April 29, 2024, 03:57:37 AM

Author Topic: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions  (Read 922991 times)

Offline xixgon

Re: The Stretford End- Home of the Champions
« Reply #1410 on: March 17, 2010, 03:19:57 PM »
Anybody see Gerrard's elbow yesterday?

Imagine the Referee post match said he would have taken no action therefore taking away the possibility of the FA imposing a ban....Even though I'm 100% sure the FA would have bottled it as well

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wtksxQSNmYU

A week after doing his V sign gesture to a Ref which means f**k off... he was warned by the FA..no fine no ban... This week he does this and no fine no ban... but yet Rio got a 4 match ban for hitting out at Fagan vs Hull City and Gary Neville gets fined for excessive celebration

LOL what a joke

Haha you sound surprised. Gerrard is just part of a band of players that gets away with pretty much anyting dey do. The FA either applies double standards or misses incidents completely.

Any other player would be facing some kind of reprimand (the common man - jail) for Gerrard assault in the bar - yet Gerrard got off scot-free.

Ferdinand for one has always been made an example of by the authorities - he gets 8 months for missing a drug test - whilst Manchester City player Christian Negouai was fined 2,000 pounds for missing the test because of 'traffic'. Indeed the FA attempted to increase the ban even further to 12 months.

Indeed Mascherano did something almost identical to what Rio got banned for 4 games for this season - yet even after video review, faced no punishment.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JBYpzicKdsU&fmt=18

Now I have no problem with players being punished both on and off the field for misconduct - but be consistent about it - don't be disproportionate and wily-nily. This is what makes if very difficult for fans to respect both the higher-ups and referees.

And this goes for Utd as well - for anyone that think I citing Ferdinand in bias - just be fair to everyone is all yes.

steven gerrard could kill de pope and he would get away with it.

Haha well once he did it in England anyway.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2010, 04:55:15 PM by xixgon »

Offline xixgon

« Last Edit: March 18, 2010, 04:57:59 PM by xixgon »

« Reply #1412 on: March 18, 2010, 06:00:28 PM »
Ohhhhhhhhhhhh Owen Hargreaves!

he's back!  he looked pretty sharp in his 45 minute run out today vs Burnley... not bad for a man out 18 months

« Reply #1413 on: March 18, 2010, 06:28:30 PM »
finally, i hope he legs stay strong. he needs all the confidence he could get back

« Reply #1414 on: March 18, 2010, 06:50:10 PM »
finally, i hope he legs stay strong. he needs all the confidence he could get back

bring him on in the 85th vs Liverpool..we'll be 4-0 up... he could make it 5

;D ;D

on a serious note...what a massive game this weekend..3 points and revenge please..should be a cracker

Offline xixgon

« Reply #1415 on: March 18, 2010, 07:37:56 PM »

bring him on in the 85th vs Liverpool..we'll be 4-0 up... he could make it 5

;D ;D

on a serious note...what a massive game this weekend..3 points and revenge please..should be a cracker

Yeah, crossing my fingers for him - he could add some needed depth for run-in if he's up for it - hopefully he can at least give Fletch a breather here an there.

Liverpool's semi-resurgence in the last few games just makes it all the more interesting. Hopefully we can put them back in their place.

Offline xixgon

« Reply #1416 on: March 19, 2010, 07:42:06 PM »

http://soccernet.espn.go.com/news/story?id=758121&sec=england&cc=3888

Sir Alex slams FA as Gerrard escapes again

By Soccernet staff

March 19, 2010

Sir Alex Ferguson has begun the war of words ahead of Sunday's Premier League showdown with Liverpool by accusing the Football Association's disciplinary panel of being "dysfunctional'' after Steven Gerrard escaped censure for the second time in a matter of weeks. It comes after Rio Ferdinand was forced to accept a three-match FA ban for throwing an arm at Hull City striker Craig Fagan off the ball. Ferdinand was then handed an extra one-match ban for what was deemed to be a "frivolous'' appeal.

But Gerrard has not been so unfortunate. First, he appeared to flick a V-sign in the direction of referee Andre Marriner as Liverpool lost at Wigan, and then the England international seemingly launched an elbow towards Portsmouth's Michael Brown on Monday. Gerrard will face no further action over either incident. Ferguson believes it smacks of double standards, with two players being treated completely differently for similar incidents.

"I didn't expect anything to happen to Steven Gerrard. It (the disciplinary panel) is a dysfunctional unit," he said. "I don't know what they are doing.''

Ferguson had already highlighted what he felt was a similar incident involving Javier Mascherano at Leeds during a Carling Cup tie earlier in the campaign.

"There is no consistency for a start and I didn't expect to get any,'' Ferguson added. "I am not too bothered about it. They can do what they want down there. It is crazy at times.''

Although he gave Rafael Benitez plenty of credit for masterminding Liverpool's challenge last term, the Scot always had a feeling it was the best that Reds team could manage.

"Sometimes you peak with a particular team and it is difficult to do it again,'' said Ferguson. "Everyone expected Liverpool to do better. But they are not. Their challenge, along with quite a few others, is to get that fourth spot, which seems to be a league of its own.''

Not that Ferguson's observations extend to any sympathy for Benitez, just an acknowledgement, in the week Phil Brown lost his job at Hull, that the management game is now a very tough one.

"The word sympathy is a bit strong,'' he said. "You feel for any manager who doesn't do well. Phil Brown was sacked during the week. Yet given the players and potential of his team, I am not sure anyone expected that Hull would be in anything other than a dog-fight this season.

"It happens every season. It is not something new.''

Ferguson certainly believes there will be no repeat of the 4-1 defeat United suffered at the hands of their old rivals in the corresponding game last term.

"Last season was a one-off,'' said Ferguson. "It won't happen again. I can assure you of that. Absolutely no chance. "Being on top of the league at this stage of this season would make us difficult to get back at. I don't place that much importance on the 19th title. The more important one would be the 20th. This club is capable of doing that. "We could also win four titles in a row. No-one will do that in a hurry. That is something to ponder on.''

« Reply #1417 on: March 21, 2010, 07:31:58 AM »
game time  ;D

« Reply #1418 on: March 21, 2010, 07:39:33 AM »
Torres!!!

« Reply #1419 on: March 21, 2010, 07:44:10 AM »
Crap Penalty, Ref Tiefin already

Offline Reaper2004

• Warrior Nation Enforcer
« Reply #1420 on: March 21, 2010, 07:45:13 AM »
1-1 GAME ON!

« Reply #1421 on: March 21, 2010, 08:46:01 AM »
anyone have ah link that does not stop every few minutes
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

« Reply #1423 on: March 21, 2010, 09:16:35 AM »
Whatever you do, do it to the purpose; do it thoroughly, not superficially. Go to the bottom of things. Any thing half done, or half known, is in my mind, neither done nor known at all. Nay, worse, for it often misleads.

Offline Reaper2004

« Reply #1424 on: March 21, 2010, 09:18:16 AM »
United, Liverpool fans seeing red over US owners

By ROB HARRIS, AP Sports Writer 2 hours, 25 minutes ago

MANCHESTER, England (AP)—As the English Premier League’s fiercest foes prepare to battle on the pitch Sunday, supporters are united in a common hatred: American owners who have turned English soccer’s most successful clubs into the most indebted.

“Yanks Out” is likely to be the common refrain booming around the 76,000-seat Old Trafford on Sunday when Manchester United and Liverpool meet, while most of the home support will twirl green-and-gold protest scarves.

The protesters have even won government support, with Prime Minister Gordon Brown complaining that in soccer “debt levels have been at a leverage level that is too high.”

But United club secretary Ken Ramsden dismissed protests by both sets of fans, telling The Associated Press that it’s about soccer “played on the field, not in the board rooms.”

« Reply #1425 on: March 21, 2010, 09:23:04 AM »
United, Liverpool fans seeing red over US owners
But United club secretary Ken Ramsden dismissed protests by both sets of fans, telling The Associated Press that it’s about soccer “played on the field, not in the board rooms.”
ya see smoke screen
DAT is smoke screen fadda

« Reply #1426 on: March 21, 2010, 09:33:06 AM »
2-1  back on top where we belong  :beermug:

« Reply #1427 on: March 21, 2010, 09:33:43 AM »
On top again ....Glory Glory :devil: :beermug:

« Reply #1428 on: March 21, 2010, 09:39:25 AM »
Tough nerve racking game.... Great result..Great f**king result!

You Scouse Bastards!!

Get in!

Offline Reaper2004

« Reply #1429 on: March 21, 2010, 10:03:14 AM »
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! UNITED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! PARK YOU BASTARD!!!!!!! WE LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

« Reply #1430 on: March 21, 2010, 07:09:20 PM »
aye,

anyone know what become of GIGGSY11?

Offline Reaper2004

« Reply #1431 on: March 21, 2010, 07:12:14 PM »
havent seen that dude around in a long while he is M.I.A

« Reply #1432 on: March 21, 2010, 07:28:01 PM »
aye,

anyone know what become of GIGGSY11?

yeh went missing , Last Active: January 11, 2010.

« Reply #1433 on: March 22, 2010, 08:13:05 AM »

I believe that "dude" is a girl...

« Reply #1434 on: March 22, 2010, 08:21:12 AM »

u sure ???

« Reply #1435 on: March 22, 2010, 08:58:21 AM »

what make u say that?

« Reply #1436 on: March 22, 2010, 09:04:04 AM »
YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! UNITED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! PARK YOU BASTARD!!!!!!! WE LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Park is one of the unsung heroes of not only ManU but the EPL. Talk about underrated

« Reply #1437 on: March 27, 2010, 11:13:29 AM »
1:30 KICK Off

« Reply #1438 on: March 27, 2010, 11:37:01 AM »
1:30 KICK Off

not even 60 seconds on de clock and the commentator saying: "...johnnie evans with the first bad challenge of the day..."....whether allyuh top of the league, second place, third, in de CL or win some dotish cup allyuh will never change allyuh thug style eh!

« Reply #1439 on: March 27, 2010, 12:15:16 PM »
 :devil: nice goal by Samuel  :devil:

or yeh Van der sar is a boss