March 28, 2024, 03:35:39 PM

Author Topic: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions  (Read 911455 times)

Re: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions
« Reply #1020 on: September 12, 2009, 01:36:27 PM »
spurs was sittin pretty,they finally see some competition.

Offline Kayus

« Reply #1021 on: September 12, 2009, 08:30:42 PM »
Ref having ah horrible game... clear dive by Berba on dat Gigg's free kick tuh equalize.

nah man, he got fouled. plus palacios came in with 2 feet as well, so that didn't help neither.  berbatov did sell the foul tho.

« Reply #1022 on: September 14, 2009, 06:38:17 PM »
Fair play to ManU...they deserved all 3 points.  It was pretty even until Scholes got sent off and then we suddenly looked bereft of ideas not to mention that we couldn't impose ourselves against 10 men.

We really missed Modric :-[

« Reply #1023 on: September 14, 2009, 06:43:15 PM »
Fair play to ManU...they deserved all 3 points.  It was pretty even until Scholes got sent off and then we suddenly looked bereft of ideas not to mention that we couldn't impose ourselves against 10 men.

Modric was needed... but Spurs played well.. we were just at our best

I can see Spurs in the top 4 once they stay injury free

I feeling a win or draw at the bridge sunday... 3-1 Spurs...Defoe , Crouch and a late Pava header

« Reply #1024 on: September 14, 2009, 11:03:36 PM »
Ref having ah horrible game... clear dive by Berba on dat Gigg's free kick tuh equalize.

nah man, he got fouled. plus palacios came in with 2 feet as well, so that didn't help neither.  berbatov did sell the foul tho.

If you could show me the contact on that tackle then you might have an argument.

« Reply #1025 on: September 15, 2009, 08:51:45 AM »

I feeling a win or draw at the bridge sunday... 3-1 Spurs...Defoe , Crouch and a late Pava header

Doh even think about dat fella caw is level cutarse sharin in de Bridge!!  Bout feelin ah win or draw :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

« Reply #1026 on: September 15, 2009, 09:20:51 AM »

If you could show me the contact on that tackle then you might have an argument.

Reckless challenge, but barely if any contact with the ball or player...
« Last Edit: September 15, 2009, 09:31:39 AM by kicker »

« Reply #1027 on: September 15, 2009, 09:28:55 AM »

take two gas tablet and buss a hard fart to deal with that 'feeling'...

is a feeling... it go pass.

« Reply #1028 on: September 20, 2009, 10:50:08 AM »
Owen's stoppage time winner clinches win over CityAssociated Press

MANCHESTER, England (AP) - Michael Owen struck six minutes into stoppage time to give Manchester United a dramatic 4-3 victory over Manchester City on Sunday, halting the crosstown rival's perfect start to the Premier League season.

United had thrown away the lead three times after blunders at the back - the last coming when Rio Ferdinand gifted the ball to Craig Bellamy for his second goal of the game in the 90th minute.

"We made three horrendous mistakes, mistakes you don't even half associate with our team and it kept them in the game," United manager Alex Ferguson said. "I am unhappy because it spoiled what could have been a really emphatic victory. We could have won by six or seven today. It's probably the greatest derby game ever."

While Wayne Rooney had got United off to the best possible start with a goal inside two minutes, goalkeeper Ben Foster committed the first calamity to allow City striker Carlos Tevez, returning to Old Trafford following his offseason move from United, to set up Gareth Barry's equalizer.

Fletcher headed the Premier League champions briefly back in front at the start of the second half, but Tevez provided the ball for Bellamy to make it 2-2.

Bellamy was on target again after Fletcher nodded in another in the 80th minute, but Owen chose the perfect time to score his first goal for United at Old Trafford and vindicate manager Alex Ferguson's gamble on the 29-year-old forward.

"It was always going to create a little bit of noise me moving to Man United," said Owen, who joined after his Newcastle contract expired. "Even if they didn't take to me it's still a privilege to play in a team like this. It hasn't sunk in (scoring)."

After four successive wins, it was the first time City had dropped points since $200 million was spent strengthening the squad over the offseason.

City's Tevez, was predictably jeered in marked contrast to the outpouring of support from United fans on his last appearance here in May. Despite those "Fergie sign him up" chants, Tevez rebuffed a permanent deal to cross the Manchester divide.

The Argentina striker had been a doubt but passed a fitness test on Sunday morning on a knee injury sustained on international duty two weeks ago.

Initially, he had to operate as the lone striker in front of a five-man midfield as Emmanuel Adebayor, who had scored in each of City's opening four wins, started a three-match suspension for his stamp on Robin van Persie last weekend.

City was trailing with 1 minute, 55 seconds on the clock.

Micah Richards had made a crucial challenge to halt Rooney's advance. But the defending wasn't as sharp when Ryan Giggs took the resulting throw in, and Patrice Evra cut the ball back to Rooney, who brushed off challenges from Kolo Toure and Nigel de Jong to fire in his sixth goal of the season.

Despite United being in the ascendancy, Foster gifted City an equalizer. Foster, who had looked uneasy in the opening exchanges, was slow to react when Joleon Lescott's deep ball landed on the edge of the penalty area.

As Foster attempted to usher the ball into the area he was tackled by Tevez who then squared the ball to Barry and the England midfielder dispatched the ball into the net with only Nemanja Vidic to beat on the line.

The equalizer jolted United, whose early superiority had waned and Tevez was denied a goal on the stroke of half time by the post.

United started the second half as strongly as the first, with Giggs, playing in his 30th derby, crossing from the left and Fletcher rose above Barry at the far post to head beyond Shay Given.

The lead lasted less than three minutes. Tevez was again the provider, spotting Bellamy in space, the Welshman advanced and then curled the ball past Foster into the far top corner from the edge of the area.

Within minutes Park was replaced on the right by new recruit Antonio Valencia.

Given pulled off three superb saves in quick succession, with lightening reactions blocking two headers from Dimitar Berbatov and turning over Giggs' effort.

Fletcher was on target again after meeting Giggs' free kick with a far-post header.

City had twice come close in the final minute, but a mistake by Ferdinand enabled Bellamy to gallop forward and beat Foster from a tight angle.

A point looked to be City's until Giggs fed Owen, who replaced Berbatov in the 78th, to produce the winner in the sixth minute of stoppage time. City manager Mark Hughes immediately complained to the fourth official that the four minutes of announced stoppage time had expired, but to no avail.

« Reply #1029 on: September 22, 2009, 10:49:03 AM »
Manchester United Coach Alex Ferguson The World's Best
Sir Alex Ferguson has won the Goal.com poll for the world's greatest coach.
11 English Premier League trophies, five FA Cup wins, three Scottish Premier Division medals, and two Champions League final wins.

It doesn't get much more impressive than that. The haul was certainly enough to convince the majority of Goal.com voters to select Sir Alex Ferguson (he's been knighted too, of course) as the best coach in the world.

The Manchester United tactician has won everything put before him at the club level, and has kept a stranglehold on the EPL, winning more than half since the inception of the Premier League and the last three on the trot.

1999 will probably be remembered as the Scot's greatest year, when Manchester United won the EPL, the FA Cup, and the Champions League in an all-conquering treble.

The man who has won the one trophy Ferguson hasn't came in at fourth, sandwiched between England national team coach Fabio Capello and Barcelona's Pep Guardiola. Marcello Lippi is the only one of the bunch to have won the World Cup, but that honor couldn't earn him more than his 8% of the vote.

Sliding in at second was Inter coach Jose Mourinho. Besides being good for a quote with his fiery antics and antagonistic mind games, the “Special One” has won a multitude of trophies in his short career. With Porto in his native Portugal he won the domestic title and the Champions League. At Chelsea he conquered England. Now with Inter, he's already won a Scudetto in his first season in charge.

« Reply #1030 on: September 23, 2009, 09:07:29 AM »
i eh no big fan of any EPL side but i like this jersey.

« Reply #1031 on: September 23, 2009, 09:09:09 AM »
tevez lookin like ah tru gangster. ;D

« Reply #1032 on: September 23, 2009, 01:32:20 PM »
Fabio shown his walking papers after getting burned by a Wolverhampton player.
« Last Edit: September 23, 2009, 01:34:36 PM by elan »

« Reply #1034 on: September 23, 2009, 01:53:11 PM »

shouldn't you be watching Chelsea vs QPR ?

or you just love watching United?... voyeur

« Reply #1035 on: September 23, 2009, 01:58:44 PM »

See Chelsea is disposing of teams this season, but teams in red are needing extra help. Anyway is only one team looking threatening in this game, and they not in red.

« Reply #1036 on: September 23, 2009, 02:55:15 PM »
1-0 FT...United(Welbeck)

« Reply #1037 on: September 23, 2009, 05:02:46 PM »

See Chelsea is disposing of teams this season, but teams in red are needing extra help. Anyway is only one team looking threatening in this game, and they not in red.

Well just for the record, Chelsea - QPR was pretty dull.

Joe Cole made his return and was perhaps the best player on a sub-par night. He was having his way wid d QPR defenders but noone around him reallly had the attacking quality to assist him in midfield or attack, until Lamps came on for second half.

Borini played upfront...he is shite, looked devoid of talent or potential.

Debut for Zhirkov..he is clearly from the Glen Johnson school of defending and will always look to attack. Not quite Ashley Cole level though (a bit unfair, since Ashley Cole is arguably the best left back in the world this year).

Kalou actually looked half decent for a change. I guess he found his level against Championship opposition.

Sam Hutchinson could be the next John Terry. Good performance at the back.

Oh yeah, this is a Man U thread....carry on  ;D

« Reply #1038 on: September 23, 2009, 11:07:00 PM »

Well just for the record, Chelsea - QPR was pretty dull.

Joe Cole made his return and was perhaps the best player on a sub-par night. He was having his way wid d QPR defenders but noone around him reallly had the attacking quality to assist him in midfield or attack, until Lamps came on for second half.

Borini played upfront...he is shite, looked devoid of talent or potential.

Debut for Zhirkov..he is clearly from the Glen Johnson school of defending and will always look to attack. Not quite Ashley Cole level though (a bit unfair, since Ashley Cole is arguably the best left back in the world this year).

Kalou actually looked half decent for a change. I guess he found his level against Championship opposition.

Sam Hutchinson could be the next John Terry. Good performance at the back.

Oh yeah, this is a Man U thread....carry on  ;D

Cashley isnt better than Evra

Offline TdotTrini

« Reply #1039 on: September 24, 2009, 08:42:11 AM »
I was speaking with a manufacturer in Manchester this week, they commented on the "power/influence" of Sir Alex Ferguson. They went to the United v Arsenal game, half hour before the game the sprinklers were turned were turned on the Arsenal half of the pitch.  Not sure what to make of this strategy, but this a strategy that is adopted by other teams and countries. I recall hearing that the turf at BMO field being watered prior to a stage 2 world cup qualifier between Canada and some other team.   
Teamwork divides the task and multiplies the success

« Reply #1040 on: September 24, 2009, 08:50:31 AM »
I was speaking with a manufacturer in Manchester this week, they commented on the "power/influence" of Sir Alex Ferguson. They went to the United v Arsenal game, half hour before the game the sprinklers were turned were turned on the Arsenal half of the pitch.  Not sure what to make of this strategy, but this a strategy that is adopted by other teams and countries. I recall hearing that the turf at BMO field being watered prior to a stage 2 world cup qualifier between Canada and some other team.   
plumbing mishap.nutten more.

« Reply #1041 on: September 24, 2009, 02:50:32 PM »
That's normal thing. Things like leaving the grass longer on the side of the field if the other team have speedy wingers.

« Reply #1042 on: September 24, 2009, 03:36:53 PM »

So seeing as kickoff/sides are only decided by a coin toss shortly before the players take the field, wetting the pitch a half hour before doesn't seem like the smartest of moves...granted United probably try to run the same way in the first half of each game, but if Arsenal won the toss and spotted the slick grass they could just pick the side they want?

A more likely reason: quite often sprinklers are turned on on one side of the pitch if only one side is out warming up and they're only using one goal.

« Reply #1043 on: September 25, 2009, 10:11:22 AM »
Correct meh if I am wrong, but don't they flip a coin to see which team gets the ball first and which side they want to start playing on? if so, then I guess Man.U sure to win every flip coin, so they know which side the water would be turned on half hour before the game. I think it's  :bs:

« Reply #1044 on: September 25, 2009, 07:30:01 PM »
tough game tomorrow away to Stoke

Nobody goes there and wins easily...  2 Chelsea Wins (2-0 last season and 2-1(95th) ) and 2 other teams won by small margins from Aug 08- present date

Last year we won 1-0 away, Tevez 86th...

It's going to be rough and tough and If we play our football with the right attitude we will win (possibly heavily) but I we make the mistake of underestimating or taking it easy we are in for a long 90 minutes

My prediction 3-0 United... 2 1st half goals(Rooney and Berba) and a Owen goal in the 75th to wrap it up

---------------------------------Foster

--O'Shea-----------Rio---------------------Vida----------Evra

--Valencia---------Fletch----------------Ando------------Giggs

-------------------Berba--------------Wazza

« Reply #1045 on: September 26, 2009, 09:57:50 AM »
Stoke 0 Utd 2 FT Berba,O'Shea

;D ;D

Scholes man of the match.. Giggs came on and 2 assists..great performance by the golden oldies

And...WE ARE TOP OF THE LEAGUE...AND THAT'S A FACT!  :beermug:

« Reply #1046 on: October 01, 2009, 07:40:49 AM »

« Reply #1047 on: October 01, 2009, 08:02:11 AM »