:25:15 PM

Author Topic: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions  (Read 911501 times)

Re: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions
« Reply #480 on: February 22, 2009, 08:28:34 PM »
once yuh could do it and get away.go right ahead. :devil:

« Reply #481 on: February 28, 2009, 08:58:51 AM »
Up four it: Old Trafford star Wayne Rooney confident Manchester United can claim the quadruple this season

By Sportsmail Reporter Last updated at 11:48 AM on 28th February 2009

Wayne Rooney believes Manchester United can win the quadruple as they are stronger than last season when they won the Champions League and Premier League double.

United face Tottenham in the Carling Cup final tomorrow in their first chance of domestic silverware before they attempt to clinch the Barclays Premier League and Champions League titles as well as the FA Cup.

The Old Trafford club have already won the FIFA Club World Cup and the 23-year-old believes they can claim the four trophies available to them.

Up four it: Wayne Rooney is confident Manchester United can record an incredible quadruple sweep this season as they continue to go from strength to strength

'I hope the quadruple is possible,' Rooney told The Sun.

'We have a great chance in the Carling Cup, we're in a good position in the league, the quarter-finals of the FA Cup and have a good chance of reaching the same stage in the Champions League.

'It will be hard work to win them all but we are positive and that's what we're aiming to do.

'We are stronger than last season when we won the double.

Wayne's world: Rooney celebrates his first trophy win with United in the Carling Cup over Wigan in 2006 when he also celebrated the man-of-the-match prize

'And winning the Champions League has given us an added confidence and belief which has brought us on.'

'Rooney also revealed that lifting the trophy at Wembley tomorrow would fulfil a childhood dream.

'I still remember going to the old Wembley as a kid to watch Everton beat United in the FA Cup final,' he continued.

'It was an amazing occasion and something that has always stuck in my mind. To play in a major final is still a dream come true for me.

'The Carling Cup was the first trophy I won with United, in Cardiff, and something I want to win again badly.

'The fact it is at such an amazing place like Wembley now obviously makes it more special.'
http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-1157924/Up-Rooney-confident-United-claim-quadruple-triumph.html#
« Last Edit: February 28, 2009, 09:02:12 AM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #482 on: February 28, 2009, 11:13:23 AM »
Carling Cup Final 2009
Manchester United vs Tottenham Hotspurs
Wembley Stadium
Sunday March 1st @ 10am EST(11 am TT Time)
Setanta Sports
Trotters for atmosphere

Preview:
Tottenham will be looking to put an end to Manchester United's hopes of a quintuple when the two sides meet in the Carling Cup final on Sunday.

Holders Spurs will not want to give up their crown without a fight and will fancy their chances after United boss Sir Alex Ferguson revealed that he would be sticking with his youngsters who have got him this far.

Spurs manager Harry Redknapp has seemingly traded Uefa Cup glory for a win on Sunday after he rested all of his big guns for the last-32 tie against Shakhtar Donetsk on Thursday.

If the gamble fails to pay off and United succeed in the first part of their record-breaking conquest Redknapp can expect a backlash from the Spurs supporters.
United team news

First choice goalkeeper Edwin van der Sar has not featured in the competition this season so Ferguson must decide between Ben Foster and Tomasz Kuszczak.

The pair have made two Carling Cup appearances each this season but the Englishman could get the nod after Kuszczak's erratic display against Blackburn last weekend.

Defender Jonny Evans is rated as 50/50 after he needed pain killing injections to get through Tuesday's draw with Inter.

The Northern Ireland international has been suffering with an ankle injury that dates back to his time on loan at Sunderland at the end of last season.

If the 21-year-old does not make it Ferguson will look to start regular centre-back pairing of Rio Ferdinand and Nemanja Vidic.

Fellow defender Gary Neville has returned to training during the past week and he could be involved but Wes Brown (metatarsal) is out.

Midfielder Anderson could make a return to first-team action after picking up an ankle injury in the semi-final second-leg win over Derby in January.

The Brazilian played 45 minutes of United's reserve team clash with Manchester City on Thursday and will compete with Darren Fletcher, Michael Carrick and Darren Gibson for a midfield berth.

Fellow Brazilian Fabio played in the same match and was also withdrawn early in the second half, hinting that he could replace twin brother Rafael who has been ruled out for a month with an ankle injury.

Carlos Tevez should start up front after playing in all of the club's games in the competition this season with either Wayne Rooney or Danny Wellbeck partnering him.

Spurs team news

Huerelho Gomes will start in goal with fellow stopper Carlo Cudicini ineligible.

Redknapp rested Jonathan Woodgate, Benoit Assou-Ekotto, Vedran Corluka, Ledley King, Jermaine Jenas, Luka Modric, Darren Bent, Aaron Lennon and Roman Pavlyuchenko for the Shakhtar match and all can expect to be involved on Sunday.

Skipper King featured in Monday's win at Hull and despite not being able to play two games a week is expected to start for the final.

If the 28-year-old fails to recover in time Michael Dawson should step in after he too was rested for Thursday's draw.

The former Portsmouth manager is expected to field a five -midfield so either Bent or Pavlyuchenko will miss out.

With the Russian scoring in every round so far he is favourite to play as the lone striker with Bent settling for a place on the bench.

Redknapp will also wait to assess midfielder Jamie O'Hara's hip injury before deciding on his final eleven.

Strikers Robbie Keane (ineligible) and Jermaine Defoe (foot) are out as are Pascal Chimbonda and Wilson Palacios who are both ineligible.

Possible starting XIs:

Man Utd: Foster, Fabio, Evans, Vidic, O'Shea, Nani, Gibson, Scholes, Ronaldo, Rooney, Tevez.

Tottenham: Gomes, Corluka, King, Woodgate, Assou-Ekotto, Bentley, Zokora, Jenas, Lennon, Modric, Pavlyuchenko
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11061_4980725,00.html
« Last Edit: February 28, 2009, 11:28:11 AM by Small Magician aka Wazza »

« Reply #483 on: February 28, 2009, 02:27:48 PM »
one part of de puzzle is hours away.

« Reply #484 on: February 28, 2009, 11:06:43 PM »
Wood passing tomorrow....Glory Glory Man United

Man U 4 EVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR............................ :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:

« Reply #485 on: March 01, 2009, 05:30:37 AM »
c'mon 'arry give those wankers what they deserve  :devil:

« Reply #487 on: March 01, 2009, 08:35:48 AM »
c'mon 'arry give those wankers what they deserve  :devil:

the title?  ;) :devil:

« Reply #489 on: March 01, 2009, 08:55:28 AM »
coverage start

« Reply #490 on: March 01, 2009, 11:43:20 AM »
 spurs looking like  they lose the kicks already  so. the team looking real down dread

« Reply #491 on: March 01, 2009, 11:45:41 AM »
Finally!!!!!!!

GLORY GLORY!

:wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #492 on: March 01, 2009, 11:47:34 AM »
Ben Foster is a BOSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D

« Reply #493 on: March 01, 2009, 11:55:22 AM »
GLORY GLORY  :devil: :devil: :devil:  :wavetowel: :wavetowel:

Offline RedDevils

« Reply #494 on: March 01, 2009, 11:58:01 AM »
It was a hard fought game, but in the end we got what we went for. Congrats United.

Glory Glory  :devil: :devil:
Glory, Glory MANUTD.

« Reply #495 on: March 01, 2009, 12:00:19 PM »
Ben Foster is a BOSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D

Yes he is, very athletic, stops shots, kicks with both feet, commands his area, calm, distributes quite well-needs to stay healthy.

« Reply #496 on: March 01, 2009, 12:53:56 PM »

« Reply #497 on: March 01, 2009, 02:24:07 PM »
so that's 2 in de bag,2 more to go.

« Reply #498 on: March 01, 2009, 03:11:52 PM »

3 more to go lad

« Reply #499 on: March 01, 2009, 04:33:22 PM »
Who is the best goalkeeper?
27 February 2009, 16:47
Manchester United FC's Edwin van der Sar has broken English league, Premier League and British league records by keeping 14 successive clean sheets in the top flight, a sequence which is still ongoing. The Dutchman has also taken that form on to the European stage, having yet to concede a goal in this season's UEFA Champions League, but who do you think is the best keeper left in the competition?

Deadly Dutchman
Van der Sar maintained his unbeatable veneer this week when he kept FC Internazionale Milano at bay in the first knockout round first leg to make it four shutouts from as many UEFA Champions League appearances this term. However, there are plenty of rivals to the 38-year-old United custodian. Internazionale's Júlio César was at his very best to deny United, and Cristiano Ronaldo in particular, at the Stadio Giuseppe Meazza on Tuesday, while on the same evening, Arsenal FC's Manuel Almunia produced a magnificent save to divert Marco Motta's stinging shot wide as AS Roma threatened an early lead in London.

Classy competition
On Wednesday, three more goalkeepers, Petr Čech (Chelsea FC), Michael Rensing (FC Bayern München) and Pepe Reina (Liverpool FC), posted clean sheets. Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus), meanwhile, shipped his first goal of the European campaign, and although he made only one outing during the group stage, the Italian's class is unquestionable. Who do you think has shown the best form so far? Click below to have your say.
http://www1.uefa.com/competitions/ucl/talkfootball/blogs/newsid=805451.html

3 more to go lad
Capo sayin day have de EPL in de bag orready ;D
« Last Edit: March 01, 2009, 04:35:49 PM by WestCoast »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #500 on: March 01, 2009, 06:10:23 PM »
nah i think he mean world club champions  :devil:

« Reply #501 on: March 01, 2009, 06:13:48 PM »
nah i think he mean world club champions  :devil:
so, is in fact 5 trophies allya goin an win, not 4 as Shrek says ;D ;D
« Last Edit: March 01, 2009, 06:19:29 PM by WestCoast »

« Reply #502 on: March 01, 2009, 06:17:20 PM »
Yeh it will be 5  ;D1 World club champions,  2 Epl ,  3 FA Cup , 4 Carling Cup , 5 Champions Legue

« Reply #503 on: March 01, 2009, 06:20:00 PM »
Yeh it will be 5  ;D1 World club champions,  2 Epl ,  3 FA Cup , 4 Carling Cup , 5 Champions Legue
steeeeuuuuppppssss :devil:

would that be the first time a club ever did that

« Reply #504 on: March 01, 2009, 07:29:22 PM »
i so much silverware i gettin dotish.3 more.EPL,CL and FA CUP.

« Reply #505 on: March 01, 2009, 09:32:29 PM »
Redknapp backs United cleansweep(AFP) Sunday 1 March 2009

Tottenham Hotspur manager Harry Redknapp is backing Manchester United to finish this season with an unprecedented haul of five trophies. "They have got a big chance. They are the team to beat for sure," Redknapp said after a goalless League Cup final was resolved by United beating his side 4-1 in the penalty shoot-out.

"They have a fantastic squad. They have one cup already, it looks as if the league is going their way for sure and you wouldn't bet against them in the UEFA Champions League and the FA Cup," Redknapp said.

In addition to the trophy they collected today, United also won the FIFA Club World Cup Japan 2008™, but their manager, Sir Alex Ferguson, continues to play down the chances of his side retaining their UEFA Champions League and Premier League trophies while going on to win the FA Cup.

"I'm not going to get carried away with it," Ferguson said. "Only you guys, the media, will. We will keep our feet on the ground. My experience is we could go to Fulham this weekend in the FA Cup and the ball comes off somebody's backside and we are out of the cup. That is what cups can do to you."

Ferguson acknowledged that Tottenham might easily have won today's match before the shoot-out but for the heroics of Ben Foster, who made two crucial saves in open play before stopping Jamie O'Hara's opening spot-kick for Spurs.

"It was not an easy day for us," Ferguson said. "We have played better this season, but cup finals are not easy. Tottenham were good opponents and they probably had the better chances in the match, but Ben has made a few good saves for us."

Ferguson said Foster's performance was another sign that, as well as being the natural successor to Edwin van der Sar at United, he could go on to be England's number one for a long time. "The future is his," Ferguson said. "The present belongs to Van der Sar, that is obvious, but that performance can only strengthen my opinion of his ability and his own self-confidence.

"He is a strong character. He has had to be," Ferguson added. "He has had to come through two cruciate ligament injuries and you have to have something inside you to do that."

The lads were terrific, we just could not get that break. I thought we were going to win it in the last minute. 
Tottenham Hotspur manager Harry Redknapp

Despite his admiration for United, Redknapp was delighted with his team's performance, and felt they had the edge in the contest. "The lads were terrific, we just could not get that break," he said. "I thought we were going to win it in the last minute [when Darren Bent drew a good save from Foster]."

Spurs' fate was sealed after O'Hara had their first penalty saved by Foster and David Bentley steered the third spot-kick wide. O'Hara was left in tears, but Redknapp offered consolation.

"Jamie was the first to volunteer to take one. Unfortunately the goalkeeper has made a good save, but he is okay. I'm just pleased I got him on today. He left in tears last year when he did not get in the squad for the final last year. He feels for the club and he is a terrific lad."

« Reply #506 on: March 02, 2009, 01:20:09 AM »
Wood.............Glory Glory :devil: :devil: :devil: :devil:

« Reply #507 on: March 02, 2009, 11:11:26 AM »
Very good win.

I really happy to see that United taking the League Cup seriously despite the fact that they involved in the bigger competitions. This is a competition that Ferguson paid absolutely no attention to during the 90's.

With that said I think it way too early to start contamplating 4 trophies (I don't really rate the World Championship, it is a more significant title than the Charity Shield and Super Cup, but not by much).

To be completely honest just winning the League and FA Cup to complete a first domestic treble would be a dream. United lost their last 2 FA cup finals and haven't won th ecompetition for 5 years now. i really want to see them win it again but even that will be hard with Chelsea and Arsenal still in the running.

Don't talk for the CL. Not even thinking about that yet becuase it have too many games to play and oo many good teams still in it to be seriously thinking about the possibilities. The League Cup in the bag, League looking like a good prospect and the quarter final FA Cup draw is promising, still in the CL league. Leh we see what happens.

« Reply #508 on: March 02, 2009, 11:19:40 AM »
Very good win.

I really happy to see that United taking the League Cup seriously despite the fact that they involved in the bigger competitions. This is a competition that Ferguson paid absolutely no attention to during the 90's.

With that said I think it way too early to start contamplating 4 trophies (I don't really rate the World Championship, it is a more significant title than the Charity Shield and Super Cup, but not by much).

To be completely honest just winning the League and FA Cup to complete a first domestic treble would be a dream. United lost their last 2 FA cup finals and haven't won th ecompetition for 5 years now. i really want to see them win it again but even that will be hard with Chelsea and Arsenal still in the running.

Don't talk for the CL. Not even thinking about that yet becuase it have too many games to play and oo many good teams still in it to be seriously thinking about the possibilities. The League Cup in the bag, League looking like a good prospect and the quarter final FA Cup draw is promising, still in the CL league. Leh we see what happens.

how you could say they now taking the league cup seriously??

funny i remember the year Chelsea take everything, I remember Man Utd celebrate that Carling Cup like they won the World Cup.

Mark my words, Man Utd not winning no Champions league and I would bet against them taking the FA cup.

Allyuh getting on like this side playing ball, but they only benefiting from the mess that is Chelsea, Arsenal and Liverpool this season. Every game I see they have not looked as good as their record suggests.

They were a much better team last season.

« Reply #509 on: March 02, 2009, 11:28:42 AM »
LOL ok Omar

We werent our best from sep-dec but since the turn of the year we have been top notch... every game we have played with the exception of yesterday and Derby 1-0 loss in the CC we have been very very good

I would rate our current performances as good or even better than last season....

and we've had 5x more injuries this season to cope with and we are going to win the f**king lot

Glory Glory